TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Working Abroad Expo shuts doors early due to crowds

Entry to the RDS is now only being granted to those who have pre-paid or are already in the existing queue.

Queues for entry to the Expo at the RDS yesterday.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

AS HUNDREDS CONTINUE to queue outside the RDS to gain entry to the Working Abroad Expo, organisers have had to close the door to those without tickets.

Thousands of people are attending the exhibition searching for opportunities not available to them in Ireland. Eighty companies are recruiting at the event but advice on visas and other aspects of emigration is also available.

Jobseekers have been persuaded to attend the expo by reports of attractive employment packages in countries suffering from skills shortages. In particular, there are a number of employers from Canada and Australia who have taken up stands.

Just some of the jobs on offer include physicians positions in Canada which come with a promise of $500,000 earnings and $55,000 in assistance to “get settled”, as well as a house and a car.

Charlie Melia, a business consultant for a company recruiting such doctors for Canada, told TheJournal.ie that the companies are delighted with the crowds that have flocked to the RDS.

“The company I work for got about 150 CVs yesterday and will be delighted to receive the same today,” he said.

It is understood that because of the unprecedented demand for entry, a second day may be added to the event’s Cork programme next week. There are also rumours floating around the RDS that some companies may return to the Dublin venue tomorrow.

The exhibition opened one hour earlier this morning and is to close at 6pm – an hour later than scheduled – in attempts to allow more people access.

At the RDS, there are also queues of people lining up to speak to employers at each booth. More than 5,000 people attended the event yesterday.

Working Abroad Expo shuts doors early due to crowds
1 / 4
  • Working Abroad Expo

In pictures: the Working Abroad Expo at the RDS>

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• Many of our best being forced to leave, while in the other half of the RDS, the worst in our country are quaffing pints all day, and talking about how great FF are, and how they need to be back in power.

2 of the delegates were singing “Cheerio Cheerio” to the people at the expo after some one shouted that FF should be ashamed of themselves.

They truly are a party with no redeeming features.

• A very sad but true comment Martin.
      How in anyone’s right mind can vote FF again is truly amazing,to see these lines of our people packed to the rafters trying to leave their country is very upsetting.
      Then you have people calling Brain Cowen a Martyr and a hero is beyond words.The guy was Finance minster when the housing market bubbled and Taoiseach when he agreed the bailout,He couldn’t of done a worst job and gets called a martyr?
      Just shows you the neck of them hosting a big party in the same building unemployed people are looking to work abroad because of the mess they caused and to hear that 2 delegates singing “Cheerio Cheerio” doesn’t surprise me they are arrogant bunch.

• How did any particular part force people to take mortgages they couldn’t afford or force the banks to offer them. Why didn’t people save instead if spending well beyond their means keeping up with the Jones’. I guess thats the governments fault too for not legislating mandatory individual savings. Why did the electorate oppose tax increases to save for a rainy day during the boom years! Same old crap from the “I’m entitled” crowd get off your high horse. No one politician or party caused the issues we have today. Pointing the finger may feel good and self righteous but that all it does it achieves nothing. At the end of the day ALL of us need to share the responsibility for OUR recent failings and ALL of us should be trying to improve things and not leave it to politicians regardless of what party they are or are not part of. The good old crab bucket and begrudger attitude indeed!

• It does not surprise me that some one from the delegates sang Cheerio Cheerio …. there are some nasty types in FF

• @Irish in the USA
      Your right it wasn’t just FF that messed things up but their buddies the bankers and developers.
      FF where the cheerleaders for the property market.Remember Bertie telling people to go hang them self’s if they thought the property market was bubbling?
      FF where using the stamp duty which they were getting billions from to raise welfare, pensions all benefits to win election’s.
      The Galway tent where the champagne parties happened with FF and major developers.
      Remember Frank Fahey telling people to buy property in 2009 saying its great time to buy.
      I understand your point that its up to the person to buy a house but most or 80% of people that bought a house during the boom thought it was safe and the norm to buy a house.No one was forced to take a mortgage but the media and politician’s done a good job to cheer people on.
      ” At the end of the day ALL of us need to share the responsibility for OUR recent failings ” I didn’t fail and a lot of people I know didn’t so why do I have to take responsibility?I have no debt have to pay more tax and these ex FF leches get mega bucks for screwing the country.Don’t forget the young people that caused nothing and have to immigrate in the future because of the mess FF caused.

• Im going to Canada hopefully. I was already in the advanced stage before this expo. I have tried to start up my business 3 times since it closed 2 years ago. I have 4 kids so I wont see much of them. This is the best this country has to offer so its time to go. I want to stay here employ people but its impossible. I hope I can make it abroad.

• While it’s very sad to see I wish good luck to each and every one of those looking to leave. Hopefully their skills and qualifications will gain them the recognition they deserve abroad. It’s shameful that this has been, and is still seen, by successive governments as a legitimate,acceptable part of the solution to our economic problems. I never thought I’d say this but I’m almost sorry I came back here myself because fu€k all has changed.

• Fair play to the organisers for creating the event in the first place, but I think they should have made this a week-long event in order to meet the demand.

• Micheal Martin should parade Bertie up and down the queue and make him apologise to each one of the men and women queuing there.

• According to so called politicians there is no forced emigration. Its a lifestyle choice.

More like people desperate to be recognised as human beings and allowed to work in a decent job and earn the the respect they deserve. Something no so called Irish Government has ever done for the people.

• Wonder will Rte news ignore this again tonight like they did last night

• So very sad, this country will lose so much bright young talent! Very best of luck to them all.

• Scarey.

• Very sad, ironic who are next door !

• So sad to see so many people wanting to leave the country and families! If I could I would too. We his a ice berg on this sinking ship

• Many of our best being forced to leave, while in the other half of the RDS, the worst in our country are quaffing pints all day, and talking about how great FF are, and how they need to be back in power.
    2 of the delegates were singing “Cheerio Cheerio” to the people at the expo after some one shouted that FF should be ashamed of themselves.
    They truly are a party with no redeeming features.

• Lets get Ireland working, eh? 8)

• This is what the government wants huge numbers leaving then tell us all the bills are coming down thanks to our policies wankers the lot if them

• Bob 04/03/12 #

There’s the evidence of FG & Labours ‘Lifestyle Choice’.

People who would rather spend a day in the Damp weather than live a life of luxury on the dole.

• Two years im in London now ,,,, every week more and more coming over it’s getting harder to find work here ,,,,, it’s so sad to thing that this is the second time iv done this once in 1988 and again in 2009 ,,, shame on you FF ,,FG labour shame on you

• My son attended yesterday, he is a young engineer with about 18 months experience, let go from contract job, he said anyone he spoke to was not accepting cv’s! Told him to apply online, what’s that about!! I asked this question on another thread…did anyone have a better outcome???

• Pity we couldn’t ship all those FF folks to another to country to do hard labour in the mountains. Any coal mines we could send them to.

• Sorry but was at this Work Abroad Expo yesterday and found it the greatest waste of time, money and effort involved. Was there at 10.00a.m. yesterday morning and didn’t get into the building itself till 11.25. Paid 10 euro, which was a waste of money. Think it is really bad that you had to pay so much for something, which you go to in the vain hope of getting a job out off. Went from stand to stand, crammed full of people, queued again and again to talk to people in question, only to be given a business card or leaflet and told to upload my cv onto their website and go from there. Hello? I paid 10 euro to hear that? What was more, it was incredibly badly organised. Too small a venue for so much people. You couldn’t tell the recruiting agencies from the actual employment companies. All the immigration stands should have been together, all the recruitment agencies should have been together, etc. One representative of a building company I approached was so hung over from the night before, his eyes were bloodshot and all he could utter was; ‘here’s a leaflet, email me your cv’. Then the agenices and companies were so not in touch with the different professions in their own industry. ‘You do what?’ ‘What’s that?’ The best one yet was when I approached a construction company, sat with an employer and was told; ‘I am so amazed at how much industrial experience ‘you people’ have’. Our tourist board has something to answer for there. This guy thought we still lived in thatched cottages and hearded sheep along a road for a living. Then he asks ‘Have you had any industrial building experience yourself’? Which I reply ‘yes’ to. Then he says ‘any experience in building industrial buildings for mining companies’? ‘No, unfortunately not’. ‘Ah that’s a pity’ he says. ‘Well I say we wouldn’t have a huge mining history here in Ireland’….. Doh! So I am sorry if I am ranting, but I came away knowing as much about emigrating to work abroad as I knew before entering the expo. What a complete waste of time, money etc.

• A very sad state of affairs!
    Ironic that some the culprits that might have caused them to attend, was just around the corner at their own self slap on the back, function!

• Desperate times!
    Desperate queues!

• It’s a sorry sight to see so many queuing up to leave the country.

• It’s a very sad news:( once I was in their shooes, good luck to all of them!

• Physicians will always find work .Most of the people in that expo wont be getting 500 thousand a yr job or the 55thou relocation fee.10 euro entry fee should be reimbursed if the dont get a job.

• That expo is an utter waste of time.
    Unless your qualified with degrees coming out of your ears and have 10grand in the bank your throwing a tenner down the drain

• There’s some truth in that alright Robert.
      Generally the people these employers and countries are looking for are well experienced in a desirable field and they don’t need expos. Basically the easy to reach, low hanging fruit.

Someone could get a work visa sorted (no expo needed for that) and could arrive into that country and find well paid work in their field pretty fast. I’m thinking nurses and engineers and skilled trades people. Though having an employer lined up and willing help you immigrate is pretty sweet!

My experience is that I spoke to a representative of an Australian immigration visa company. I have a degree and experience (in media for all it’s worth) and my sister is an Australian citizen but the lady said there’s nothing they could do for me.

Now I could hire an Australian lawyer who will go through the immigration law with a fine tooth comb and help me fight my corner and after a while and a lot of expense I’d hope to be successful.

But in general these recruitment people and immigration companies want the best people with the minimum of hassle, the low hanging fruit.

• Yeah I went to the last expo about a year ago and found it a waste of time as i have a qualification in Film production. Its pointless to go if anyone has an arts background in my opinion. I pretty much paid 10 euro in to get a couple of free pens………in fairness though they are great pens!!!!

• Shame…

Although forced, All the best to those looking to broaden your horizons.. I hope it comes to some good.

If you see the others attending the RDS! Throw some eggs at Cowan if you see him. They need to wake up from the happy dream they are in….

• Well you can forget economic recovery while the population is declining , when these people leave (and many may never return) there will be even less demand for houses , cars , food ect.
    EVERY Irish politician should hang their heads in shame.

• jimbo 04/03/12 #

you can bet a certain politician is rubbing his hands here seen so many people wanting/have no choice to leave ireland….

• Tragic. :(

• This is absolutely disgusting! So much for jobs in 1st 100 days of power for fg and labour, what day are we on now?300? #lies #sameoldstory

• The people who are leaving have skills needed by this country – if we’re ever to recover. That said, I can’t blame anyone who decides to go. Doesn’t look like there’s going to be any real change in Ireland. It’s ironic that the FF scumbags were in the RDS at the same time. Shame on them singing “cheerio cheerio”.

• Irish Government policy.

Train them up.
    And
    Ship them out.

Because our government of school teachers and gombeens think it is too much bother to allow them to make a living in their own country.

In this day and age in Western Europe these images are Third World.

• Sweat pants, old hoodies, un-tucked shirts, greasy hair… Are they lining up outside a takeaway or meeting prospective employers…

• debbie 04/03/12 #

Scary to see all who wants to work are leaving where they can work and we are left with the spongers

• Brian 04/03/12 #

It’s not too much unlike the dole lines around any town across the country. In roscrea they had to widen the path outside the post office as it was considered a health hazard due to the lines! incredible …….extend the path but do nothing to the lines?? The dole is a hard, hartless and soleless place for way too many of our young people …but yet the indo would make you think it was the life of reilly!

• Helena,your hubby will get work soon.He did not get this far for nothing.Good Luck.

• I’d wonder how many of those queuing were skilled and employed? Why stay and shoulder extra taxes/wage cuts etc, not to mention the general societal gloom when your able to piss of for a few somewhere sunny?

• 20 years ago I remember the Irish newspapers running ad’s for companies claiming to get you high paid construction work in Kuwait to rebuild after the war.

You had to send them a fiver for an information pack.

And generally the information pack is all that you got.

€10 x 10,000 people = a Million Euro

Alright for a couple of days work.

• Our government(s) have betrayed these kids.

And now they have deemed them surplus to requirements.

And have put them up for adoption.

Narrow minded thinking from our sheltered ”great leaders”

• ‘son’ !

• it does not look like there are many of the so called new irish those queues

• It’s only a shame that the FF crowd next door weren’t the ones leaving. The most sad thing of all is that they’ll most likely be back in power within 10 years. Still, a country gets the government it deserves. Good luck to all hearing off. I can’t say I’m not envious.

• *heading* Bloody phone :-)

• This is really a sad sight to see, so many people in a Q wanting to leave Ireland.. It really brings home just how bad it is here.. All I can say is who ever is the last one out turn off the light.

• The measure of any nation is how well it provides for its people , and since the day Ireland became independent it has consistently failed its people , with the exception of the elite few.

• Was it just Australian and Canadian recruiters at this?

• @John Gerard
      It would appear that was the case my son went (young engineer, with some experience), put on shirt and tie, armed with cv… Guess what?? Not accepting cv’s…apply online same at the career zoo couple weeks ago in Mansion House!

• should have been there at 9.30 like me idiots…

• Ok. We all know of the Irish leaving. But are Canada and Australia opening their doors to Polish ,Indian,Nigerian and other workers who have lived in Ireland and by now are mostly fluent in English?? Or is it just Irish they are seeking to bring over from Ireland

• I belive the want people to go and work,not to go and live of their welfare system.Only ireland was stupid enough to open its doors up to everyone.

• We had a Polish girl working with us up to the beginning of last year. She left to move to Canada with it’s better opportunities and quality of life. Shr’s got a job over there now and is delighted she went. I don’t think they mind nationality once you have qualifications and are prepared to work.

• @Paul Darby – are you deluded? The vast majority of people who came to Ireland in the “good years” came to work hard and build a better future for themselves and their families.

• Australia will take anyone willing to work for less money and under poorer conditions than the locals will stand for (and live in a country with a high cost of living to highly skilled wage ratio). They complain about a skills shortage when there are plenty of skilled people out of work here saying no one will take their CV, they claim the jobs don’t exist then we hear they have petitioned the government to bring in overseas workers to fill a manufactured skill shortage and as our new arrivals are finding out the pay and conditions are horrible. It’s trying to get cheap labour, they don’t want workers they want total control where they can hold a visa over their employees heads. Google “workchoices” to see what the Australian gov really thinks of its workforce.

• My point exactly albeit more eloquently put :P

Add New Comment