TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Commissioner issues ‘cry for help’ as more details of Garda’s death confirmed

Martin Callinan has made an urgent appeal for anyone with information on last night’s shooting to come forward.

Garda commissioner Martin Callinan speaks to reporters outside Dundalk Garda Station.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

THE GARDA COMMISSIONER Martin Callinan has issued a “cry for help” for members of the public with information surrounding the death of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe in Co Louth last night.

Speaking this afternoon, Callinan urged people who may have knowledge about the circumstances surrounding Donohoe’s death, or those who may suspect that others have knowledge of it, to come forward.

“This is a cry for help for An Garda Síochána and for wider society – and indeed society needs to make some choices here,” Callinan told a press briefing at Dundalk Garda Station, where Detective Garda Donohoe was based.

“It is the case that we do need the public’s help and this is an opportunity for those people to come forward,” he said.

Callinan added that he was personally “deeply saddened and shocked” by news of Donohoe’s death, the first time since 1996 that a Garda has been shot and killed on duty.

“All of my officers are deeply shocked and disappointed with what has happened,” the Commissioner said.

The relationship between the public and An Garda Síochána is a very special relationship, it’s a very unique relationship – we are of the community, and from the community, and of course we’re very saddened and shocked by what has happened.”

More details of death released

The call for witnesses to come forward came as Gardaí released details of the events that led to Donohoe’s death last night.

Donohoe and another detective were on cash escort duty at the Lordship Credit Union at Bellurgan, outside Dundalk, at about 9:30pm when a number of armed raiders approached, one of whom shot Donohoe, wounding him fatally.

The armed raiders fled the scene in a dark-coloured saloon car in the direction of Dundalk. The other Detective Garda is said to be traumatised by the incident, but was not physically hurt.

The scene was immediately sealed off and the Deputy State Pathologist, Dr Khalid Jabbar, carried out a preliminary examination at the scene.

Donohoe’s body was later removed from the scene to Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital in Drogheda where a full post-mortem examination will take place later today.

A Garda liaison officer has fully briefed Donohoe’s family. Donohoe and his wife, who is also a Garda, had several children.

Gardaí said they were anxious to speak to anyone who was in the Bellurgan, Jenkinstown, Dundalk area between 6pm and 9:30pm last night, and also anyone who may have seen the dark-coloured saloon car driving towards Dundalk – or possibly the M1 – during the assailants’ getaway.

Anyone with information is asked to contact the incident room at Dundalk Garda Station at (042) 9388470, the Garda Confidential line at  1800 666 111, or any Garda station.

Read: ‘An outrageous act of cold blooded violence’ – Taoiseach condemns garda killing

More: Community shocked after shooting dead of ‘respected’ Garda detective

Read next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• I hope they are caught and jailed for life.
    Bastards.
    R.I.P.

• Shane u can be sure that if they do get the trigger man… He will get manslaughter … And about 15 years. Though our great court service system… That fellow should rot with no Temporary Release !!!
      RIP to the Garda Donohoe

• They said he didn’t even have time to unclip his gun. He was approaching the situation with both hands out trying to establish what was happening and they just shot him.

This as far as I’m concerned is premeditated murder. They made up their minds long before even going to the location that any Garda would be shot if they got involved. There was nothing To suggest they were being attacked or shot at.

Pure cold blooded murder. They deserve to hang. Each one of them.

• Poor family losing a father just doing a job to feed and put roof over his families heads,hope the killers are caught and key thrown away RIP

• The country awoke this morning, with news we always feared,
    a colleague downed in cold cold blood, in our heads this news is seared.

He went to work, as we all do, he did his job with pride, he knew the risks, he didn’t care, from danger he’d never hide.

We do this job for lower pay, they’ve no more left to take, their promises are just like them, not real and mostly fake.

So wake up Shatter, a man has died, he died for you and me, the crime it rises, the people fear, why can you not see?

The Irish people have great resolve, but are slowly losing patience, as you make your cuts, without regard and close our Garda stations.

We’ve had enough, we’ll take no more, you’ve tried us to the last, we watch the news in horror, a colleague now has passed.

So now you see your policies, are obscure and ineffective, our thoughts today are with that man who died a brave detective.

RIP Detective Donoghue, thoughts and prayers with your family, friends and colleagues

• Somebody must know something about this barbaric act and who carried it out.

• Somebody always knows mike, hopefully it’s only a matter of time before they’re caught. Then we have to rely on our court system to deliver justice. Lets see how that goes.

• Of course somebody knows, lots of people know and we can all imagine the low lifes involved in this – the same type of underclass who think that crime is a way of life, that it’s OK to take what you want, that the system doesn’t work for them. Treatment of these types of people in the way that Singapore treats drug dealers – hard, brutal and decisively.

• Mike
      You’re quite correct and be they present or former comrades they must hand him over now. This sub intelligent animal must be removed from civil society for the rest of his life.

• This is so sad, I hope they get the sc.m that did this, poor man only doing his job. Poor wife and three kids left behind to pick up the pieces and try and go on with their lives. RIP.

• Maybe callinan would have been better crying to shatter looking for more resources last week instead of telling the public morale is high and the Gardai are not under resourced and that station closures won’t effect anyone . pure and simple -Lies . and it sickened me to hear shatter on rte offering his sympathy while at the same time he treats Gardai with so little respect and would see them working for as little as he could whilst at te same time trying to convince the public that garda morale is high . More importantly deepest condolences to the family and all who knew the poor guard . Rip .

• Vinny 26/01/13 #

My Condolences To the family of Garda Adrain Donohue A True Hero killed in the line of duty.

• A couple of years ago 2 guys were shot dead in a post office just before they were about to go for the loot, amnesty international went ballistic, quiet now aren’t they.

• There must only be a handful of suspects crazy enough to do this! I mean, shooting a cop square in the head. No chance of any other outcome other than instant death. It’s only money for heavens sake! God love his family. The shooter will pay

• There was a time when killing a garda was punishable by a death sentence or life imprisonment. When these people are caught and they will be caught what are the judges going to give them 15 years if that. Time for life sentences. lock them up and don’t let them out until they are dead. Without a sufficient deterrent this will continue. at the very least the judges in this country need to start making consecutive sentence. In the states there are sentences of 150 years handed out on a weekly basis. Why cant we do the same over here

• Mr Blake, join the Garda reserve and change the world, if it’s so easy you should excel

• @ Dave. No thanks. Question. If you saw something suspicious around tge time of the crime would you REALLY need a Garda appeal to come forward?

• He’s not appealing to the decent member of the public out walking the dog who might have heard shots and then seen a car race by.. yes, of course such witnesses would have already come forward. It’s people connected with those who did it, who are aware of what they did and are less inclined to come forward for different reasons. He’s hoping they might do what’s right and make contact and provide information when it may not immediately be something they want to do.

• They must know that they will be caught, they might have got away with robbery, but they crossed a red line when they murdered a garda. Like the Veronica Guerin murder all resources were used. Surly they must know that. It’s quite possible they will squeel on each other to save there own hide, wait and see, it won’t be long I am pretty sure.

• It’s time for the commissioner to get the finger out and stop his ever dwindling force from being completely decimated. I’ve spoken to a number of guards over the last few months who tell me that morale is lower than its ever been. Less of the platitudes from the powers that be. It’s time for action

• Mark, not sure what your gripe is with Jim, but leave it out. His points are fair. I also know a good few cops, all friends of mine, and they are feeling the pain of cutbacks every day as are the public. I truly hope they catch these murderous bastards.

• Mack 26/01/13 #

Last garda shot and killed while on duty wasn’t 1996 but 7 Dec 2001 in abbeyleix.

• Time to bring back the death penalty, or a least a whole life sentence, for those convicted of the murder of a member of the emergency services.

• Rip, what is this country coming to

• Eighties BlackGuy if you have any information on the murder please share it with the Gardaí ………

• @Mark Sutherland this poem reflects the mood within the force at the moment. Garda numbers are depleted and are not being replaced. AGSI have withdrawn from Croke Park talks through shear frustration. Everyday members put their lives on the line as the late Detective Donoghue demonstrated. I am merely pointing out the frustration which is felt throughout An Garda Siochana. The powers that be are not looking after Gardai or any of the front line workers. I’m not sure what point you are trying to make. RIP Garda Donoghue.

• Hang them.

• Decent people, shop those murderers.

• Why was it so late at night? Should all of these transits be done by the army? …RIP

• I think green and red thumbs should be removed from these trends , if you have an opinion. Express it!!! Some of the green/red thumbs I see sometimes can be so ridiculous that I nearly believe they are inserted automatically to create arguments and controversy

• mart_n 26/01/13 #

BlackGuy, 2 people have already been arrested. Both are from Dublin… I fail to see how the location of the Credit Union is pertinent. Robberies similar to this one happen all over the country, albeit with a far lesser degree of wonton violence.

• Does anyone know if the other detective got off any shots at these raiders?

• The gardai crying for help to the public shows a weakness to criminality and an air of incompetence in their own ability to solve crime. Wrong message lads, wrong message.

• mart_n 26/01/13 #

Only an idiot could see things like that… Gardai issue appeals for witnesses and help from the public all the time, as does every other police force around the world.

• Would it be more competent of them to attempt to solve the crime without seeking information that people may have out there? What an idiotic point.

• @ mart. I presume you are a global criminologist. Or perhaps just a guesser.

• mart_n 26/01/13 #

Neither of those things, Simon. Are you seriously suggesting that police do not or should not appeal for assistance from the public? I hope you’re never the victim of a crime.

• Of course it’s routine and expected for the police to ask for assistance from the public but if they used the words “cry for help” then I’d agree they were poorly chosen.