You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"I genuinely think what I'm doing is right" - gender quotas appeal heading for Supreme Court

Fianna Fáil activist Brian Mohan is to take his legal challenge against gender quotas to the Supreme Court after his initial action was rejected today.

20/1/2016 Brian Mohan Court Cases Brian Mohan Leah Farrell / Rollingnews.ie Leah Farrell / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

A FIANNA FÁIL activist is to take his challenge against gender quotas in Irish politics to the Supreme Court after his action was dismissed in the High Court today.

Brian Mohan, who had hoped to run as a candidate for the party in the Dublin Central constituency, had his action dismissed in a reserved judgement this morning.

Mohan had challenged sections of the Electoral Act 2012 which sees the state funding of parties slashed unless 30% (at a minimum) of a party’s electoral candidates for a general election are women and vice versa.

Mohan, a barman and student at DCU, had claimed that cutting a party’s funding by 50% should it fail to abide by gender quotas would render it impossible for that party to function properly.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie a disappointed-sounding Mohan said that his challenge to today’s judgement will be lodged in the coming days and that the appeal will be taken immediately to the Supreme Court rather than the Court of Appeal.

“I wish I’d won the EuroMillions now,” he said.

The appeal will be lodged in the next couple of days, and we’ll most likely go straight for the Supreme Court.
The Court of Appeal tends to drag things out, we think we’ll get a fairer shake at it in the Supreme Court.

Mohan says that he is “disappointed that the judge didn’t let me get over the first hurdle”.

He (Justice David Keane) didn’t let me discuss my legal arguments, he simply didn’t let me make them as he said I wasn’t entitled legally to challenge the ruling.
The fact is I genuinely think what I’m doing is right. But these things take time.

Fianna Fáil’s candidate for Dublin Central in the forthcoming election is Mary Fitzpatrick.

Last September Fianna Fáil members in two Dublin constituencies, Central and South-Central, were instructed that they were only allowed pick a female candidate for the election.

Read: Sinn Féin billboard takes aim at ‘deeply dishonest’ Fine Gael figures

Read: Foster care case: ‘These are allegations of rape using implements and horrific sexual abuse’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

112 Comments
    Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:12 PM

Gender quotas brought in to fight discrimination creates a whole new form of it!

Mute Roland Tormey
    Favourite Roland Tormey
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:37 PM

I think, if you look at it, the law treats both genders the same: there must be at least 30% women and 30 % men.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:43 PM

The law has to treat individuals equally, not groups

Mute Roland Tormey
    Favourite Roland Tormey
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:48 PM

Not true. The law doesn’t assess every six-year old individually to see if they can drive, or vote. It treats them as a member of a group (in this case, young people) and denies them the right to do both.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Feb 2nd 2016, 6:33 PM

This is a real joke and a state of the world we live in.. IF 30% of the party has to be women, grand, put some quality women candidates out there and they might get elected.. Stopping other people running is wrong.. I wouldn’t care if 100% of a party or in fact the whole of government were men, as long as they were the right people and fairly elected by the voters, i.e us.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:29 PM

The real joke and the elephant in the room is that we are obligated to fund the electoral campaigns of political parties and their hopefuls.Read this and weep

http://www.catherinemurphy.ie/?page_id=3339

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Feb 2nd 2016, 8:35 PM

Well if we are going down this road where is our equal rights for fathers ??????.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Feb 2nd 2016, 9:11 PM

I admire this guys integrity for taking a stance on his principles that could ultimately cost him dearly. I would welcome the opportunity to vote for such a person regardless of party.
    Also, gender quotas are actually grossly insulting to women as they set in place a structure to balance a perceived handicap….. ie.God love her,she’s only a woman, we have to help the poor thing.

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:13 PM

He is right. 100% right.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:52 PM

Absolutely. Remember that the High court did’;t test the constitutionality of it,. It only concentrated on whether he had grounds through FF. The constitutionality is the important bit. I think he’s doing us all a big favour and a service by doing this and I commend him. In fact, if there was a crowdfunding account I’d throw e30 in for him.

Mute Lord mountainbaton
    Favourite Lord mountainbaton
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:17 PM

Happily give to that cause!

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 2nd 2016, 6:43 PM

Papa Smurf you never miss an opportunity to express your misogynist views…you can set your watch by it.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:13 PM

I love these type a stories…there’s hours of entertainment in them. They bring out the reactionary, angry, old, male boomers who enjoyed privileged careers, with less education and talent, which they would never have had without discrimination against women. Equality is the end of their world and their reactions are priceless.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:36 PM

Some people are too thick to understand how gender quotas subvert the democratic process and are, as and of themselves, discrimimatory.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 2nd 2016, 8:49 PM

Boganity seems very worried that men are finally hitting back. Get used to it , honey.

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Favourite Gerard Casserly
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:29 PM

Gender quotas are the ultimate insult to any gender.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:17 PM

I hate gender quotas. Pick the best candidate, regardless of gender otherwise the implication is that a woman got picked only because she’s a woman. I vote based on policy, not gender. At the end of the day, why should it matter whether you’re the daughter, or son of a political dynasty. ; )

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:19 PM

He is right. This is like the complaint about lack of oscar nominations for African Americans, should a different skin colour get a certain quota even if they’re undeserving in their field. Why should a certain percentage on the ballot ticket be based on gender, surely should be based on merit and competence for the role, male of female

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:21 PM

Re: Oscars. Seeing as how movies, creative writing and interpretive storytelling are culturally white, western pursuits – shouldn’t Jada smith et al desist from this cultural appropriation?

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:26 PM

Back to the 1930′s with you Scarr.

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:24 PM

Good point. Fling some of that PC dung right back!

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:22 PM

By the same logic we need percentages of gays, travellers, women, married, single, variations of colour. Crazy stuff!

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:41 PM

I’m just not sure how many votes this black lesbian traveller will get, whether she’s married or single

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:23 PM

Good on him for taking the challenge. It’s a stupid law that fly’s in the face of democracy.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:32 PM

We don’t have enough representation of people with red hair either

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 2nd 2016, 10:52 PM

Gingers have no souls. Do you really want them representing you?

Mute Paul J. Redmond
    Favourite Paul J. Redmond
    Feb 3rd 2016, 12:06 AM

Mmm.. But we do have long memories Daisy… Welcome to Red Thumb city. Population – you..

Mute Rumpelstiltskin
    Favourite Rumpelstiltskin
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:34 PM

There may be reasons beyond institutional sexism and patriarchy to account for a discrepancy in numbers. Tell that to the feminists though. They won’t hear of it.

Interestingly enough, I haven’t heard them call for gender balance in those attaining higher level degrees, or gender balance in legal and medical graduates. I wonder why that is…..it might have something to do with the fact that that particular inequality is in their favour.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:46 PM

Gender quotas in Politics are a good idea and they’re proven to work. I cant be bothered explaining to you amadhains why that is. Keep up the linear thinking on gender issues guys…Its so dopey.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:49 PM

^^^ the left. Above we can see an example of a standard leftist tactic – can’t debate so go for a smear. You will see similar wherever leftists chime in to degrade the conversation with juvenile name-calling.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:51 PM

How do you know I’m a leftie scarr?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:56 PM

He has a point Louis, you have the opportunity for reasoned debate and you choose abuse

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:57 PM

All I’m saying is that it is ridiculous to think of things in absolutes when talking about gender. Gender quotas are not ideal but we do need more women in politics for the good of everyone. It’s not happening organically so it needs to be given a helping hand. Women in the world perform 66% of the work for 10% of the income. Shouldn’t we try and do something bout that. It’s called a pluralistic position.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:00 PM

Your condescending tone and sense of superiority doesn’t convince me

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:01 PM

I’m just sick of the thinly veiled sexism.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:03 PM

Doesn’t… ‘tell that to the feminists though. They won’t hear of it’… seem condescending and superior to you?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:18 PM

Tha 66%t statistic is from a study in 1970

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:24 PM

Sorry Mark… I read it on on Oxfam brochure. What about the substantive (relevant) part of my point? you have the opportunity for reasoned debate and you choose nit-picking.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:30 PM

Louis – resorting to smear tactics as an opener instead of debating the issue was a good indicator.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:33 PM

I didn’t smear anyone. I said directly what I thought if you’re ideas.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:34 PM

It was the main crux of your argument so I felt it important to point out ot us not a true statistic, nor was it ever true and it’s definitely not relevant to modern day. The other stats may have been closer to reality in 1970 but now is a lot different. I think modern feminism is in crisis with itself to be honest, as barriers have been removed in thr western world to their campaigns which were at their heights in the 70s and made a real difference, to where they are nowadays struggling for the relevance they used to have and reactions they used to get…. Opportunities are there for women for some reason men are blamed if they are not taking them. Gender quotas as wrong and anti equality to uboth genders.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:38 PM

Nobody is blaming anyone. People are just trying to put in place a framework. The quota includes a quota for men.The question of whether they are taking/being given opportunity is a redundant one. It is an existential problem that doesn’t seem to be improving and gender balance is a proactive move,

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:46 PM

Louis – you didn’t reply to any of my points, called opposition amadhains and dismissed contrary arguments as “dopey” – if not smearing, it sure smells like it.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:46 PM

Plus… Its not really a women’s rights issue. It’s about improving the institution of governance. I just find it strange why it is such an emotive topic for men especially.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:51 PM

It’s really an issue of proportional representation.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:47 PM

“The question of whether they are taking/being given opportunity is a redundant one.” This is 1000% incorrect; this is the only question that matters in this debate. It is such an emotive topic, and not just for men, because once the opportunities are available to all equally, attempts to distort the selection process for electoral candidates with the imposition of this type of restriction is a fundamental affront to democracy..

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 12:25 AM

What kind of democracy are we talking about? I presume we are talking about representative democracy, in which case the only thing gender quotas are an affront to is your sense of male privilege.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 12:35 AM

And we already affect the election process by having constituencies.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 3rd 2016, 1:29 AM

You really are bloody clueless, Louis. The only discrimination going on here is against this lad in the courts. As for “male privilege” – what do you think that is?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 6:01 AM

Louis, here’s an honest question for you. Do you believe that a female voter can only be represented by a female politician?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:10 AM

No… Not at all Jason. But I do believe that women as a group are completely under-represented at a governmental level in Ireland and that the decision making process that affects all of us (not just women) is overly dominated by men. Like I said, gender quotas are not ideal but in the absence of progress in this area, they are a means to an end.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:12 AM

…and as a man, I wouldn’t more balanced opportunity to be represented by more women myself.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:16 AM

…wouldn’t mind a more balanced…

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:18 AM

Your point doesn’t make any sense though. Women are free to vote for whoever they wish and, if they choose a male candidate over a female candidate, that means that the woman is being represented as she sees fit. An singe arbitrary statistic in itself is not a meaningful judgement of the current political climate.

The simple fact is women do not find politics appealing and, for this reason, they do not get involved in it to the same degree as men do. If you want more women in politics then make it interesting for them or push more on the advertising front. There’s no need for discriminatory legislation which openly discriminates against men.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:34 AM

@ Jason. All politics are local and at local level, it’s a far greater challenge for a woman to enter into a political race as a candidate. The idea that they do not find it as appealing is false. Just check the grass roots organisers and fund raisers and campaigners at local level where woman are very well represented..

Like I’ve said already. This is not an equality issue. It’s about producing more dynamic governance and making the best of the resources you have. People naturally see gender quotas as some kind of discrimination. The reality is that they are progressive measure aimed at putting together a framework.

If they work and I think they will, they will be unnecessary in the future.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:40 AM

Whatever your ideas about Sinn Feinn are, this is something they have been proactive in doing for years and it has worked out very well for them.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:49 AM

“To be eligible for membership of the Dáil:

You must be a citizen of Ireland
    You must be over 21 years of age and
    You must not be disqualified from election to the Dáil”

Directly from citizeninformation.ie. You’ll note that there is nothing there stating extra conditions for women. If a woman wants to run for the Dáil but does not have the backing of a political party she can put herself forward as an independent. Absolutely nothing stopping them.

I honestly don’t see how you can label something which openly blocked multiple people from running for the parliament because they happened to have male genitals as ‘progressive’. It’s the exact opposite.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 11:45 AM

@Louis look at female sports events….. While the percentage of female spectators at female sports is higher than males in total number more females will attend male sports than their own genders event. Ie women’s gaa or soccer… It’s a similar thing for politics, studies show women don’t vote for women and judge them to a higher standard than male candidates. it seems you are here putting the blame towards men for issues which directly relate to women, even with these quotas in place parties are finding it hard to get enough females to fill roles and after that to get other women to support them. It seems maybe feminists should be targeting women and educating them on these issues with campaigns rather than constantly blaming ills on men, or try find out why women don’t support women… I have never voted on the basis of gender I consistently vote on issues, in last election my 1st preference was female. Not because she was a women but what she seemed to represent. This time around its a male as he seems to be similar to my beliefs.

Mute sam 987123
    Favourite sam 987123
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:18 PM

So they push a gender quota through. What is the next quota they’ll want to introduce?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:19 PM

Very few minorities in the dail now you mention it.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:24 PM

Probably because few minorities in Ireland. Probably why they’re called minorities

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:34 PM

It’s a democracy, if anyone has the ability and will to take a seat in the dail then go for it! But rightly so nobody is going to hand it to you on s plate

Mute ellis
    Favourite ellis
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:02 PM

Gender quotas is the first step. In time the likes of O Riordain, Bacik and other assorted leftists will be campaigning for race quotas, ethnicity quotas, maybe even sexual identity quotas.

Mute Fergus O'Neill
    Favourite Fergus O'Neill
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:00 PM

I’d go for a quota of non-teachers myself!

Mute Louth Noises
    Favourite Louth Noises
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:05 PM
    Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:22 PM

Definitely. Bi, bi curious, pan, Omni, trans, fluid, gay, lesbian, hetero and homo . Can’t discriminate against any, it would be sexist….against what. I’m sure tomororro the whacko world of group identity and gender politics will find a myriad of new labels to bellyache over.

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Favourite Damien Mc Padden
    Feb 2nd 2016, 9:48 PM

Don’t see what the issue is. All he has to do is say that he’s a woman – it worked for yer man from RTE.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:18 PM

Fight identity politics in all its forms. Make politics more accessible to people with familial responsibilities, but not through discrimination.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:54 PM

He’s clearly being discriminated against due to his gender and for no other reason. What did this do, except hand the unelectable Mary Fitzpatrick another shot at it.? She already had her chance and wasn’t. A young enthusiastic lad was discriminated against for no good reason and I really hope he wins his case.

Mute Fiona Murphy
    Favourite Fiona Murphy
    Feb 2nd 2016, 8:59 PM

Unfortunately until there are more women and indeed young men with families as tds there won’t be family friendly policies. Need to get rid of some of the dinosaurs. Once that happens there’ll be no need for quotas. At the moment with 16% women in the Dail quotas seem to be needed.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 2nd 2016, 9:28 PM

Family friendly has nothing to do with it. Politics is not a family friendly business. You are on call 24-7. That’s not going to change nor should it.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 6:03 AM

So should we tell the HSE to stop hiring female nurses until an acceptable balance has been reached between male and female nurses, even though there just aren’t that many males interested in nursing?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:43 AM

Different issue Jason.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 9:53 AM

Why, because it’s a female-dominated profession so it’s perfectly fine?

It’s the exact same Louis. The fact that you’re claiming otherwise shows clear hypocrisy in your viewpoint.

Mute Fiona Murphy
    Favourite Fiona Murphy
    Feb 4th 2016, 8:04 AM

No Jason because nurses don’t represent the people, make laws etc etc. 84% of the population is not made up of men, and in particular old men, therefore parliament as it stands is not representative of the people. People complain about the old boys club in politics but when there is an actual policy to deal with it what do you get? More complaints of course!

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 4th 2016, 8:09 AM

Fiona, the members of the Dáil are elected by the voting population. The people choose to put them there. Therefore the members of the Dáil are representative of the people. Are you actually going to claim that a woman can only be represented by another woman? Also this is not a complaint about changing the system. It’s a complaint about a blatantly sexist law. Plenty of men have been prevented from running for their parties simply because they are men.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:40 PM

I voted for a female candidate last GE. With the introduction of this it will never happen again, regardless of how impressed I am by an individual.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:47 PM

Good thinking Jimmy. Atta boy

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:56 PM

Same here, Jimmy. I won;t vote for a female candidate now, and it has caused immense damage to female candidates.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:00 PM

because you blame the women?

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:14 PM

No, because I know there’ll be plenty of people like you who’ll go off and vote for them simply because they have a vagina. This isn’t 1973. Women are at no disadvantage here, and in fact the main parties are already, pre-quota, putting female candidates forward more than women themselves are as Independents suggests absolutely no bias.

This is a charade. I’m not playing along.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:21 PM

Yep don’t vote for Quota Queens…

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:28 PM

But why note vote for a woman ‘regardless of how impressed’ you are?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:33 PM

Despite quotas I’ll be giving my #1 to a female candidate – based on her work, not genitals.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:51 PM

I’ve said it before but it’s worth repeating: there’s nothing as tedious as a male feminist.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:24 PM

To be fair, I’ve heard more female politicians speak against quotas than for them.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:49 PM

What has that got to do with it?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 6:05 AM

It means that even the people who stand to benefit from the quotas are mostly against them. The only ones who are supporting quotas are the unelectable candidates who now have a shot just because they happen to be women.

Mute Jon Stynes
    Favourite Jon Stynes
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:04 PM

We also need more gingers. At least 20%.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:51 PM

Fight discrimination and end efforts by the State to try to influence candidate selection by political parties.

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:32 PM

If I thought a candidate was deliberately picked to fill a quota, they wouldn’t get my vote. On point. gender quotas and affirmative action are demeaning and counterproductive. Who’d want to be the candidate that carries that whiff of tokenism.

Mute Mark McDonnell
    Favourite Mark McDonnell
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:58 PM

Gender quotas try to eliminate one percieived bias but in effect create another bias. It amounts to nothing more than ‘tokenism’. Every appointment should be on merit.

Mute Mr. Hoffman
    Favourite Mr. Hoffman
    Feb 2nd 2016, 9:55 PM

I wish a female in the government, like Joan Burton or Jan O’Sullivan, who presumably earned her position without quotas would come out against them. It’s insulting to say that women can’t get into government without the quotas. If they’d only realise how much more damaging it is to them in the long run…

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:40 PM

I will not even consider voting for any female candidate until this situation is rectified.

Mute Rourkey52.
    Favourite Rourkey52.
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:50 PM

I admire him as well. Gender quotas are ridiculous. I would never vote for a female ( or male ) just to make a gender quota. If you are good enough to run for election then run. If not, then go away. It’s the feminist agenda. Now get into the kitchen like good girl and make me a cup of tea !!!!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Feb 2nd 2016, 6:29 PM

Gender quotas are an abomination, we should always pick the best candidate unfortunately political parties frequently put forward incompetent idiots who appeal to the brainwashed party faithful.

Mute Mark O'Donovan
    Favourite Mark O'Donovan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 10:00 PM

Quotas like this lead to discrimination. If numbers of women elected so not increase will calls for further measures be taken e.g. quota for elected women? Of course this lad is objecting because it is in his interest. Though many of the main supporters for this measure are women who have failed to be elected so they are looking out for their interests too. If you want more women to run for office remove the barriers that make them decide not to run. Don’t put barriers in front of men who want to run

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:45 PM

Sounds hot jon stynes ,ginger quotas ftw

Mute Theresa Daly
    Favourite Theresa Daly
    Feb 2nd 2016, 8:11 PM

“I genuinely think what I’m doing is right” – gender quotas appeal heading for Supreme Court. He is 100% right but for the wrong reason, he wants to be on the ticket himself. I would never vote on gender basis and hate having candidates forced on me because of their gender. This will backfire.

Mute Mr. Hoffman
    Favourite Mr. Hoffman
    Feb 2nd 2016, 9:59 PM

And how would you know his sole reason is simply to get himself on the ticket? Quotas are wrong for elected office, and that’s reason enough for him to speak up.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 6:11 AM

He was forbidden from running because he has a penis. That’s a very valid reason for bringing a case against the state as it was open discrimination. If a woman was told that she couldn’t run for a management position due to the fact that she was a woman then that business would be rightfully sued for a lot of money.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 4:54 PM

I was listening to this clown today, this has nothing to do with discrimination as such, and all to do with party funding.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:34 PM

You’re wrong; and that’s OK.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 6:13 AM

He was forbidden from running by FF because he is a man. If that isn’t gender discrimination, I don’t know what is.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 2nd 2016, 7:50 PM

Politics is a man’s world.
    War, revolution, economics, power, history, destiny, that sort of thing.
    Man’s stuff.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 3rd 2016, 6:12 AM

Because women in power have never led a state to war… You really should pick up a history book.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:08 PM

Why is the state funding political parties? yes you guessed it, in a vain attempt to stop corruption. wonder who introduced that legislation. I think his bank account is abroad and in sterling. Its just too funny, Fin Fail will go to court and argue that gender balance is wrong but not one word on corruption the reason 100% of these payment are made. These millions of euros are nothing to the amount of fraud being carried out daily.

Mute Ben Connolly
    Favourite Ben Connolly
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:15 PM

Who is paying for McDowell and all his advisors? ??????

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Feb 2nd 2016, 5:44 PM

Same people paying his pensions but this case will be considered in the public interest .

Mute Mark McDonnell
    Favourite Mark McDonnell
    Feb 2nd 2016, 8:01 PM

‘Tokenism’ is the policy and practice of making a perfunctory gesture towards the inclusion of members of minority groups.

Mute Mark O'Donovan
    Favourite Mark O'Donovan
    Feb 2nd 2016, 10:01 PM

Does this mean that the social democrats couldn’t run a third fake candidate?