Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Wednesday 7 June 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Photocall Ireland Michael D Higgins gets a kiss from his wife Sabina on stage at Dublin Castle before being announced as the new President of Ireland
# Race for the Áras
Counting to resume in the presidential election at 9am
Labour’s Patrick Nulty was declared victorious in the Dublin West by-election in the early hours of this morning. The final presidential election result is still to come, along with counting in the constitutional referendums.

THERE’S A LEAST one more count to go today before Michael D. Higgins can be definitively announced as Ireland’s next president.

The results of a second count came in just after 1.30am this morning, with no candidate reaching the quota. Michael D Higgins came in at 730,480, followed by Seán Gallagher on 529, 401.  It’s estimated that it will be early afternoon before Michael D can start thinking about heading for the Phoenix Park.

The last action last night saw David Norris eliminated after the second count. His votes will now be counted and distributed, and it’s likely that another count will then follow, as Norris’ 116, 526 distributed votes are unlikely to see Michael D reach the quota.‘s liveblog will be back this morning for the next stage of the presidential election count (and hopefully will bring the definitive announcement of Ireland’s next president).

There was a result in the Dublin West by-election in the early hours of this morning. Labour candidate Patrick Nulty was deemed elected by the returning officer just before 3am, much to the delight of his supporters, who greeted the announcement with roars of approval.

The Dublin West count was not without its drama, after a full recount was called for by the Socialist Party’s Joe Higgins. Only 18 votes separated SP’s Ruth Coppinger in third place and Fianna Fáil’s David McGuinness in second.

The recount saw the pair in a dead heat, but electoral rules dictated that McGuinness, with the most first preference votes, would continue into the final count. Nulty was announced the winner after the fifth count. He takes the seat left vacant after the death of the former Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan earlier this year.

And of course there’s still the small matter of counting in the two constitutional referendums to consider today. That will get underway immediately after the final result in the presidential election is announced.

Missed any of the action yesterday? Catch up on’s liveblog>

Labour’s Patrick Nulty takes Dublin West after count drama>

Your Voice
Readers Comments