TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Three-quarters of Luas public disorder cases occur on Red Line

There were nearly a thousand instances of public disorder on the Luas last year.

The Luas tram on the Red Line.
Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

THREE-QUARTERS OF all public disorder cases on the Luas tram service in Dublin occur on the Red Line which runs from Saggart in south west Dublin to The Point in the city’s docklands.

Figures released from Veolia Transport, which operates the Luas service, show that the Green and Red Lines carried over 29 million passengers last year, an increase of 6 per cent.

There was an 11 per cent increase in the number of public disorder cases with 970 instances last year compared to 870 in 2010 .

Of these the vast majority were for antisocial behaviour of which there were 775 incidents, there were 128 threats to staff and 67 threats  to the public, all up from 2010 figures.

The company said that 44 cases for anti social behaviour were taken to court.

The Immigrant Council of Ireland said that Luas staff were subjected to racial discrimination and abuse while carrying out their daily duties. It carried out a report into instances of abuse against ethnic minorities and made recommendations to Veolia on better ways to assist staff affected by discrimination.

Veolia said that 75 per cent of public disorder cases occurred on the Luas Red Line which carries 45,000 passengers daily and has 32 stops. It runs from Saggart through Tallaght, City West, the Red Cow, St James’s Hospital and finishes in Dublin’s docklands.

By contrast the Luas Green Line carries fewer passengers – 35,000 – and has 22 stops. It runs from Brides Glen through Sandyford, Dundrum and Ranelagh, finishing at St Stephen’s Green.

Veolia pointed out that antisocial behaviour is increasing in Dublin and is not particular to the Luas. The company said that STT Security guards now patrol the Red Line  from 10am until the last tram seven days a week  and the Green Line from 17.30 to last tram.

The company also said that it was working with school children and community groups in order to forge a relationship with them “and give them ownership of the tram being the best mode of transport for them and their community.”

It also said that overall satisfaction with its service was 97 per cent.

Taxi drivers’ group ‘not aware’ of racist abuse problem

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• I hate scumbags, and that’s pretty much who we are talking about here.

• Davey 10/01/12 #

The depressing part is that a lot of the problems are caused by kids who haven’t been shown a better example, are reacting to a fucked-up domestic situation, or both.

As for the programmes that exist to give these kids support to help them function in society rather than becoming future inmates, well they’ve had their funding cut so we can bail out banks instead.
      The people who make these decisions don’t use public transport, so they don’t have to deal with the social fallout.

• Fair enough Davey

But is that really a concern for the people travelling and paying to travel on the Luas? No, its not. WHy should they have to put up with this disadvantage?

You don’t need a degree to know common decency.

• Davey 10/01/12 #

Hardly surprising, the red line serves a lot more troubled areas than the green. Fair play to the staff is all I can say, I’ve seen them put up some awful bastards.

• Cecily – I’ve argued before on a thread relating to crime & that everyone should be accountable & responsible for his/her own actions. I travel the red line from time to time & those that cause the probs are, to put it bluntly, scangers. Pure & simple. Born & bred into the welfare system, junkies & the like. That’s the blunt reality of who these troublemakers are & anyone who doesn’t believe me should take the red line, esp at night & they will see what you outlined. Heavy penalties & deduct it from their welfare if on it or pay cheque. Hit where it hurts & that will soon make an impression on these troublemakers that if you cause probs, u will pay the price. Too many times I’ve seen peoples journeys disrupted by these scangers who are not accountable & responsible for anything. “Make” them accountable & responsible. Of course being Ireland, we will have the usual bunch of bleedin’ heart do-gooders making excuses for them. Time to say “f*ck them”. People have a right to go about their journey in peace.

• It sounds melodramatic, maybe, but we need to motivate decent, ordinary people to “reclaim the city.” Let’s face it, law and order has disintegrated into nothingness, so if the Gardai and the Dept. Justice and the City Councils are inert, we need to light a fire under them. I’m not suggesting that anyone becomes a vigilante: I think that’s not only counter-productive but it only escalates violence. But we need to report EVERYTHING to all of the authorities. We need to write to every TD in our constituencies, highlighting our genuine concerns and asking what they plan to do about it. Likewise, we need to write to Alan Shatter and say that, in line with his Department’s customer service policy sattement, we expect a definitive answer. Ring Joe Duffy (I know his show is just a lamentable outlet for whingers, but it is publicity). Report bad behaviour on the Luas and elsewhere to the Gardai – don’t assume that someone else will. Write to the papers – broadsheet and tabloid. Mobilise a demonstration – march on the Luas HQ, march on the Dail, march on Dept. Justice. Film bad behaviour and email the clips to the Gardai (I’d love to upload it on Youtube, naming and shaming but it’s dodgy legal territory, unfortunately).

Giving out here is ineffective. If Shatter won’t get off his arse, WE have to.

• There is only so much the Gdí can do. Once they are brought to court, it is up to the courts to impose a fine/sentence. The penalties need to be there for Judges to impose. It’s not that the Gdí & courts are the entire solution. They are part of it. It’s proper penalties to impress upon troublemakers that if you misbehave, there are consequences. Compel people to be accountable & responsible. Deduct penalties from their welfare &/or pay. What we are seeing is the result of the welfare generation. Never had to work. Never had to pay for their bad behaviour. Absolutely no accountability & responsibility for their behaviour. As a result, we have a lack of respect for anything. That results in this type of anti social behaviour. Again – any1 who wants to see what type of people we are talking about, travel the red line. That’ll change your mind.

• So we need to figure out what WE can do. We need to find an effective way of standing up to these people.

• Eoin Faz 11/01/12 #

“Of course being Ireland, we will have the usual bunch of bleedin’ heart do-gooders making excuses for them. Time to say “f*ck them”. People have a right to go about their journey in peace.” This should be in our national identity statement. Too many people being bankrolled and not understanding the effects on those around them. Or is that a contradiction?

• Veolia are right: antisocial behaviour IS on the increase in Dublin (and further afield). Somehow we seem to be shrugging and accepting it as some kind of inevitability. It is going to undermine our image abroad and affect tourism and possibly even the considerations of foreign investors. We have to take a firm stand on it now. We need a much more effective justice system but we also need to respond more as citizens. I wish we could get someone like Rudy Giuliani to take the city by the scruff of the neck and shake the crap out of it.

• It’s a bit dreary but great service from red cow saves time and trouble getting into town but recently some people have started begging aggressively in carriages.
    Definitely has a higher scobie factor than other line

• I agree that the luas red line provides a great service. However the lack of security presence is a big turn off. These STT guys get on around Jervis and get off again around Swithfield and take another tram back into town. I don’t think I’ve ever seen security staff out on the Luas out as far as Tallaght or Saggart. I’ve been on it with groups of people drinking and smashing bottles and young lads setting off the emergency strop. On the second ocassion the driver had to come down and deal with the problem as there was no security on the tram at 9.30pm.

• I’m sorry to point out a spelling mistake, but in it’s context it was hilarious, “setting off the emergency strop”, love it!

• Ha ha. Lol. I got a new netbook and haven’t gotten used to the little keypad!

• More like the ‘Dread Line’…

• Tasers, only solution. Nothing would make me happier than 500,000 volts going through these public nuisances of people.

• The sad thing is, the gouger’s think they’re beating the system. I don’t let them bother me when they’re shouting on public transport, playing irritating music on their phones and so forth because generally they’re not happy people.

• like we needed another siptu!! the easiest fix for the luas is to move the methadone clinics out of town. from what i have heard from a number of sources the red line basicly links up every major drug center in dublin. there’s one at james hospital, one in the jervis st/smithfield area and one down towards the docklands as, ofcourse, as the boardwalk, their favourite hangout! junkies use the luas to commute to “rehab” and to get more gear in town so the rest of us are lumbered with the scumbags! move the clinics to the suburbs or areas with the highest concentration of scum and the rest of us can travek in peace!

• Create a new line called the joy-line.A one way ticket to mount-joy no fare required only way of getting a ticket is over aggressive beggar’s,drunk’s,strung out junkie’s and drug dealer’s and people that take 10min’s getting a ticket.
    But seriously their need to be more security,I never really used the luas but felt uncomfortable at time’s from people screaming and people being pis*ed.
    Matter of time until anti social behavior turns into a fatal assault on the luas.

• I’d say they could gate off many of those Luas stops so tickets need to be shown to get on, like the DART. Goes against the tram system a bit I know but it is probably the only solution.

• But ppl here says: boys will be boys. And then we have to get along with this and pretend that we do not care. Wtf? Kids here do what they want and nobody do a thing, everyday in Grand Canal Quay the Chinese restaurant get assaulted by teens that make fun and racist jokes, I heard even that they stole a motorcycle from the delivery boy. But, they are Irish, so it is OK…

Ireland needs to be a more serious country if they want to bring more tourists and more investments.

• Because they have no personal accountability & responsibility. There is no deterrent for them & they know that. That has to change. The change starts with people not accepting it & demanding better. The parents of many of these a-holes are the same. The welfare generation who never had to contribute anything & don’t give a damn. Previous Govts are to blame for that & us for accepting it. Don’t get me started on the bleeding heart do-gooders. Well intention but naive

• Leonardo,

You heard all this or seen it yourself ? The two are very different. Verging on hysteria there.

There is a problem, the issue under discussion is the Luas Red Line. I have heard a lot of things myself, whats really important is knowing fact from fiction.

Have you ever called the Gardai when you witnessed any type of anti social behaviour ?

• Is the Immigrant Council of Ireland the new SIPTU?

• Cpm 10/01/12 #

It’s the lesser of two evils. I’d prefer to be assaulted on a daily basis than have to listen to the nasal inflections of the females travelling to to Dundrum SC like?

• No surprise there

• And how many complaints about staff, I use this service every day and most staff are great but some of the ticket collectors are very aggressive themselves. I was abused by one as my swipe card had broken.
    I belive that what comes around goes around

• Sure when the green line stretches to Shankill it will all balance out! Ah no, the red line is a farce but it covers heavily populated areas. Id nearly ask to see what the passenger volume is on each line?? Coulf it be 75 red/25 green?? Doubt it.

• Was fairly sure my figures would be well off. Just wanted to make sure this was not a non story in the first place.

Add New Comment