You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
US PRESIDENT DONALD Trump’s planned tariffs on Canada have been halted for 30 days after talks between Trump and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.
However, in China – another target of Trump’s tariffs – announced today that it is implementing counter tariffs against the US on multiple products and taking other trade-related measures, including an investigation into Google.
Experts have warned that Trump’s tariffs could deeply upset the global economy.
Trump was due to slap 25% tariffs on Canadian imports and a 10% levy on oil but halted the measure after a call during which Trudeau pledged stronger border measures to stop crossings of migrants and illicit drugs.
“I just had a good call with President Trump,” Trudeau said on social media. “Proposed tariffs will be paused for at least 30 days while we work together.”
Trudeau said Canada would implement a Can$1.3 billion (US$900 million) plan to secure the border. This will see the number of “frontline personnel” fixed at 10,000. Last December, Canadian authorities said they had 8,500 deployed.
The border will be reinforced with new helicopters and other unspecified technology, Trudeau said.
In addition, the prime minister said he “signed a new intelligence directive” to combat organized crime, backed by Can$200 million in new spending, and will launch a joint Canada-US taskforce to stem transnational drug trafficking and money laundering.
He also agreed to Trump’s demand to list drug cartels as terrorists, as well as appoint an official to oversee efforts against the opioid fentanyl.
Meanwhile, the Chinese government is responding implement a 15% tariff on coal and liquified natural gas products, as well as a 10% tariff on crude oil, agricultural machinery and large-displacement cars.
“The US’s unilateral tariff increase seriously violates the rules of the World Trade Organization,” a statement said.
“It is not only unhelpful in solving its own problems, but also damages normal economic and trade cooperation between China and the US.”
China’s State Administration for Market Regulation said today it is investigating Google on suspicion of violating antitrust laws.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
144 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
How about TDs that dress like they respect their position. RBB is a clown and would rather grab a headline over a dress code then go to dunnes and buy a tie.
It just goes to show you what FG and FF think is important. Is it any wonder that Sean Fitzpatrick will never go to court. What they were is fine, Brian Lenihan, Lowry, Cowen, Ahern, Haughey and Liam Lawlor all wore suits and they did more damage to Ireland than a 10,000 boyd barrets could ever do. No fan of Boyd Barrett by the way but this is absolute crap. The likes of S,ean Barrett pushing this, says all you need to know. All the sheep have to fall in to line, cause that has worked so well before and in traditional FF/FG thinking, if you don’t you can either f888 off out of the country or out of Leinster hse, feck the people that voted for them. Their opinions do not matter, the Dáil is FG/FF’s cash cow not some jumped up micks newcomers. They should be ashamed of themselves.
If the Dail Committee on Procedure & Privileges are serious about respecting the institutions of the state and Dail chamber then maybe they should shut down the state subsidised bar and ban drinking during work hours, TD’s should also be expected to attend Dail on a regular basis – TD’s can claim higher levels of remuneration for travel costs if they clock in for just 100 days by the end of the year (between €120 — €370 per day) otherwise 1% of their travel costs are deducted. (This1% deduction is a joke and insult to Irish taxpayer). I could keep going on, but it seem that the extremely serious issue of how TD’s and failed TD,s ie Senators dress – takes priority over all other problems we face in Ireland.
After much serious deliberation & fine Dining the #Dail Committee on Procedure & Privileges have agreed a #dresscode. What a waste of time, i have to agree with Mick Wallace – “All the guys that screwed this country were in suits”.
“All the guys that screwed this country were in suits” – So you’re suggesting that suit-wearing is to blame for the failure of the banking system worldwide? Personally I think #randomhashtags would be more to #blame than #suits.
They should dress like they actually respect the office, there’s better ways to stick it to the man.
With the state of the country, I would think they would have better things to be discussing. We should be more interested in what’s coming out of their mouths and their actions rather than how they dress. No wonder We’re in a state when their priorities are dress codes.
Boyd, Ming and Braveheart make a mockery of the Irish institution that it the dail. If they are practicing ironic satire then perhaps I am not high brow enough to recognise it but what it stinks of is disrespect to the state and to their constituents. RBB is my TD and his manner, dress code and obtuse nitpicking over every little thing shames me.
Good to see a cyberwarrior defending the integrity “of the Irish institution that it the dail” by writing it with not one, but two typographical errors.
A capital D is formed by holding down the shift key. A síneadh fada can be made by setting the keyboard to Ireland and holding down the right-alt key, like so: Dáil.
Do you really not think the government should have something more worthwhile to do than update the dress code? Would time spent hounding some eccentric independent TDs not be better spent on say:
Banking regulations?
Human trafficking?
Gay marriage?
Abortion?
Healthcare reform?
Quango oversight?
etc. etc.
If this is the type of non-issue that the government choses to spend its time on is the “mockery” and “disrespect” really so surprising?
The constituents that elected Boyd or any of the others that you name knew full well what they wear before the election and I very much doubt said constituents would give a flying f*ck if he dressed in a suit or if he wore a t shirt. If you dislike the man fair enough but him wearing a suit won’t change that.
Well Rusty, Ming is my TD and I’m proud of the person who represents me! I – and the people of Roscommon South Leitrim who elected him top of the poll – don’t give a damn what he wears. Clothes don’t make the man. Don’t be so silly!
I think it’s only right, how do you think it looks when the worlds media see’s clowns looking like Wallace and Barrett. I’m not a traditionalist but if were to be taken seriously abroad we should start by looking like we take things serious.
So we have a Taoiseach who never worked a day in his life, our last Taoiseach wouldn’t have been out of place on pathway with a flagon of strongbow, our previous one well what can be said about him, do doubt many of the people complaining here, thought Bertie was a great man, no doubt many of the TD’s that are pushing for this, are just like him. Our last Minister for Finance was clueless, voted the worst finance minister in Europe 2 years running, called the Minister for Fairies and Unicorns on Wall St. because no one could believe a word out of his mouth, never mind his actions which would demand a criminal investigation in their own right. The last FG Govt. fraudulently assigned a Telco. contract and made us look like an African dictatorship when it came to Govt. and investment and the last FF/PD one has bankrupted the state again, by showing that every policy in Ireland was for sale, every minister could be bought, and you are worried about what Boyd Barrett or Wallace look like just in case some investor look in on Dáil TV by accident. I think that they would be more concerned about our 2 yr bonds hitting a ridiculous high of 16%.
From reading some of the above comments, there seems to be rationale being used that dressing well shows respect for the job and respect for the people. Charles Haughey dressed extremely well, but he didn’t have an ounce of respect for the people.
Obviously Richard Boyd Barrett dresses how he does because he has a chip on his shoulder. But in my opinion, it doesn’t show any disrespect for the office or the people. In fact, although I wouldn’t agree with most of what he says, he seems like someone who is passionate about what he believes in and is in the job for the right reasons (however, misguided he may be).
I would agree. I’d rather have a smart and productive deputy in office more worried about the quality of his service to the people than the quality of his clothing. I’ve worked with some of the most brilliant minds in the world and one of them wore the exact same casual clothes every single day. He had 5 sets o the same outfit as he didn’t want to waste time and effort thinking about getting dressed up.
Funny how people become selectively outraged. Anyone remember when Bertie Ahern used to wear an anorak into the Dáil? Why was nobody trying to make it look like class war when people were unhappy with his attire then?
Suit-wearing, collar-wearing, uniform-wearing people are no more respectful than t-shirt wearing, casual shirt wearing people are disrespectful. Be-suited people are hardly proved to be more trustworthy e.g. Bertie Ahern, Michael Lowry, Michael Neary, Charlie Haughey, Fr Michael Cleary etc etc etc – and they’re just the Irish examples.
These TDs can show their roles and this country respect, by doing the job they’re elected to do, with the mandate each TD won from their electorate.
Ming, Mick, Richard and Gerry and any of the others who don’t appear to conform to an archaic dress code in an archaic system, have been elected by people who know how they dress – they should be judged on their efficacy and their achievements for their electorate.
If it’s a choice, then I choose substance over style.
I disagree with Boyd Barrett on a huge list of things but he was elected by the voters of his constituency to represent them in the Dail. He has already passed the job interview, he didn’t wear a suit to it, and he was elected to the Dail.
Similarly, Ming and Mick W were not elected by people who didn’t know what they’re like or what they were likely to wear. For other TDs elected by other people with other values to insist that attendance in the Dail depends on wearing clothing that matches their preferences is bizarre in the extreme.
I might agree (or not) that wearing business attire is appropriately respectful to the chamber. That’s each TDs call and each TDs decision how they will respect the House. If the electorate feels that they’re not respectful then the electorate doesn’t have to elect them again……but it did this time.
This whole thing is pathetic! Who cares what they are wearing…. We should be concentrating on their actions to try and fix our BROKEN country.
They are not walking around in speedos and flip flops….
If we are going to go down this route then what about:
* Female TD’s – surely they should have a dress code too (otherwise its sexist/unbalanced)
* If clothes are up for debate, what about other aspects of appearance? Wallace’s hair and O’Reillys beard should go!
Sure why don’t we just go the whole hog – uniforms for everyone, no makeup, tattoos, piercings or hair below the collar line….
There are too many important issues around health, employment, education and banking to deal with to waste time on this TOTAL B.S.
Well said Kevin, sure just go the whole hog and bring in the De La Salle College secondary school rule book on how our adolescent politicians should be presented for classes!
The Gombeen man always wore a suit, he could afford one by fleecing his neighbours.
There is a list form here to Roscommon A&E of deputies who dragged “the office” through the gutter, they all wore suits and we paid for most of them. We all know what goes on so why pretend “respect” and “dignity” has anything to do it?
The Govt knows what coming down the line and they don’t want nice ordinary “men of de peeple” sitting across the chamber making them look like bigger heartless sleveens then they already are.
Proper order! It’s a place of business, live with it.
Can I also suggest no flat caps, no comb overs, no beer bellys, no facial hair, no dubes, no slouching, no snoozing.
That should pretty much exclude every one of them.
I’m pretty sure their electorate knew exactly how they dressed when they voted for them.
Maybe some people could think about respecting the electorate themselves and stop imparting their own opinions on to others who clearly don’t share them.
This is terrible. I was so proud of us electing people from outside of the establishment. It actually looked a little like a real democracy, a people’s parliament. The wearing of a Victorian lounge suit is no indicator of respect for our country or its institutions. Ray Burke and Liam Lawlor wore suits, that made them decent people I suppose?
this is not a worthwhile issue when so much that is actually important is not being taken care of. mick Wallace and the others are a thorn in the side to the other politicians who like to look and feel important. they are doing what’s right by the people that voted them in, what they wear is not important. there is no reason why they should all look like clones they weren’t elected to be clones. at the end of the day its their actions rather than their attire that matter.
If a political leader managed to steer this country out of the mess jt is in and wore so called inappropriate clothing do u think one person would be commenting on his attire . actions speak louder than clothes , it’s a pity the tiger generation have nt copped on to this yet .
Well Dvonne, at least Ming has done economics at Uni! He has clearly more education in that area than most TD’s who rely on the briefs from the department, without much clear individual understanding.
Dvonne. maybe they won’t but at least they would give it an honest try, unlike FG/FF who will willingly sacrifice this country to save their friends, and it wouldn’t be the first time they did it either.
I think it’s a terrible message from the Government. Especially to young people with the diminished prospects of the current economy. “Don’t dare to be different, conform or get out. Look the part, be full of crap, it’s what’s on the outside that counts”.
I would have thought they’d have bigger fish to fry. Shameful shameful times.
Just imagine if FG and FF were focusing on the painfully slow investigation in to Anglo instead of this, but then again we all know that many very prominent people in both parties got soft loans, interest free loans, and loans that are meant to be paid back from the bank. So better to focus on the clothing line, rather than the fact that both parties are full of gangsters.
FG and FF will do everything in their power to hinder and disrupt the investigation in to Anglo Irish, who could doubt that. They will succeed as well, both parties have form here over the last 30 years. I’m suggesting that they should give the court and investigation all the resources that it needs, and remove any legislative blocks that are in the way. It is neither of their interests for a full and open investigation in to Anglo. Neither party would survive it.
Im sorry but all these people knew what they were getting into when they ran for election, it is not a lot to ask that they dress apropriately for the postition they now hold. I have to wear a suit in my job and i knew that when i applied for it.
I didn’t ask my Dáil representatives to wear a suit. I really don’t give a fiddlers what they wear, so long as they get my country back up and running! Since when as the ability to do a good job based on what clothes one wears?? And what “committee” determines the appropriateness of apparel? If dress code in the Dáil is such of such major concern then we are surely done for, as superficiality has ousted common sense!
Unfortunately there has always been a tendency in FG that was very uncomfortable with the regular person, and had a certain disdain for them. FF to their credit didn’t they didn’t care who was paying them. This is all about Paddy not knowing his place, it is the same shite that thy have been doing for 90 years, while the country falls to bits.
People in important jobs should dress in a way appropriate to their position, that’s just the way it is. It’s a national parliament for goodness sake. The only people making the biggest issue out of this are clowns like RBB.
What an ignorant statement, is it any wonder that the country is fecked. Whatever you think about Barrett, Flanagan and Wallace, they got to where they are off their own batt or off the support of a tiny party busing its chops. Look at the likes of Enda, never worked a day in his like, got on daddy’s chair and FG paid for it all, look at Cowen and Lenihan the same. Ming might be a bit of a smoker but that is the only thing that anyone of them could be got on, look at FG’s fundraising during the 90′s, where did those millions come from. It was described as money laundering and how apt it was. Talk to any journalist and they will name out 10-15 FG TD’s that they know to be corrupt. The Govt. should look among its own for the real disrespect for the house and laws of this state. God knows FG and FF have a long enough history of ignoring laws when it suited them or their donors.
Tony you hit the nail on the head there. As for the suits what a load of s#!te. The brains behind this scheme must be so proud of himself. Can you imagine that we pay for these committees and fools to create this tripe. As Barrett says and he says a lot of tripe at times but I’ll give him this one we are disillusioned big style. The HSE won’t pay up to 75 days after they should and these fools all want to head to a tailor. Give me a break.
Typical non-politics from the establishment.. No words can describe its foolishness.. Worse still is that parlimentary committees are paid to come up with this rubbish.. Address the real problems and stop kicking the can down the road with this tom foolery
If they do their job it should not matter how they dress
Im not bothered about pink shirts long hair etc just get in do what you said you would do thats why people put you there
Think of someone turning up to a wedding in a pair of jeans and a casual shirt. (Ok add the Mick Wallace hair too if ya want………..)
Lots of folk would be ticked off cause they would see it as an insult to the occasion or indeed to the couple.
Dressing down int he house of Parliment is just bad manners. We at least want politicians with manners and respect first……then they can start debating.
What’s a wedding got to do with this at all? The comparison is flawed. And people certainly don’t have to wear long sleeved shirts to weddings.
The chief whip was on radio this morning saying Boyd Barrett had to wear a school uniform…another pointless flawed comparison. Sure when we were in school drinking was illegal and we were encouraged to be honest. Maybe they’ll convene and make some rules about honesty next!
Ah Fergal, you’re just silly now.
When the first suit as we understand it was worn in parliament there was outrage then too. The same stuff about respect for the occasion that you are going on about. Up until then MPs (as it was the UK parliament) wore exclusively frock coats, then a whippersnapper called Keir Hardie turned up in a lounge suit! Oh how they bemoaned his lack of propriety, but now of course, they all wear those same suits.
It’s called change.
Perhaps if RBB and Mick Wallace etc had bothered to turn up properly dressed when newly elected, we wouldn’t be having to waste time on this stupid issue.
I am sure they earn enough to buy a suit for gods sake.
You should dress for the position that you hold and if that is as a teacher, nurse (in my own case) or TD you should dress appropriately. If a TD is apparently representing his constituency, then he/she should dress like he/she does indeed represent their people in the dail.
They never said they would wear suits, they were blunt on that. They were elected by the people and no jumped FF/FG politicians can go tell elected rep’s of the peole what to do and what not to do, that’s democracy, don’t like it tough!. Given the endemic corruption and massive failures that define FG and FF they really can’t be complaining to anyone. Unhappy with short sleeved shirts but have no problems with Magdelene launderies, institutional child abuse, Haughey and Garrett’s loans and a million other things. Who here believes that FG and FF TD’s didn’t know what was going on regarding the above.
Every profession has a some sort of dress code, going into dail unshaven, shirt creased and hanging out might cut the mustard at local level but doesn’t inspire too much confidence in a more national sense, even third work parliaments tend to wear at least a dirty old tie, then again our standards seem to be dropping day by day.
Politicians SHOULD dress formally (out of respect for the position they have been given by the people), but they should not be FORCED to dress formally by their peers.
The fact is TDs are elected for their stance on issues and their abilities to represent their constituencies.They are not elected because they look good. Well dressed idiots have been destroying this country for years so clothing clearly does not make the TD.
Maybe so but even a shirt inside someones trousers might be a start or a compromise, for a country relying on a bit of foreign investment it doesn’t inspire too much confidence when u see shabby, normally when you see shabby you get it.
When one considers the sheer scale of the robbery that FG and FF TD’s have been involved in over the years, it is absolutely disgusting that they think that they can judge anyone. They’ll try to ban these three for not wearing ties but Lowry is untouchable, Ahern is untouchable and they keep refusing to close down the Dáil bar. A pub in the workplace, where TD’s and party hacks drink off our backs during work. Can anyone ever imagine Séan Barrett pushing for an end to drinking at work off the taxpayers back. No, nor can I.
This is not about dress code. This is a protest by three individuals on the floor of the dail each day. They have forgotten that they were voted in to work for the people who voted for them. RBB seems sincere enough but is clueless as to how the dail works. Ming is delighted with the job and the salary. He is on as many committees as possible and again delighted with the expences. He will not hold clinics or attend funerals of those who may have voted for him, so he sits on a comfortable seat in the dail for 3 days per week, goes home to Roscommon saves his bit of turf and collects the kids from school. Poor old Wallace owes €47m needs to eat, so he jumps on the band wagon of national discontent, gets elected, €100 grand a year plus expences just to do a drag act 3 short days a week.
” He will not hold clinics or attend funerals of those who may have voted for him” Hahaha, if he’d attend funerals of those who voted for him he might as well change his job and become a funeral director. You’re not seriously expecting each and every politician to attend funerals of their voters do you?
As for the rest of your argument I can only say one thing. That goes for every politician.
If you want to see why Ireland is broke, and habitually goes broke, why we have to force hundreds of thousands away, read Pat’s post. Funerals and clinics! Jesus wept.
look whal all the last suit wearers did there was not one real man among them only ; RATS; . THERE IS A LOT MORE IMPORTANT THINGS GOING ON IN THIS HELL WHOLE OF A STATE THAT ALL THE LAST LOTOF SUITS GOT US INTO. who cares what they wear get on with what u are suppose to be doing like get rid of the senate; cut the number of t d .
I don’t think young people would be alienated at all, many of us actually work and understand the reasons for looking neat and sharp in the work place, for example if you deal with customers. It’s about professionalism and respect. What would perhaps make sense is the way many companies tackle the issue: by having one day a week, usually a Friday on which people can depart from the norm within reason.
I don’t see any need to fuss over it. Nothing wrong with requiring members of the house to dress a certain way. I’d like something more creative but that would end up with us paying for it and we pay for enough already! It doesn’t take from the discussion of pressing and urgent matters, the lack of a longer week does that.
Now let’s get back to figuring out how to survive this mess!
Man deported from Ireland on Nigeria flight earlier this year wins appeal to return
Eoghan Dalton
1 hr ago
Gaza
President Higgins backs Mary Robinson’s comments warning governments of ‘complicity’ in genocide
1 hr ago
Rathkeale
Gardaí launch investigation after feud-related violence breaks out in rural Limerick pub
Updated
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say