Advertisement uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 28 October, 2016


# luas - Yesterday’s News


# luas - Friday 7 October, 2016

The Luas green line is down for the rest of the day

Commuters are forced to find alternative transport.

# luas - Thursday 6 October, 2016

Delay on Luas line as gardaí called to deal with disruptive passenger

The tram was stopped at Beechwood.

# luas - Monday 3 October, 2016

The bottom of Dawson Street is now closed to traffic for Luas works

It will be closed for four weeks while works for the Luas Cross City are carried out.

# luas - Friday 30 September, 2016

First the buses, now the gardaí: Government fears 'domino effect' in public sector pay demands

Minister Donohoe reiterated that any public sector pay claims must be settled through the Lansdowne Agreement.

# luas - Wednesday 28 September, 2016

Half of Dawson Street will close for four weeks to allow for Luas works

The strip of road close to Nassau Street will be closed for Luas-works from the 3 October.

# luas - Tuesday 20 September, 2016

If you have a Leap card you can now ditch your DublinBikes card

The initiative won’t allow people to pay for their DublinBikes trips from their Leap Card account, but will allow them to use the same card for the bikeshare as for the bus, Luas or Dart.

# luas - Saturday 30 July, 2016

Everything you need to know about those major traffic changes in Dublin

The quays will be closed as the latest major phase of Luas works takes place.

# luas - Wednesday 20 July, 2016

Labour Court recommends Dublin Bus workers get a lot less than 30% pay claim

That could mean more bus strikes.

# luas - Tuesday 12 July, 2016

15-year-old boy facing additional jail time for throwing paint at fellow teenager on Luas

The boy had viciously assaulted his victim one month prior to the Luas incident the court heard today.

# luas - Friday 8 July, 2016

Two year suspended sentence for woman who robbed and attacked woman on the Luas

The 42-year-old woman spat at the victim before stealing her bag with her partner.

# luas - Wednesday 29 June, 2016

Dublin City Council backs call for new Luas trams to be automated

The councillor behind the motion said it doesn’t mean drivers will be fired.

Teen wins €2,500 damages from Luas operator after driver insinuated she was a pickpocket

17-year-old Rebecca Conroy had sought €38,000 in defamation damages.

# luas - Monday 27 June, 2016

Dublin Bus workers are looking for a 30% pay rise in line with Luas staff

The NBRU said that drivers have not ruled out industrial action in pursuit of their claim.

# luas - Thursday 23 June, 2016

More and more people are using the train and Luas

Iarnród Éireann and the Luas brought in over €200 million from passenger revenue in 2015.

# luas - Thursday 16 June, 2016

# luas - Saturday 4 June, 2016

Going somewhere nice for the Bank Holiday? Check your travel plans

Transport providers have issued a number of travel warnings as we head into the June Bank Holiday weekend.

# luas - Friday 3 June, 2016

The Luas drivers have voted to accept the Labour Court pay recommendations

The news comes after four months of industrial action

# luas - Thursday 2 June, 2016

Michael O'Leary on Luas drivers - "I'd sack the lot of them"

The Ryanair CEO wasn’t mincing his words today.

# luas - Tuesday 31 May, 2016

Two Luas strikes planned for this week have been called off

Stoppages had been planned on Thursday and Friday of this week.

# luas - Monday 30 May, 2016

The Labour Court has recommended an 18.3% pay increase for Luas drivers

Union Siptu now says that it will put the recommended increase to its members.

# luas - Sunday 29 May, 2016

Will there be a summer of strikes? There's trouble brewing on several fronts

2016 has not been a good year for industrial relations.

# luas - Wednesday 25 May, 2016

Luas strikes planned for tomorrow and Friday have been called off

Good news for commuters, students – and fans of Bruce Springsteen.

# luas - Saturday 21 May, 2016

A load of Luas stops will be out of commission for two months from tonight

Fear not – a replacement bus service will be in place near the Red Line stops that are to close.

"We're looking for a fair slice of the company we've helped build"

Luas drivers speak about their long-running dispute.

# luas - Friday 20 May, 2016

Annoyed at the ongoing Luas strikes? Apply for a refund

Today marks the 12th day of strikes in the ongoing dispute.

# luas - Tuesday 17 May, 2016

How did it come to this?: The many twists of the never-ending Luas strike

The ongoing Luas dispute continues to cause headaches for commuters, with more strikes planned.

# luas - Saturday 14 May, 2016

Shane Ross says he won't use the state's chequebook to solve Luas dispute

The new transport minister also said he’s ‘not particularly proud’ of his Fine Gael past.

# luas - Thursday 12 May, 2016

Don't forget - there's another Luas strike tomorrow

The company has also written to staff urging them to reconsider their industrial action.

# luas - Monday 9 May, 2016

Two-car crash on Luas red line causes rush hour delays in Dublin

A number of people were hospitalised after the collision.

# luas - Friday 6 May, 2016

Driving in Dublin city this weekend? There are some major route changes

There are changes in the north and south city centre – this weekend and next.

# luas - Tuesday 3 May, 2016

The Luas will be off tomorrow - and there are four more strikes planned this month

There’s no sign of an end to the long-running dispute between drivers and Luas operator Transdev.

# luas - Sunday 1 May, 2016

"There's no truth in it whatsoever" - Siptu says Luas drivers are NOT asking for old pay deal

The Sunday Times reported today that Luas workers were looking for Transdev to re-table the deal agreed upon at the Workplace Relations Commission last month.

# luas - Friday 29 April, 2016

The 5 at 5: Friday

Five minutes, five stories, five o’clock…

Dispute escalates: Luas drivers have pay cut by 10% from today

Transdev said the reduction reflects the “additional operational and payroll costs” involved in dealing with drivers’ work-to-rule action.

Green line Luas trams can't get out of their depot this morning...

Once more those in the south of the city will have to find alternative modes of transportation today.

# luas - Thursday 28 April, 2016

Luas user? Remember that drivers are striking again today

Siptu members at the company are taking action for better pay and conditions.

# luas - Wednesday 27 April, 2016

If you get the Luas, you need alternative plans tomorrow

Transdev this week walked out of talks in which drivers asked for a 26.5% pay increase.

# luas - Tuesday 26 April, 2016

Transdev says it will start docking Luas drivers' pay during strikes

Pay will be docked as much as 10% strikes continue.

# luas - Monday 25 April, 2016

Luas talks break down after company rejects 26.5% pay claim

The deal will include a €750 payment at the end of this year.

1 2 3 4 5