You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Elon Musk speaks at a Trump campaign rally, 27 Oct, 2024, in New York. Alamy Stock Photo

Elon Musk-led group offering more than $97 billion to buy ChatGPT-maker OpenAI

OpenAI chief executive Sam Altman quickly rejected the deal.

A GROUP OF investors led by Elon Musk has said it is offering more than $97 billion (€94.1b) to buy OpenAI, escalating a legal dispute with the artificial intelligence company that Musk helped found.

Musk and his own AI start-up, xAI, and a consortium of investment firms say they want to buy the ChatGPT-maker and revert it back to its original charitable mission as a non-profit research lab, according to Musk lawyer Marc Toberoff.

OpenAI chief executive Sam Altman quickly rejected the deal on Musk’s social media platform X, saying “no thank you but we will buy twitter for $9.74 billion if you want”.

Musk bought Twitter, now called X, for $44 billion in 2022.

Musk and Altman, who together helped start OpenAI in 2015 and later competed over who should lead it, have been in a long-running feud over the start-up’s direction since Musk resigned from its board in 2018.

Musk, an early OpenAI investor and board member, sued the artificial intelligence company last year, first in a California state court and later in federal court, alleging it had betrayed its founding aims as a non-profit research lab benefiting the public good.

Musk had invested about $45 million (€43.6m) in the start-up from its founding until 2018, Toberoff said in court last week.

Musk and OpenAI lawyers faced off in a California federal court last week as a judge weighed up Musk’s request for a court order that would block the ChatGPT-maker from converting itself to a for-profit company.

US district judge Yvonne Gonzalez Rogers has not yet ruled on Musk’s request but in court said it was a “stretch” for Musk to claim he will be irreparably harmed if she does not intervene to stop OpenAI from moving forward with its planned transition towards becoming a for-profit corporation.

But the judge also raised concerns about OpenAI and its relationship with business partner Microsoft and said she would not stop the case from moving to trial as soon as next year so a jury can decide.

“It is plausible that what Mr Musk is saying is true. We’ll find out. He’ll sit on the stand,” she said.

Along with Musk and xAI, others backing the bid include Baron Capital Group, Valor Management, Atreides Management, Vy Fund and Eight Partners VC.

Toberoff said in a statement that if Altman and OpenAI’s current board “are intent on becoming a fully for-profit corporation, it is vital that the charity be fairly compensated for what its leadership is taking away from it: control over the most transformative technology of our time”.

Toberoff added that Musk, as an OpenAI co-founder and successful tech leader, “is the person best positioned to protect and grow OpenAI’s technology”.

58 Comments
    Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:03 AM

You’re gonna pay $97billion for it and then revert it to a not-for-profit research lab? Nah

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Feb 11th 2025, 1:18 PM

@Ian McDonald: Well, he seems to have done that with Twitter, albeit unintentionally.

And Tesla is heading for the rocks too.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Feb 11th 2025, 1:40 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Tesla is a speculative asset. Simply put, they don’t hit targets.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:03 AM

Musk must now be deemed the world’s most dangerous man. A lunatic with more money than sense. This takeover must be resisted at all costs or we will reap a never ending whirlwind of shït.

Mute Lei tatt
    Favourite Lei tatt
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:09 AM

@Anthony Curran: it is more interesting – who investing in to his company acquisitions. Musks X acquisition was heavily invested by putins russian oligarchs “kids”. Hence that pro russian narrative that he is promoting. Who will invest in to his AI acquisition? He is not spending his own money by the way.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:51 AM

@Lei tatt: Never spend your own money (apparently)

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:32 AM

@Joe Willis: Who gives Netanyahu the weaponry? Who bankrolls the ethnic cleansing and genocide in Palestine? Netanyahu is nothing but a puppet on a string.

Mute Machine Learning IRE
    Favourite Machine Learning IRE
    Feb 11th 2025, 9:01 AM

@Joe Willis: They are on the same team and equally dangerous.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 11th 2025, 9:39 AM

@Joe Willis: Musk had more power than Netanyahu could even dream about ffs. You guys really dont understand scale atall. All this information and no knowledge of how to process it.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 11th 2025, 9:40 AM

@Louis Jacob: *has more power.

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Feb 11th 2025, 10:19 AM
    Mute Lei tatt
    Favourite Lei tatt
    Feb 11th 2025, 3:58 PM

@Nemethon: thank you

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:11 AM

For God’s sake, will somebody think of the Badgers.

Mute Lei tatt
    Favourite Lei tatt
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:34 AM

@Dan Murphy: idc how that guy is not behind bars

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:01 AM

@Dan Murphy: Pat Kenny’s never far away from a scrap where his gaff is involved.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:28 AM

@Dan Murphy: Badgers are useful hostages to wage lawfare. Does he ever interview any that is not anti Trump.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:48 AM

@thomas molloy: in fairness anyone with a functioning brain who knows a smidgin of history would be anti Trump at this stage. He’s proving those of us right who said he would be a dictator. How many executive orders so far?

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:38 AM

The purchase being to acquire the tech to cover Musk’s tracks better when he cheats at online games? Musk is a man devoid of genuine capacity. He’s a fraud, a rank tumor spreading his agenda where it absolutely does not belong.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:52 AM

@Numinous20111: If he’s a fraud do we have an example of a ‘real’ billionaire?

Mute Bat Boy
    Favourite Bat Boy
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:19 AM

@Numinous20111: Musk is not a fraud as such, I saw a video recently where someone described him as a cuckoo. Gets into the nest and pushes the other chicks out. It is an accurate reflection of what he is and why he became so rich.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:49 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: I’m not sure if you are being sarcastic or not. If not, then you need to check Musk’s actual business history as opposed to his own claims and the tendency of this civilisation to equate wealth with genuine ability and look beyond the surface varnish.

Mute Bru
    Favourite Bru
    Feb 11th 2025, 1:56 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: his money is legit.it’s just his intellect that’s in question these days

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 11th 2025, 6:54 PM

@Numinous20111: just that there’s 2,781 other billionaires out there

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:45 AM

Great, another thing I would have to stop using if that subhuman filth took it over.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:22 AM

@Daniel Skelton: you’re reasonings for boycotting a company don’t seem to be very consistent, if you still use OpenAi while Altman is the founder and CEO. But would boycott if Musk took it over? Interesting.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Feb 11th 2025, 9:10 AM

@Joe Willis: Cool story, bro.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 11th 2025, 11:17 AM

@Daniel Skelton: maybe do a little research before making such a contradiction you innocent boy

Mute miss lojo
    Favourite miss lojo
    Feb 11th 2025, 12:19 PM

@Daniel Skelton: I am an avid chatgpt user and the ethics of the company’s newer board has made me fee extremely uncomfortable, the Microsoft thing is one side but the military R&D is another. I have been looking to move away from it for a while I just can’t find a good enough competitor.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Feb 11th 2025, 4:45 PM

@miss lojo: If you’re looking for a new platform, I don’t recommend DeepSeek, seeing as it’s recently been discovered to host data unencrypted on ByteDance servers.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:14 AM

Feck. Give my data to Musk or the Chinese Government? Decisions, decisions….

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Feb 11th 2025, 9:47 AM

@Ronan Mc: he is in bed with Chinese government anyway. So won’t matter

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Feb 11th 2025, 1:42 PM

@Ronan Mc: Peter Thiel?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:31 AM

it’s like religion : all about control !
    and one think they don’t want is integrity.

Mute Barry Spoon
    Favourite Barry Spoon
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:00 AM

Elon, what a character lol

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:23 AM

@Barry Spoon: I see your ‘juggernaut of peace’ is promoting the resumption of the war in Gaza, (not that it ever really stopped)

Mute Barry Spoon
    Favourite Barry Spoon
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:31 AM

@Dermot Blaine: can you be anymore transparent, Brenny? lol

Mute Richard Reynolds
    Favourite Richard Reynolds
    Feb 11th 2025, 7:57 AM
    Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:00 AM

@Barry Spoon: I’m still not Brenny, no matter how often you say it. Now, explain how your “juggernaut of peace president” can threaten all out war against a civilian population.

Mute Barry Spoon
    Favourite Barry Spoon
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:52 AM

@Dermot Blaine: of course, Brenny lol

Mute Tricia G28
    Favourite Tricia G28
    Feb 11th 2025, 9:22 AM

@Barry Spoon: Yeah, no one is buying what you’re selling.

Every accusation is a confession.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Feb 11th 2025, 10:43 AM

@Dermot Blaine: Anytime he doesn’t want to answer for his utter bs and hypocrisy he just throws out the old “Ah sure your using multiple names” smoke and mirrors shite.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:02 AM

Musk is a deep-fake. An accelerationist, On one hand yes, keep it free to maximise the machines ability to learn, maybe then set it as a network for other suppliers, like Apple with apps or the ESB with our national grid, but on the other hand, money cant really be the motive, maybe he’s rich fake friends are in the way of his ambition to explore the universe. Certainly he’s moving through politics like he doesn’t want to be in it for very long

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Feb 11th 2025, 10:18 AM

This lad is like wannabe Dr evil….

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Feb 11th 2025, 10:18 AM

Buy deepseek if you dare or tiktok or even try to !
    BYD EV erasing tesla legacy
    Deepseek will too

Mute NotGreta
    Favourite NotGreta
    Feb 11th 2025, 8:59 AM

Musk = the anti-christ

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 11th 2025, 6:56 PM

Trump = the christ

Mute stephen deegan
    Favourite stephen deegan
    Feb 11th 2025, 11:59 AM

007 is being briefed as we speak.

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Feb 11th 2025, 10:06 AM

What a scammer this guy is.

Mute Blaney Richard
    Favourite Blaney Richard
    Feb 11th 2025, 5:45 PM

Ps that trump loving musk is a nut job,and I think you will see soon,like his boss

Mute Blaney Richard
    Favourite Blaney Richard
    Feb 11th 2025, 5:42 PM

You poor sods,I’m talking to all you fools,that love spending your time winding each other up!not one of you desk jockeys have one clue about anything!just want to wind!sad

Mute Blaney Richard
    Favourite Blaney Richard
    Feb 11th 2025, 5:43 PM

Ya need to GET a life weirdo’s