TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

TSSA to ballot for industrial action for Bus Eireann workers

Bus Eireann has decided to introduce a range of cost-cutting measures, including cutting overtime, shift, premium and rota payments.

Bus Eireann buses parked at Busaras Station.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

COMMUTERS COULD FACE chaos in the coming weeks after the Transport Salaried Staffs’ Association has told their 350 members that they will issue an industrial strike ballot.

It comes after Bus Eireann decided to introduce a range of cost-cutting measures, which will come into force on 13 January 2013, including cutting overtime, shift, premium and rota payments as well as annual leave.

CEO Martin Nolan sent a letter to staff on 14 December outlining the changes, which also include a longer working week for clerical and executive employees, a reduction of sick days and the scrapping of some bonus payments.

The company said it could face annual losses of €16 million if the cuts are not made.

SIPTU have already issued a ballot for industrial action to its members and Jim Kavanagh, TSSA Irish Organiser, told TheJournal.ie that although they would work with other unions to make decisions, if Bus Eireann go ahead with their changes, action will be taken immediately:

We are working with other unions and we’ll make a decision together on industrial action but if the company go ahead [with their changes] on the 13 January all unions will have no choice but to withdraw our members and go to strike. If a third party wants to intervene, we are open for discussions, as long as the threat within the letter issues on 14 December is withdrawn.

Kavanagh went on to say say that they are hoping to “engage in talks to look at ways of addressing the financial situation” because cutting wages, including basic pay, and other contractual conditions of employment “is not acceptable”.

We don’t go for a ballots unless it’s extremely necessary but we looked and there is nothing else to give – our people are telling us ‘we’d be better off on the dole’.

Read: Bus Eireann to cut some payments after unions reject Labour Court hearing >

Read: SIPTU to ballot for industrial action over changes in Bus Éireann >

Read next:

Comments (25 Comments)

• Disgraceful. It just goes to show that the Unions still have this country by the balls. Bus Eireann/Irish Rail/Dublin Bus are not run for the benefit of their customers, they are run to keep the boys in cushy jobs for life. Their motto should be “F*** the customer”.

And I’m a civil servant before anyone asks.

• Barra 20/12/12 #

Let them strike. I’ll walk. The service is so shite that the routes I use are never on time anyway and are often up to 30 minutes late. 301 Raheen and 304 Ballycumin, I looking at you!

• FFS lads if unions didn’t fight back against simultaneous cuts to overtime, shift, premium and rota payments, annual leave, a longer working week, reduction of sick days and scrapping of bonus payments, there would be no point in them existing at all.

How you would you like your boss to unilaterally decide to do all that to you? Do you think workers should just roll over for everything employers want?

• Elbbit 20/12/12 #

Most have.. my employer cannot afford to us overtime so we moved shifts to keep the business moving and to keep our jobs. We still get bonus but thats the cimpany uncentivising the standard,quality and quantity of our work..Its there choice to pay..its a bonus and not a given right. While i do believe un the intial founding of unions and what they stood for, its plain to see that they swayed from that course along time ago..CIE is in huge debt, it needs to change.The workforce need to change to

• Elbbit 20/12/12 #

And not having a go at you mate, but the emploer should be able to do within reason,whatever they need to in order to make a profit,continue trading and save jobs..We seem to feel we are entitled to everything thses days. i wish my job was as well paid as a few years ago but then i hope i dont lose it because of the times we live in

• I worked in SR Techics and the Swiss and Arab owners just shut the place down.

CIE workers – thank your gods that your owners have no balls.

Or are they growing some?

• public transport is a community based transport designed to cater to all areas within reason. public transport is not designed to run a profit its designed to provide a service to areas that are not profitable , sure scrap cie/ bus ern / dub bus. And watch the private operators cherry pick ONLY profitable routes isolating rural and suburban areas of ireland leaving them WITHOUT a mode of transport.

• so true. ..let’s put the whole system out to tender to privates and see can they do it any cheaper. they can’t. ..unless you want 20 year old buses, dropped services, minimum paid truck drivers etc. Bus Eireann provides a basic service at the lowest cost for public transport in Europe. ..what more do you want?

• Looking through the other comments, marsh quite righty pointed out that bus eireann unions are not public sector and nore are the workers.there past was public sector. And they are not profit and providing a service to the public. This seems like a good description of a public sector orgainization even though tech its not

• Here we go public sector unions again. I wonder what the details of the work changes are. I cannot make any sarcastic remark regarding this as it would’t be unfair to the staff affected.i think that is the only fair way to judge. From our knowledge of previous behavior. I suspect the changes being suggested would be seen as resonable by people working in the real world

• Fair play to them for standing up for their basic rights.

• FartBox 20/12/12 #

they have to stand up for their working conditions… I would. :-/

• Hi Dermot
      Sorry I didn’t get back on this sooner, other things going on I’m afraid. It sounds like your in the trade, but i’m interested in the term “basic rights”. you seem like a man who knows the system. are these basic rights the same as would be offered to the equivalent job in the private sector. perception is that the basic rights are not the same and this is why people respond with negative comments. I assume there is a going rate pay scale in the industry, and this would include any shift premiums that might apply as it does in the private sector.if they match or go close to the private sector I don’t think anyone has a problem with workers standing up for themselves. It all goes back to what these Basic rights are and how they differ from the private sector. Don’t get me wrong I’m not bashing everything public or semi public, people just want to know the truth about the different conditions in the different sectors.

• If they strike, there customers will just use private operators and stay with them. There only doing themselves harm.

• Elbbit 20/12/12 #

Along with others, the unions have and are still ruining the country..If these guys think they would be better off on the dole (as they say) then let them… lots of people qualified out there to do the job without expecting bonus payments if its raining, meeting 2many red lights etc and probably do it with a smile on their face and be customer focused

• I thought CPA was end this rubbish

Add New Comment