TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

‘An outrageous act of cold blooded violence’ – Taoiseach condemns garda killing

The President and opposition politicians have joined the Taoiseach in expressing their shock and sadness at the killing of Adrian Donohoe last night.

Detective Garda Adrian Donohue
Image: Garda Press Office

Updated 1.45pm

THE TAOISEACH HAS condemned the shooting dead of Garda Detective Adrian Donohoe outside a credit union near Dundalk in Co Louth last night.

Enda Kenny was responding to the shooting dead of Detective Donohoe outside the Lordship Credit Union at around 9.30pm last night. The father-of-three’s death has been met which shock and condemnation from across the country.

“This was an outrageous act of cold blooded violence that has left a family without a husband and father and the Garda Siochana without a brave and valued member,” Kenny said in a statement this morning.

He extended his condolences to Detective Donohoe’s wife and his children at this “unbearably sad time” and also extended his sympathies to the gardaí.

Kenny added: “I would also like to express my deepest sympathies to Commissioner Martin Callinan and all of Adrian’s colleagues in An Garda Siochana who I know will spare no effort in bringing to justice those responsible for this appalling crime.”

President Michael D Higgins said it was a “dreadful crime and all Irish people will be truly appalled by it.”

“I wish to extend my deepest sympathy to the late Garda’s family and to all of his colleagues. I have already conveyed my condolences to the Garda Commissioner,” the President said in a statement late last night.

The chairman of the Oireachtas Justice Committee and Fine Gael TD David Stanton expressed “horror and anger” at the incident.

“Every effort will be made to bring these killers to justice. Detective Donohoe was working on behalf of the Irish people and any attack on the Gardai is an attack on every man, woman and child in this country,” Stanton said.

Louth TD and Minister of State Fergus O’Dowd said: “Our country has lost a committed public servant who was also deeply involved in local community life.”

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin said the shooting was a “cowardly act of violence” and said it represented a “direct assault on our society and out sense of community”.

He said: “Like the murder of Garda Jerry McCabe, last night is a horrible reminder that the gardaí stand apart.

“Their role is different to that of every other public servant and we should never forget that.  They are putting their lives on the line every day to protect ours and deserve whatever support they need to do that job.”

Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams said he was “shocked” by the shooting in a brief statement issued last night.

“I extend my deepest sympathies to his family and colleagues and appeal to those with information about this crime to co-operate with the gardaí,” he added.

More: Community shocked after shooting dead of ‘respected’ Garda detective

Read next:

Comments (146 Comments)

• I feel appalled by this. Truly a dreadful event. Thoughts with this poor mans family.

• Do something about it Enda or else more guards will die and crime will flourish.

• TED crime is flourishing at working class level but also white collar crime is rampant ,my condolences to his partner and his children cannot imagine the pain the must be going through.

• Talk is cheap Enda, that’s all you’ll be remembered for unless you & your govt take action. Legislate for longer sentences for violent criminals, ensure that they serve those sentences fully, & introduce legislation that anyone convicted of a violent crime is tagged & made obey a curfew after release. Their rights expired when they made the choice to engage in crime.

• A disgraceful comment, toorkeel. And very inappropriate at this time. He would have come to your assistance should u have needed it. Disgraceful comment & in bad taste at this time. U know what ? Even though your comment is insensitive at the moment, he made sure our society is safe enough for your to exercise your freedom of speech. Your comment is in very poor taste.

• Disgraceful! Due to the dangers theyre exposed to, Our Gardai need to be looked after better.

• @Dermot I think you mean the non working class level. Working class people work, hence the name.

• To be fair lads I like to think he was being sarcastic referring to the comments people often make about the gardai saying aren’t they lucky to have a job. Well at least I hope he was being sarcastic.

• I think Toorkeel was being sarcastic Declan.

• I hope so Ted & Irish Mule. I hope so. I have a dislike for people commenting under a pseudonym. Say whatever you have to say using your real name with a current photo. I have absolutely no problem with anyone saying whatever they like. We live in a free society & I am all on for freedom of speech. However – that comes with responsibilities. It is up to toorkeel to info us whether he was being sarcastic or not. Many thanks for your replies.

• Exactly my thoughts ted talk is cheap i wonder how many people would do that mans job trying to keep this country safe from lowlifes no good to themselves or anybody

• Ah !! Toorkeel’s comment was removed. Pity. I feel it should have been left up. Oh, well -

• @Declan. Apologies if you took my comment up the wrong way. It was said with two tonnes of sarcasm! The Gardai do an extremely difficult and thankless job with depleted resources, zero support from their superiors and smaller and smaller pay cheques. All the while, with morale at subterranean levels they continue to provide a good service to the communities. They are to be commended along with all front line staff for their professionalism in the face of constant danger. The Gardai and Ireland lost a good man to vermin last night. May he Rest in Peace.

• Many thanks for your reply & clarity, Toorkeel. I commend u for that. I agree with what u say in your reply. Ireland has lost it’s soul for many reasons & one of the main reasons is the out & out failure of all politicians from all parties to do the right thing in the past & present. We were sold out & greed took over. That all started at the top & seeped it’s way down. The greed is still there at the top with 2 Taoiseach on E151k a year to begin with. Anyway – thanks again for your clarity. As I said, we live in a free society to say whatever we feel but that comes with responsibilities & one has a right to reply. The Gardai are the thin blue line keeping our society safe. This Garda paid with his life to ensure all our safety is kept intact. Take care & have a nice day.

• The country awoke this morning, with news we always feared,
      a colleague downed in cold cold blood, in our heads this news is seared.

He went to work, as we all do, he did his job with pride, he knew the risks, he didn’t care, from danger he’d never hide.

We do this job for lower pay, they’ve no more left to take, their promises are just like them, not real and mostly fake.

So wake up Shatter, a man has died, he died for you and me, the crime it rises, the people fear, why can you not see?

The Irish people have great resolve, but are slowly losing patience, as you make your cuts, without regard and close our Garda stations.

We’ve had enough, we’ll take no more, you’ve tried us to the last, we watch the news in horror, a colleague now has passed.

So now you see your policies, are obscure and ineffective, our thoughts today are with that man who died a brave detective.

RIP Detective Donoghue, thoughts and prayers with your family, friends and colleagues

• Not at all Declan, I should have been clearer with my original comment from the outset. I have many good friends who are members of An Garda Siochana. My own Grandfather died in the line of duty as a member of An Garda Siochana in the 50′s. Although I never knew him, I know it impacted my own fathers life greatly along with his siblings and mother. My grandmother was left with 4 children ranging from the age of 4 to12 to bring up alone. This was a monstrous heinous crime last night. Shatter needs to wake the hell up to see what’s really happening and support the Gardai not handicap them as he is doing now with paycuts, poor equipment, zero support and his condescending attitude.

• Fair play toorkeel… I hope the rest if the public support us like you

• Declan, why don’t you go all the way and publish all your personal account information, you are still far too anonymous.

You choose to publish your name with a mugshot. For a variety of different reasons others exercise their right not to. Still permissible to do so last I checked.

• I have no doubt that Our Taoiseach will do all in his power to assist the Gardai in their hunt for the murderer/s of Garda Donohue. As we debate,and Comment, He is actively overseeing measures that will have a profound effect on the ability of the Gardai to find the fugitives.He is supporting his minister in the closure of stations,Looking to release 1500 gardai on career breaks and reducing their budget and lets not forget the reduction in allowances and overtime. Well done, Taoiseach and Minister. Streamline the force and improve its effectiveness…..Brilliant!

• Sincere condolences to the family of Gárda Detective Adrian Donohoe, RIP.
      Very high quality, discreet bullet proof Kevlar vests cost as little as $500,
      – so little, when compared to a gárda’s life.
      I bet Shatter & co. wear one,
      if not, they had better…

• @My Dawg Barks Some – because I have children in my friends list & I don’t want to expose them to anyone online who may be the type of person who are not nice towards children if u get my drift. My name & pic are real. c’est moi. Take care.

• The Terrible thing about this event, is the fact that it takes a terrible thing like this event to highlight the dangers that our Guards and other frontline workers are exposed to on any given day in the line of their work. Crocodile tears will be shed by the powers that be and promises will be made, the limelight will fade along with all the promises. Early this week in an article on the journal alot (not all) of the comments were derogatory towards the Fontline public servants (lucky to have a job , i’d do that job for half the money, etc). When the majority of people in life go out to work and kiss their family goodbye and say see ya later they expect to do so. Any amount of money, allowances and anything else cannot pay for mammy or daddy husband or wife coming home safe after a days work. Please think before you type. A family shattered.
    RIP

• You are right baxter. This terrible deed is just met with “crocodile tears” from the powers that be. Instead of reducing Garda numbers, they should be increasing them., but thats Politicians for you. Sincere condolences to the Donohue family. RIP

• Lets not forget that everyday guards are assaulted on duty by thugs who are dragged up with no respect. Only during the week a female guard was badly assaulted on Abbey Street by a thug who has an endless line of convictions but of course is out on “suspended sentence”. He literately danced on her head too, just to show what he thinks of us law abides and our laws. I’ve asked The Journal to report on these incidents but for some reason they never do. Not to mention the thugs who beat up elderly for a few quid. What kind of parents are raising these $cumbags?

• The scrotes have more rights than the normal person….

• Well said Baxter.

• This is just a word to the sc^mbag that did this. Wise thing to do would be give yourself up……. cause there’s 13,000 people looking for you. And that’s only the people on the job, they’re backed up by the majority of the country. You can only hide for so long. Your time will come.

R.I.P D/Gda Donohoe

• They have been cutting the bottom of the tree for to long just to keep the top off it nice
    what more has to happen, before real action is taken

• Rip. heartless act!

• RIP to this brave Garda.

Enda and alan deal with the problem and find a solution. If this keeps up there will be no ther choice for people in this country rural and urban but to start establishing vigilante groups. Simple as.

Solution = end austerity and stop cutting Garda resources.

• Just read that the Garda was shot with out warning, he did not see it coming and had not drawn his firearm. If this is the case it makes his murder even more sickening. Life should mean life for all those involved. RIP and let’s hope your colleagues find those responsible as quickly as possible

• “The Final Inspection”

The policeman stood and faced his God,
    Which must always come to pass.
    He hoped his shoes were shining.
    Just as brightly as his brass.

“Step forward now, policeman.
    How shall I deal with you?
    Have you always turned the other cheek?
    To My church have you been true?”

The policeman squared his shoulders and said,
    “No, Lord, I guess I ain’t,
    Because those of us who carry badges
    can’t always be a saint.

I’ve had to work most Sundays,
    and at times my talk was rough,
    and sometimes I’ve been violent,
    Because the streets are awfully tough.

But I never took a penny,
    That wasn’t mine to keep….
    Though I worked a lot of overtime
    When the bills got just too steep.

And I never passed a cry for help,
    Though at times I shook with fear.
    And sometimes, God forgive me,
    I’ve wept unmanly tears.

I know I don’t deserve a place
    Among the people here.
    They never wanted me around
    Except to calm their fear.

If you’ve a place for me here,
    Lord, It needn’t be so grand.
    I never expected or had too much,
    But if you don’t…..I’ll understand.

There was silence all around the throne
    Where the saints had often trod.
    As the policeman waited quietly,
    For the judgment of his God.

“Step forward now, policeman,
    You’ve borne your burdens well.
    Come walk a beat on Heaven’s streets,
    You’ve done your time in hell”

• Hollow words from the man closing stations insisting on budget cuts to gardai and keeping the Garda college closed RIP Detective Donohoe

• A few criminals or lads who got tickets disliking these posts, a man died doing his job, RIP Detective Donoghue. Thoughts with your family and friends.

• RIP. The country really is getting worse. God help his family.

• Its heartwarming actually to see this .The relationship people have with the garda here. Its very positive . RIP garda .

• All I can and want to say is Rest in pease Garda Donahoe. He was somebody’s son, husband, father and friend, they will miss him deeply. All this political crap is not going to make one bit of difference to them.

• Im hearing the Gardai are unable to undergo shooting practice in order to save money on bullets. You reap what you so. Commissioner Callinan should speak out against the cuts to the Garda budget or resign immediately.

• Bring back the death penalty, or at least a whole life sentence, for the murder of a Garda

• This is no time to bring austerity into this. For God’s sake give this man a thought for a minute. Arm the Gardai and restore the death penalty. NOW.

• Why only for killing a guard no difference in killing a civilian!

• There is a difference. We asked the Gardai to stand between us and them. So yes if a Garda is killed it should be treated differently.

• Most gardai don’t want to be armed. It also makes the criminals think they have pistols, we need aks. He was a detective on escort duty so think he was armed. Sad day. People are angry but the death penalty???

• where were your calls for the death penalty for those who murder people in Dublin every week……..

Don’t need a death penalty…….

This was a catastrophic failure of Garda intelligence….

• Tony you are talking through your arse!!!

• He sure is

• The majority of Gardai think that it may become necessary to arm all it’s officers. They face danger every day and we ask these men and women to stand on a line and protect us. So yes the murder of a Garda is unique it is an attack on all of us.

• Why not bring back the death penalty for such things? These things don’t happen alot and when they do the should be acted apon. Major deterrent. Also why not use the army like they use too for transporting cash van like i use to see them do?

• Great deterrant in the US alright. Highly armed cops with the death penalty and look at their crime.

I’m sure the good people at The Journal will have a poll and debate on this in due course so we should leave it til then. We should all just say hello to family and friends for the day.

• Dont be an a hole fanta, just say this robbery was organised at the last minute or a gang of criminals who hate society in general, what info would leak out, they are thugs and murderers simple as that, blame them not the Guards

• US is a completely different society, lets not compare. Between their availablity of guns, mental health issues, their gang culture and so on and its still a rarity for a cop in the US to be shot.

• RIP Garda O’Donohue.
    You served your country and was brave to the end, thank you from a grateful citizen.

My condolences to your family!

This was the act of a traitor perpetrated on an officer of this country. Treason is still a capital crime!

• kenny & co. Save your false sentiments and don’t use this poor Garda’s murder as a political platform.
    Too little too late.

• I couldn’t agree more mike. Empty scripted words with no feeling. If he was truly shocked and saddened he wouldn’t be closing stations, giving early retirement, years leave of absence and slashing the Garda core pay! Does he not realise with each measure he and shatter push upon the Garda that the risk is tripled and quadrupled to all other Garda. RIP to the brave man, my thoughts are with his family. I hope they can see through the backhanded sympathy that Enda uttered.

• Mike, I presume you will apply this standard to all who post on this issue as well.

• Mike
      Just to put a small piece of balance into the discussion at a time when politics is only discussed by the ignorant.
      When any Member of the Armed Forces or Gardai dies in appalling circumstances such as last night it is custom and practice for the Taoiseach the President and the relevant Minister to offer condolences and comment on the the contribution that such heroic front line officers offer to the people of Ireland. This is not politics Mike. This is decency and respect. Please honor it.

• @Mike- I see your “lets not politicise this” urging on a previous thread was short lived. A pity.

• @ Eileen.
      Pay no attention to them,I don’t.

• Mike
      I know Mike , :(
      what irritates me is that we all know this worm is trolling , is using multiple identities. We have all caught them out , reported them ,yet the journal continues to allow them troll and comment . I apologise for swearing , but I am genuinely upset and feel that these idiots are only here to prevent ant criticism of the politicians who must own up to the responsibility of decimating our frontline services that has put all our lives at risk. Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe paid the ultimate price.His wife and children will continue to pay for the rest of their lives.

• I know Eileen and I have kept screenshots of all the personal insults and have reported their trolling.
      Anyway, I am hoping to drive to Drogheda to sign the book of condolances.
      I rang Blanchardstown asking if a book of condolances be set up,they will get back to me and I’ll let you know.

• A hero is dead & all people on journal.ie can do is abuse each other. Unbelieveable.

• thanks Mike .

• @eileen- you’re the one using profane language. @Mike- I simply suggested that you not use a tragedy like this to further your politics. Offering condolences should be enough.

• @mike- Dundalk, by the way.

• Deepest sympathy to the family, friends and colleagues. But I express my “shock and revulsion” at Kenny and Shatter expressing their “shock and revulsion”. Next week the hypocrites will be applauding how much money they’ve saved on Garda salaries, Nurses numbers etc so they can pay the Bankers wages and Bertie & Biffo’s pensions. Go crawl under a rock and do us all a favour.

• @martin- allow me to share my shock & revulsion at you politicising this.

• Vincent. I certainly don’t agree that I am politicising this tragedy. Every time we have an incident like this, we’ll have politicians from all sides jumping on the condolence bandwagon dishing out their televised platitudes. You can almost know the words they’ll use before they speak. Outraged, shocked, abhorred etc etc. yet look at the TV during a Dail debate some weeks from now and how many of the 6 or so in attendance will stand up and speak or vote for real change. ALL TD ‘s should be made read JFK’s “Profiles in Courage” book BEFORE entering the Dail to see how brave men of conscience voted against their party line to the detriment of their careers because it was the right thing to do. No, our lot will toe the party line and think of the parish vote back home and sheepishly allow the status quo to carry on. The sacrifices made by ALL Garda will soon be forgotten in the perennial quest to hold onto their seats. So it’s not politicising, it’s disillusionment and sadness that we have no men of courage or integrity running this country, either now or in the recent past.

• @martin- respectfully- by bringing politicians into your post, you by definition politicised it. Out of 6 lines, one was condolences and the rest was an admonishment of politicians. Not the time fit politics is all I’m saying.

• Vincent Mark Mick
      what ever you are today .You are on here politicising it yourself. Did your pay masters tell you to troll the journal to stop people from airing their upset . Now go away . People are genuinely upset by this mans murder. Leave people be.

• An entire family and community torn to pieces and for what? A few Euro? Its disgusting how greedy people can be to disregard the life of a man like this, when all he was doing was his job. May he rest in peace and once the mourning has passed may his family find solace in the fact that his actions were one of a hero.

• Maybe this will spur Enda and the gang to put more, not less resources ,into policing???

• I’m reading this from across the pond in New York. As a retired NYC Police Officer, this saddens and enrages me. I am not familiar with law enforcement in Ireland, is the Garda armed? I don’t know how any Western society can have unarmed police in this day and age.

• Fools 26/01/13 #

Most are un armed however this hero was a detective so armed. The ratio of cops to population is far too low in comparison to the USA where it is practically a police state.

• Richard sorry but our police force are leagues away from NYC thank god . There hasn’t been many shot dead in duty mostly car accidents and actual bravery. Unarmed police force is a great idea . I like the fact that if im stopped by a squad car i can actually get out of my car without the fear of getting my head blown off.

• @Richard, Bren Dan forgot to mention that our guards (police) get assaulted quite badly on a daily basis and the person who commits these crimes gets very little sentencing if any for their crimes. The law here is nothing like New York, you could murder someone and do a year inside or be out on suspended sentence. Or u could rape your 4 year old daughter for years and never ever see a day in jail. Welcome to the Banana Republic, where the victim is always the cause of the problem and the perpetrator “sure he just got caught up with a bad crowd!”

• @ Karolyn , I said police force, I didn’t say the legal system which you have elaborated upon which I agree is a farce.And Karolyn he was a detecive ,detectives are armed ,just not police officers.

• Hi Richard.
      The Garda aren’t armed here with the exception of the detectives etc.
      The patrol Garda do not carry firearms except under special circumstances.

• @Bren Dan, where exactly did I say he wasn’t armed? My partner is an undercover guard in north inner city, I know exactly whose armed and who isn’t thank u very much! You wouldn’t know the half of what goes on.

• censored 26/01/13 #

It’s interesting to note how well equipped the various police forces in the US are. It is by no means a police state, as claimed by Mr Fools (and thumbed up by 50 fools so far). It’s clear that the Garda is very low on the priority list in spite of the enormous taxes raised by Ireland relative to the US. We expect to do their jobs with minimal resources, not even a properly working radio network (they have to use their own cell phones), there was recently a story about a lady offering a lift in her car to the scene of a crime – the Garda had no squad car. This is ridiculous, and I detest the hypocrisy of our politicians in offering condolences and empty words when an inevitable tragedy occurs.

• Bren Dan 26/01/13 #

@ censored Please stop the name calling Mr Censored we are not in the playground now. In the aftermath of 9/11 ,the USA has sadly become a police state , the laws have been altered so much, to allow the police to detain imprison whatever it requires without due process. Also anyone can be detained under the suspect of being a terrorist which is an unclear term and definable only by the state ,For example othe people who protested peacefully are now branded as “terrorist.

• Pumping money into the National Gallery while closing Garda Stations… Good one Enda and Co. We can all see the logic in that one… Not. As the son of a guard things like this shooting always make me furious thinking that it could be my father.

Actions rather than words Enda!!!

RIP D/Garda Donohoe

• Rip to this brave man but the reality is that his killers are still on the loose and will be until we do something about this someone out there knows who these people are were they live etc
    They didnt come from nowhere and didnt vanish into thin air
    So if enough good people do their bit they can help bring these lowlifes to justice no matter how small the info may seem its a piece in the jigsaw and can help
    Please dont sit in silence because this could be me or you or a member of our family simply being in the wrong place at the wrong time
    These people have no respect for human life

• Those Dirtbirds knew that there would be a Garda presence at the credit union so this was pre-meditated murder.They set about this heist with the intention of using deadly force against whomever opposed them.Re-enact the Death Penalty..set the precedent.

• Guards need better resources and equipment. Not early 80′s revolvers and sub standard ballistic vests. Yes the high profile emergency response units in limerick etc have brand new cars, equipment, weapons but all too often I’ve seen cash in transit escorts with ancient weapons. It’s a disgrace. New equipment and updated training techniques would stop any more gards getting injured or killed.

• As a country we are way too soft on crime. Maybe corporal punishment should be examined. Even though birching no longer takes place in the Isle of Man, the crime rates there are very low, even taking into account a small population.
    If crime is allowed to go unpunished at an early stage, then it’s going to increase and if you allow that, then you’d better have enough money to cover the country with prisons.

• Talk is cheap and you’re full of it Enda!! The Gardai do an amazing job and they’ll honour their colleague and catch each and every one of those ba***rds who took part in the killing of the brave Detective Guard last night and bring them before the courts! What you need to do is get you & your idiot underling Shatter off your privileged pampered arses and sort out the other two thirds of the justice system, ie. the Courts / Judiciary and the Prisons!! Get the Judges giving out proper sentences in line & get the bulldozers & diggers rolling on that super Prison construction out in North Dublin!! The Gardai have and always will take care of their end & will catch the killers! This country doesn’t need you condemning anything or supporting Garda commissioners with words! We need actions & support of our brave Gardai and their efforts to keep our country, our homes, our families and us safe!!!

• May Adrian Donahue rest in peace, and I hope his family will find some peace after time. I want to rant and swear and shout but it would be disrespectful at this time, we ask the guards to get in harms way every day, when it goes wrong this is the tragedy that happens and effects family, friends, & colleagues for a lifetime. I ask the powers at be to look at the job the guards do realise the dangers they are in on a daily basis, stop making cuts to a service that was already underfunded and underequiped
    Otherwise this will not be the only tragedy to hit law enforcement this year.

• Question. Is it possible to allocate to Detective Gardai in hazardous duty better quality bullet proof clothing and helmets, have larger teams and duplicate with a second team to act as armed protection of the first group? Is it possible to reduce the risk by tactical measures?

The priority must be to protect Garda lives and the focus has to be on how to ensure that this will not happen again.

Mandatory real life in prison with no possibility of ever being released, not just of the actual killer, but of each and every participator in the heinous crime, is essential and there should be a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 15 years or even longer for any person found in the possession of an unlicensed gun.

Obviously procedures for armed escorts will have to be greatly enhanced and better resourced.

When real, practical and effective measures are taken to protect Garda life, other aspects can be addressed.

RIP Detective Garda Donohue. You gave your life in the service of the State.

• “…mandatory minimum prison sentence of 15 years or even longer for any person found in the possession of an unlicensed gun.” That’s a bit mental in fairness and totally unrealistic considering the utter trash we have as judges in this country. Sentence them for any amount of years at all and sure any judge can come along and suspend the majority of them basically on a whim.

• Yea we could do that or eh…. Oh yea, actually give proper sentences to $cumbags and cut out all this suspended sentence nonsense! And bail nonsense! You think that these thugs that done this wont have an endless list of previous convictions? But will all be out on suspended sentence. Just wait and see!

• @Karolyn- I agree with you. This scares me.

• @ Adam Murphy, being in possession of an unlicensed gun is a bit “mental” in my view. Mandatory long terms prison sentences with no possibility of parole or early release has been a deterrent at other times in Irish history.

There are too many unlicensed guns in circulation.

Of course, this would be only one of many measures and I saw some excellent posts about upgrading bullet proof clothing and arming Detectives with more modern weaponry. All potential measures need to be contemplated. Preservation of human life must be the overriding priority.

• This is terrible. RIP. A family man just doing his job; my sympathy to his family and friends. I hope people remember the sacrifice our personnel in the public service are making, and the type of person they come in contact with, the next time we are encouraged to turn on each other by corrupt unions and politicians when they try to define us as either public or private. The criminals that murdered our Garda should be hanged.

• This is shocking and a tragedy, sympathies are with the family.
    There has been enough inaction in this country. It is no longer 50′s Ireland where An Garda Sioch?na received wholesale respect.
    It is high time the force was armed in order to deal with the serious criminal elelment out there.
    The days of niceties are gone.

• Rip. enda is a little responsible for lawlessness. Shatter is also a little responsible and the cabinet is hugely responsible for people living in fear all over the country. Not enough jails as criminals are given light sentences and most are given bail.

• Truly a sad state of affairs, I know allot of people will disagree but I think the time is coming (or already here) where the Gardai need to be armed, for their own protection and not least to help them to protect everyone else’s.

• John, those two detectives last night would have been armed. The one who was killed hadn’t even drawn his weapon, which makes this murder even more callous and despicable.

• There is a simple way to cut down dramatically on this time of violent crime. After any criminal is convicted say 3 times of a violent crime he is locked up until he is old and infirm. My sympathies to the Garda’s family.

• I cannot believe most of you people. Not everything is political. I never comment on news sites but for Gods sake. An evil man took away a father, husband and protector of our state. Get your heads out of politically skewed asses, offer sympathy then shut up.

• I think it is time to arm our Gardaí, with Tazers or firearms. I know that the D/Garda was armed however it is time we come into line with the rest of the world. We lost a brave man today, we need as a country to stand up and take notice, demand change. Give the Gardaí the proper resources, sort out our court system, build more prisons. We need to put the fear back into the criminal. We need to allow our Gardaí to be robust in their duties. It was only a few months ago that a uniformed Garda was shot at twice in a raid in Dublin. I’m afraid that this will not be a one off, criminals have no fear of being caught. We need to stand together as a country, stand up for our Gardaí, we send them into harms way, so we need to support them. TD’S from all sides need to make sure that this mans death is not forgotten, not swept under the rug with old news. We need the Dail to act, we the Irish people must demand this! It is the only gift we can give the Gardaí.

• Rip

• Stop talking Enda, quit trotting around Europe like a muppet, try to understand what is going on in this country if you can,if not quit we need action now not talk forget about Europe this is our Country.

• Shows the path of cut backs and closing of Garda stations will cost more lives of Garda and public alike. blue shirt FG government closing stations & the Garda blue shirts numbers decreasing as well. Public safety is being undermined by these cuts plus people may feel the need to take the law into their own hands if the Guards are not around to enforce the law.

• Truly devastating. My thoughts are with Adrians family, friends and colleagues. And the families of all our brave Gardai, no doubt this strikes fear into many hearts today. It’s an unspeakably sad day.

• Lu 26/01/13 #

F*ck you Enda kenny and f*ck you Alan shatter!! A man was murdered last night and all it is to both of you is a nuisance!! Rip d/Garda Donohue!

• You need serious help.

• Lu 26/01/13 #

You’re right. How dare I be offensive to the two men responsible for crippling the men and women of an garda siochana who are trying, every day, to protect and serve the people of this country without proper pay, conditions or equipment! I apologise Ben. Didn’t mean to offend you!

• Lu, what I find offensive is you and your fellow travellers making cheap political points over the brutal murder of a family man.

• Don’t think she’s making a cheap political comment there Ben! People in this country, for the most part, are sick and tired of our brave Gardai being hung out to dry by our wonderful government! Emotions can run high at times like this, especially when a brave Garda is shot dead and all our Taoiseach can come out with is a token speech most likely penned for him by some over paid advisor!! Lou is echoing what I and the majority of this country feel! You not the same?? RIP to the Brave Garda & condolences to his family!

• Agree totally. Bunch of hypocrites with their crocodile tears. Shatter hang your head in shame!!

• When escorting money the army should be doing this, and the private firms should pay for it. There wouldn’t be any of these sort of robberies if the army were involved. RIP to this brave Garda.

• The army escorting may not have saved lives, the Garda was shot in the head within a split second, no time to react, armed detectives have just as good training and was probably wearing bullet proof vest.
      My thoughts and sympathies goes out to the family and colleagues, when someone kills a Garda it’s not just an attack on the Gardaí it’s an attack on the state and community

• I agree, but I think if it was practice for the army to escourt these money vans, then this kind of thing would not take place. Just my opinion..

• Maybe if the banks used private security to protect their interests and leve the Gardai to do their jobs. The gardai should not be used as security for banks or banking ….. I have been saying this for years, and years.

• I agree entirely, the army arent too busy and if they were present with firepower there would be no robberies

• Excellent point, this is an attack on the entire fabric of Irish society. To shoot a Detective Garda without warning shows a chilling lack of respect for any institution be they political familial or social. Unfortunately I think this is the first of many we will see as society breaks down. The first gangland killings sparked outrage but now barely make headline news. Enough is enough. These animals are now killing our protectors. Detective Garda Donohoe was escorting money being delivered to a credit union, money belonging to the people of the locality, not bond holders or major financial institutions. A Guardian of the Peace slain. It’s a sad day.

• Fools 26/01/13 #

Enda there is no justice in this country you Muppet. The death penalty needs to be brought back for these scu*

• All the politicians are to blame, for the state this country is in. Parish pump politics and paying debts of private banks, are a part of it. How much more will people take, before they say enough is enough?

• Red Ed 26/01/13 #

Kenny, Shatter and Callinan keep your mouths shut for today at least to show some respect to this man’s family and friends. Your condolences are insulting. RIP

• If the Taoiseach or minister didn’t say anything and just let it go by you would be complaining as well, a man has died left a family without a father husband brother son, have a little respect and leave your political comments at the door, it’s a time for mourning not begrudging

• surely shatter must resign. Rip brave man

• Crass to use this man’s death to score cheap political points. Were you calling for the then Minister for Justice to resign when Jerry McCabe was mowed down by “republicans” in 1996?

• Interesting that most of the comments on this page are blaming the government for this atrocity and not the person who coldly put a gun to the victims head. Is there evidence that shows this would not have happened in the tiger period. A bulletproof vest would not have helped as the guard , who was armed , was shot in the head with no chance to realize the severity of the situation. I am sure that there are people out there who will give information that will lead to a speedy conclusion to this case. This crime was carried out by armed robbers, not politicians , inept or otherwise .

• How many were shot in the tiger period Larry?

• Larry, the increase in crime and desperation among people is down to the recession. We are in a recession because the government guaranteed private bank losses. They also propped up a false industry to make themselves and their mates rich at the expense of their fellow citizens. No better than an African banana republic.

• How about channelling the anger and grief into something useful??
    These people from “rte reports” travelled in a black/dark coloured passat from the scene apparently down south. Chances are they are Dublin heads and may have travelled up a couple of hours before the shooting. Where are the locations along that route that have CCTV ? Are there houses near the motorway that have a camera that could have caught a glimpse of a dark passat ? Where are these locations? If they didn’t travel the m1 what are the other spots that cover the roads? Where there any cars,trucks or buses travelling north or south in this 5 hour window that may have dash cams or CCTV on. The cameras on the tolls are vital but so too are other cameras.
    Rip Adrian

• Bren Dan 26/01/13 #

Jekinstown is a very quiet community . No one would envisage it happening there. Well I wouldnt personally.

• Raises the question of how Gardai confront suspicious vehicles in future. Should the deceased have even left his vehicle?

• A fair point. I always think that when I see gardai manning checkpoints, maybe just two of them, in the middle of nowhere at night. They have no idea what they could facing.