You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

An Ipsos exit poll had shown Sinn Féin receiving the highest percentage of votes. Stock image

Ipsos B&A blames low turnout for errors in Friday night exit poll

The Ipsos exit poll had shown Sinn Féin receiving the highest percentage of votes at 21.1%.

LAST UPDATE | 1 Dec 2024

ELECTION POLLING COMPANY Ipsos Behaviour & Attitudes has said a lower-than-expected turnout is a reason for errors in its exit poll.

The exit poll, published at 10pm on Friday, had underestimated Fianna Fáil and overestimated Sinn Féin’s vote beyond the margin of error. It had Sinn Féin out in front on 21.1%, with Fine Gael just behind on 21% and Fianna Fáil trailing at 19.5%.

With first counts in from all 43 constituencies, the vote share was revealed to be outside the margin of error of +/-1.4%.

Fianna Fáil received 21.9%, up 2.4% on the poll, while Sinn Féin sat at 19%, down 2.1% on the exit poll.

Fine Gael’s vote share was 20.8%, down 0.2% on the poll – within the margin of error.

Speaking to RTÉ, Kieran O’Leary of Ipsos B&A pointed to the low turnout of 59.7% as the main reason for skewing the data and affecting its model.

O’Leary added that there were anecdotal reports of a higher decline in turnout among young voters than among older voters, and said it was also possible that the decline was more severe in urban areas than in rural areas.

“This could in turn lead to an over-sampling of younger voters in urban areas, which would inflate support in the poll for parties such as Sinn Féin and Social Democrats and in turn deflate the support in the poll for parties such as Fianna Fáil and Independent Ireland.”

The national turnout was down to 59.7%, marking the lowest turnout since 1923, the last time the number was below 60%.

O’Leary also said that another factor was a higher level of refusal than previous polls, noting that older voters were less likely to engage with pollsters. 

The poll was commissioned by RTÉ, The Irish Times, TG4 and Trinity College Dublin. 5,018 voters were surveyed at 253 polling stations in all constituencies on Friday. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Pen Name
    Favourite Pen Name
    Nov 15th 2011, 8:51 PM

Ahem…foreign nationals shouldn’t get welfare in Ireland. Another bill arising from ‘huffing and puffing without economic consequences’.

Mute Laura Purcell
    Favourite Laura Purcell
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:49 PM

What about the foreign nationals that have been here 10, 15 years, have worked paid taxes, own a house, have their familes here, should they just be told even though you contributed…you dont get anything?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:45 AM

You’ll find that a lot of the right wingers will have a fake name Laura and worryingly they’ll get plenty of anonymous thumbs up too.

Mute Cecily J. Hoare
    Favourite Cecily J. Hoare
    Nov 16th 2011, 2:17 PM

Quick question for Pen Name: what about Irish nationals getting welfare in other states when they have moved there in the hopes of making a better life but falling on hard times?

Mute Pen Name
    Favourite Pen Name
    Nov 16th 2011, 4:33 PM

@cecily, it’s for each country to set its own policy.

There is so much failed groupthink around in Ireland and here’s this issue with a presumed consensus, yet it has never been discussed. Immigration or racism is the extent of the choice.

What exactly do Roma gypsies do for instance (beg)? Are they inherently good for Ireland just because Irish people emigrate? How much does welfare for immigrants cost? Are they really net contributors? No one talks about questions like this. The thinking is very shallow. Mass immigration is a another celtic tiger legacy that deserves fuller debate.

Mute Dave finn
    Favourite Dave finn
    Nov 15th 2011, 8:54 PM

Might have taken seriously until I saw who Mr Taft represents. Given everyone knows someone claiming for example single mothers allowance while living with a partner who is working, I think we all know it is well more than 26 million Mr Taft!

Mute Andrea Galgey
    Favourite Andrea Galgey
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:04 PM

They why doesn’t everyone who knows someone claiming OPFP inform the Department of this. We are all complaining about people doing it, but not doing anything about it! The point is is that it is not 600million that the Government claims it to be.

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Nov 15th 2011, 8:57 PM

Surely the first things to state clearly are that fraud is wrong and fraud must be stamped out. The message I get from this almost apologetic piece is that if the fraud isn’t 600million, well it’s not too bad then. Fraud diluted is still fraud.

Mute Gerry Sligo
    Favourite Gerry Sligo
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:12 PM

Adam you didnt read it properly if thats what you take from the article. The article points out the media & political witchhunt to demonise social welfare recipients by branding them as frauds in order to justify welfare cuts is based on a lie. The lie that widespread fraud is costing the state hundreds of millions of euros every year. Its not. Its not anywhere near that figure but it suits business interests and the politicians to pretend otherwise to divert attention away from the real causes of our economic crisis

Heres another article showing where the real fraud in welfare is committed. By the Department itself in refusing genuine claimants their entitlements

http://eirigisligeach.blogspot.com/2011/06/social-welfare-real-fraud.html

Mute Maeve Kelly
    Favourite Maeve Kelly
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:59 PM

Then why are u not upset by the fraudulent stats?

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:16 PM

“It suits a certain agenda which wants to soften up public opinion for social welfare cuts to claim that hundreds of millions are being lost to frauds and cheats. We have had television investigations, newspaper headlines, attention-seeking politicians all claiming massive fraud.”

Can’t argue with that. A few years ago, I used to work with an Ógra FF gombeenling who thought it was great craic to rip on “dole scroungers”, even as the banking fiasco was starting to amp up. Always had some “fact” or anecdote from the tabloids at the ready.

Interestingly, he wasn’t too shy about heading down the dole office himself when redundancy came his way.

Mute Karl Power
    Favourite Karl Power
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:14 PM

600 million is just the tip of the Iceberg, I have seen couples living together with the mother claiming single parents, the father getting tax relief because he ‘doesn’t’ live with her yet when their youngest son turned 18 they got married the following week, this must me the only country in the world where land lords can claim a medical card and all the freebies that go with that. the list of fraud goes on and on.

Mute Brian Walsh
    Favourite Brian Walsh
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:19 PM

Yeah you have a point, but when our elected representative’s lie and attempt to use the media to twist things that’s fraud on a whole new level, in other country’s they’d be made resign for that.
    Fraud is fraud, a lie is a lie, theft is theft but when a Minister of State makes up a total line of bullshit in order to hoodwink an entire country , nah he should be called to account for that and loose well paid job.

Mute stephen corrigan
    Favourite stephen corrigan
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:01 AM

Im sorry but that just doesent cut it with me, you hit the nail on the head with ELECTED REPRESENTATIVES therefore we have the choice. We need to lose the mentality that all polititians are liars and realise that the vast majority are there to fight for what they believe is right. Fraud is fraud no matter how you dress it up and at the end of the day, two wrongs don’t make a right!

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2011, 11:01 AM

Just curious Karl, would you have a similar problem when corporations and wealthy individuals arrange their affairs so as to pay minimal tax?

Mute foggy_lad
    Favourite foggy_lad
    Nov 16th 2011, 11:23 AM

The truth of it Karl is that you only suspect, because you do not know the situations of the people you accuse of fraud! You see them on welfare and automatically see them getting freebies and are jealous and begrudging.

Mute briewee
    Favourite briewee
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:12 AM

I am on jobseekers as a family with 2 children we get 370 plus 20 fuel allwance we live in social housing and get NO rent allowance, I would love to know who is getting these so called big payments, I was overpaid by FIS even though I rang them 3 times it took them 9mths after the payments stopped to send me a letter and they take 5 euro out of my jobseekers to pay it back ( I have no problems with that I know I was overpaid) but I would be included in the stats of fraud even though I tried to get the payments stopped but they have no record of my calls. not everyone on socail welfare is out to con the system, but the more honest you are the more you are made to feel you have done wrong.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:25 AM

That sounds grand if your not paying any rent, about the same as the average industrial wage of €36k less tax, €31k. Assuming estimated rent value @€200 per week, total earning equivalent is €390 x 52 = €20,280 plus rent value at €200 x 52 = €10,400. Total take-home €30,680 vs. €31,200.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2011, 9:09 AM

Pretty wild assumption, there – afaik rent allowance covers a maximum of around €350 p/m … if you can get it.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:18 PM

@Niall that addition of estimate rent covers the value equivalent of what someone working would have to pay.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:48 PM

Still a pretty wild assumption, could probably knock €200 or more off that depending on the area or part of the country you’re talking about.

Let me understand this … you’re trying to tell the OP, bringing up two children on €390 per week, that she’s doing great, is that it?

Mute Gerry Sligo
    Favourite Gerry Sligo
    Nov 16th 2011, 3:09 PM

Eoin you ignore the fact that briewee is in fact paying rent. Also similar family on the wages you say would get family income supplement weekly also. Fuel allowance is not paid all year round (32 weeks) so that figure you gave is wrong also. Short term unemployed and people on illness benefit do not get fuel allowance either.

Mute Joe Browne
    Favourite Joe Browne
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:06 PM

A budget of 20 billion for less than 5 million people is fraud in itself. How do you join the party ?

Mute Clive Solas
    Favourite Clive Solas
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:20 PM

I am far from convinced by this article. I would regard myself as left-leaning, but for the life if me I can’t understand why the far-left align themselves with cheats and fraudsters. It does their cause no good and futher entrenches and polarises their right-wing opponents. More Brendan Ogle realism, although short lived, is urgently required from our union comrades.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:52 PM

I do think that a certain level of fraud is inevitable, and to be honest I think those people who think the dole is a living are only fooling themselves – it’s not much of a life that they’re signing themselves on for, there’s more to going out working than just getting paid. Of course it does happen, and I wish it didn’t.

But, at least welfare money stays in circulation, so benefits all of us in a roundabout way. Rent allowance, not so much, granted.

My real problem is where politicians of a certain stripe start going on as if welfare fraud is the greatest fiscal scourge afflicting this country. Ignoring the multi-billion Anglo et al elephant in the balance sheet.

Tbh, right at the moment I think dole fraud is the least of our worries.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 15th 2011, 11:21 PM

Social Welfare Budget = €20bn (€20,000,000,000)
    Number on Welfare = 500,000 people
    Average value per person = €40,000

Average industrial salary = €36,000

Either there is serious fraud or there is no point in working

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 15th 2011, 11:26 PM

Does seem like a very high budget alright … what percentage of the total department budget goes on payments, do you know? And what else is covered under Social Protection aside from the dole, children’s allowance and rent allowance?

Mute Laura Purcell
    Favourite Laura Purcell
    Nov 15th 2011, 11:31 PM

i thought child benefit and old age pension came from it as well?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 15th 2011, 11:54 PM

Who on earth gets €40,000 per year in welfare?? How the hell do they manage that?? Maybe with a few dependent children..
    Anyone I know on disability or jobseekers who is getting rent allowance is getting max €230 per week, that’s less than €12,000 per year..
    Something there doesn’t add up..

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:43 AM

The Country’s population is 4.6 million people.

Welfare budget is €20,000,000,000

That is equivalent to a welfare payment of €4350 for every single person in the country including babies and old people.

The tax on an average industrial salary of €36,000 is €4,800. But if you don’t have babies or old people there should be credit reductions.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:45 AM

As Niall asked, what percentage of that is welfare payments, and what percentage is other costs, and what makes up these other costs? Because if you could make €40,000 on the scratcher I agree, it would be worth your while, but it’s not.. It’s a meagre existence with money worries daily. Anyone living comfortably on welfare is probably getting income from somewhere else or running up huge debt.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:53 AM

Niall, rent allowance is applied for at the HSE with the Community Welfare Officer.. As are emergency payments and family income supplement, a few others too, I can’t remember the whole list.
    The HSE cover medical cards and the Fair Deal Scheme too, all of these things could be considered forms of social protection – I wonder how many of them fall into this budget?
    I would imagine some fall under the healthcare budget, but who knows where they draw the line, I had always assumed it was the dole you went to about rent allowance..

Really, you raise a valid point, what exactly does the social protection budget encompass?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:57 AM

Damn double post, this app is buggy..

Mute Mark Garrigan
    Favourite Mark Garrigan
    Nov 16th 2011, 3:59 AM

188 times 52 =9776

Mute foggy_lad
    Favourite foggy_lad
    Nov 16th 2011, 11:31 AM

Much of the social welfare budget goes on payments to people who are working, children’s allowance, sick pay, family income supports ers and it also includes the salaries of all social protection department staff.

Mute Sue Anthony
    Favourite Sue Anthony
    Nov 16th 2011, 11:57 AM

People who are not counted as unemployed but receive benefit, carers, sick, disability, widows, guardian, childbenefit etc etc etc. Not all the money goes to the people counted as unemployed.

Mute Gerry Sligo
    Favourite Gerry Sligo
    Nov 16th 2011, 3:18 PM

Shanti, FIS payments are paid now by welfare and form part of their budget. Also all payments dealt with by the Community Welfare Officers come from the welfare budget also. Wages and the cost of running the department is also included in their budget

Mute Dermot M******
    Favourite Dermot M******
    Nov 16th 2011, 4:48 PM

Actually, it’s:
    Social Welfare Budget = €20.8bn
    Number of beneficiaries* = 2.2m
    Average value per person = €9,566

* Beneficiaries include social welfare recipients and their dependants. If you prefer to just include the recipients:

Number of recipients = 1.43m
    Average value per person = €14,579

Of course, these figures include Child Benefit, old age pensions, widows and orphans payments and pensions, as well as unemployment payments, one parent family payments, wages to staff, etc., etc., etc.

And these figures are all openly available on the Department’s website, http://www.welfare.ie/EN/Policy/ResearchSurveysAndStatistics/Documents/2010stats.pdf so they can be verified. (this link is to a PDF of the department of social welfare’s statistical information report for 2010).

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2011, 6:51 PM

Cheers Dermot, was just to lazy to go digging.

Mute Andrea Galgey
    Favourite Andrea Galgey
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:15 PM

the social welfare budget also includes Child Benefit which every child in the country gets. So anyone who has a child, should be included in the number of people on welfare.

Mute Theresa Daly
    Favourite Theresa Daly
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:28 PM

Seriously overheard on a Dublin street this evening. Lovely looking pregnant girl caressing her belly, says to her friend (it’s as simple as this, get pregnant they will give you a house rental and you don’t have to work ever again) . We are being so abused with our easy t o access welfare.
    Rent allowance is the biggest fraud of all, couples with one partner working and claiming single mothers can get up to €930 a month. The well is running dry, BTW when I phoned social to report a definite case of fraud I was told it was against the data protection act to discuss the case.

Mute foggy_lad
    Favourite foggy_lad
    Nov 16th 2011, 11:27 AM

The single parent issue may be dealy with by reducing the child’s age from 13 to 7 and just so you know the department has logged your call and it will be fully investigated and benefits will be cut off if necessary or if there is any doubt about entitlement.

Mute Andrea Galgey
    Favourite Andrea Galgey
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:09 PM

Seeing as this girl is pregnant, give her 6 months and lets see if she has the same thing to say! RA is the worst system I agree with you there. But it’s not because “Single mothers” get 930 a month for it, the Landlords get the money. So we are giving landlords all over the country money from the welfare system to pay for their mortgages. That is what is wrong with RA. If the Government gave all the NAMA property to people on the housing list then we wouldn’t need the RA system.

Mute Theresa Daly
    Favourite Theresa Daly
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:35 PM

Dave, you are so right, I feel so helpless, on one hand not wanting to make life any harder for the real decent unemployed but seeing the amount of fraud by others using and abusing the system I think maybe it’s time to cut all welfare and start all over again with real means testing.

Mute Francis Foran
    Favourite Francis Foran
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:40 PM

Maths have never been this governments strong point , remember that little matter of 3.6 billion ! As Michael noonan said anyone can make mistakes .

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:47 PM

Would someone in the trade union movement ever state unequivocally that no one on welfare should be ‘earning’ more than the basic industrial wage? Not much to ask. There simply aren’t jobs for unskilled and semi-skilled men with three, four and more children that can compete with the whole welfare package.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:05 AM

No they would not. There are jobs that exist, and people may be competing with their kids for employment. What example does it set for them to have no job rather than having one. Sure some people may only get paid half what they used to get, but its better to work than go bankrupt. I’d like to say that there would be benefits such as increased social activity from doing so, but at least you would be kept busy.

Mute Richard Fitzwell
    Favourite Richard Fitzwell
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:30 AM

Use fingerprint sign on! If you want “payment” use your print will stop all fraud! If someone has a problem ‘PC’ groups don’t expect being paid by state money!! Simple idea to an easy problem this will save a massive amount! If ppl can’t accept that build a tent and claim away!!

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Nov 16th 2011, 4:22 PM

how will that solve anything, it wont stop people working while they claim

Mute JibberIrish
    Favourite JibberIrish
    Nov 16th 2011, 7:40 AM

The truth about welfare it is regenerating monies. You will find that welfare people don’t save, the cash is pumped right back into the system, a lot of it on high tax products.
    Unlike the irish economist (professors of hindsight) that can’t see past the next budget cuts, the demands from the small business man and the screams for social housing will far outweigh the 600m bandied about.

Mute Eoin Faz
    Favourite Eoin Faz
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:11 PM

Well we should all be getting welfare monies then as it would benefit local economies. Dear ministers for finance and social protection, if you give me loads of benefits, I solemnly promise to spend it in local businesses and not multinationals, imports or the Internet, thereby preserving the multiplier effect.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:48 PM

Better than throwing it at the banks, Eoin.

Mute Paul M Brady
    Favourite Paul M Brady
    Nov 16th 2011, 4:01 AM

Very good article. More of this please .

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Nov 16th 2011, 12:25 AM

its catch 22 really, if you jail someone for fraud it ends up costing a lot more than paying them the dole plus the moneys not in circulation

Mute Elrat
    Favourite Elrat
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:33 PM

Well said Dave totally agree

Mute Dave finn
    Favourite Dave finn
    Nov 15th 2011, 9:41 PM

Who is trying to justify welfare cuts Gerry Sligo? It was this government’s explicit pledge NOT to cut headline welfare rates.

Mute Gerry Sligo
    Favourite Gerry Sligo
    Nov 15th 2011, 10:00 PM

They have already cut welfare. Fuel allowances and other packages like the phone & electricity allowances. Further cuts will be in the budget.

Mute ⚡Wynnner⚡
    Favourite ⚡Wynnner⚡
    Dec 29th 2012, 7:46 PM

Those cuts have hit OAP’s and people with disabilities

Mute taggers
    Favourite taggers
    Nov 16th 2011, 6:03 PM

agree whole heartedly with that reada.all on welfare should be playing a vital role in society – if they physically can. in relation to your sexism remarks you’re the one being inflammatory-admittedly there was one sweeping statement about ‘women like this keeping legs closed’. but in the case being referred to there was no sign of any of the 6 different fathers.true they have a responsibility to their children-but men can walk away, women cannot. there is no sign of ‘lessons being learned’ by their mother either. and why should there be? taking into account all the benefits previously explained.read posts properly before jumping on your soap box.in no uncertain terms was i referring to single mothers countrywide

Mute taggers
    Favourite taggers
    Nov 16th 2011, 6:05 PM

actually it wasn’t the comment wasn’t even ‘women like this’ it referred to ‘her’ the woman in question.

Mute Lelia Brandon O'Reilly
    Favourite Lelia Brandon O'Reilly
    Nov 16th 2011, 6:36 PM

Regardless of whether the figure of €600 million is right or not the figure I am interested in is how much will it cost us to investigate the alleged fraud.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 29th 2012, 8:57 PM

thats the way to go tearing one another up if you are unlucky to be on social welfare through job loss hold your head up you paid your bits & bobs through the years and what you paid will never be returned to you in your hour of need as long as its abused at the top. the lords of our manor spend more on bottled water then you get to feed your family.they will continue to cut for as long as you allow them.

Mute taggers
    Favourite taggers
    Nov 16th 2011, 1:11 PM

reada that’s not nonsense. its fact in a lot of cases (see other previous posters)- admittedly the minority.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Nov 16th 2011, 2:55 PM

In your opinion taggers. In reality there are very few. This country has to create a fairer society where those on social welfare play a part in society too. It is a challenge to those on the left as well as those on the right but a challenge worthy of an attempt.

Whining about unmarried mothers and not mentioning unmarried fathers is inflammatory and sexist.