You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Artist says Catholic paper used image without permission to promote faith in the home

“They no longer live ‘happily ever after’ … Being the child of parents with no faith is tough.”

A CANADIAN ARTIST has said an image of hers was used without permission on the front cover of Irish-produced Catholic newspaper Alive!.

Dine Goldstein took to her Facebook page to say use of the artwork – featuring a stressed Snow White at home with several children while her prince watches horse racing on TV – is copyright infringement.

alive Facebook Facebook

The image accompanied an article about the consequences on the family of lack of religion in the home. The text beside it reads: “They no longer live ‘happily ever after’ … Being the child of parents with no faith is tough.”

The artwork is part of a series called ‘The Fallen Princesses‘, which depicts female fairytale characters who didn’t get their ‘happy ever after’.

In her post, Goldstein stated:

First I will state that I did not permit this publication to use my work on their cover. The Fallen Princesses are all copy-written and this is an infringement on the copyright.
Also on a personal note I would like to make it clear that I have chosen to raise my children with tradition and without religion. Therefore this is a direct violation to my individual principles. It’s insulting as well as dishonest of them to use my artwork in this way.

TheJournal.ie has contacted the editor of Alive! for comment.

This 3D painting will freak you out

News station blurs out breasts on Picasso painting

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:14 AM

Alive is a mental rag altogether. The last time I read it the ‘agony aunt’ was telling a reader to ban their children from dressing up on Halloween as it was a pagan festival & they were risking their kids souls.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:19 AM

Lol as opposed to all the Christian holidays that are on the same day as Pagan festivals “by coincidence”

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:09 PM

@sandbag Christmas=winter solstice Easter=summer solstice weddings ectopic are all pagen all adopted by Christians to make it easier for people to convert, it’s basically a copy of all the popular religion’s at the time they were conceived even the Bible is just a re write

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:19 PM

And it is a registered charity! These nutters get to put out their propaganda while enjoying tax free charitable status!

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:20 PM

@Richard Easter = Spring Equinox, not summer solstice.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:31 PM

Also Easter was the Pagan celebration of female fertility, that’s how the eggs got involved.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:12 PM

Halloween is evil! Now help me steal some artists’ works so we can let people know how wrong celebrating Halloween is.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:25 PM

Thou shalt not steal !

Some Christians that missed that one !

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:47 PM

This story is not remotely newsworthy. However it’s a classic clickbait article for the journal for readers to bash the church.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:32 PM

Or praise it …

Mute Loreto Weir
    Favourite Loreto Weir
    Jun 6th 2015, 1:16 PM

Don,t forget IONA is also a charity !!!

Mute Dermot O'Donnell
    Favourite Dermot O'Donnell
    Jun 9th 2015, 11:26 AM

“nutters” is not a fair comment. I’m fairly sure that all contributors to the Alive paper are volunteers who are very sincere. You may not agree with them. Have you ever read it?

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:08 AM

Being the child of parents with faith is also tough- that scramble on a Sunday evening to get mass and then leg it home in time for Where in the World and Glenroe was a real pain ion the hole.

And as for Lent? No sweets and mass every day. Sure that’s no way for a young fella to live.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:24 AM

A real Catholic would’ve got mass at 11 not forgetting to put the roast in the oven before you went.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:29 PM

The last time I was in mass one of my children was being confirmed and meself and another father spent the service discussing how the Bishop had moved at least two paedophiles around the diocese – not going back there with my children thank you very much !

Mute Liam is ainm dumb
    Favourite Liam is ainm dumb
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:51 PM

Yet you got your kids confirmed?

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:42 PM

You are a classic Irish hypocrite Hermes. Ya probably don’t even realise how ironic that comment sounded!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:35 PM

The reason my child was confirmed was for the sole purpose of social inclusion – he knew what it was because I explained it to him !

Had I known before I attended the mass that the bishop had done what he did then perhaps things may have been different !
    Now, may God bless ye all ……..

How many of you know that the Catholic Church put salt in holy wells …………

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    Jun 5th 2015, 9:45 PM

Classic Irish hypocrite lives a greedy life dosent care about anyone completely self centred probably has a family like in the pic breaks every religious rule on a daily basis and then goes too mass every Sunday and feels fine about it

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jun 6th 2015, 11:45 AM

Indeed Choc. You are no more a christian for going to church than you are a car if you sit in a garage for an hour a week.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:08 AM

Hold on I’ll just ask my children……no they say it was fine growing up without religious parents

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:16 AM

This is the sort of nonsense religious propaganda that needs to be challenged. No one needs to be force fed religion as kids. They can find it themselves if they wish. Telling children they cant be happy without make believe is wrong and has caused generations of adults who have serious problems determining reality from myth and superstition and all the harm and exploitation that such societies give rise to.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:55 AM

Work away Cyril, you challenge it….
    The downside is that you have to read it to do that.

Mute Aidan Power
    Favourite Aidan Power
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:07 PM

This is the crux of it (found at http://www.alive.ie/editors-jottings.html)

“She seems to think we should stop telling children stories with happy endings. That kids need to realise that real life stories don’t end that way.

It was inevitable that people who lost sight of God would eventually turn against fairy tale endings, in the name of “realism”. Being the child of parents with no faith and no ultimate hope is tough.

However, the “realists” have got it wrong. Hope and happiness, not despair, are the realistic attitude to life.”

This is preaching to the converted sort of stuff, there isn’t exactly much of an intellectual argument going on here.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:49 PM

Its pushed trough my door every now and then. I have never known a paper to spew such hate as Alive it should be banned. And the little sh.ts leave my gate open every time.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:15 AM

“Being the child of parents with no faith is tough enough” typical nonsense as if going to Mass and saying a few prayers suddenly sorts all your problems in life and magically makes you a better family. I hope that artist takes them to the cleaners for including her work in that pile of condescending tripe.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:20 AM

I would have been a happier child if I was allowed to watch cartoons on a Sunday morning. I remember I used to pretend I was sick, pretend I was still in a very deep sleep, lose my shoes, all sorts to avoid mass

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:12 AM

I love the problem page in that rag!! Great for cleaning the windows

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:06 AM

looks like my gaf last night.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:21 AM

Is this only available in Dublin?I’ve never heard of it. If it’s free around cork I might grab a copy and use it to put over my bathroom sink while I’m shaving.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:44 AM

It’s made in the Priory in Tallaght. You could nearly sell it as a satire newspaper it’s that ridiculous. Not a single mention of the Referendum in it either.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:14 PM

Thanks Rob, I can only imagine the shite that’s in it.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:39 PM

Somehow a mate of mine in Killaloe gets it delivered through his door, he has no idea how he was deemed worthy enough to receive it. Seems to be fairly selective.

Mute Dermot O'Donnell
    Jun 9th 2015, 11:32 AM

Very funny. NOT

Mute Dermot O'Donnell
    Jun 9th 2015, 11:32 AM

If you haven’t read it and cant write something constructive then why bother.

Mute Seaghán Corcoran
    Favourite Seaghán Corcoran
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:31 AM

If god was so poxy powerful why doesn’t he just talk to everyone and not just a selected few in costumes? Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeetards.. Here, have some more money..

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:07 AM

Anybody want to ask Leo for an explanation why a 102 year old lady was left on a trolley in Tallaght for 26 hours?

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:09 AM

Ok, but where is he? If you know you could just ask him yourself.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:10 AM

Maybe ask the staff at the hospital, they were present!

Mute Jason O Shea
    Favourite Jason O Shea
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:31 PM

Surely this is a picture of a typical catholic family. Loads of kids and a downtrodden mother .

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:34 AM

“Oh lord as you seen fit to create copyright infringement, we pray that you will send your only begotten legal representative whom deals mainly in copyright law. Also if you could smite some of these uppity gays, that would be peachy. Eamon!”

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:39 AM

“Alive!” is the epitome of a misnomer!

Mute Andrew Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Andrew Fitzpatrick
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:39 PM

i contacted Alive about this disgusting article, here’s our correspondence:

Dear Brian,

Your assertion below continues the condescension and offensiveness. My children have much more hope than those betrayed by your church and its hiding of paedophiles, Magdalene Laundries etc. My mother was deeply Catholic and she ended her days feeling betrayed by the church in which she had put her trust.

We will never agree on the question of whose beliefs are right but the complete lack of compassion for and disdain of those who hold alternative views or lifestyles, as exemplified by the Catholic Church’s behaviour during and after the recent marriage referendum and its campaigning against women being allowed to terminate pregnancies when their lives are at risk, when they have been raped etc, are major reasons that “the faithful” are bolting for the church doors, never to return.

Please ensure that your publication is not delivered to my house again.

Yours sincerely.

Andrew

Sent: 03 June 2015 17:05
    To: Andrew Fitzpatrick
    Subject: RE:

Dear Andrew,
    You may have raised your 3 children as happy and healthy atheists, but you still left them with no ultimate hope. Why is it condescending or offensive to point that out?
    Sincerely,
    Brian
    Fr Brian McKevitt OP (Editor)
    Visit our website at http://www.alive.ie
    View homily, We Can Know The Truth:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyyYvDb6H8yUFOEnTgyUyoA
    > From: andrew@monsterentertainment.tv
    > To: alivepaper@hotmail.com
    > Subject: FW:
    > Date: Wed, 3 Jun 2015 09:04:03 +0100
    >
    > Dear Sirs,
    >
    > The attached came through my letterbox this morning. As a proud and loving
    > father who has raised 3 happy and healthy children as atheists, I find your
    > headline deeply condescending and offensive. Please desist from delivering
    > any more of this rubbish to my door.
    >
    > Yours sincerely,
    >
    > Andrew Fitzpatrick

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:36 PM

Without hope …what a tosser !

Mute Dermot O'Donnell
    Jun 9th 2015, 11:40 AM

I don’t think the faithful are “bolting for the church doors”. Many have used the excuse of the scandals within the church to leave but if someone is a believer they surely wouldn’t leave because of the few priests/bishops that made serious mistakes.

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:30 AM

So sue for breach of copyright.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:41 AM

The story is about copyright infringement yet somehow the artist does not want to focus alone on this but on her own beliefs as well. The comment section also doesn’t want to stick to the actual content of the article ( it being about copyright infringement ) but seems to be full of comments of religion bashing instead. If someone used one of my images without permission even on something I do or do not agree with I would just focus on them having the image removed but I wouldn’t go as far as to state how much I agree or disagree with their company or religious/irreligious ethos because it has absolutely nothing to do with copyright infringement.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:44 AM

Also as for photography, copyright infringement in Irish newspapers of photographers pics happens almost daily but it never makes headlines. Yet somehow the journal makes this case a headline. I’m confused.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:46 AM

My comment was about the article on page 7 of this “newspaper” and the falsehood it states

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:50 AM

The problem is the Church is dying yet it still tries to wield the mighty axe it once had. Pathetic really.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

“Thou shall not steal”

I don’t know about other Irish newspapers and their commandments ?

Mute Munster2014
    Favourite Munster2014

Stephen – The artist herself has said she does not subscribe to religion, so I can fully understand her anger over some fundamentalist lunatic magazine using her artwork without permission. The views contained in that rag are completely at odds with her own so she has every right to be p1ssed off and comment on it.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:00 PM

Look how much happier all the ISIS people are compared to atheists

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:04 PM

I’ve had my own pics used in places and mags that have questionable content to what I believe but I simply invoice them or ask them to remove the picture no big deal at all. I don’t feel the need to take to social media because I have an anti religious axe to grind and it sounds like both the journal and the artist do because the journal know right well that Irish media are forever stealing photographers pics off their Facebook pages and putting them in their papers but these never make headlines but when it’s something to do with the Catholic Church or Christianity in general……they gather around it like moths to a lightbulb.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:21 PM

Actually Stephen, the last photography copyright issue presented in the Journal was regarding the use of a couple and their child by Mothers and Fathers Matter in the recent referendum. I’m not aware of any anti-Catholic/Christian bias by the journal in the past with regard to copyright issues. Can you provide some examples, please?

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:27 PM

Actually George you’re wrong, the mothers and fathers matter couple and child used in the election posters that went up around the city was a shutter stock image and they had every right to use the image but then this couple felt the need to come out and grind their axe about their image being used for something they disagreed with. Childish and ridiculous journalism.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:32 PM

And to my original question, Stephen? Other examples of anti-Catholic bias in regard to copyright issues?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:36 PM

If your face is being used to sell an idea that you think is fundamentally wrong then you have more to lose by staying quiet. People that recognise you will assume all permissions were given and that you support the idea.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:13 PM

“I’m confused “. U sure r stephen but it’s the best comment u have ever posted on the journal but maybe admitting your confused is the first step

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:30 PM

The artist is perfectly entitled to share her views regarding the content of the publication, her images aren’t stock images that anyone can use and it’s just a matter of paying for the copyright.
    If you want to use them you have to ask the artist for permission, if they had they wouldn’t have got it. She is entitled to point this out and the journal are entitled to report on it.

Mute Munster2014
    Favourite Munster2014
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:54 PM

Stephen – You seem to be quite religious so let me ask you this. You create a drawing (let’s say for this example of jesus). This image is then misappropriated (without any prior consent from you) and used by a satirical publication in an article which mocks your faith mercilessly. Are you going to be ok just to “invoice them” about that or will you voice your discontent about the content and what your image is attached to, in this case an article espousing views that are completely against what you stand for?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:06 PM

“something they disagreed with”

Homophobic bigotry is a much better fit.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:37 AM

Good publicity ,for the artist she should say a decade of the rosary in thanks.

Mute Warai Aoi
    Favourite Warai Aoi
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:22 PM

The only good thing about Alive is that it allows you to see what some of the more notable Catholic fundamentalists really think, for example, in one of David Quinn’s articles he advocated using the church’s control of schools to censor history books and give a more rose tinted picture of the church.

Mute Irish
    Favourite Irish
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:39 AM

No word about the 101 year old left on a trolley for 24 hrs?
    At least Leo got his interview with Miriam out. And his referendum passed.
    And portlaoise? No sackings.
    Good lad Leo you should be gay and proud.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:59 AM

you must think Leo is God if you expect him to be in all hospitals at all times. Pretty sure he had no say in the “decision” to leave the woman on the trolley.

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:09 AM

Crime of the century here.

Mute Dave O'Neill
    Favourite Dave O'Neill
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:37 PM

I had a teacher in my secondary school (and not a religon teacher), hand that “newspaper” out to us every day. And she was a nutter too. I did always think the horoscopes were a laugh “It’s the Son not the stars that runs your life”.

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:25 PM
    Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    Jun 6th 2015, 12:55 PM

This is the same newspaper that described left handed people as “brain-damaged.” My mam read that in work and she got very annoyed (she’s left handed)

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Jun 5th 2015, 8:43 PM

The people of Ireland should read 2 Chronicles 7 verse 14.!