You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

(File photo) Shutterstock

A takeaway delivery car was hijacked, taken on a joyride and crashed through a gate

It was later found at a leisure centre.

A FAST-FOOD delivery driver was injured when his car was hijacked and later crashed in West Belfast last night.

Police say that the man was sitting in his car at about 5.35 pm yesterday afternoon in the Whitecliff Parade area when he was approached by two men.

The two men asked the man was he a ‘taxi driver’. When he responded that he was not the two men dragged him out of his seat and out of the car.

The delivery driver fought back against the men by first attempting to get back inside the car and then trying to take the keys from the car’s ignition.

The victim was first held back before being elbowed by one of the hijackers and falling backwards. He was taken to hospital to receive treatment for his injuries.

About three hours later, and following reports that it had been driven recklessly in the area, the stolen car was seen to have crashed through the gates of a leisure centre on the Falls Road. 

The occupants then fled the scene.

“This crime is totally unacceptable and caused distress not only to the owner of the vehicle, but also to the wider community of West Belfast as it was later driven in a dangerous and reckless manner,” chief inspector Norman Haslett said this morning as he appealed for witnesses to come forward.

Read: Two gardaí injured after joyriders smash into patrol car >

Read: Teenager killed and nun injured in tragic police chase >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute DJ Dave Nice
    Favourite DJ Dave Nice
    May 17th 2015, 12:48 PM

Scümbags

Mute Billy Cotter
    Favourite Billy Cotter
    May 17th 2015, 1:22 PM

Poor young lads with no car, only having a little fun.
    The poor lads should be compensated for not having a car, and being under privileged.
    What kind of barbaric civilization do we live in

Mute Ben Dawkins
    Favourite Ben Dawkins
    May 17th 2015, 12:48 PM

Lets hope that one of the little sod was hurt in the crash.

Mute kalpol
    Favourite kalpol
    May 17th 2015, 1:58 PM

Only good joyrider is a dead one

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    May 17th 2015, 2:25 PM

That’s only if it’s not one of your own family, or relative. What if it’s a friend or neighbour?

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    May 17th 2015, 3:30 PM

I’m sure if it was one of your own was driver or passenger you would be saying ” thanks be to jasus he/she’s dead”.

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    May 17th 2015, 6:10 PM

well if a family member of mine was doing this to innocents i would be very disappointed in them and never speak to them again….

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Favourite Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 17th 2015, 1:03 PM

Proud parents I’d say

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    May 17th 2015, 12:47 PM

I hope his/her employer compensates for the horrible experience.

Mute Diarmuid Lucey
    Favourite Diarmuid Lucey
    May 17th 2015, 12:54 PM

Sadly Sadly they won’t be as they are classed as “self employed” and what more it’s highly unlikely they’ve informed their insurance company they use the car for business purposes.

These delivery drivers, most of whom have come to Ireland to make a new life, have a tough job already not to mind having to deal with vermin of joy riders!!

Mute Martina Patten
    Favourite Martina Patten
    May 17th 2015, 6:14 PM

Or may the joyriders should pay compensation or their families!

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    May 17th 2015, 1:04 PM

Chinese car thief, Tommy Tuckamotor.

Mute Barry Scott
    Favourite Barry Scott
    May 17th 2015, 1:12 PM

He sounds Japanese.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    May 17th 2015, 2:54 PM

Ya have to go with the flow Barry, Its a tough crowd to day.

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    May 17th 2015, 6:09 PM

“ah sure. we’ll lock em up for a day and reduce it to an hour. that’ll teach these criminals” – justice system

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    May 17th 2015, 1:46 PM

And the Falls Road is such a nice respectable area.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 2:15 PM

Very respectable compared to the Shankill Rd.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    May 17th 2015, 1:40 PM

Did they eat the food?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 2:17 PM

Yeah but they payed your man for it first. You would know that if you read the article.

Mute abc defg
    Favourite abc defg
    May 17th 2015, 1:08 PM

Grand theft Auto style