You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Lots of British people just found out Mrs Brown is actually a man

Brendan O’Carroll’s appearance on the Graham Norton Show caused much distress.

RTÉ / BBC RTÉ / BBC / BBC

BRENDAN O’CARROLL WAS on The Graham Norton Show last night, ahead of this year’s release of Mrs Brown D’Movie.

And it turned out a surprisingly large number of British people had never realised Mrs Brown was a man.

It was a difficult moment on Twitter.

Mrs Brown’s Boys has been a huge success on UK TV – with more than 10 million people tuning in for some episodes. So the revelation of her real gender came as even more of a shock.

Some people were downright angry with Brendan O’Carroll for being a man.

Sorry, Britain. Here’s Brendan O’Carroll, who is a man, talking about the show:

BBC / YouTube

More: RTÉ’s World Cup analysis took an unexpected turn last night>

More: Paul Rudd had a run-in with Seamus Coleman’s dad on a recent trip to Killybegs>

114 Comments
    Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:11 AM

Probably shouldn’t tell them about Dame Edna until the shock subsides.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:47 AM

Lots of them are idiots

#yestheyare

Mute Shirley
    Favourite Shirley
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:52 AM

Well they kinda proved that when they thought they win the World Cup/ qualify from there group… #readcredits

Mute Jim Butler
    Favourite Jim Butler
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:11 PM

Or by the fact they watch Mrs. Brown…

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:22 PM

Or Mrs Doubtfire….or Tootsie…

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:23 PM

I got a shock when I was told Prince Edward was getting married. Like, are you serious?

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:18 PM

You’ll be telling me next that Edna Kenny is a man!

Mute GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Favourite GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Jun 21st 2014, 4:19 PM

@ John I wont try telling you about Prince Albert then so : )

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jun 23rd 2014, 1:38 AM

They know about Danny La Rue – don’t they?

Mute Emmet Walsh
    Favourite Emmet Walsh
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:12 AM

Wait a minute, Brendan O Carroll is a MAN??

Mute Catherine Hynes
    Favourite Catherine Hynes
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:34 AM

Haha very good !

Mute Michael Kelly
    Favourite Michael Kelly
    Jun 21st 2014, 10:52 PM

It’s Brenda O’Carroll!! Now stop it!

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:42 AM

Wait till they find out Louis Walsh is a woman.

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:10 AM

Ah here, really?

Mute GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Favourite GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Jun 21st 2014, 4:24 PM

You’ll have the leave the Tash on for the tans, in future Brendan.
    A great big Good onya, for challenging yourself and bringing your talent to another market and excelling in that market.
    (Any chance you could get a job for Tubridy? as a teaboy/gofer maybe?)

Mute Donna Robinson
    Favourite Donna Robinson
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:26 AM

Thought he was very good on the show last night.. He got some genuine laughs out of the audience.. Don’t think the other guests knew what was happening.And the story he told about his mam, she must have been some woman. Well done to him I say. I remember going down the local to see his stand up, always got a good laugh.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:57 PM

The Anglers Rest?

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:20 PM

Brendan O Carroll robbed all his jokes and routine from Brendan Grace. He just retold them with swear words added.

Mute kevin murphy
    Favourite kevin murphy
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:32 AM

Great to have two Irish men leading the show in UK. Well done lads!

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman

In indication perhaps of the mental level of those who watch that stupid show…

Mute Ian Martin
    Favourite Ian Martin
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:18 AM

Thought you would have been all in favour of mrs brown,also 10mn viewers weekly proves it’s a success.

Mute Jeremy Usborne
    Favourite Jeremy Usborne
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:19 AM

It beats the ‘Late Late circle-jerk of misery’ 100% of the time.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:21 AM

I never said it wasn’t a success. The films of Michael Bay are seen by millions of people too, it doesn’t mean they’re not stupid.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:31 AM

John Everyman.. I love Mrs Browns Boys, and I am certainly not stupid. I thi k that was a very general statement. Im sure you have your own favourite comedy show and while some of us dont like it, doesnt make you stupid, does it?

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:35 AM

Actually, liking Mrs Browns Boys is a scientific measure of stupidity.

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Favourite P o leathlobhair
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:18 PM

Just a word of advise . If you ever text someone in a comment to prove how intelligent you are make sure you proof read or at least spell check before you hit send

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:21 PM

*advice

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:47 PM

I wish I was was as cool as John. Fecking hipster.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:02 PM

P…you are so right re error…shows a high level of your ignorance though.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:06 PM

How so?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:32 PM

@The Doctor, I disliked Mrs Brown’s Boys before it became a TV show… That’s how hip I am!

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Jun 21st 2014, 7:01 PM

Well there’s the thing . I wasn’t posting a comment crowing about how intelligent I was . You were . I pointed out how you failed . I’m not the most intelligent man on the planet nor profess to be but I’m in the ha’penny place of stupidly compared to you

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Jun 21st 2014, 7:01 PM

Well there’s the thing . I wasn’t posting a comment crowing about how intelligent I was . You were . I pointed out how you failed . I’m not the most intelligent man on the planet nor profess to be but I’m in the ha’penny place of stupidly compared to you

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Jun 21st 2014, 7:08 PM

Celia said she wasn’t stupid, but she made the same grammatical error as I did. Ergo if I am as “stupidly” as you say I am, then so is Celia; and as she likes MBB this completely proves my point….

Mute Eoin C.
    Favourite Eoin C.

I really hate that show with a passion but not knowing it’s a man is just stupid. They make jokes specifically about the fact that “she” is a man in the show?

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:50 PM

You “hate the show with a passion”.

Really? Does a tv sitcom really deserve such hate?

Mute Teresa Hudson
    Favourite Teresa Hudson
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:55 PM

Hates the show with a passion but knows they regularly reference the fact she is a man, ergo watches the show!

Mute Eoin C.
    Favourite Eoin C.
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:56 PM

I’ve seen one episode.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:00 PM

That’s even worse.

Mute Leonie Gilsenan
    Favourite Leonie Gilsenan
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:38 PM

These are probably the same people who think that Ireland is still part of the UK…

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev

Proof they are slow

Mute Rachel Dargan
    Favourite Rachel Dargan
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:16 PM

Maybe they think Father Ted was really a priest….

Mute Ray Coleman
    Favourite Ray Coleman
    Jun 22nd 2014, 10:55 AM

That money was simply resting in his bank account.

Mute Brian Antoniotti
    Favourite Brian Antoniotti
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:29 PM

Whatever about his tv show, he was pretty funny on graham norton last night, fair dues to him. A better sense of humour than people give him credit for…
    Also, his mum sounds like she was a hero

Mute sol
    Favourite sol
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:06 PM

WaIt till they find out Prince Philips Greek and the queens German lineage.

Mute theantilooter
    Favourite theantilooter
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:04 PM

It’s only really funny when you know she’s a man and she’s related to all the cast…weird!

Mute John Marcus
    Favourite John Marcus
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:50 AM

No credit to the actor for his success in characterisation? Not a fan of the show, but he really owns that character.

And if the Irish audience hadn’t known him beforehand, some of them would have also not realised Mrs Brown was played by a guy.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:15 AM

Ha ha, class. The poor old brits do suffer on the iq front.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:17 AM

Further proof is trying to get served in a bar in the uk. They are pathetic.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:51 AM

You shouldn’t be saying things like that about the brits…..It’s not their fault they’re stupid

Mute col c
    Favourite col c
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:42 PM

Worst comedy to come out of ireland since Leave It to Mrs O Brien , dated cliched humour , hilarious if you think seeing someone hit over the head with a saucepan is funny or someone mixing up the words condom and condominiumb, painful stuff

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:55 PM

Funny how when an English man made a career out of been hit on the head with a frying pan, he was regarded as a comedy genius. Rik Mayall.

But if it’s one of our own, it’s just stupid and daft. So many pathetic little begrudgers in this country.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:01 PM

The fact that some of us don’t enjoy the show does not mean we are “begrudgers”. I can’t stand the programme but am delighted for Brendan O’Carroll that he is getting the recognition he has worked hard for all his life.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

The fact that some of us don’t enjoy the show does not mean we are “begrudgers”. I can’t stand the programme but am delighted for Brendan O’Carroll that he is getting the recognition he has worked hard for all his life.

Mute col c
    Favourite col c
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:07 PM

So if you dont rate the show you must be obviously a begrudger , give me a break , if brendan o carroll can get paid millions to produce that drivel then I say fair play to him , still doesnt mean the comedy is dated and basic with about the subtlety of a brick to the humour

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:18 PM

Crying game all over again !!!!!

Mute Paddy Cullen
    Favourite Paddy Cullen
    Jun 21st 2014, 4:57 PM

Sure they still think Linda Martin is a woman too!

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:41 PM

brendan must be chuffed to be top spot on the red couch, nice one

Mute That's a paddlin'
    Favourite That's a paddlin'
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:16 AM

Idiots.

Mute Eileen Beattie
    Favourite Eileen Beattie

Dont watch the show but really???

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:21 PM

Have they found out about her being not funny yet?

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:22 AM

Put that show on anywhere on this planet and there will be a large section of viewers not aware that the carictor is played by a man. Asia, USA, South America..comes to minf. I suppose that makes most of the population of the planet slow Kev? Apparently the only ones gifted with such superior intelligence are the Irish. .why don’t you rev up and f off, build a bridge and drive over it. You might learn somthing on the trip.

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:28 AM

You might want to learn to spell mind and character

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:35 AM

And Something ;-)

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:40 AM

Missed that one , well spotted sir

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Jun 21st 2014, 5:21 PM

Is that it? Wow how insightful

Mute Rory Corbett
    Favourite Rory Corbett
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:05 PM

Just goes to show everyone has different tastes..I know people who think its hilarious and if it gives them pleasure then drive on. I personally think it’s boring and one dimensional but each to their own.

Mute sinlacasa
    Favourite sinlacasa
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:39 PM

Awful show

Mute Anton de Buitlear
    Favourite Anton de Buitlear

Yes they are that tick ,

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan

“Thick”………

And don’t forget your missing comma…..see if you can spot it…..

People in glass houses…..

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:19 AM

Thick

Mute Rupert McPupkin
    Favourite Rupert McPupkin
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:39 AM

Idiotick.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:49 PM

This is getting pathetic guys.

Mute Rupert McPupkin
    Favourite Rupert McPupkin
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:23 PM

..you’re right.
    Pathetick.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:27 PM

Haha moron

Mute Andy Clarke
    Favourite Andy Clarke
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:19 PM

There’s our Eurovision entry sorted for 2015,
    We’ve already sent a turkey in a trolley
    Why not a gag in drag

Mute sinlacasa
    Favourite sinlacasa
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:47 PM

If throwing on a bra and knickers will make me millions, I’ll do it, the Brits love it, isn’t funny anywhere else though.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:54 PM

With a beard?

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:12 PM

Jaysus would you look at mrs Cole wouldn’t ya just love to.

What was Ashley thinking a mut hairdresser when you can come home to THAT

Mute Chris Browne
    Favourite Chris Browne
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:59 PM

I couldn’t hack her with that stupid Tattoo all over her arse!

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:37 PM

I’d say you’d get over it, given time

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:26 PM

Valar morghulis (:

Mute Michele Savage
    Favourite Michele Savage
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:40 PM

Spoiler alert!!!!

Mute executioner
    Favourite executioner
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:17 PM

I’d say they got more of a shock when they found out Norton was Irish ,Can’t believe Mrs Brown is so popular it’s absolute tripe, although anything that portrays the Irish as been thick seems to go down well in the UK.

Mute Eoghan Doherty
    Favourite Eoghan Doherty
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:45 AM

Silly billies!!!!

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall
    Jun 21st 2014, 3:58 PM

Cannot believe the success of the show congrats to all involved well deserved funny “MAN” Brendan

As for anybody not knowing she was a he there’s a thing called the credits and im sure agnes brown was not played by agnes brown… Gas

FYI you know your aunty tommy….

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:21 PM

Please don’t watch the Crying Game!

Mute Sharon Leavy
    Favourite Sharon Leavy
    Jun 21st 2014, 8:35 PM

I will never, ever understand why people choose to click on articles when they specifically know that they do not like the subject matter. Ireland is full of sadists.

Mute Aslam Alkadhimi
    Favourite Aslam Alkadhimi
    Jun 21st 2014, 1:57 PM

brilliant show!!

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:01 PM

Mrs Brown is what it is, and there is a huge audience for it, people tend to think how brilliant Fr Ted was, but I’d put it in the same bracket, but not quite as bad as Killinaskully.

Mute Keith Redmond
    Favourite Keith Redmond
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:37 PM

Comparing Fr Ted to that O’Carroll muck is just daft

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:28 AM

Another headline based on very slim evidence. Ah well, if it makes you happy.

Mute Goggles McGlasses
    Favourite Goggles McGlasses
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:31 AM

…did you not read the tweets? They are literally evidence that those British people didn’t realise Mrs Brown is a man.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:37 AM

Precisely. THOSE people; hardly “lots”.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:22 PM

The Nitpickers Anonymous meeting is in the other room.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe

Damn you journal….. There goes my fantasy up in smoke…. Again :-(((

Mute Hank Scorpio
    Favourite Hank Scorpio
    Jun 21st 2014, 7:13 PM

And they say the yanks are thick !! Morons, country full of Joey Essex !

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Jun 22nd 2014, 12:14 AM

I just found out Joan burton is a woman!!!

Mute Chris Browne
    Favourite Chris Browne
    Jun 21st 2014, 12:58 PM

Stupid show watched by even stupider Brits!

Mute Carl Hale
    Favourite Carl Hale
    Jun 21st 2014, 5:23 PM

Best not tell them about the queen then.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank

What about Mischelle Obama….

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:27 AM
    Mute Startled Sapien
    Favourite Startled Sapien
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:43 PM

Jesus Frank….are you taking the piss? I worry about you man.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jun 21st 2014, 4:54 PM

Well he lied about his birth cert, backed tracked on about everything in both his election manifests so nothing should surprise us…

Also ….” Neither shall he regard the God of his fathers, nor the desire of women, nor regard any god: for he shall magnify himself above all”.. Daniel 11:37..

Mute Loughlin Moore
    Favourite Loughlin Moore
    Jun 22nd 2014, 12:03 PM

I am surprised its so popular. I have no interest in it myself but just goes to show that people don’t read the credits. You know the part where it says at the very start of the credits Angus Brown – Brendan O Carroll.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jun 22nd 2014, 7:23 AM

The show is crap and the gags are very dated….but I’m delighted for Brendan’s success.

Mute Bocque d'Robbeur
    Favourite Bocque d'Robbeur
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:07 PM

Well, the show is aimed at imbeciles. No surprises here, then.

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    Jun 21st 2014, 11:27 AM

How embarrassing. It must feel wonderfully to have the talent to spot an Irish cross dresser a mile away.

Mute pjbrowne
    Favourite pjbrowne
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:19 PM

How fcuking thick can you be

Mute Paula Doran
    Favourite Paula Doran
    Jun 22nd 2014, 2:50 PM

I think it just goes to show what a great actor he is that they didn’t know he was a man. Funniest Graham Norton I’ve seen for ages!

Mute Peter Flipper Kelly
    Favourite Peter Flipper Kelly
    Jun 22nd 2014, 2:33 PM

It was a v good ep i tell ya rte should really take a good look at it and learn something from it

Mute Luca E Stefi
    Favourite Luca E Stefi
    Jun 21st 2014, 2:37 PM

stupid brits

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Jun 22nd 2014, 1:48 PM

I think he’s a gifted comic with exceptional timing but much of his material is just crude and cheap. As for the show, there must be genuine hard working actors wondering how some of that cast can get a gig while talented people struggle. It’s quite awful. And call me a snob if you like.

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    Jun 22nd 2014, 12:35 AM

Duh ?!