Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 25 May, 2012

We’ll need EU-IMF permission to freeze income tax rates – Kenny

Enda Kenny says the EU-IMF deal will need to be amended if his government is to avoid increasing income tax.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

IRISH WORKERS may still avoid an increase in income tax in December’s Budget – but only if the government is able to renegotiate Ireland’s funding deal with the EU and IMF.

Speaking at the end of Fine Gael’s think-in yesterday, Enda Kenny said that while his government was committed to ensuring that income tax was not increased during its term of office, its hands were currently tied by the previous bailout agreement.

“The previous government… signed off on a situation where it agreed there would be €250m extra in income tax taken from the taxpayer for each of the next three years,” the Irish Examiner quotes Kenny as having told reporters. ”We now have to renegotiate that with the IMF-EU.”

The comments came after the Taoiseach yesterday said that “everything is on the table” for December’s Budget, and that the government was prepared to be “radical” in proposals for spending reforms.

Kenny failed, however, to equivocally rule out the prospect of tax increases – though he and Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore had affirmed, 100 days into their term of office, that income tax rates would not be increased nor social welfare payments cut.

The finance minister Michael Noonan, later speaking to reporters, said December’s Budget would be two-thirds as severe as last year’s – indicating that the potential adjustment could be towards the higher end of the €3.6bn to €4bn window outlined by Kenny.

Read: Taoiseach: “Everything is on the table” in December’s Budget

More: Front-loaded budget ‘could push economy to breaking point’

Read Next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• Joseph O Reilly 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Doesnt the usc take in 250m a year?? Add property tax and surely thers no need to touch income tax again

• Billy Kelly 08/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Eh they’ll take what they want. Think their worried about you or me. They’ll take your lot they be best to bring in ration stamps and not pay us any more. Sit on your arse Ireland and do nothing tip your hat paddy here’s enda

• David Sheridan 08/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Property tax? Water charge? I will say this lads… I have already prepared myself to do whatever prison term is handed out. I Will Not Pay These charges…. Do to me what you will…

• Kerry Blake 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

So the 2 government leaders announcing after 100 days in office that there would be no change to income tax rates have now moved to the position of no increases in income tax rates if our goood friends in the EU & IMF agree to this. Did Enda & Eamon not read the small print of the EU, IMF & Irish agreement before mouthing off about what they actually can do or control?

• Tony Stamper 08/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Would you forward that report on to the Germans, Dutch, Danish, Finnish, Swedes, Norse. They have been getting it wrong for an awful long time, with their low debt, low unemployment and world class public service from cradle to grave, and still growing during a brutal recession.

Tell them to look to England and America’s approach and take no notice of the Latin American tinpot levels of debt and widespread and growing poverty, 2nd world services etc etc.

• Sean O'Keeffe 08/09/11 #
      Report this comment

I don’t think I need to Tony. Of the nations you mentioned only the Norses have a socialist government. The rest have either liberal or conservative governments. It seems their voters have figured it out even if their governments haven’t.
      Interesting you mention South America. Any explanation for why the residents of oil rich Venezuala have a standard of living half that of Chileans.

• Garreth OMahony 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

How long more can they blame the previous government. Time to move on and take some responsibility I think. Otherwise we might as well have the last government still.

• Tony Stamper 08/09/11 #
      Report this comment

They’ll probably stop once the financial world stops throwing in to their faces that the last Taoiseach was a drunk, the Minister for Finance was a compulsive liar, who was nicknamed the “Minister for Fairies and Unicorns” on Wall St. due to his lies and was voted worst Finance minister in Europe 2 years running and were both part of a Govt. that the highly influential editor of the Financial Times called the worst in Europe since the end of the war.

Add in their crooked and destructive decisions, that will mean we’ll be paying back a fortune in debts for the next 40 years, then I think that they’ll be able to get away with it for a very long time.

I’m not too happy with the new Govt. with regard to many things but I am certain that if Lenihan and Cowen and FF were still in power that we would be many many many time worse off. As bad as FG are FF are uniquely incompetent and corrupt.

• made 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

This government is no better than the last. They will keep taxing and taxing until the people of Ireland stand up together and say no more, the ordinary person cannot afford to pay more tax. The government are saying that people who can’t pay their mortgage must get help but yet they’re ploughing ahead with water charges and property tax and now they’re introducing septic tank registration charge.
    I know the government don’t care about the ordinary person of Ireland but how in god’s name do they think that we can all afford to keep paying out extra’s all the time. It just beggars belief.

• Roy O Keeffe 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Puppets

• HEADWRECKER 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

So who would you all like to see in government, and what difference would it really make ??

• Billy Kelly 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

I’ll tell you a party that’s strong in it’s belief for the welfare of it’s citizens and party who protects the sovereignty of it’s country who it serves. The difference would be united citizens who have claimed the world and built it to now look in at them selves and punish the very corrupt system that got us here and in turn prevent the hardship of it’s most vulnerable people in its society that this current coallition prey on. That’s my rant over with.

• Fergus O'Neill 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Republic: “A state in which supreme power is held by the people and their elected representatives, and which has an elected or nominated president rather than a monarch.”

Enda’s saying that supreme power isn’t held by the people or their representatives, we’re no longer the Republic of Ireland, right?

• Nim Zed 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Inda. Not a good time to be putting an orange rinse in the auld hairpiece.

• Simon Moore 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

bog off taking more of my hard earned money, why dont the gov go after ALL of the waste they have in the gov first, they need to get the house in order first before taking more of our money!

• sandra healy 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m outta here as soon as I can

• Ann Illing 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

David Sheridan. I understand theres a big campaign starting against these charges. I hope all of Ireland gets involved. Its now or never.

• fleetingwhim 08/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Easy solution – they can introduce a wealth tax for millionaires and an 3rd rate of income tax on those earning over 90k. That would keep everybody happy except the small minority of elites who fecked the country up in the first place.

• Michael O'Neill 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

And if they decide to become tax exiles revoke their passports and seize their remaining assets in Ireland.

• JP Izaaks 12/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Great.

Add New Comment