TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Youth Defence ordered to remove anti-abortion posters

Dublin City Council said that the organisation “had not applied for or received permission” for the anti-abortion posters which appeared in Dublin city centre this week.

One of the posters put up by Youth Defence earlier this week.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

PRO-LIFE ORGANISATION Youth Defence “had not applied for or received permission” to put up the anti-abortion posters which appeared in the vicinity of both Government Buildings and Leinster House in the last number of days.

A spokesperson from Dublin City Council confirmed to TheJournal.ie that the organisation, when contacted, had agreed to “remove all posters themselves.”

They have also “been advised of the protocols in place in the council regarding applications for postering in the city”, the spokesperson said.

The anti-abortion posters, which read “Enda; Don’t Open The Door To Abortion On Demand” and “Enda; All I Want For Christmas Is My Right To Life” had appeared on both Molesworth Street and Merrion Street in Dublin 2.

Read: Alan Shatter condemns ‘obscene and insensitive’ anti-abortion posters >

Read next:

Comments (143 Comments)

• You’re also not allowed advertise meetings or events over 7 days in advance of the scheduled date due to litter laws. These posters were promoting something that is almost a month away and were obviously just designed for them to promote themselves.

City Council can dish out €150 fines per poster, Youth Defence claim they put 300 up so that could be €45,000 into the public coffers.

• Still, it would’ve been something…

• Yeah true. My favourite comment on the Youth Defence facebook recently was an American woman asking why they were all more concerned about Ireland instead of America. In fairness to her, 80% of the people Liking & Sharing on there are American and they’re funded by the likes of the Tea Party in America, so you can see how she’d be confused.

• Try commenting of Youth Defence’s Facebook wall, with an opposing opinion and you get blocked!!!! All they are good at is spewing venom. Do they really think that the Ireland of today is listening to their venom???? They have this love affair with the fetus, but don’t give a fiddlers about the child once its born!!!

• @Mary, that’s exactly it. I heard a great saying in America during the election they recently had when this issue was raised.

‘Republicans will fight tooth & nail for you until you are born, then they couldn’t care less what happens to you’

• Cannot comment on the seanie affair ,i was in the masters court in the four courts yesterday and i heard a solicitor who was representing a man from clonmel against revenue say her client had was unaware he had a partner in the form of a director of ANGLO IRISH BANK ,why has the media ignored this story

• Youth Defence breaking rules? Never!

• Oh yeah and the Pro Choice side never broke the rules is it? What about the recent handing out of dangerous information in relation to abortion by certain pro choice groups?

• Haha, dangerous information?
      Isn’t that what the church said about Galileo too after he wrote his book?

• bpdeasy, Suggesting women tell their doctor they’ve miscarried rather than had an abortion is not “dangerous information”. The woman gets the same treatment without risk of a judgmental attitude.

More sneaky misinformation from the anti-choice brigade.

• To be fair it’s also not clear if the IFPA counsellors suggested that. It seems to me more like a response to someone asking “do I HAVE to tell my GP”. Leading questions pop up frequently in those transcripts I reckon. YD and their ilk have pulled that kind of thing before. I definitely had two “tests” (two that I’m fairly sure of) when I was welfare officer in the students’ union at college. Was warned before taking the job that it would happen. There used to be dozens of them in the nineties, I’d say they’re kicking off that kind of campaign again.

• you know youth defense all i want for xmas is for you to discontinue with this s**t, and seriously if you try to hand me leaflets with graphic pictures again esp when i have my kids with me, i shall not be responsible for my actions!!!!!!

• Oh my god, I hadn’t seen the most recent poster with the Santa hat!! Jesus they’re bloody insane….

• Marion your “pro abort” terminology comes straight from the lexicon of the looney right American religious Taliban. How tolerant is that? Nobody is pro abortion. We are pro the right of women to control their own bodies and health without fundamentalists imposing their own dogma on them. As for us socialists and our posters, they are to advertise public meetings so are perfectly legal. Abortion rights are coming and you lot will just have to deal with that reality, just like the thousands of Irish women who are forced to travel abroad every year had to deal with their reality.

• Youth Defence = Extreme right wingers = anti-women!! Delighted they have been ordered to remove these offensive posters. If only they would spend half of their time and resources helping the starving and abused kids all over this planet instead of trying to force women to go through with unwanted pregnancies. They only care about the fetus, but have no interest in the baby once its born!!! They are still doing what they do best, spewing venom……

• The only spewing is coming from the intolerant pro-aborts. Even though I’m female you automatically conclude that I’m anti-woman. Just after hearing the testimony from an individual about a young woman who has left home over 5 years ago due to her parents coercing her to abort when she was a teenager & nobody has heard from her since. Where was the ‘choice’ in that? Poor unfortunate.

• Must be true Marion. Your story.

• She had no choice at all Marion. And that’s awful. As a pro-choice person I wish she had had one. In your story her parents denied her a choice (and the clinic failed in their duty if care) but for the 4,000 women who leave Ireland each year the government denies them a choice.

• So you think someone not having a choice is a bad thing?? Why then are you anti choice? How do you reconcile such contrary thoughts in your head?

• Marion, if youth defence are so concerned about babies’ lives why aren’t ye campaigning about anti-circumcision? Babies have died from the barbaric religious ritual. Even New York have passed a law that parents must sign a disclaimer that the ritual can be fatal. I read about two babies recently that died because the guy who sucks the blood from the babies’ cuts transmitted herpes. Why isn’t that a concern for “Youth Defence”? Or is it because it’s a religious ritual it is ignored?

• I consider myself pro choice. Normally, I would have no problem with anyone who is pro life, given that they could argue their point rationally, and without the use of scare tactics as their sole form of defence. When I finally meet someone like that, I’ll let you know. But I could be waiting a long time.

• i hate Youth Defence. Merry Christmas.

• They are the saddest sacks of all the sad sacks. Whatever ‘side’ your on, whether your pro or anti abortion, this lot don’t allow for anyone to have their own choice and opinion.

They use scare tactics, inaccurate ‘facts, heavily massaged statistics and downright bullying and intimidation to get their point across. Both them and their troll (mini) army should be ignored where possible, they do.not.matter.

• Putting up a pro-life poster of an ultrasound is preventing people from expressing their pro-abortion views is lunacy. If a harmless picture is so scary & intimidating to a grown adult then that person needs psychiatric help.

• It broke Litter Laws Marion, read my response to your post below please

• They are going to wipe out bloodlines, I know people that wanted to abort and I know people that did abort,
      The ones that did abort were deeply sorry they look like a part of them had died.
      The ones that wanted to abort but didn’t are so happy with their kids now.

• I know people who wanted to abort, did and are, many years later, still 100% certain they made the right decision.

• Actually Marion, the photo of the ultrasound with the Santa hat just made them look plain ridiculous, and if anything, made a total mockery of the whole pro-life movement in Ireland. But you know what is a scare tactic? Insisting that abortion creates suicidal thoughts, depression, breast cancer and a host of other things in women. Not to mention all the disgusting judgements you allow on your pages – one commenter in particular yesterday declared that those who ever decide to have an abortion have no soul and will be held accountable by God. And you insist that’s not a scare tactic? You really should be ashamed of yourselves.

• Well Said Penelope Wizzlehurst, those pro-life, ill informed idiots really make me mad, how dare they shove their opinion down everyone’s throat. Fine the hell out of them and give the money to Barnardos or vincent de Paul

• Brian 21/12/12 #

It might be lunacy to you Marion but your shower broke the law. Accept it, deal with it and go away.

• @marion: and you being an adult with an invisible friend doesn’t mean that it is YOU that needs psychiatric help?

• @marion Do you think children should have to see a foetus with a Santa Hat on 4 nights before the big man arrives? Leave kids out of the debate! I resent your comment too about people needing psychiatric help, very ill thought out comment when many people are currently experiencing mental health difficulties, then again clearly Youth Defence and most likely yourself have displayed in abundance that there is no low you won’t stoop to!

• Liam 21/12/12 #

Great news, youth defence are irritating little pests.

• They can come and collect the crap they posted through my letterbox too!

• Surely invading a woman’s womb during pregnancy to place festive headgear on a developing foetus is akin to abortion. Perhaps Youth Defence are becoming more liberal in their views?

• Made my day!!!!

• These posters are turning up as advertisements in certain pubs as well, vote with your feet.

• They were in the men’s jacks in a pub we were in last night. My partner complained to the staff. They didn’t realise the micro-media company had put them up and were horrified. Took them down immediately and couldn’t apologise enough to us. They are complaining to the advertising company today and won’t host that type of media again. Well worth drawing the pub/club’s attention to them. Most people have no stomach for right-wing American money trying to subvert our democratic process.

• Dear Santa,

Please bring a bag of coal to all the Pro-Lifers!
    Thank you!

• And I say it again – to both sides of the argument – there is a middle ground that we can all support on protecting the fetus – that is from drugs & alcohol. No public health information in Ireland to empower women to make a safe choice of her unborn – yet hundreds of children born each year with life long brain injury from alcohol & drug use. Alcohol in pregnancy the leading cause of intellectual disabilities in western world – but yet we turn a blind eye. No mother wants to give birth to a child with a brain injury but yet they are denied basic public health information. Why is Diageo funding the prevention of FASD in UK but not in Ireland. Why is Ireland asleep to this public health disaster ?

• bren 21/12/12 #

They must be raging. All that effort and money, and the whole thing was abortive?

• I love the way the “pro life” brigade push their agenda. They call themselves pro-life but who’s life are they “pro”? Certainly not women who have found themselves pregnant after being raped or suffering incest. Certainly not couples who are devastated after finding out their child will die at birth after its brain hasn’t formed properly or at all. Five thousand women a year are forced to travel to the UK for terminations. No one does it because its an easy choice. The rights or welfare of these women are the very last concern of youth defence.

• Anybody who happened to receive Youth Defence bullshit propaganda in the mail, take 5 minutes out of your day to stamp and address an envelope to: Youth Defence, 60a Capel Street, Dublin 1. Let them know you will not accept their propaganda by sending their flyer back to them. Angry letter optional :)

• A hypothetical question; if a woman naturally has a miscarriage, would there ever be a funeral for the unborn child?

-No, because there was no person born, no birth certificate.

So how do Pro-Life people compare abortion to murder, if there wasn’t a person born?

How does this make any sense?

• Score one for the good guys…

• Wow look at all the downvotes the no-choice people are getting.
    More than likely its because of the fact that they’re the minority although they sure do make enough noise to make up for it.

• Why do some people believe that abortion being “still” illegal in Ireland as a good thing?

It just continues to show that we’re a backwards nation still living in the Dark Ages.

Divorce wasn’t even legalised in Ireland until the late 1990s.

• All want for Christmas is FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION!!!

• Real responsible there Youth Defence, if anyone was in any doubt about how poisonous this crowd are, today is your proof. 4 days before Santa comes to the children of Ireland, they decide to put a foetus with a Santa hat on on posters around schools and main streets for all the children to see. It seems you only have rights within the womb according to most anti choicers. No need for a child to have a childhood or anything. They disgust me!

• These disgusting fascists – funded by the same hate groups in the US that encourage the kill the gays legislation in Uganda

• If ya don’t dig abortion, don’t have abortions. Why does everyone else have to agree?

• Sure why don’t we ban pictures of cancer riddled lungs on cigarette boxes and pictures of starving children in Africa. I prefer to withdraw from these debates as I have my opinion and there will always be someone against it so its better to keep it to myself, but I think advertising in general has become rather gruesome.

• Pro-’choicers’: are you advocating abortion on demand or abortion due to mitigating circumstances? Can someone clarify please because quoting figures such as 4,000 women leaving the country for abortion this year makes it sound like the former and I’m confused

• Well I’m okay with abortion on demand as you call it. Other people who are pro choice may have different positions.

• “Pro choicers” are not a hive mind – some people believe in abortion “on demand”, some due to rape and incest, some for fatal foetal abnormalities – but the current legislation that Youth Defence are opposing would only apply to women with a substantial and immediate threat to their life. So you can see why pro “life” sounds a bit ironic in the circumstances.

• I’m sure the United Left Alliance and other far-left groups always apply for permission from the City Council for all their posters about abortion!

• Posters of babies at Christmas time? Bah hum bug we can’t have that. I notice a very sly placement of an article relating to the offensive anti-Shatter posters.

• More populist rubbish on the Journal.ie.

At this stage it’s making Tabloids look good

• Youth Defence are the real heroes of Ireland. Viva La Vida, Viva La YD!

• Ter 21/12/12 #

Youth Defence the only sensible people in Ireland keep up the good work living saints.

• Is this really what passes for news?

• My womb thinks it is news. Merry Christmas.

• Your womb thinks it’s news? What does that even mean Anna?

• hey George, i am treated as a second class citizen because i am not allowed decide what i do with my womb, i should be allowed abort or not abort according to my own prefrence. those posters offend me as they reiterate the fact that i am not allowed choose for myself what hapoens to my body. those posters are vile. i think it is F**KING NEWS that they have to take them down and so does my womb. Enjoy the festive season, Merry Christmas.

• Oh Anna, you poor poor thing not being allowed to abort the baby you created and avoid taking responsibility for your actions. Poor little lamb

• Amy. I have a 13 year old daughter that i got pregnant with at 16, i was given the option of abortion by my supportive parents, i chose to keep the baby. Your bitchy comment is extremely offensive and i pity your smallmindedness. If i fell pregnant now by accident by someone i wasnt in love with i would, at this point in my life, 100% would have an abortion. Im not wishing you a Merry Christmas because you are a horse humping, f**ktard.

• Of all the comments on here today, Amy thats the most childish and immature and nasty that has been posted. I’d love to call ya a right c— but I won’t stoop as low as that!

• So Anna, do you believe a fetus isn’t a living thing?

• Thank you for your restraint Connor, no matter what you call me I won’t think Anna is a victim in the way she does.

• Amy? I’m not a victim never have been. I didn’t assume your religion. You are wildly reading into things. I don’t like your attitude or aggression. I don’t want to converse with you anymore.

• Glad you were able to deal with the rape and subsequent pregnancy and move on with your life Amy.

But cannot you see that some women may not be able to do so? You obviously know of the trauma a rape causes, some just cannot cope with the idea of giving birth to their rapist’s child and seek a termination. Can you not understand why they would do that and why it is somewhat barbaric to advocate forcing a woman to carry it to term?

• It appears the pro-aborts are spewing as per usual at a harmless poster. Making accusations without substantial evidence it is a relief the the looney lefties aren’t the Gardai or this country would be the equivalent of the USSR. There is always socialists pro-abortion posters up in town & never a word condemning them. It is laughable to be connecting Youth Defence with the Catholic Church because many of the clergy dislike them. This world is full of lunatics who are always looking to find something to create a frenzy about. Ah! well that’s life.

• Marion the posters broke Litter Laws that we all have to abide by. The law is that you are not allowed advertise an event or meeting over 7 days in advance of the scheduled date and is a sensible one that combats our lamp posts being filled with posters advertising whatever various groups want to promote.

What exactly is your problem with the Council upholding their rules?

• The socialists have pro-abortion posters up all of the time in Dublin, I don’t be whining about them or reporting them to the Co. Council. I’ve too much to be concerned about rather than looking to fine org.s

• it’s not harmless! Seeing those posters made me very unwell! To think that there are enough nutjobs so fanatical about this straightforward and clear cut issue is simply sickening.

And you guys LOVE the church! Honestly I would say that you were almost “in bed with them”, only most of ye would be well over their age requirement for that!

Face it, you’re on the side that has the Catholic church on it. The single moast foul and disgusting organisation this country has ever known when it comes to children. And you are wrong.

• Mario the posters can go up again so long as they are posted within 7 days of the event and removed within 7 days after.

If you ever see Socialist posters up around town breaking those laws please do report them. But as it is you’re complaining about the Council upholding a very sensible litter law

• Firstly I’m only in my thirties & Youth Defence consists of YOUNG PEOPLE. So the pro-life poster caused you harm, just wondering if it jumped out & bit you? Did you have to receive an injection from a doctor?

• But now I’ve explained the litter laws to you Marion you see why they were taken down?

• I’m not a snitch Niall. That is the Co. Council’s job.

• “I’m not a snitch”

Are you 11 years old?

• Are you sure you are in your 30s? You don’t come across like that!

• Don’t listen to them Marion. Sure you’re gas craic. Giving all of us here in work a good laugh.
      Keep sticking your nose where it doesn’t belong. Keep them women down. Keep forcing your beliefs onto others. Keep up the crazy.

• I don’t agree with Marion, however she has a right to express her opinion, and should respect the right of others to express theirs.
      We can’t criticise Youth Defence and others for not allowing proper debate and then tell their supporters not to stick their noses in where it doesn’t belong.

• Who are you calling ‘pro-aborts’ exactly? What a disgusting U.S originated term, how can you use that term and say you’re not anti-women? For me, I have a child who I chose to keep-that was MY choice and the right choice for me – I know I wouldn’t and COULDN’T have made that same choice if I’d been say 17, or been raped, or if the child was going to be gravely ill all their lives giving them AND myself no quality of life..-And an anti-women, barely-there-there-fetus loving lunatic like yourself would HARRASS girls and women like that and try to make them feel like a piece of shit all because you haven’t a bloody clue.

The YD ‘black and white’ brigade, getting smaller in numbers all the time, thankfully.

• See joe, you fell into the old trap of thinking everybody deserves respect. They don’t. Should we also respect the views of hitler?

• I think she is, look at how she responds to someone saying they felt hurt by the poster-asking them if they went to the doctor.. All about the venom and zero tolerance, lovely god-fearing women isn’t she all the same?

• Harmless poster??!!
      What about a woman that recently may have miscarried a baby and has to see that? Or a woman that has had an abortion?
      I am a mother and pro choice…I was lucky to be a good situation when I became pregnant, but many others have not been or will be in a good position when pregnant.
      If you have never had to deal with a crisis pregnancy than you cannot judge or have the right to dictate how another lives their life

• Man on the street – that’s a typical no-brainer comment as is typical from you, no substance, just sarcasm and smart @ss remarks. How could she be anti-woman if she is a woman you imbecile.

• Hi George,

Ever heard of Queen Victoria? Some of the anti-woman laws she passed would make you faint.

• What is this obsession with linking pro-choicers with socialism? I am 100% pro-choice and I am an economic centrist.

The anti-choice side seems to be under the impression that all pro-choicers are Stalinist oppressors of the economic left, when in fact we come from all political and economic persuasions.

The comparison with the former USSR is just sill and shows that history is anther subject Marion really needs to brush up on. The side in this debate which tries to control peoples’ actions is that side which has more in common with Stalin’s Russia. That side is certainly not the pro-choice one.

• Yeah, keep wondering where that’s coming from as well. My general feeling on that subject is that anyone who use’s the term right or left as some kind of insult in a debate is probably a dogmatic follower of the other leaning. Or in other words an idiot.

• Thank God for Youth Defence. What’s wrong with you mediocre muppets is that you cannot face the Truth of abortion. It is far from being a “woman’s right” or a simple medical procedure”. It is simply Murder and nothing else. Wake up Ireland. God exists and his laws must be respected.
    “Without the right to life all other rights are meaningless” Pope John Paul 11.

• Didn’t your God slaughter the first born in Egypt in the Old Testament?

• Which god is that? Thor?

• The looney left claim they are liberal, tolerant & are always seeking for an inclusive society but in reality their definition of inclusiveness only applies if you agree with their agenda.

• But he did slaughter the first born in Egypt though right Marion?

That is actually correct?

• “Pope John Paul 11″

Didn’t realise there was 9 others that I missed.

P.

• Funny your pope who supports the death sentence for gay men in Uganda, do they not have the right to life?

Your god is for you and if your god thinks you should impose your beliefs on others, then he is not a very loving one!

• i exist and MY wishes must be respected. Merry Christmas, xo

• John, using a fictional being as a reason to intimidate women is disgusting, you should be ashamed of yourself…..

• Luckily for youth defence, god is not real, cause if he was, all them crazies would be on a highway to hell.

• You missed them alright, they were right craic, best popes ever because they didnt exist.

• As well as the murder of the first borns in Egypt, there’s also the mass murder by drowning of Pharoah, his chariots and his horsemen – an atrocity remembered and celebrated every Easter Saturday, no less, by the Catholic Church. There was also the genocide of everyone on the planet who wasn’t in Noah’s immediate family… easily a couple of billion, eh?

All these heinous, deplorable acts perpetrated by God are detailed throughout the bible (making it trufax!) so it would be interesting to know why on the one hand you worship a deity who regularly commits mass murder on a whim, but on the other condemn a woman who (in your eyes) would do the same by having an abortion?

Appalling double standards there, John!

• Abortion is far from being a woman’s right, is it John? Wow, that goes to show you’re a misogynist pig as well as a moronic and stupid one. Merry Christmas :)

• Why the assumption that everyone who’s pro choice is a lefty Marion? And why would that even be a factor? Is the anti choice position so weak that you need to be so randomly scattergun in what you post?

• There Marion goes again with ridiculous outbursts about the “loony left”. Who the hell are they? What do you mean by left here Marion? Do you mean the economic left? The Marxist belief that the State should have a predominant role in the economy? If that’s the case you should know that not not all pro-choicers (myself included) are on the economic left.

Or perhaps you mean the social left, that line of thinking which argues that people should have control over their own actions, to marry as the see fit, to choose to have children or not etc. You know, the side which allows people more freedom. Now what exactly is loony about that may I ask?

• Perhaps Niall you should have a good talk with him I can’t answer for anybody else.