This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 23 February, 2020

All Dáil seats now filled but recount in Galway West with five candidates elected

A full recount will get underway in Galway West this afternoon with five candidates already elected but not yet declared.

Catherine Connolly has requested a recount in Galway West
Catherine Connolly has requested a recount in Galway West

THE FINAL 12 seats in the 31 Dáil have now been filled but a full recount has been ordered in Galway West with five candidates deemed elected, but not yet declared.

Independent candidate Catherine Connolly has had her request for a full recount granted with just 17 votes separating her and provisionally elected Fine Gael candidate Sean Kyne.

Kyne along with independent Noel Grealish, Fine Gael’s Brian Walsh, Labour’s Derek Nolan and Fianna Fáil’s Eamon Ó Cuiv had been deemed elected at around 6am this morning but a recount has now been scheduled to begin at 4pm.

Earlier in Laois-Offaly, just after 1am in the morning, Barry Cowen, fellow Fianna Fáil candidate Sean Fleming, Fine Gael’s Marcella Corcoran Kennedy and Sinn Féin’s Brian Stanley had all been elected on the thirteenth count.

They joined Fine Gael’s Charlie Flanagan who had earlier been elected.

In Wicklow, just after 3am, Fine Gael’s Simon Harris, Labour’s Anne Ferris, Independent Stephen Donnelly were deemed elected on the 19th count.

They join Fine Gael’s Andrew Doyle and Billy Timmins who had earlier been elected on counts sixteenth and seventeenth respectively.

Sinn Féin’s John Brady had requested a recount which was scheduled to begin this afternoon but this was later withdrawn and the five candidates were declared elected.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Hugh O'Connell

Read next: