You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

REUTERS/Clodagh Kilcoyne

Investigation into reports of disturbing 'rape chant' on nighttime DART service

Fine Gael TD Alan Farrell was travelling home towards Malahide when he heard the alarming chant.

A GOVERNMENT TD has spoken about hearing a group of young men chanting about raping a woman on a nighttime DART train in Dublin last evening.

Alan Farrell was on the last train service towards Malahide after a long day at work and overheard the group chanting “let’s rape her” as a woman stepped off the carriage at a station. 

Farrell said that he was “really disturbed” by the incident and has reported to Irish Rail who in turn are set to liaise with gardaí in an investigation.

“The lads said it after the women got off the train. I’m sure she didn’t hear it but there were other women on the train who did hear it,” the Fine Gael TD told The Journal

“It’s just a really troubling event. It rings so many bells, in the sense of horrible horrific masculinity and bravado but what it ultimately boils down to is one of the most horrifying things that a human being can do to another human being and that’s what I found most disturbing.” 

Farrell said he confronted the group of men, who he said were all in their 20s, and that some of them accepted that they did wrong.

He said he was “shocked initially” and asked other passengers if he they had also heard the chant. 

The Dáil deputy, who tweeted about the incident last night, described the group as “boisterous, really loud, shouting and roaring”. 

Farrell sent a message to the Irish Rail anti-social behaviour helpline and received an email from the company this morning who told him they would take action.   

“They did say it when the woman was off the train but imagine what the woman sitting opposite me or adjacent to me was thinking because she definitely heard it and she spent the whole time on the rest of the journey to Malahide just looking at the floor.” 

Farrell dismissed any suggestions that the incident should be treated as men engaging in a joke. 

“It’s not okay that these young women who witnessed this are intimidated – it’s not all right.

“It’s shocking, it’s degrading, it’s humiliating and it’s intimidating, and it’s against the law.

“A female friend of mine said last night that it wasn’t just toxic masculinity – it was rape culture,” he added.  

Farrell does not believe it is a problem solely for extra policing to solve and said it is a “societal problem about a lack of decency”. 

Barry Kenny of Irish Rail said the company was aware of the incident and was investigating.

“We contacted Deputy Farrell earlier this morning to get further information, so we can review CCTV and liaise with Gardaí on this appalling incident of verbal abuse and intimidation.  Deputy Farrell has been in contact to provide us with this.

“We have up to 20 security teams patrolling our stations and services daily, with greater focus on evening services.

Our central security hub ensures stations are live monitored, and reports from security teams, staff or customers via our text alert systems are responded to as appropriate, with security support or Garda intervention where required

There have been calls for a dedicated transport police force similar to that in the UK to deal with the growing problem of anti-social behaviour on the DART line. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:32 PM

As a 23 year old man, I genuinely cannot fathom how chanting something like that even came into their heads. And the fact it was a group of them is even more disturbing, even after a rake of pints there’s not even a scenario where it would be understandable

Mute Alan Lynch
    Favourite Alan Lynch
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:55 PM

@Sam Murray: 100% agree. I would be furious if anyone in my group of friends ever came out with something like that.

Mute Nameo Maximus
    Favourite Nameo Maximus
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:45 PM

Identify them, then prosecute them and/or public shame them on posters locally like they do for illegal dumping. People need to know this type of behaviour is beyond unacceptable

Mute Ger McDonnell
    Favourite Ger McDonnell
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:13 PM

Good for him for taking action.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:06 PM

@Ger McDonnell: Absolutely, also for having the courage to confront the group of men. Not an easy thing to do. A rowdy group like that can be very intimidating. Fair play to him for having the courage of his convictions.

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:31 PM

A “joke” that would be intimidating and downright terrifying to any woman who heard it. For shame

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:43 PM

@Elaine Phelan: or was that the point? Is it a “laff” to intimidate women?

Mute #1 Fifthwheel
    Favourite #1 Fifthwheel
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:51 PM

@Elaine Phelan: Definitely not a joke, and anybody that thinks it a “bit of a joke” ” only havin’ a laugh” I can assure you that they are really disturbed.

Mute feargal de cantuin
    Favourite feargal de cantuin
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:22 PM

For every incident like this addressed there are 9/10 going unchallenged. Groups of young men need to be challenged as to their attitudes by the people who facilitate their culture. The people who employ them, the authorities they depend on, the pubs that serve them, the clubs that they belong to and their schools and families. The need to be confronted and corrected consistently. That is culture.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Oct 7th 2021, 5:15 PM

@feargal de cantuin: Very strange that my reply to your comment has been deleted given it didn’t contain anything remotely controversial. Questioning your position was obviously deemed to be the product of a bad attitude by the Journal censor…

Mute Paddy Bo Diddly
    Favourite Paddy Bo Diddly
    Oct 8th 2021, 1:58 AM

@feargal de cantuin: By all means go ahead and confront these neanderthals if you feel so obliged and see what happens…. pretty sure you’d get your head kicked in.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:21 PM

Something needs to be done about the ferrals in town

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:20 PM

Appalling behaviour but unfortunately not surprising its a regular occurrence.. There should be Transport Police on the Luas and the Dart. And heftier fines and sentences.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:25 PM

I joke with my friends all the time and heaven knows we say dumb things, but its never about rape funnily enough. Farrell is right to call this out, its not normal and it shouldn’t be shrugged off, ever. Same lads would probably shyt themselves if you got up in their face, as cowards do, but thats not the point.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:02 PM

It’s right to raise incidents like this and to get them into the spotlight. It’s just unfortunate that it’s being raised by a TD who had to return over €4K in expense claims in 2019 pertaining to 2017 because he couldn’t stand over them and of course he made an attempt to defraud the insurance industry of €15,000 on the back of a farcical whiplash claim when a car rear-ended his Audi A6 at 5mph. He was embarrassed into dropping his claim after he was found up a ladder hanging election posters. All of that aside it’s great to see awareness raised even if there are huge credibility question marks hanging over the messenger.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Favourite Deirdre O'Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:36 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: way to distract attention from the actual subject under discussion.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:43 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne: I mentioned the subject at least twice in my post. Perhaps read it again. The fact is that fraudsters like this, regardless of the importance of the message, shouldn’t be given air time. The cynic in me can’t help but think that this smacks more of self publicity than a public awareness broadcast.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:48 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: you mentioned your own agenda far more than twice.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:00 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne: No it doesn’t and nothing he has said is untrue. Unfortunately the cynic in me thinks the same. Self promotion. Maybe instead of protesting to all and sundry he should get onto his colleagues in Government to increase policing on the streets. To set up a Transport police unit for the Dart and the Luas something that has been called for years. They are in most countries in Europe. Make sure all who cause trouble are prosecuted and handed hefty fines or jail sentences. If they are under the age of consent prosecute the parents maybe then they will put some manners on them.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:26 PM

@Franny Ando: and the cynic in me says ye are making these personal attacks in order to distract from the subject matter, while attempting to hide your intentions with “hang’em all” platitudes.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:50 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne: No one is distracting from the subject matter. That’s just your take I don’t think you are a cynic more a government apologist. He has seen it 1st hand let him do something about it.
    Less talk more action. Get his colleagues to set up a Transport policing unit that what’s seriously needed has been for a long time. Its not like there hasn’t been other incidents some extremely violent on both the Dart and the Luas in the past.We have all seen the videos. Its a problem that should have been tackled long ago. Not just as PR exercise.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:57 PM

@Franny Ando: that’s just your take I don’t think you are a cynic as much as a yob apologist.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 7th 2021, 6:05 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne: Ah Deirdre maybe try coming back with an intelligent well thought out response. Resorting to calling someone a “yob” says more about your character, or lack thereof, than mine.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 6:56 PM

@Franny Ando: huh. Do what would you call the people who did this? As I said I think, secretly, you have at least some sympathy for them.

Oct 7th 2021, 2:08 PM

Stay classy as always Dublin.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:15 PM

Not all Dublin people are like that

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:15 PM

C l o w n.

Mute Gabriel Holmes
    Favourite Gabriel Holmes
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:33 PM

People with your attitude are part of the problem.

Mute Rachel Byrne
    Favourite Rachel Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 5:47 PM

Classy contribution to a serious issue, well done you

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:40 PM

We really do need more TDs, and judges, to get the last LUAS or DART home or walk around Dublin at 2am. We need these people to see and experience the fear that we have allowed to be common place by insulating those in power and their consequent unawareness that things like this really happen. Maybe a poll on how people have felt fear in Dublin. Never too late, it is not a criticism but rather a lack of awareness among some that things like this really happen.

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:05 PM

Don’t go blaming masculinity for this type of behaviour. Those boys are not men and have no clue about what being a man is.
    No men were present, this is evident because that behaviour was not challenged.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:34 PM

@Davis Payne: but, but, I thought a man was anyone who ever had a pen1s, regardless of how they identify or whether they still have one. So are you saying these people never had one?!

You can’t pick and choose what “man” refers to based on behaviour.

Mute Mac Muinteoir
    Favourite Mac Muinteoir
    Oct 7th 2021, 5:45 PM

@Davis Payne: You might think they have no clue about what being a man is, but these young men clearly thought that their behaviour is perfectly acceptable. You might demonstrate your understanding of your kind of masculinity by standing up to them on a train and calling them out, but they’re demonstrating their understanding of their masculinity by chanting “let’s rape her” at a woman in public. Which is where the phrase “toxic masculinity” comes from.

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Oct 7th 2021, 6:02 PM

@Mac Muinteoir: they have no clue how to behave around people. They behave like that because they can as they have not felt any repercussions. Someone needs to stand up and call them out on their behaviour. Guys like that will probably only respond to aggression, I don’t think a good tongue lashing will have much effect.

Mute Mac Muinteoir
    Favourite Mac Muinteoir
    Oct 7th 2021, 6:18 PM

@Davis Payne: they have a clue how to behave around each other though. Their peers. The people who share their understanding of how to treat women. Who share the same culture as them. The same kind of toxic masculinity. If we’re going to address this seriously, we need to accept that for them, that behaviour is “being a man”.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Oct 7th 2021, 8:16 PM

@Davis Payne: No, enough of this. They are men. Pretending they aren’t, like they’re some ‘other’ to make men look better collectively does nothing to help. Acknowledging that a worrying amount of men are like this or excuse this is important.

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:17 PM

There is a fear and intimidation of any woman travelling alone on these services It’s an absolute disgrace doing anything thing like that, There is a need for a Transport Police service

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 7th 2021, 3:37 PM

@Paul Maguire: There’s unfortunately a reason Japan has women-only carriages on many of its trains.
    While it’s a very grim solution I think it’d be well used if we had such a system here.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:17 PM

This was undoubtedly a shocking incident but I cringe when I hear another male use the term “toxic masculinity”. There’s nothing toxic about being male. There are many toxic behaviours exhibited by humans in general and some behaviours may be more predicated to a specific gender but this term exudes a generalisation and bias that doesn’t stand up in reality. It’s bad enough when women use it but men really should know better. As for these scrotes, I hope the guards catch up with them and deal with them appropriately. Their gender is irrelevant, their behaviour is the issue.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:39 PM

@Declan Doherty: Ah yes, deliberately misunderstanding a term because it’s easier than addressing the issue.

No one said there is no anything toxic about masculinity.

Masculinity is not toxic.
    A warped view of what masculinity is can be. And thinking that rape jokes are just “lads being lads” is toxic!

I don’t doubt this has been explained to you numerous times and you’ve chosen to ignore it.

Mute Melissa OHara
    Favourite Melissa OHara
    Oct 7th 2021, 5:20 PM

@Declan Doherty: Declan in a threat of rape her, gender is far from irrelevant!

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Oct 7th 2021, 8:18 PM

@Declan Doherty: If the idea of toxic masculinity makes you cringe, that says more about you than anyone else.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:05 PM

I wish i could say I’m surprised, but I’m really not.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 8th 2021, 7:41 AM

Assuming there is CCTV, identify and arrest them so that their families/friends and their employers/colleges know the kind of people they are.

Mute Dick Barrett
    Favourite Dick Barrett
    Oct 7th 2021, 8:15 PM

It was toxic, but it was not masculine.

Mute Willie Penwright
    Favourite Willie Penwright
    Oct 8th 2021, 9:32 AM

Well done to Alan Farrell TD especially for having the courage to confront them.*
    As a Fine Gael TD I hope he follows up with political action and gets the government behind a programme to tackle the thuggery and anti-social behaviour that is terrorising people.
    * Ouch, that hurt! First time I ever congratulated a FG TD but credit where credit is due.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Oct 7th 2021, 4:28 PM

Can it not just be called toxic behaviour…… why the need for the word masculinity to be added?