You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Patrick Kielty as the Grinch during the opening of the Late Late Toy Show. Andres Poveda

As it happened: The Late Late Toy Show brings songs, surprise guests and several mentions of the 6-7 meme

Roy Keane, Kingfishr and CMAT all popped by.

LAST UPDATE | 5 Dec 2025

THE MOST SHOW of the year has drawn to a close once again.

The theme of this year’s Late Late Toy Show was the Grinch, and it didn’t disappoint – with Patrick Kielty zip-lining into the studio dressed as the loveable green grump following a voiceover from none other than Liam Neeson.

The rest of the show was jam-packed with adorable moments, from Lewis Capaldi surprising a pair of best friends with tickets to come and see him next year to Kingfishr stunning a group of children to help them perform their smash hit Killeagh. 

Footballer Roy Keane and singer CMAT dropped by, there were tractors and tricycles aplenty in the county parade, and we lost count of how many times the viral 6-7 meme was mentioned. 

The Journal liveblogged all the best moment, from the hilarious to the heartfelt. 

Well good evening!

Welcome kids (and all you big kids who still watch ever year) to The Journal‘s liveblog of this year’s Late Late Toy Show. 

Jane Moore here. I’ll be taking you through all of the magical moments that we can always expect from the show, from the musical numbers to the cute kids to the toys that never quite seem to work on the night. 

It doesn’t kick off until 9.35pm, so there’s still plenty of time to grab yourself a cuppa (or a glass of wine for the parents) and crack open a tub of Roses. 

RTÉ revealed the theme for this year’s show this morning.

In case you missed it, it’s the Grinch. 

You can expect to transported to Whoville once the show kicks off. The stage has been decorated to reflect the neighbourhood from the pages of the classic Dr Seuss tale How The Grinch Stole Christmas.

Toy Show Reveal 007 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

Of course, How The Grinch Stole Christmas was also made into the classic festive film starring Jim Carrey in 2000. 

Unlike the Grinch, I don’t think our schedules will include wallowing in self pity or staring into the abyss tonight…

dr725 / YouTube

Speaking of the Grinch, he appears to have arrived in Donnybrook. 

Over 300 children from across the country will be taking part in tonight’s Toy Show, with RTÉ promising “dazzling performances, plenty of toys and heartwarming moments that prove even the grumpiest of Grinches can discover the true spirit of Christmas”. 

They also revealed that the opening of the show will be narrated by a certain Irish actor who has a very particular set of skills. Skills he has acquired over a very long career…

I’m sure you’ll have guessed who it is from that, but if you haven’t, you’ll find out in a little over 20 minutes. 

I don’t think we’ll see him using those skills on the Grinch, but you never know. 

Toy Show Reveal 003 Patrick Kielty with Paddy Geraghty (9) from Navan and Louis Hanna (7) from Dublin. Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

Of course, the Toy Show is also supporting a good cause.

The annual Toy Show Appeal fundraiser has raised over €26 million for children’s charities across Ireland since it was founded in 2020. 

The Toy Show Appeal 2025 is now open for donations

This year will be the first year that RTÉ Audio Description will be available live throughout the Toy Show. 

In previous years, blind and visually impaired people would have to wait until the show was repeated on Sunday to watch it with audio description. 

“We said it’s about time we tried to get this rigged up so everyone can enjoy it on the Friday night,” audio describer Clara Murray told The Journal yesterday.

“We have set up a special booth upstairs, and we’re going to be doing it live on the Friday night, so anyone who’s blind or visually impaired can enjoy it at the exact same time as everyone else.”

This is your ten minute warning – the Toy Show is getting underway very soon. 

Get the snacks ready and get comfortable!

RTÉ One have just played a sneak peek from the show, with three of the kids doing the 6-7 dance. 

No, we haven’t a clue what it means either. 

Here we go – it’s showtime! 

Well, what an opening!

A festive musical medley of mooses, meeces and mini Grinches, Liam Neeson narrating the classic Dr Seuss tale and Patrick Kielty dressed up as the green grumpy creature himself.

late-late-toy-show Patrick Kielty dressed as the Grinch during the opening of The Late Late Toy Show. Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

“I know what you’re thinking, and you’re probably right. If I keep speaking in rhyme, this is going to be a very long night.”

I’m sure we weren’t thinking that at all, Patrick. 

Tom – who is dressed as the Grinch’s dog Max – reminds us that the Toy Show is available with Irish Sign Language worldwide on the RTÉ News channel and the RTÉ Player, with a live audio description for blind and visually impaired people. 

tom-mccormick-7-from-dublin-at-the-late-late-toy-show-2025 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

We have our first toy tester of the night – six-year-old Declan from Cork, and he is very enthusiastic about dinosaurs. We get to see some dino eggs hatching “and we didn’t even knock on them”, says Declan. 

What does he love so much about dinosaurs, Patrick Kielty asks. “They’re just very cool.”

Well said. 

declan-ryan-6-from-cork-toy-demonstrator-at-the-late-late-toy-show-2025 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

Declan is also testing out a pitch and potty. “When you are having your Christmas poo, you can think of me,” he declares. 

Where else would you get it but on the Toy Show? 

And we have our first celebrity guest of the night!

Declan is a big fan of Irish golfer Shane Lowry, and – as it turns out – he’s recorded a special message for the six year old, inviting him to spend the day with him at the Amgen Irish Open next year. 

Safe to say Declan is delighted. 

Some children from St Ita’s Special School in Drogheda have officially kicked off this year’s Toy Show Appeal.

In case you missed it, we’ve already had one mention of 6-7 tonight. 

I suspect it won’t be the last…

After a very good performance of APT by Bruno Mars and Rosé, Patrick is in disguise for a covert meeting with eight-year-old secret agent Lauren, who loves her spy toys. 

She’s got spy glasses, walkie talkies and a pen that writes in the dark. 

_P1_7094 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

Lauren’s secret message says it’s a dream come true to be on the show and she shouts out her grandparents, who are watching from Brazil. 

“Everything about the Toy Show is amazing. Just a shame about the host.” Oops.

Lauren then moves on to a gymnastics bar, which she can do “big spinny things” on, followed by Coco the Tumbling Panda, who can tumble. 

So can Patrick Kielty, as he demonstrates to a cheer.

Dylan and Keelan may have just stolen the country’s hearts. 

After Keelan got a bit emotional due to being nervous, his best friend Dylan is there to support him. 

“This is what happens, Keelan. Whenever somebody is nervous, your bestie is right here to give you a hug.”

_P1_7162 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

A special surprise for Dylan and Keelan is a video from Lewis Capaldi, who is in Australia at the moment on tour. 

He’s invited his young fans to be his VIP guests when he comes to perform in Marlay Park next year. 

Keelan’s crying. Dylan’s crying. I’m crying. 

The Late Late Show / YouTube

Dylan and Keelan have just won a fabulous selection of toys for some other children in hospital across Ireland. 

The boys smashed the Tower of Toys with encouragement from none other than Roy Keane. 

Keano’s encouragement? “Just do your jobs.”

He would say that, wouldn’t he? 

The former Man United player also compliments them on looking out for each other, and after being informed that Dylan plays in midfield, he says it’s the “best position to play”. 

Fair play, lads. 

_P2_7161 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

As always, one of the best things about watching the Toy Show every year is seeing the reactions on Twitter. Or X, we should say. 

This year is not disappointing. 

A very cute surprise for the children at Virgin Mary National School choir, who auditioned for this year’s show but didn’t make it and held a party in their school instead. 

But as it turns out, they will get to be on the show after all! 

Twin sisters Aoife and Tara McCarthy from Cork tested out the Clutching at Straws game with Patrick before breaking into a rendition of Kingfishr’s Killeagh.

_P1_6634 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

What a performance from the All Ireland All Stars of Killeagh – who got a surprise of their own halfway through when Kingfishr themselves burst out of one of the houses on the set to join them in song. 

“They gave us a run for our money,” the band say of the kids – and they’re right too. 

Our next toy tester is seven-year-old Shay Shay. “So good they named him twice,” Kielty says. 

The self-confessed “really big prankster” who loves stunts plays with some remote controlled bikes with the host before moving on to test out another really fast car. “It’s really, really quick. It goes too quickly, even,” he says. 

shay-dorgan-7-from-cork-toy-demonstrator-at-the-late-late-toy-show-2025 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

Shay Shay drives the car up a ramp and over some Labubu dolls (yes, those creepy ones with the teeth).

What’s his record for Labubu jumping? “Six seven,” he tells Kielty. 

That’s the third mention, folks. 

Siblings George and Ophelia Malone from Waterford love dancing, and they bust out some serious moves to the latest Just Dance game.

Patrick’s dance moves to a Big Tom song can’t really compare. 

_P1_6768 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

A Toy Show Appeal update: they’ve raised €2,873,586 so far tonight. 

You can donate here

It’s time for the Toy Show County Parade!

First introduced last year, it sees kids from all 32 kids come out on stage to a medley of Irish hits. 

Now that’s what I call a parade. 

There were kids on tractors, trikes, bikes, a JCB and even a Volkswagen ID Buzz.

We also saw Irish dancing, ballet dancing, cartwheeling, jiving, juggling and one child roller-skating while playing the tin whistle.

Here’s some photos. 

_P1_6163 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

_P1_6559 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

_P1_6516 Andres POVEDA Andres POVEDA

_P1_6537 Andres POVEDA Andres POVEDA

_P1_6202 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

_P1_6167 Andres POVEDA Andres POVEDA

Patrick helps ten-year-old Nyla from Dublin nurse Cooper the dog, who has a sore paw, to help him walk again. 

They celebrate their successful veterinary work with some marshmallows. 

_P1_7641 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

I don’t know about you, but I’ve lost count of how many outfit changes Patrick Kielty has gone through so far. 

Patrick, who is now donning a Manchester United jersey, says he is about to do the scariest thing he can imagine: shake hands with a Liverpool fan. 

The fan in question is Layla. After the quick handshake, the 11-year-old explains how she was nearly convinced to support the Red Devils by her dad when she was younger. 

“I was like five, I was vulnerable,” she says, before adding that she got some common sense. 

As a Liverpool fan myself with a dad who supports Man Utd, I know how you feel Layla. 

_P1_6818 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

Let’s not mention Liverpool’s recent bad run of form…

We all knew that as soon as Layla mentioned her favourite Liverpool player was Conor Bradley, he was going to make an appearance, and he has – in video form. 

The County Tyrone man invites the 11-year-old to come on a VIP trip to Anfield, and to walk out alongside him and the team as their mascot at the match on 1 January. 

What a lovely surprise.

(I can’t lie, I’m slightly jealous)

_P1_7932 Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

It’s time for a fan favourite – the book review corner!

Tonight we have Bonnie, Jake and Aryan reviewing the literary offerings. Bonnie, who loves designing, reviews a book about Coco Chanel and showcases her communion dress, which she says was partly inspired by Sabrina Carpenter. 

Jake reviews a couple of books, one of which is called Making It Up as You Go Along, which Patrick says is his autobiography. “I particularly enjoyed pages 6-7,” he says. How many mentions is that now? Who knows. 

Aryan reviews Mo Chuid Rincí Gaelacha, a book about Irish dancing as Gaeilge which comes with a mini record player that you can play music on. 

He even gives us a jig himself. 

Time for more social media reaction. 

The girls from Virgin Mary National School choir have finally arrived in the studio!

And they’re performing Stay for Something by CMAT, which one of the children says is her favourite singer. 

Hmmm, let’s see if a certain singer makes an appearance…

Yep, she’s here!

CMAT appears to screams from the Virgin Mary National School choir after coming straight from performing in the 3Arena. 

She says she might cry and ruin her makeup, adding that the girls’ rendition of her song was “the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard in my life”. 

CMAT has also brought with her the final amount raised for this year’s Toy Show Appeal. 

It’s reached a whopping €4,003,179. 

You can still donate here.

And that’s it for another year!

Patrick Kielty ends the show by telling everyone: “May your Christmas be peaceful, and merry and bright.”

Then a closing performance of Shakin’ Stevens’ Merry Christmas Everyone. Lovely. 

With another Toy Show done and dusted, we’re going to wrap up the liveblog. 

Thanks for following along with us, and goodnight. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments