You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Annie Mac, appearing before the Women and Equalities Select Committee in the House of Commons yesterday. Alamy Stock Photo

Annie Mac tells UK govt that women have to fight for their right to safety in music industry

The Dublin-born DJ, broadcaster and writer told of her experience in the music industry to the House of Commons’ Women and Equalities Committee.

IRISH DJ ANNIE Macmanus has said women have to “constantly fight” for their right to safety in the music industry.

The former BBC Radio 1 star, known by her stage name Annie Mac, was giving evidence at the Misogyny in Music inquiry at the House of Commons’ Women and Equalities Committee in London yesterday.

The Dublin-born DJ, broadcaster and writer, who bid farewell to the BBC after 17 years in July 2021, told of her experience in the industry, beginning with a disclaimer.

“I got into the music industry as a DJ for the BBC which afforded me a shield of protection because that role comes with an element of power to it, you’re able to make and break bands,” she said.

“And I think that, coupled with having a very tight and protective female management team for most of my career, has really meant that I haven’t gone through anything traumatic with regards to misogyny,” the 45-year-old said.

She continued: “[In the] early days when I was a DJ, and trying to start out, I would tour America on my own, you would come out into Philadelphia airport praying that the promoter would come out, getting paid bundles of cash, 10 dollar notes at the end of a night.

“I look back and think ‘that was so silly’, but you’re in a situation where you are not in a position to afford a tour manager.

“There is a huge surge of young DJs coming through, female DJs which is amazing … (but) it is really unregulated at the moment for young female DJs.

“They’re travelling about, they have no security, they have no tour managers, they’re not believed that they are the DJ a lot of the time, they have to persuade the security guard to be let into the club, there is no protection for them in the booth anyone can walk in, and most of all they work until 6am and the promoters are not prepared to pay for their travel.

“There is no understanding that it is not safe for a woman to travel home at that time of night – they have to constantly fight for their own rights when it comes to being safe.”

Later in the session, there was a committee question about whether there needed to be a #MeToo movement in the music industry in relation to whistleblowing sexual harassment allegations to spark industry-wide change.

Macmanus said: “I think there needs to be some sort of a shift in women feeling like they are able to speak out without their careers being compromised.

“I feel like there is a lot of revelations that have not been exposed, it is infuriating the amount of women who have stories of sexual assault who have buried them and carried them.

“It is unbelievable. If one person were to speak that had enough of a profile where it got media attention, I think there could be a kind of a tidal wave, definitely.”

She later added that she felt a lot of the time women had become “trapped” in various scenarios within the industry.

“So many of the stories that I’ve heard have been men who are unable to maintain a professional relationship … and then the woman suffers because she either loses her job for rebuffing the man or loses her job for being unprofessional doing anything with the man,” she said.

Macmanus appeared at the select committee on Tuesday alongside singer Rebecca Ferguson, 37, who found fame on The X Factor in 2010.

47 Comments
    Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:10 PM

Roisin Murphy spoke out & how did that work out for her, who’s defending her rights?

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:09 AM

@mainmsam: Vilified and cancelled.

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:10 AM

@Corey Dalton: For making some very reasonable points about the whole trans travesty.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:23 AM

@Corey Dalton: in a private context too. The views weren’t meant for public consumption. . The Judas responsible for the leak should be crucified by her friends .

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:51 AM

@Christy Dolan: while there is an expectation of privacy, the information got out, maybe not great but she did make comments which a lot of people find abhorrent.
    I’m am not equating the two just using as an analogy, if someone admitted to a crime in a private chat and it was leaked, it doesn’t negate the crime because they thought the chat was private, they’ll still be prosecuted.
    In this case Roisin said what she said and every action has a reaction even if you think the level is unfair.

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:52 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: Roisin spoke the truth however & last I checked that isn’t a crime

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:09 AM

@mainmsam: people may consider it the truth, I don’t. But one way or another it’s a consequence of what she said. If you think it’s proportionate or not, that’s another debate.

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:13 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: so what if they found it abhorrent ? No one objectively could disagree with her comments and those that do should be examined . A tiny minority by the way. That gave them zero excuse to distort what she actually said and make threats . There’s only solution to get order back in this world and the backlash is coming . People won’t tolerate being shouted down by a tiny posse of lunatics and freaks anymore .

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:20 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: a lot of people ? Not that many ! Sadly society seems to think that they should be worthy of being heeded over the rest of society (the majority ) . Sure they have to spend millions of dollars / euros to get the media like this platform to side (and snuff out dissent under the falsehoods of hate speech ) with the lunatic elements of their mantra (the stuff concerning children ) not to mention corporations pandering to them even if they don’t agree , all for those sweet sweet ERG ratings .

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:23 AM

@Christy Dolan: just so there is no doubt about what was said here is the post in question
    “Puberty blockers are f’d, absolutely desolate, big pharma laughing all the way to the bank. Little mixed-up kids are vulnerable and need to be protected, that’s just true. please don’t call me a terf [trans-exclusionary radical feminist], please don’t keep using that word against women”.

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:24 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: you are Cleary justifying what happened . Just admit it ! Secondly an admission to a crime means little without evidence at the authorities actually investigating the veracity and truth behind the alleged admission of guilt . Social media jury aren’t qualified to do that

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:27 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: I am 100 % aware of what she said ! The people that found it abhorrent also distorted what she said and made threats against her . Even if she was “Terf” so what ? A woman Pointing out facts are more important than hurt feelings of men .

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:31 AM

@Christy Dolan: I really don’t think it’s about snuffing out conversation at all, the problem is a lot of people are incapable of having a civil conversation and end up calling people lunatics intimating that there will be an uprising against them/talk about crucifing people.
    From what I have read puberty blockers are fairly niche and not used in the vast majority of cases, puberty can start at 9/10yo and most trans kids don’t present till much later. So it looks as red herring

Mute Garret Fawl
    Favourite Garret Fawl
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:34 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: how is giving an opinion that puberty blockers might be dangerous for children abhorrent? The only crime she committed was a thought crime.

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:36 AM

@Christy Dolan: believe it or not roisin murphy doesn’t feature in my world at all. If she got push back for comments she made (no forced her to post) then it’s justifiable that people are annoyed and speak out about it. Don’t see this as cancellation just people expressing their opinions, don’t people rant on why there is a boycott against Unilever etc. When people are in the public eye they are going to be held to a different standard.
    I totally support anyone who chooses not to buy here music or push back against her views. There is never any excuse for violence be it written or physical.

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:41 AM

@Garret Fawl: it’s not about the safety (she never raised this), it’s due to the fact she implied that trans people are poor vulnerable etc undermining that some people are trans. She went on to apologise and accept she didnt have any real understanding of the situation it was “just on her mind”

Mute Garret Fawl
    Favourite Garret Fawl
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:53 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: she “voiced concerns about giving vulnerable or mixed up kids puberty blockers”, abhorrent is a “very” strong word for such a statement. She only apologised when a frothing mob came for her on social media and she also has an album launch. She should not have apologised.

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 14th 2023, 9:13 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: do you think it’s ok to give these medications to children?

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 11:44 AM

@mainmsam: I am not a doctor so not in a position to make a decision. Kids on blockers are been prescribed by doctors who have gone through several years of college to learn their trade.

Mute Garret Fawl
    Favourite Garret Fawl
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:20 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: so if you’re admittedly not an expert in deciding whether children should have certain medical treatments, how are you in a position to deem Roisin Murphy’s statement abhorrent?

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:32 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: having gone through college has nothing to do with this. You could have been in college for 30 years & passed with honours in every code or medicine. There are no long term outcomes to judge if this is good. Giving children medication that is used to punish s€x offenders isn’t good & I’m not a doctor but I’ll stand over my statement on this

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:58 PM

@Garret Fawl: I don’t judge it abhorrent, it was dismissive of trans people, whether or not intended. I believe that she put something out there that may not be reflective of her views and the push back that she is getting is based on what she actually said

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Sep 14th 2023, 1:01 PM

@mainmsam: they also use hormone blockers for cancers which are hormone responsive, just because there is a use you see as a punishment, doesn’t mean there isn’t a valid medical rationale in another situation.

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 14th 2023, 1:08 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: the very fact that there are no long term studies done on this says this is good for children. You said you’re not a doctor so wouldn’t say if it’s ok to give them to kids. But you’re doing some defending on the issue all the same

Mute Garret Fawl
    Favourite Garret Fawl
    Sep 14th 2023, 1:46 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: she said what she meant and back tracked once she was bullied on social media and was dropped by her label. I don’t think what she said is dismissive of trans people. Just that society should be careful where kids are concerned. The Tavistock whistle blowers said they thought medical intervention was being given too easily to children, some only after 2 consultations, many of whom may have had other issues, not just gender dysphoria.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:56 PM

Mediocre DJ talks about misogyny experienced by female DJ’s while saying she’s never actually experienced misogyny. Then talks about the dangers of having to travel home late at night despite the fact that males are far more likely to be the victims of violent assault. People who disagree with the narrative predictably labelled as insecure middle aged men. Rinse and repeat ad nauseam. Yawn.

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:22 AM

@Declan Doherty: What a great summary of the article.

Mute James Brohan
    Favourite James Brohan
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:24 PM

It was terrible reading all dat. Sure God love them the poor women DJ’s … if the misogyny wasn’t enough to deal with, they’ve got to lug all them records around too, and the weight of them.

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:25 AM

@James Brohan: busy “making or breaking bands” , you know the ones that have the talent . DJs have a woefully high opinion of themselves .

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:25 PM

Woman presses play. Sigh.

Mute Roisin Dubh
    Favourite Roisin Dubh
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:20 PM

Yawn!

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Sep 13th 2023, 11:49 PM

As the missus regularly tells me- I want equality,but only when it suits me!

Mute Calvin Sweeney
    Favourite Calvin Sweeney
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:41 PM

The toilet dwellers out in force in the comments, how expected

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:44 PM

Wow. Amazing all the pro fascist kremlin supporters that came here all at the same time within 30 minutes of the article being published to slag off and criticise. Insecure middle aged, just like their mentors in the kremlin.

Mute James Brohan
    Favourite James Brohan
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:50 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: agh, get over yourself Fintan. I bet you’re great fun on a night out. Burn down the disco, Hang the blessed DJ ….

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:27 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: pro fascist Kremlin ….. perhaps understand what those terms mean before making a twit of yourself .

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 14th 2023, 12:53 AM

She’s hosted Other Voices. Enough said.

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Sep 14th 2023, 1:06 AM

@Corey Dalton: yup. The most pretentious cr@p I’ve ever seen

Mute ASC
    Favourite ASC
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:26 AM

All the men in the creepy comments section. They haven’t a clue.

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:53 AM

@ASC: neither has Annie Mac. She says so herself

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Sep 14th 2023, 9:10 AM

I thought women wanted equality? This sounds like they want special treatment

Mute Jon Jon
    Favourite Jon Jon
    Sep 14th 2023, 6:55 AM

Disc jockey vs misogyny, the epic tale of one jockies battle for equal rights to spin those discs.

Mute DBdTl1WB
    Favourite DBdTl1WB
    Sep 14th 2023, 8:40 AM

@Jon Jon: which by her own admission , she thankfully didn’t experience much of it . Some of the most prominent, credible and very popular DJs at BBC Radio 1 and 2 and MTV during late 1990s and half of the 2000s were women ; Zoe Ball, Sara Cox , Jo Whiley and Edith Bowman . Many of them were more than happy to don the ladette culture downing pints and getting the assets out for the lads , all by themselves . Funny (and good ) how some of them have now grown up and are all prime a proper now eg Coxie . Ah good times for radio and tv

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Sep 13th 2023, 10:59 PM

sad

Mute I9AQcjXs
    Favourite I9AQcjXs
    Sep 14th 2023, 7:52 AM

This is just utter insanity!

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Sep 14th 2023, 9:27 AM

Ah diddums!

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Sep 14th 2023, 4:22 PM

Knuckle draggers out in force today, god love ye are ye all so triggered because women want to feel safe at work…get a life…