TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Taxis face licensing crackdown in ‘radical’ reform plan

A long-awaited Government review of the industry aims to “eliminate the rogue elements”, Minister Alan Kelly has said.

Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT HAS announced detailed plans to reform the taxi industry, including a crackdown on renting out licenses and part-time drivers.

Minister for public transport Alan Kelly said the measures constituted “the most radical examination of the taxi sector in Ireland ever”.

Under the proposals, it will no longer be possible to for the owner of a taxi license to hire it out to others for use on their own car. Licenses will be ‘tethered’ to vehicles and insurance, and the owner will have responsibility for their operation at all times.

The review was announced in the wake of a Prime Time programme which showed owners of multiple taxi licenses putting them out for hire. It also exposed an individual who worked 17-hour days as both a bus and taxi driver, raising fears for his passengers’ safety.

The report details plans to reduce double-jobbing among taxi drivers by forcing part-time drivers to declare their taxi license to their primary employer.

Minister Kelly said the review was designed “to increase consumer confidence in the sector and eliminate the rogue elements,” as well ensuring that legitimate drivers are “rewarded fairly.” He added:  “We want it to be a sector worth working in again.”

Demand for taxis plummeted by 33.4 per cent between 2008 and 2011, the review found.

Other key measures include:

• Legislation to provide for the “mandatory disqualification” from the taxi industry of anyone convicted of serious criminal offences.
  • A smartphone app to allow customers to check whether their taxi and driver are properly licensed.
  • A system by which drivers could be made to re-sit ‘knowledge’ tests if three complaints are received against them.
  • Freezing the transfer of taxi licenses, so they cannot be sold on.
  • Measures to allow gardaí to issue fixed-penalty charges for small infringements, without going to court.
  • Changing the design and form of roof signs, to restrict their availability.

More: Taxi drivers’ group ‘not aware’ of racist abuse problem>

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• I assumed that all these veting measures had already been in place.
    Who are we entrusting when we hale a cab and assume a safe journey ?

• The biggest issue I have with taxis is that they are not cost effective to take for short distances. It can be about €5 before you set foot in the cab and the driver makes you feel guilty that you’re not going to the airport or Donegal.

• I agree about the cost of the short hop fares, but in my experience most drivers prefer them as they are the most profitable for the exact same reasons that they are proportionately more expensive.

• Probably true that they prefer them but only if they’re getting fares all day. If they’re queuing up at the green for 2 hours they’re not happy going just to Connolly station. Like I say though I’m also not going to pay €8 for that journey either because I’d rather just walk in the rain or get a Dublin bike.

• I understand what you mean. Three hours on a taxi rank for a €7 fare etc, fair enough.

• Had this problem the other night, going from harcourt street to Parnell st and first 3 taxi’s wouldn’t take me said “they weren’t going that way”. Only managed to the get the fourth one to go because I refused to get out of his taxi. Any idea what a drivers right to refuse a fare is?

• You’re not allowed to refuse a fair at all as far as I know. You also don’t have to get into the first taxi at a queue so if they don’t want to play by the rules then neither should we.

• Gemma 01/02/12 #

sure what would you know about taxis Inda, swanning around in your big black car! Try getting a bus in the rain sometimes!

• Too little too late the taxi regulator was and still is a joke and this present day situation was helped by weak goverment policy to make a complete mess of what was already a joke, wasted time and money for all concerned,even the dogs on the street knew of the abuses going on in this industry and nobody did anything to resolve them, typical Irish style answer to a problem wait until the end to try and fix things, taxi regulator ,what a joke, what a waste of resources , what a mess

• Most taxi drivers I know will welcome those changes, and have been asking for them for years. Dublin has more taxi drivers than new York!!

• tuba hg 31/01/12 #

About time and I wish the previous proposal to have cars no older than 4 yrs old had been implemented also.
    I hope that these new regulations will only be the start of proper regulation and I know many Taxi owners who are proud of their profession will have no problem with any new legislation to control the ‘cowboys’

• Ah yea, but the thing about cars more than 4 years old is that the legislation is for public hire vehicles, which include weddings. What about all those classic cars taking brides to weddings, they fall under the same legislation. Trust the government to distinguish? Don’t think so.

• The government should copy London and bring in the black cab for Dublin,start all over again with testing drivers, find out who they really are and make sure they know their way around the city and main roads out of the city……….for instance,asking to go to balbriggan and have a driver taking you out the n4 to maynooth!!!!!!! Less taxis and proper ranks and we will benifit with a better taxi service.

• @ Damien the reason taxi drivers where up in arms because before deregulation they paid 100k for their plates, afterwards the plate was reduced too 5k, which swamped the market.

• Maybe in larger city’s a knowledge system as they use in London would prove to be a better regulator.

Only dedicated would be taxi drivers would apply and after successfully passing the knowledge would know all routes.

• “we want it to be a sector worth working in again”
    Taxi men ruined it for themselves and that’s why the industry was deregulated, they were all up in arms when this happenend so the government as a sweetener told them
    They could claim back there tax over the last 3 years, only problem was taxi men only earned 10 grand a year and didnt pay tax “listen bud i struggle to make a living, it’s all a myth about the money”,”really? All a myth, is that why you borrowed a 100k on a taxi license so you couldn’t make money?”

• Your an idiot if you honestly think that. My father got a loan to buy a plate and nine months later it was worth a twentieth of what he paid so for the last decade he has been working 12 hours a day, 6 days a week (sometimes seven) to pay a worthless mortgage back. So it’s not the money pit you think it is.

• You’ve just proven my point idiot!

• When your dad paid lots for a plate I bet he thought he would make a good living from taxi-ing , and no problem there, but some saw it as a get rich scheme, just like our property market, problem is how deregulation happened and mess industry is in now. Not sure of solution but perhaps we can look at London model.

• Not really. He has only every had two jobs in his life, both he slaved at. He left school when he was fourteen, became a fisherman, saved up and bought a boat of his own done that for about 30 years and then the government screwed him over on that. So he got a plate to earn a living not as some scheme as you call it and then the government screwed him over again.

People like Damien here have some weird stereotypical vision of the lazy taxi driver in their heads. It’s gas because I would bet everything I have that my father is a harder worker than two of him.

• Buying a plate for ridiculous prices all those years ago was always a risk and many would say , who was he Idiot ! They were always the property of the state and not meant to be sold . What makes you think it was an investment Diego . Please dont compare it to a mortgage on a real investment from a legitimate sale of goods . It was a money pit many years ago but those days are over thanks to deregulation and at least we can get a Taxi now . I remember standing in line for three hours in Dame street on Saturday nights because of the bizzare amount of taxis available before deregulation . So stop preaching diego . im sorry for your dad but he took a gamble and its didnt pay off .

• Diego sorry about the delay in replying but I was hard at work, your dad isn’t a harder worker than 2 of me that’s an impossibility with the work ethic I have. Please forward everything you own to the journals offices where I will pick it up

• @raf I think you will find we already have “Ryanair taxis”. It’s the regulator i.e the government who set the fares for taxis not the drivers themselves. All the fare prices are in front of you on display when you get into a taxi.

• My brother drives a taxi, he took a second job as the bottom fell out of the market.. He now works about 20 hours doin one job and about the same in the taxi to try and provide for his family. Which job will be classed as his primary job. Are all part time workers in every sector gonna have to do the same. ie I’m a teacher but I do a bit in the Dail from time to time. But in all seriousness there’s thousands of people juggling what they can to pay for government driven over borrowing.. Get the crims and illegals out.

• jimbo 31/01/12 #

Grand i can now get a cab without been brought the scenic route.you know what i mean……

• how about a uniform colour for taxis in the main cities?

• Dario Fo 01/02/12 #

Only problem with all these new regulations/laws and waffle by the government, who will in force it?

• A couple of home truths guys: the regulator has never worked in the industry, an Irish applicant for a licence gets vetted by the guards, as does a foreign national, however the foreign national only gets vetted for his/her time in Ireland. A lot of part-timers don’t pay tax as their tax clearance cert from their full time job covers the renewal of their licence every 5 years. A licence holder has to produce a tax clearance cert yearly.

• Ciaro 31/01/12 #

Ban firemen, guards, etc from driving taxis.

• Taxi’s are the least Tax compliant industry in the country as it’s cash only
    Many Taxi’s want more regulation and pay their fair(fare) share of the burden like the rest of us
    Taxi men are like farmers who moan a lot but don’t pay hardly any tax either

• Taximen ruined it for themselves . They kept it closed for years . It had to open up and when it did it went the other way .

• Any taxi drivers moaning that they bought a €90,000 plate a year before the industry was deregulated, sorry but de-regulation was flagged well in advance. That was a foolish punt.

• I have a problem with one part of this “Measures to allow gardaí to issue fixed-penalty charges for small infringements, without going to court.” That means they’re guilty until proven innocent through an appeal which a lot of taxi drivers might not know how to do cause they could be old or young and using it as a job to just get by. If a Garda wrongly fines them and they don’t know how to appeal then that’s hardly a fair legal system in my opinion.

• Taxi drivers should have to pay a minimum amount of tax each year. If a taxi driver cannot to pay taxes and prsi the equivolent to at least the national minimum wage, then they shouldn’t be yet another taxi clogging up the roads. In Dublin you’ve got a 30km zone in the city centre. In Galway, we have no need for such measures; Taxi’s doing a drive slow continuously around town take care of excess speed.

• The crazy high fares say one thing: We need more taxis, not less of them.

I flew across Europe cheaper than my fare to Dublin airport was—this is absurd. There’s too little competition, we need taxis deregulated and have Ryanairs of taxis.

• Jambbie 31/01/12 #

Yeah and we all need to work for the minimum wage forever cos then that means we’ll become and remain more “competitive”.
      Race to the bottom. You must be “the markets”.

• I am not “the markets”. I am a consumer, there’s a few millions of us in the country. Most of us don’t like to be ripped off.

We want taxis to be cheap, then—guess what—magically, we’ll use them a lot more.

I don’t mind having cheap crap taxis and expensive (as now) regulated ones as long as I have a choice.
      Let the drivers decide the fare and whether or not they want to be in that business. As long as they state the fare on the door, I am in.

There are already offers of cheaper fixed fares when going to the airport so I presume the drivers can charge less and still earn their wage.

• Taxis are already overregulated and as a result, absurdly expensive. Liberate taxi market and you’ll see prices come down.

Changing roof signs is unnecessary cost and will only benefit a sign maker—let me guess, a single company for the country?

And what’s wrong with part-timers? All that will be achieved is that drivers will lose their extra income.

• • Taxi should be a standard car with a standard colour. Maybe two models ( one for wheelchairs)
    • two different licences, 1 full time, 1 part time.
    • Part timers only allowed work from 11pm till 4 am mon- fri and weekends.
    • all taxi’s should be electric
    • drivers should pay tax on each fare ( vat style)
    • All drivers should be vetted and qualified to drive the area they work.
    • each car to have fitted a camera that can be used as for a random tax audit
    • driver take a course in good manners

Add New Comment