You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fianna Fáil TD James O'Connor. Twitter

Cork TD threatens to quit Fianna Fáil claiming he was 'lied to' over NDP road plans

James O’Connor has told local radio that “if commitments made to me are not fulfilled” he will consider leaving the party.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Oct 2021

A CORK FIANNA Fáil TD has threatened to leave the party saying he was “misled” by government officials over allocations in the National Development Plan (NDP). 

Cork East deputy James O’Connor has told local radio that “if commitments made to me are not fulfilled” he will consider leaving the party. 

O’Connor says he was told in “good faith” that €54 million for a relief road at Castlemartyr and Killeagh would be provided for in the NDP but this did not materialise. 

Speaking to Patricia Messinger on C103′s Cork Today Show, O’Connor says he feels he was “lied to” by “a multitude of colleagues” but that it “would be unfair to lay the blame at anyone’s feet”. 

There has been anger in east Cork since the announcement of the NDP on Monday, with particular focus on the absence of plans for the Killeagh/Castlemartyr N25 bypass road and an upgrade of the R624 Fota road. 

O’Connor said funding for the two roads was “one of the most important issues in this constituency” and that was seeking a meeting with Taoiseach Micheál Martin over the issue. 

Martin has said that if other projects are delayed then the money could be invested into other projects and he mentioned the Castlemartyr bypass.

“I would like to say that I will continue to fight for this project to be included in the National Development Plan, and I will not relent until I get a commitment from governments that this project will be supported,” O’Connor told the programme. 

I have asked for a meeting with An Taoiseach Micheál Martin and the Minister of Transport. I have yet to receive an official reply responding to that request and if I do not receive any information on that in the next number of days I will be looking at a number of options, including resigning the whip of the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party.
O’Connor has since tweeted this afternoon that he will meet with Martin and Transport Minister Eamon Ryan tomorrow to “seek assurances” over the road projects.

In a Facebook post yesterday, independent councillor from Youghal Mary Linehan Foley said she was “beyond disappointed and upset” that there were no road commitments for the area.

“It is incredibly disappointing that East Cork appears to be left behind once again. I am hurt that the government does not appear to be giving East Cork the projects which are so vital to its development and sustainability,” the councillor said.

Speaking today, O’Connor said he has been “fighting the good fight” and that he was “hurt” by the actions of some local councillors who have used the NDP announcement “as a stick to beat me”. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:07 PM

Any chance you’ll actually follow through on your threat?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:15 PM

@Roy Dowling: C’mon, this is Fianna Fáil we’re talking about! Chances of him doing so range from slim to none. Mind you a politician being lied to makes a nice change from politicians lying to…

Mute Cobh Rebel Tour Mccarthy
    Favourite Cobh Rebel Tour Mccarthy
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:49 PM

@Roy Dowling: as good an excuse as any to leave the sinking ship.

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:46 PM

@Roy Dowling: A this is just a way of getting votes what else is new

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:36 PM

@Roy Dowling: it can be embarrassing when you follow through

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:12 PM

He is in FF, what does he expect

Mute Andrew English
    Favourite Andrew English
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:21 PM

Great. Just what we needed. Another “independent” FF TD.

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:26 PM

@Andrew English: independents do well, every time I turn on the radio, Roisin Shorthall is on it rabbiting away

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:34 PM

@Alan Campbell: Check it out….. She’s not an INDEPENDENT and furthermore she speaks a lot of sense anytime I hear her . Rabbiting away is well practised in the likes of SF, FF FG…..

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:47 PM

@Jerriko17: well there’s two of them in the Dail and they call themselves a “party”

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:08 PM

@Alan Campbell: What year are you living in? There are 6 elected tds in the Social Democrats.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Oct 6th 2021, 3:33 PM

@Jerriko17: they are a more populist new Labour, not really independents.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:56 PM

@Jerriko17: Rabbiting away. I thought that was the domaine of Labour . In any event where is Pat these days?

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:26 PM

@Jonathan O’Riordan: oh Pat is living off his fat pension.

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:35 PM

I thought lying was one of the key competencies required to join Fianna Fáil, no?

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:17 PM

FF tell lies, surely it can’t be.

Mute Moss Cotter
    Favourite Moss Cotter
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:12 PM

“Hold me back lads”,
    “Lads if ye don’t hold me back I’ll do it”
    “Lads quick hold me back for god sake”
    “Lads”?
    “Lads are ye there”?

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:53 PM

The poor fellow. Does this gentleman have any idea about the commitments that his party have given to the Irish electorate time and time again to get them elected?

Generations of Irish people have experienced first hand the failure of Fianna Fáil to deliver on their commitments. Throw your toys out of your pram all you like.

They will NEVER change.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:01 PM

FF is a sinking ship he could well do himself a favour …

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:23 PM

Just because Deputy James O’Connor has the honorary title of ‘Baby of the Dáil’. It’s not a reason to throw his dolly out of the FFG pram. As a junior partner in a coalition government. You take what little you get.
    Did he get any commitment in writing? Maybe baby just needs a pat on the head from the grown ups.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:36 PM

@leartius: Junior partners?????? Though FF were the biggest party in government.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:51 PM

@Jerriko17: he seems to be confused between seats held and opinion polls…

Mute joe oneill
    Favourite joe oneill
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:38 PM

Frightening absolutely frightening to think we have still people walking around this country that will actually vote for FF and a lad like this,frightening stuff.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:36 PM

Bye.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:26 PM

Self serving “Brat”, Never heard him contribute anything until now. This is essentially Local small mindedness before Country. Give him back his soother and quell the Tantrum.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:53 PM

@James Keogh: you are hilarious you are. The man tries to serve his constituents and he’s a spoilt brat. He ignores his constituents and goes with the flow and he’s not representing the people. Cannot win with the likes of you. Mo.ronic comment to say the least

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:52 PM

@Eoin Jackson: James is correct in his assessment. I never heard of that TD before. He knows FF will be decimated in the next election so he is only trying to save himself.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Oct 6th 2021, 11:37 PM

@Eoin Jackson: He will toe the Iine, too much to lose, he will be thrown a line of inclusion further down the line to go to the “People” with and that my man is Politics

Mute Shea Carroll
    Favourite Shea Carroll
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:53 PM

One way to get yourself noticed……

Mute Joe Healy
    Favourite Joe Healy
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:40 PM

Whatever about all the anti-politician rants here, it is extraordinary that this crucial road upgrade continues to be ignored.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:53 PM

@Joe Healy: They should’ve extended the rail-line from Midleton to Youghal. That would’ve relieved pressure on the road and been better for the environment. But if they’re not going to do that, then they’ve to bypass C’martyr at least.

Mute NoPlanetB
    Favourite NoPlanetB
    Oct 6th 2021, 3:21 PM

Missed a trick with the headline here: “Baby of the Dáil threatens to throw toys out of the pram”

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:41 PM

April 1st is not for another 6 months :)

Mute Leonard O'mahony
    Favourite Leonard O'mahony
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:36 PM

Td promises his constituents he will get the bypass done if they vote for him. TD now admits he can’t deliver on his promise. Makes a bit of a fuss to show his displeasure with his governing colleagues. This should guarantee his reelection next time.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:25 PM

You can be sure they will go to that meeting well prepared , you will get ” assurances”" with conditions attached , they will go back to their Office’s saying ” another satisfied customer” , and your road will be as far away as ever,– just wait and see ! .

Mute David Repealion
    Favourite David Repealion
    Oct 6th 2021, 3:41 PM

Sorry who?

Mute Owen McGinley
    Favourite Owen McGinley
    Oct 6th 2021, 5:13 PM

It looks like the Government is going to give in on this one, so fair dues to this TD, whether you agree with this project or not, it’s great to see a TD stand up against his Party, for something that’s probably important to his area and constituents. If more TD’s did this, instead of following the Party Whip we might have a better spread of Infrastructural improvements, around the Country. Hopefully the Government TD from the North West might follow suit, regarding the underfunded Roads, Rail, Hospitals and Mica scandal.

Mute Mary
    Favourite Mary
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:55 PM

Just do it so then

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:13 PM

You will, yeah.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:29 PM

Judging by the comments here not one of ye know where Castlemartyr is and what they have been putting up with

Mute Ian Hester
    Favourite Ian Hester
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:12 PM

His boss said pre election loss of Biodiversity is a major issue..(to woo the Green Party into power with FF) True so no more roads or motorways, Eamon is the boss on that one…. You should jump ship before you disappear altogether…… Wipe that silly looking grin of your face, before you jump where ever that is….

Mute Great White Hope
    Favourite Great White Hope
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:17 PM

He looks v happy.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 6th 2021, 6:20 PM

Maybe if the TD instead of being parochial would look at the national view instead he might reach the same conclusion as others in regards to where money is to be spent. We are a small country and there seems to be constant conflict between local and national issues. People in the Dail are there to run the country and not seek to upgrade a local regional road like the one to Fota. Sure they have to represent their constituents but also have to pull their weight as members of Dail Eireann. This seems to me to be a tactical move so he can decide the best way to be re-elected. He is part of a system that reached this decision he now must support the system or resign from the system and not just the party.

Mute Owen McGinley
    Favourite Owen McGinley
    Oct 6th 2021, 8:17 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: That would be the ideal situation, but let’s not forget, TDs campaign and get elected on Local issues, and for some reason mysteriously forget those issues when they get Elected.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:41 PM

Ryan can’t see beyond his own constituency and he can go anywhere within by bicycle

Mute Peter Jo
    Favourite Peter Jo
    Oct 6th 2021, 5:20 PM

See ya James

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:47 PM

Ryan is full of him self and all fir himself

Mute Ian Hester
    Favourite Ian Hester
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:33 PM

I’m bowled over with all these by-passes, he doesn’t understand that Eamon Ryan is the boss on this one, Martin made a committee to tackle biodiversity loss in a pre election move to woo the Greens into an alliance with FF….. Motorways, roads eats up biodiversity so O Connor is going up a cul-de-sac….

Mute Ian Hester
    Favourite Ian Hester
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:38 PM

Sorry correction above not committee, commitment instead

Mute McCarthy John
    Favourite McCarthy John
    Oct 7th 2021, 12:30 AM

All politics are not local. Who is going to pay for the byepasses? The people of Castlemartyr and Killeagh are trying to blackmail the government and the rest of the country to pay for their byepasses, and this TD is their spokesperson. Politicians live in fairyland removed from real taxpayers. I hope the next generation of TDs will think of the national interest.