You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Explainer: Why tech experts think the EU's proposed copyright law will 'screw up the whole internet'

Internet users have been warned that even their beloved memes are at risk.

THIS WEEK THE European Union took the first step in passing its controversial copyright directive, which critics have said could seriously threaten the digital world and how it operates.

The parliament’s Legal Affairs Committee narrowly passed the reform, with 13 votes in favour and 11 against in a ballot that was kept secret given the bitter divisions on the issue. This means the Copyright Directive is now in its final form.

On Tuesday, tech news website Gizmodo said the measures would “upend the web in every way that we know it”.

“Memes, news, Wikipedia, art, privacy, and the creative side of fandom are all at risk of being destroyed or kneecapped.”
Wired.com also suggested the proposed directive could “screw up the whole internet”.

What are people concerned about?

There are two particular parts of the directive that are worrying tech experts – Articles 11 and 13.

• Article 11 would force online platforms like Google and Facebook to pay for links to news content they use. Major publishers have pushed for the reform, seeing it as an urgently needed solution against a backdrop of free online news that has decimated earnings for traditional media companies.
  • Article 13 would require websites to monitor copyrighted material and would make them legally liable for any copyrighted material shared by users.

It is Article 13, in particular, that has tech experts and companies feeling uneasy. Critics have warned that this will lead to blanket censorship by tech giants like YouTube Instagram and Twitter who may be forced to use automated blocking.

In 2016, Google’s head of global public policy Caroline Atkinson said if text, video, images and other content has to be filtered by online services, it would “effectively turn the internet into a place where everything uploaded to the web must be cleared by lawyers before it can find an audience”.

Gizmodo has warned that even the internet’s beloved memes are at risk as the person who took the original photo may be able to file complaints against any platform that allows it to be used without permission.

Axel Voss, Rapporteur of the European Parliament for the Copyright Directive however told TNW he believes the change would greatly benefit European citizens.

“I feel that the criticism hasn’t been really balanced and not based on the actual text we’ve proposed. That’s why all these claims of censorship, upload filters and link tax are all a total exaggeration.”

He said the proposal would simply make it mandatory to prevent copyright infringement which is something that is already included in EU law.

Defenders of the directive have pointed out that each EU country will be able to translate it into their own individual laws – that is why the wording has been left vague.

This means it will not be possible to know the full extent of the changes until after the directive has gone through the entire process and countries start drafting their own legislation to fit in with the directive.

The next step now is a plenary vote on the proposal by the full Parliament which is expected at the end of this year or the start of 2019.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Anthony Burke
    Favourite Anthony Burke
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:13 PM

Jesus Christ, hopefully he makes a full recovery, lot of people are driving like crazy nowadays.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:42 PM

@Anthony Burke: How do you know this accident had anything to do with driving standards?

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:48 PM

@Anthony Burke: A bit harsh to start shifting the blame when you haven’t a clue of the circumstances.

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:13 PM

@John O Brien: typical defensive attitude. Put it this way – it doesn’t matter if it was a pedestrian, cyclist, dog or other car that was in the way, no-one should be driving at such a speed that they can’t stop for any of these, especially when there are no cars on the road. If a child is airlifted to hospital after “a collision between two vehicles”, you can be sure the other vehicle wasn’t paying enough attention.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:20 PM

@John O Brien: agree! I see 11 year old cyclists speeding every day! NOT!

speedy recovery little man!

Mute Aviationdub
    Favourite Aviationdub
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:57 PM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: so if the car was driving 50km on a 50km road and a person/child/cat/dog came out in front of your bumper it’s the drivers fault for not being able to stop on time?
    Quick and full recovery for the child and hopefully the driver is ok too(if not at fault).

Mute Atlas' burden
    Favourite Atlas' burden
    Apr 22nd 2020, 1:15 AM

@Anthony Burke: I was going to my local shop today in a rural spot and a ups driver nearly came up on the path. He was going way too fast in a village with a 50km,ph limit. Must have been been going 90/100 . He was on 2 wheels going around the bend.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Apr 22nd 2020, 1:17 AM

@Aviationdub: It could be, if 50 km was not an appropriate speed to be driving at, given the conditions. E.g, driving past a football match, funeral, etc just after the event has ended. Obviously, the other cyclist, pedestrian, etc has some responsibility (unless they’re 5 years old). If a person parachutes down in front of the car, saying the driver was at fault would be unreasonable.

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Apr 22nd 2020, 6:42 AM

@Aviationdub: yes, you are supposed to anticipate hazards. You slow down on bends and anywhere you can’t see a good distance ahead.

Mute lunadoran
    Favourite lunadoran
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:21 PM

Also pedestrians have been crazy on the roads recently. Well the country roads, they are walking in the middle of the road sometimes in twos and threes very dangerous. They probably think they’re ok as there is not much traffic on the roads but one car can do a lot of damage to a pedestrian.

Mute Eoin Scanlon
    Favourite Eoin Scanlon
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:40 PM

@lunadoran: perhaps drivers should drive to the conditions and the road. Those twos and threes could just as easily be a person with a double buggy, an oncoming tractor, a person on a horse, etc ……. Saying 2 or 3 pedestrians are dangerous is poor show for driver

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:13 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: Walking 2 or 3 abreast on a country road is poor judgement. Maybe you should think of any poor person who rounds a bend and has insufficient time to avoid a collision. It’s not always the driver’s fault.

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:18 PM

@lunadoran: Jeesus! – they’re supposed to be on the road. No excuses during a pandemic where cars are down 95% and everyone knows pedestrians and cyclists have to keep bigger distances apart. Far, far, too many unnecessary journeys by arrogant individuals, especially in rural areas. And arrogant individuals mixed with cars result in injuries like this.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:22 PM

@lunadoran: Slow down! Where are these people supposed to walk? Their are no pavements on a lot of rural roads.

Mute Tommy Tom
    Favourite Tommy Tom
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:33 PM

@lunadoran: its actually safer to cycle /walk in the middle of the road.

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:22 PM

Get well soon .. You are in my prayers young man

Mute hugh sure
    Favourite hugh sure
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:33 PM

Praying you recover, God bless you and your family

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:16 PM

Drivers are exploiting the pandemic to drive like total maniacs. Speeding up more than 50%. The roads are getting out of control .

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:38 PM

@Bob Moore: also noticing a lot of cyclists completely ignoring traffic lights at busy junctions due to lack of traffic.. and not taking any real time to look in all directions!!

Mute Eoin Scanlon
    Favourite Eoin Scanlon
    Apr 21st 2020, 10:41 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: make sure you get the anti cyclists jibe on an article about a poor 11 year old smashed by a car

Mute Sam McCormack
    Favourite Sam McCormack
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:09 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: Really bad form Lydia. Think next time before you post. Cyclists don’t kill thousands of people around the world every year

This boy was innocently riding his bike.
    Very, very insensitive of you. Cop on.

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:09 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: I’m a cyclist and a driver. I find both your comments to be poorly timed. There are plenty of bad drivers, plenty of bad cyclists and plenty of pedestrians who practise poor judgement. My thoughts are with this child and his family at this moment in time.

Mute Sandra Whelehan
    Favourite Sandra Whelehan
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:25 PM

Incredibly small minded people writing comments. I hope this poor 11 year old child makes a full recovery and thoughts and prayers with both his family and that of the driver. A bit of humanity goes along way over arguing with strangers getting insignificant jibes in. Roads are for everyone. Everyone who uses them has a responsibility for their own safety as well as that of other users. It doesn’t make every driver, cyclist or pedestrian involved in an accident open to idiotic comments by people who have no idea of the circumstances.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:38 PM

@Sandra Whelehan: agree Sandra.. but with great (horse) power comes great(er) responsibility. You can’t say an 11 year old on a bicycle is is responsible for his/her own safety. It’s up to us adults who drive to look out for other road users.

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:42 PM

@Alan Kelly: Of course he’s responsible for his own safety if he’s on a road. What a strange thing to say.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:45 PM

@Johnny 5: hand in your driving license at your nearest Garda Station please.

Mute Aviationdub
    Favourite Aviationdub
    Apr 22nd 2020, 12:08 AM

@Alan Kelly: I know of a young girl (family member of my mams best friend) who literally ran out in front of a car, the car was going about 30km speed at tops, her friends all ran across the main road and she followed a couple of minutes later, ran from behind a parked car without looking. Anyways the car hit her, the way she landed on the road unfortunately gave her fatal injuries.
    The poor car driver was never the same, he actually became very good friends with the young girls mam and they helped each other through the grief.
    At the end of the day, it was a tragic accident pure and simple and there was no way of avoiding it. Moral of the story, accidents happen and it’s not always the drivers fault.
    Hopefully the young lad makes a full and quick recovery.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 22nd 2020, 12:16 AM

@Aviationdub: yeah that can happen…that’s why you should always drive slowly past parked cars. As you approach cars, look for pedestrians feet under the parked cars. Same goes for buses at bus stops, watch out for passengers alighting and crossing the road in front of the bus! Like I said..when driving, we have a greater responsibility to look out for more vulnerable road users.

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Apr 22nd 2020, 12:30 AM

@Alan Kelly: So I should avert my attention from the road in front and look to see whether I can see feet under a parked car? Surely then I’m more at risk of knocking a pedestrian down coming from the other side? Maybe, just maybe all road users should learn the rules of the road? You’re basically saying all drivers should drive at 20 kms per hour because pedestrians are eejits.

Mute Aviationdub
    Favourite Aviationdub
    Apr 22nd 2020, 1:12 AM

@Johnny 5: you could look 5 times while approaching a parked and still not see a child dart out at the last second, thats even going at 20km. As I said freak accidents can happen and will always happen, we will never be able to stop it unfortunately.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Apr 22nd 2020, 1:20 AM

@Johnny 5: Should we examine your 20 km/h proposal further? It might improve road safety.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:47 AM

@Johnny 5: no, just drive with due care and attention.

Mute Angela O'regan
    Favourite Angela O'regan
    Apr 22nd 2020, 8:48 AM

@Sandra Whelehan: well said.

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Apr 22nd 2020, 3:48 PM

@Sandra Whelehan: every time there is a crime which justifiably opens debate, people say “now is not the time- let people grieve”. Mass shootings for example.

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Apr 22nd 2020, 5:01 PM

@Alan Kelly: can I keep my license so?

Mute Shelley Keary
    Favourite Shelley Keary
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:01 PM

Incredibly narrow country road but quite straight in places which inclines some motorists to drive too fast. Know the area very well

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Apr 21st 2020, 11:24 PM

Don’t have to be speeding to injure an 11 year old.

Mute Jimmy Reed
    Favourite Jimmy Reed
    Apr 22nd 2020, 1:25 AM

Get well soon ☘️

Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Apr 22nd 2020, 7:19 AM

A little boy is fighting for his life and look at most of the comments. People bickering about who is to blame and not one of you knows the facts. You all should be ashamed of yourselves. Please God little Daithi makes a full recovery

Mute Michael Carolan
    Favourite Michael Carolan
    Apr 22nd 2020, 7:52 AM

@Decko49: Exactly……..a child of 11 in 5th class in primary school. Hope he makes a full recover.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Apr 22nd 2020, 1:15 PM

I live in the country and around every corner is more people out walking than ive ever seen before, drivers need to really slow down on small roads particularly, i worry for them when I see them walking, just takes one ejit to wreck a family…