Advertisement
Facebook

Facebook users being scammed by rogue app

Dislike!

FACEBOOK USERS ARE being warned about a scam offering a “dislike” button to be added to their account, BBC reports.

Users are tricked into allowing another application access to their profile page. That application then posts spam messages.

No dislike button is actually added to the user’s Facebook page, but a message and link to the app come up on the user’s status.

Users are also lured into filling out a survey which the people behind the scam are being paid for.

Facebook said it has processes in place to quickly remove rogue applications and urged users to get in touch with them if they see anything suspicious on their page.