You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Minister calls Adams "a man who takes off socks to count to 20" after RTÉ interview

With polling just eight days away, tensions are high.

https://soundcloud.com/rte-radio-1/todaysor-sinn-fein-leader-gerry-adams

GERRY ADAMS HAS been angry about what he perceives as an anti-Sinn Féin bias in RTÉ in recent days.

However, when he was in the national broadcaster’s studio today for an interview with Sean O’Rourke, he didn’t sound thrilled with the coverage.

The veteran broadcaster and Sinn Féin leader went toe-to-toe in a tetchy 33-minute debate.

Adams denied that he was “misleading” the public on his claim that people will save €260 on water charges under a Sinn Féin government.

O’Rourke said that he was presenting “simple arithmetic” which Adams did not accept.

When Adams spoke about the fiscal space, the exchange became more heated.

Adams: Fine Gael fiddled the books, Fianna Fáil cooked the books and pretended that they had €2 billion that they didn’t have. What they’re doing…

O’Rourke: (Talking over Adams) I want to get into the detail of what this means for ordinary people.

Adams: Yes, Sean, don’t shout me down. What we want to do is make sure that each of those stinking, miserable, mean-spirited little cuts is reversed.

O’Rourke: I won’t shout you down if you don’t waffle.

Adams: I’ll try not to waffle, but I have to be able to articulate my position.

Adams went on to pledge the repeal of water and property taxes as well as universal health care.

Thomas 'Slab' Murphy court case Niall Carson Niall Carson

O’Rourke accused Adams of “dealing in broad brush strokes” while he was “trying to get into specifics”.

He asked Adams what a person who had health insurance here and did not have “rich friends in America willing to pay for their treatment” – a reference to Adams’ taking private medical care in the US in 2013 – would do.

Clashes

The pair continued to clash as Adams outlined the broad ideas behind Sinn Féin’s manifesto, with O’Rourke pushing for examples.

O’Rourke put it to Adams that under Sinn Féin’s plan, two teachers, married to each other, with posts of responsibility and salaries of €70,000 each would be less taxed than a worker on €120,000.

NI Executive crisis PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Adams said that high earners would pay 7% tax on earnings above €100,000. He then said it would be closer to 59%, before challenging O’Rourke to “interview people on the street who cannot afford to eat”, before turning the conversation to medical cards.

O’Rourke accused Adams of being “confused”, a charge the Sinn Féin leader denied.

Pay your way

Adams said that he was not against wealth, but wanted any surplus to be used to build infrastructure.

The two then ended up back on the issue of the tax rate.

Adams: We would ensure that self-employed people have the same opportunity to grow their sector the same way as multi-nationals.

O’Rourke: And part of your policy is, where self-employed people are concerned, is to increase the marginal tax rate to 62% because you’re going to increase their PRSI liability to 15.75%. People will be going is it any wonder that Slab Murphy puts all the money in the shed and hides it away in cash.

Adams: Sean, that’s a cheap shot and you know it, you’re better than that. This is a document which is 50 pages long, you obviously haven’t studied it as well as you should have.

O’Rourke: I read it and your Budget document last night as it happens.

Adams: Maybe you should have read it long before that.

O’Rourke: What’s your point?

Adams: We will not increase PRSI for anyone other than employers who employ people earning above €100,000.

Adams said that Sinn Féin would propose a referendum on either side of the border on Irish unity. He added that he would be remaining as leader of Sinn Féin as long as the party, his health and family allowed.

Count to 20

Labour junior minister Ged Nash said the interview showed Adams had “little or no concept of the marginal tax rate.

Given ample opportunities to clarify his party’s position, Gerry Adams didn’t even recognise the extent of his errors and dismissed any such questioning.

“This is a man who has to take his shoes off to help him count to 20.”

Read: This One Direction election ad sparked an absolute holy show on Twitter

Read: A week out from polling day, the Catholic Bishops are weighing in on abortion

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

218 Comments
    Mute Martin Valentine
    Favourite Martin Valentine
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:03 PM

I can’t imagine Ged Nash will need to take off his socks to count Labour TDs after the election.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:05 PM

very good

Mute Vote Kony2012 LabRNU
    Favourite Vote Kony2012 LabRNU
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:20 PM

he’ll only have to take off one of his mittens I’d wager…

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:22 PM

So…you think Labour will have more than 10 TDs after the election? I mean, they would probably be delighted with that!

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:36 PM

That rte lad is utter filth.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:42 PM

not gerry biggest fan but rte take every opportunity to take a shot at him and sf, it’s almost like they are working for fg

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:47 PM

Martin Valentine – Labour will have to count backwards to see how many sests they lost…see below :) 20, 19, 18,17,16……0 seats. Hehe :)

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:01 PM

Sinn Fein didn’t need to remove anyone’s socks to discover the FG lies of €12 billion and FFs €10 billion of ‘fiscal space’. Only Sinn Fein got those numbers right!!!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:04 PM

the establishment has to go end of.vote right 2 change

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:26 PM

Right2chage is fronted by dissidents as was very evident at their launch event. shinners in bed with the dissidents it seems….

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:32 PM

Asking Gerry hard questions thst he doesn’t understand is deeply unfair.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:41 PM

Ah, Tommy! – where have you been hiding the last few days……LOL – when your party was getting butt whipped you were nowhere to be seen..
    How the hell are ye?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:57 PM

labour have hired a dissident haven’t they tommy.tommy fg is obsessed with sf are ye worried

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:40 PM

Bobby have another one of those pints of Guinness there like in your avatar, it might chill you out and for a moment halt your politicking for r2c, PS. FG are not obsessed or worried about SF, they are an irrelevance.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:03 PM

Shinners getting nervous about the fate of their “good republican” Slab next week?

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:09 PM

Tommy, ya mean Labour is for right to change, maybe your right, they do recruit republican dissadents into the Labour party.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:12 PM

Not Getting any better with the one liners dear mud, but sorry to say most of the good ones have been taken – if you were on day shift instead of nights, you would know this.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:11 PM

Sean o rourke is a good host but when he started talking about a civil servant who was on € 240k & went down to €180k. he asked how are we going to be able to get the best workers who to pay a bit more tax on that wage.Sean must not remember that’s what the banks told us aswell.it’s ridiculous that a civil servant in a country of 5 million makes more than the British prime minister

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:21 PM

Matthew. I heard on the radio only yesterday that there are in fact only 3.7 million of us, which was a surprise to me as I thought there was still 4.50 million of us still here.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:50 PM

3.7 million are the amount of us who are at voting age I believe.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:08 PM

” I won’t shout you down if you don’t waffle” no point in him even interviewing Enid or Joan then!!!!

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:12 PM

He interviewed Enda yesterday. Tore him to shreds.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:16 PM

Many thanks.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:24 PM

They need to ask Simple Jack = Alan Kelly for his views on this

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:02 PM

The simple fact is this and it is anyone earning over 19,000 euro will keep being screwed by a SF government, those that pay at the higher rate of tax will continue to be screwed by SF and now he talks about standardisation of taxes and from Sean o Rourke, does this involve removing tax relief on private health insurance, maybe somebody could clarify that for me, either way middle income families will be utterly pressed by this party. They will countenance this by stating they will abolish the service charges, a poxy 500 euro as opposed to the thousands we will be screwed for in the retention of USC, higher rate of income tax and the abolition of tax relief for private health insurance, the social dems. will be flakey as well, they talk about an Irish type NHS, the very NHS that is on its knees in the UK, FF are FF, a sleveen of a party.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:13 PM

The whole reason Doc, that FG are doing so poorly in the polls is because everyone now sees that they are promising to cut u.s.c. but it is just a ploy to gain votes. You are being tricked. This has been shown already in their inability to get the sums to add up. So if that is your sole reason for voting for them, you are being mislead.
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gene-kerrigan/eight-billion-plus-two-minus-credibility-34430171.html

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:22 PM

Answers on a postcard please!
    Mr Adams said: “What we want to do is to ensure that all tax reliefs are standardised. At the moment 80 per cent of tax reliefs are availed of by 20 per cent. In the course of a government we would want to reduce all tax reliefs to a level playing field of 20 per cent.”

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:31 PM

Watersedge, I have been a life long supporter of FG and this because I believe in the party and their policies and what they stand for in irish society.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:50 PM

Cant believe doc that you have been fooled by fg for so long. Do you really think they will cut usc? Or keep any of their promises

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 4:45 PM
    Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Feb 18th 2016, 4:55 PM

Adams out of his depth as usual.

The joker only speaks with authority on the PIRA.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:10 PM

Late shift ah=gain Dear Mud??
    mustn`t have done a good job last night to get back to days, keep it up though a chara, God loves a trier

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:13 PM

Doc, so you’ll vote for FG no matter what, well baa baa baa to you.

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:17 PM

Fg are doing badly in the polls because they lied both pre election and during the term. Thats what the man with two pints told me.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:46 PM

You will vote SF no matter what Conri, even though they are a party whos support base stems from murderers, bank robbers and subversives of our state, tell me about Jean mc conville conri, how does that sit with you and your party, vote for SF, no matter what, baa baa to you too.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 7:10 PM

Nope Doc, my voting history is as follows. FF for many years. SDLP for a number of years SF for a number of years FF got my vote again when back in the 26 counties. But once they proved they were really Economic Terrorists I swore I’d never vote for them again. FG then, until they proved they have no intention of doing anything they say. SF & SDs now as it’s time to get the old snouts out of the trough and give others a chance to do better.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Feb 18th 2016, 8:00 PM

I wouldn’t be boasting about that voting pattern, all it indicates is, how confused you were, the only redeeming feature was voting for the SDLP and as regards FG, that was tentative I feel but the one thing that sticks out is that you were a Fianna fail stooge before you went to the north and when you came back you reverted to type, it says a lot about you conri.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 8:40 PM

No,it shows when someone dosent do the job, you give someone else a chance to, and the state was founded by people who murdered, the remains of a lot still not found, you brought up the past again, well here’s me bringing up the past, Labour has IRA links, not too long ago I might add, they also recruit dissadents into their party when they think it will get them votes, FF were happy in ship arms north to places like Belfast and Derry whey they though that’s what will get them votes. FG have a history of slaughtering Spanish men women and children while they helped Hitler help Franco. Both FF and FG protected the church in the rape and murder of vulnerable children, FN discusting people, How far back do you want to go, time for this sucm to get there snouts kicked out of the trough, it’s getting that bad that threw family members are now also getting in for some gravy, FN discusting. Now we can leave the past in the past or keep digging up dirt for all.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 18th 2016, 8:56 PM

You forgot to mention FG colluding with the British government in covering up the Dublin/Monaghan bombings Conri,
    That is tantamount to treason against the Irish People.
    Filthy history have FG, and they have the audacity to have a mightier than thou attitude??

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 9:01 PM

Motherof, correct, another betrayal of the Irish people, FF = FG, now is the time for they to go.

Mute Matthew O' Reilly
    Favourite Matthew O' Reilly
    Feb 18th 2016, 9:56 PM

Mick Wallace is the most outspoken representative in Leinster House, especially about the NAMA issue. I’d give him my number one vote if i was in his constituency. In fact i would work my butt of to get him re-elected, if i had the opportunity. A very worthy addition to Leinster House, as are all the other independents and small groupings. Mick Wallace and Clare Daily represent politics for the people, as do people before profit. Joan Collins is another representative not to be overlooked, in fact on a personal level, if i was back in my old stomping ground, i’d work hard, just for her.

Below is a brief sketch called the Fine Gael file or the ”Noonan disease” which is in effect Fine Gaels and Fianna Fails expression of contempt for the working class and poor in Ireland.

We’ve been fooled for to long by these criminals. It is time the Irish people totally changed the face of politics in our country. Let us ban Fine Gael and Fianna Fail from the seat of Government in Ireland. In fact we should imprison them for the misappropriation and abuse of our resources.

”Indeed, Brian Hayes is a perfect example of a politician who has been personally connected to the Noonan disease for years.

Brian was a close confident of Noonan, and was privy to the Limerick mans methods of using the special Noonan constructed Abacus which only Noonan himself could successfully manipulate when it came to doing abstract or magic calculations.
    However, Brian never vaccinated himself from the Noonan disease.
    As a consequences he cannot think with any sort of clarity when it comes to straightforward enumerations.

This is what happens when you don’t get vaccinated against ” The Noonan disease”

Michael Noonan Is a breed of Limerick criminal dying from a series of diseases called political dystrophy, quite quickly. This particular disease ravages physical or material areas of the brain that are deprived of fresh air and truth serums on a regular basis for years at a time.
    The disease is noticeable in people who have begun to actually believe they’re own con.

The Dundons an English-Limerick criminal outfit of another sort, though, with an odor of criminality similar to Noonans and Fine Gael, actually believe they’re own con.

They and they’re ilk, though not quite extinct as a criminal species are almost gone. Noonan and his ilk are not fare behind.

However it is imperative, for our health and welfare, and the future of the Nation that we, the Irish people redouble our efforts to eradicate the Noonan disease from our presence. We must be alert and vigilant at all times. We can never give up on the Nations need to destroy and eradicate completely the Noonan disease from our social environs. Already it has become viral and is in danger of taking over all the essential National grids where honesty is an integral part of the successful operation of societies essential grids: ”School system. Community and Communal system, Social system. Economic System, Banking Systems” Etc

” Yes, everyone has noticed the gang of phonies from the three main parties trotting out garbage about the seriously flawed printed report into the banking inquiry”.

Perfect example of the Noonan disease.

All but one of these turds and lackeys had one or two redeemable but not remarkable qualities. Some of these FG FF apologists were just backroom boys when this deadly bailout deal went down.

The leadership of Fianna Fail and FG agreed to sign away 60 billions in money belonging to the Irish peoples, to the Krauts. Remember Germany is the richest Nation in Europe.
    It has since been brought to our attention that this amount represented roughly half the total average European debt accumulated in a financial period.
    Chicken feed for 270 odd million European people, but for Ireland’s tiny population to deal with this debt it was back breaking, heart breaking and soul destroying.
    Though he was the recipient of Bertie’s poison chalice. ” Cheek by jowl Brian the cow and gate Cowen ” was key to this sell out of the Irish people.

Garret Fitzgerald always found Cowen a promising student of Keynesian economics. ” Supply and demand economics”

Biffo was not prepared for what was expected of him by the banksters in ”Germany, London, Washington DC and the City of Rome.” or able to deal with the staggering impact on the Irish people, especially the young, of the payback terms.
    Remember the Irish people are still being squeezed for this money by ”Germany, London, Washington DC and the City of Rome.” The bond holders have basically been dealt with.
    The criminal cabals in the last four mentioned locations are demanding and are being given a stake in the infrastructure of the Island of Ireland.

This is what Brain Cowen and the late Brian Lenihan are guilty of.
    By creating NAMA and investing it with the power to dispose of property and power belonging to the people of Ireland, they have sold the people of Ireland into slavery.”

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Feb 18th 2016, 11:38 PM

So there we have it, one who is an apologist for a party with a chequered and dubious history and who are economic imbeciles, the other an advocate of a tax dodger who should have been jailed and they talk about the establishment, there is a name for it, it’s called Hypocrisy.

Mute Sparxz1
    Favourite Sparxz1
    Feb 19th 2016, 9:35 PM

3.7 million voters? Are you including ‘YOUR’(not mine) illegal immigrants ?

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:54 PM

I quite appreciate the banter, but Sinn Féin were the party that called the government up on their hor$e$hit “fiscal space”, so there is a sense of irony

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Favourite Assel Dannourah
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:00 PM

Minister calls Adams “a man who takes off socks to count to 32 ″ after RTÉ interview

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:06 PM

FG and Labour get it wrong or simply lie about it. FF go along with the lie or simply copy their homework.
    Pearse Doherty and Sinn Fein call it.
    Sinn Fein go up in the polls.
    Sinn Fein stop getting coverage by RTE.

See 51 more replies ▾
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:07 PM

Do Ministers know anything about “ordinary people”?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:07 PM

adams did nothing wrong imo, fg/lab will have to do better cannot wait for their turn, explaining away 2 billion should be some conversation never mind IW and 1/2 a billion gone

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:08 PM

RTÉ would’ve got away with that 20 years ago. With the power of the Internet it’s made them look like idiots and somewhat partisan

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT

Excellent interview, by Adams , even if it’s to be said that Seán O’Rourkes SIPTU / Liebour bias came shining through , him bragging that he is an Honorary Life Member of his Union ?

The constant rude interrupting by RTE’s Hacks proves that they are more interested in hearing the sound of their own pro government Parties, voices.

As for a Liebour Party TD , Ged Nash speaking on it – he got daily wasted by the audience on Vincent Browne’s Debate from his Constituency in Louth , last evening !!!

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:09 PM

I’d vote SF under a new leader. Adams is a dinosaur.

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT

“Really wasted”

Mute shane o malley
    Favourite shane o malley
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:17 PM

enda I doubt can tie his own shoe laces without his overpaid advisors ,,joan needs over paid advisor’s to tell her what day it is,,each and every minister have advisor’s to tell what to say and when to say it,, most of the advisor’s had pay caps broken to be minsters employees,,so grissly adams having no grasp of maths makes sweet fa of a difference, he will fit in well with what’s already there

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:19 PM

It is no wonder RTE are worried, if Sinn Fein got into power there might be a few wage reductions on the cards.

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:23 PM

Adams cannot possibly “put off intelligent voters”, as you put it.
    No “intelligent voter” would ever consider voting Sinn Fein at all, so how could Adams “put them off”?

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:27 PM

I got a B in junior cert maths, there goes your argument.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:30 PM

@Ross your comment is three mins old when i looked at it – and there was already 5 red thumbs. The shinners are out in force.

You are correct – you’d want to be an eejit to vote for Sinn Féin but like Trump in America – countries possess a fair whack of them.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:33 PM

Aside from the childish nature of the comment, and the “shinners being out in force” maybe the red thumbs were due to his idiocy and offence caused to anyone that would consider voting Sinn Féin. Just because people disagree with vitriol doesn’t necessarily mean they are “shinners”. Gabby you old fart

Mute Not Neo, not Trinity
    Favourite Not Neo, not Trinity
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:38 PM

Eddie, I don’t know how you can call it an excellent interview; Adams was a disaster, he continued to insist that wages over 100k would only be taxed at 7cent in the euro, when pushed that it would be 59cent in the euro, he continually denied it.

In an other interview he said he wasn’t paying water charges on his “holiday” home in solidarity with poor people – a bit of Pee Flynn there. How many houses has the good republican? Did you sell him any?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:39 PM

If you have a decent job and earn above the average industrial wage you’d be a fool to vote for Sinn Fein — one of the top economists in the land has said that it would be tantamount to economic suicide to have them in power. First and foremost is the perception of them to be like Syriza – it will frighten the beejaysus out of foreign investment – that coupled with a possible brexit would not be good news.

Vote anyone but SF.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:40 PM

@Stephen – does old fart fall under the banner of ‘vitriol’? Hypocrisy is also a strong trait in shinners.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:41 PM

Hi Ross… I’m not voting for anyone who has already had a good run at ruining the country, sneaking legislation through on Christmas Day, basically handing over the keys of the country to willing European burglars… so that rules out 3 of the 4 big parties.
    If you would never even consider the one big party left that hasn’t already demonstrated a willingness and eagerness to increase the poverty hole in this country for the better of its richest… then your opinions on intelligence are laughable at best and despicable at worst.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:41 PM

“one of the top economists in the land has said that it would be tantamount to economic suicide to have them in power.”

gabby, do you have a link to that please? It would be nice to read how they came to that conclusion.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:43 PM

Oh wait a minute – IBEC are bad guys ;cos they are the job creators. Ignore everything they say. Increasing employers PRSI will show them.. those greedy job creators.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:45 PM

Now I know you didn’t just link to IBECs Danny McCoy, the head of the association for big business, for an opinion on Sinn Fein. Thats like asking the grand wizard of tthe KKK for his opinion on Obama.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:45 PM

At least wait a few minutes before green-thumbing yourself, Gabby

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd

I thought you were quoting David McWilliams or someone else I’d might actually know. If you think calling you an old fart is vitriolic you should wrap yourself in cotton wool

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

We have an economic downturn coming at us in the nest 2 years. Probably, a major international one by all accounts sweeping everyone away with it. No party will be able to keep their promises.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson

So you’re comparing the head of IBEC to a racist organisation – pretty much sums up loony left attitudes towards employers.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:49 PM

Luke – but some are promising the feckin’ stars all the same anyway. That just shows pure contempt for the electorate.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd

Lunacy? You pick one word out of context from a sentence and go off on a tangent. Yes Gabby, it’s all us lefties that are nuts are squirrels $h1t. You of course are a beacon of pragmatic hope

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:51 PM

@Stephen – Oh David McWilliams – yeah he advocated for the bailout – so i can imagine why you like him, much like SF who voted for the bailout before changing their minds – much like SF when they were paying water charges before changing their minds – or about Brits out – before changing their minds.

Danny McCoy is an eminent and real respected man… you don’t know who he is because he doesn’t often have columns in ‘The Sun’.. but that’s ok.

Feb 18th 2016, 1:52 PM

Because they haven’t heard of him, he is useless Old Gabby, or because he works for an organisation that they don’t like, they ignore the link. They asked for proof, you gave it, but he doesn’t suit them, so they just call names.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:53 PM

real respected – lol!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey

Well done Gabby

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd

Haha I think you proved my point just there. Thanks pal

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:02 PM

I’d also point out that this man giving his opinion on SF carries about as much weight as Peter Sutherlands (ex chairman of Goldman Sachs and known FG member) summation that SF would destroy Ireland. It’s on a par, all non biased comments of course

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:08 PM

Crickey, you are easily pleased. The man can’t add two numbers together irrespective of who’s doing the interviewing.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:09 PM

Powergabby, Neo, etc… You guys constantly forget one very important thing about politics and public discussion… much like your heroes in the Dáil, you have absolutely no ‘people’ skills. You three and the albino monkey and that McDonagh lad who smiles like a lunatic when he’s publicly humiliating himself are a gift to SF

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:13 PM

Heavy dose of of FG type arrogance there seeing as over 500,000 people on this island vote Sinn Fein. That arrogance does not equate to intelligence, just look at Enid for perfect example!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:19 PM

“So you’re comparing the head of IBEC to a racist organisation ”

Well I’m not actually gabby, but you know that already, as does anyone else. So, off you go and do your usual, lots of faux outrage and report the comment.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:23 PM

M Bowe you do realise that there are two countries on this island :D

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:50 PM

Where’s the albino ape today? Day off for once. Nice not having to scroll through his constant repetitive dribble!

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:54 PM

Chances are he isn’t awake yet, and you shouldn’t disturb sleeping animals

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:57 PM

You ignorant buffoon Tommy, there is only one country, it is just divided, for the time being

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:58 PM

Tommy, any comment for a change on why FG are slumping in the polls. Wouldn’t have anything to do now with them promising to abolish u.s.c. and promising to greatly improve public services, yet everyone knows it doesn’t add up? Seems like the good old shinners are miles ahead on the ecomonic side of things right?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/analysis/ratings-collapse-a-disaster-of-fine-gaels-own-making-382361.html

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:01 PM

Spin it all you want, Eddie. Adams has been consistently exposed as clueless of late in one on one interviews and debates. There’ll be plenty more between now and polling day as they turn up on every regional radio station.

Before this day ends Gerry and SF will come out with something to distract from this story and retake the negative headlines. Watch this space.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:02 PM

Tommy, according to Professor John D Brewer of Queen’s University Belfast, people in the Republic might be surprised about how well Sinn Féin would perform in government down here. Have a read, I know you love my links.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/sinn-f%C3%A9in-in-government-the-northern-experience-1.2534549

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:05 PM

If people want clarification and detail on a party’s economic plan, they will look to the finance spokesperson, in Sinn Fein’s case, Pearce Doherty.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:12 PM

Took a look at the SF Manifest 2016. Fifty odd pages of promises and changes with only one (1) scant page on taking tax to pay for it all. Ridiculous. Did learn however, they want to abolish water and property tax and bring in a sugar tax to replace them. Ingenious eh. we know who’ll get the brunt of that so.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:21 PM

They are not abolishing the u.s.c That is where the money also comes from – to pump into public services. FG want to scrap u.s.c and that leaves them down by about 4 billion to use. You can’t cut u.s.c. and at the same time, promise to fix all the problems in healthcare, housing etc.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:30 PM

http://www.sinnfein.ie/files/2011/PreBudget2012.pdf

@watersedge – yeah look at page 7 on this document – what a crazy idea to abolish USC.

Yep you guessed it – SF were once for abolishing USC now they’re for it.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:39 PM

That means absolutely nothing so stop trying to deflect. We are going by the current 2016 election manifesto. FG have been caught out fiddling the figures and SF along with Social Democrats are being seen now as the parties who are being the most sensible with their figures by not promising to abolish u.s.c. If FG go ahead with it, according to Dr Rory Hearne, who is a Senior Policy Analyst, at TASC,

“Abolishing the USC would involve a reduction in public spending equivalent to the largest austerity budget implemented during the current government’s term of office. And it would not just be a once off reduction – it would be an annual loss, a form of ‘permanent austerity’. That is why it is essential that significant changes to the tax system are assessed in terms of their potential impact on Ireland’s general tax revenue (which provides the funding for public services) and wider economic inequalities.”

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:42 PM

It means nothing – only that SF have done more flip flops on policy down the years that it proves only one thing – they will say or do anything for power. Dr Rory Hearne – oh you mean the former socialist worker?

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:57 PM

Car crash radio from Adams.
    Watch all the Shinners go into denial.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 18th 2016, 4:06 PM

Old Gabby, you cannot deny that their figures have been proved to be correct and that FG’s have not. You can deny this fact all you like, you can’t hide it, every newspaper in the country has run with the story. The shame of having SF show them up = not good = slump in poll numbers, this is the reason.

Mute Lapmo_Dancer
    Favourite Lapmo_Dancer
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:53 PM

Car crash stuff from Adams.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:18 PM

“It swayed me, I have voted SF all my life, but after that I’m done” said no one, ever

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:26 PM

If he uses the socks he can get to 22

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:40 PM

Sean ORourke is Labours lap dog. Contrast this interview to the cushy one he gave Alex White on Eircode. You would swear the minister hadn’t blown €38 million on an €18 million project..

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:48 PM

There is a potential 26 to be had if the jocks come off Justin

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:18 PM

I wouldnt be confident abacus adams would be fit to count to 20 even with access to his toes :D

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:22 PM

LOL Tommy, LOL

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:52 PM

Soft on labour And their ex employees

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:52 PM

Gerry Adams ha just released a statement saying SF will win 1,974,366.6 seats in the election.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Feb 18th 2016, 4:21 PM

Woo Hoo..im voting SF…i currently pay near 50% on my income over €100k…when SF get in I’ll only be paying 7%..unless Gerry was confused!!!!

Gerry is good at explaining and bluffing about murder/mayhem/bombings and shootings…after hat he’s useless.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:56 PM

Resorting to personal attacks is a clear sign that FG internal polling must be showing they’re about to get hammered by SF in the election

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:57 PM

Their attacks on FF have backfired also. It was a strategy from the start, I’d say Frank Flannery is glad he sat this mess out

Mute Le Lapin Noir
    Favourite Le Lapin Noir
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:01 PM

I can’t wait for SF to get in to government and prove that contrary to sound economic logic and decades of experience, you can indeed tax your way to prosperity. Or engage in some epic backtracking on their election promises. Either is good.

It is not about what tax you bring in but how you use it, do you use it for what you need it or do you go on trips every Paddy’s day weekend to travel the world and stuff like that…

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

@Stephen, frank flannery is still there just like Michael lowery. flannery calls the youngs guns out and hey presto varadkar is on the radio next morning calling adams and micheal martin names

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:13 PM

and if by chance lowery gets a one on one interview on dob’s newstalk before the main debate in his constituency which he did not turn up for.
    do you remember alan Kelly portrayed as a bully asking why lowery gets his own interview on the show? which strangely enough was run in the indo of all places

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:15 PM

Like or loath Flannery, he’s good at what he does. I’d say he has very little to do with this campaign otherwise it wouldn’t be such a car crash

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

I think he has unofficially taken over from brian hayes, as fg realise how dated their campaign has become

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:57 PM

“Adams went on to pledge the repeal of water and property taxes as well as universal health care.”

Don’t forget that SF are part of right2change, who have 106 candidates running in the election who have pledged to do just that. The numbers are there, lets put the votes there as well.

For an end to property tax and water charges, support your local right2change candidates, you can chech your constituenct at the following link…..

http://www.right2change.ie/election-2016

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:05 PM

@FC
    He was awful. He can’t count and it certainly showed during the debate and the interview this morning. Never bothered to turn up last night with Vincent Browne. Afraid he’d be asked awkward questions. Maybe he should stick to bouncing on his trampoline in the muddy.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

“Never bothered to turn up last night with Vincent Browne. ”

What a stupid comment.

Vincent Brownes show was recorded Monday night, which was when Adams was on the RTE 7 way leaders debate. I don’t think many people will hold the fact that the man can’t be in two places at the same time against him.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

Ooops !!

Feb 18th 2016, 1:39 PM

Right to freeload aren’t ending water charges or IW, they are going to up taxation levels on workers to pay for water and they are going to abolish IW and then recreate another quango.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:44 PM

water is already paid for through taxation fg/lab decided we need to pay for it again and again silly.

And r2 freeload will put up tax and divert more tax into it; hitting workers, not their supporters.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:20 PM

They won’t actually. Bit of honesty please wesole.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:22 PM

“Vincent Browne’s show was recorded Monday night,”

Wrong!

The show was recorded on Wednesday evening at 7.30 pm and aired at 10 pm.

Gerry was available to attend but chose not to. The SF candidate confirmed that on the show.

(Check VB’s Twitter account for confirmation of the date.
    https://twitter.com/vincentbrowne/status/699927769707343872)

Feb 18th 2016, 2:30 PM

Jamming; 3 things:

1. IW would be abolished under right to free load.
    2. They are intent on creating a new national water board (Quango)
    3. They want to raise taxes and invest more in water.7

All of that is true and verifiable. Can you tell me where I was dishonest?

Yet again you were caught lying by David Murphey this time. You are a proven liar.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:35 PM

Spamming caught spoofing yet again….

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:36 PM

1. Correct
    2. Incorrect. The water board would be similar to any other state owned,not for profit,body. ‘Department of Water Services’ if you will.
    3. Post the full part from their manifesto in relation to this for us all please……

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:40 PM

@ Alan Cooke: I just checked and David is correct. The show was recorded Wednesday night.

Apologies for referring to that part of your post as ‘stupid’. I know its normally taped on Monday for broadcast on Wednesday, and had read elsewhere that this was the reason he was not there.

Feb 18th 2016, 2:56 PM

Jamming, point 2:

From r2c:

‘Irish Water PLC’ will be replaced with a single national water and sanitation board which will be solely responsible for the provision, transmission, sanitation, management and operation of the public water and sanitation supply in the public interest.

‘The Government shall be collectively responsible for the protection, management and maintenance of the public water system. The Government shall ensure in the public interest that this resource remains in public ownership and management.’

– A national water board, a quango. Yes, they will end metering and charges, but they are setting up a national water board. A Quango. My point is true.

3. “Funding our water services through progressive taxation” – Please note progressive. This gives rise to the fact that they will no longer use VAT as a mechanism to fund water, as VAT is a regressive tax. If they intend to fund water through progressive taxation policies, they will be cutting funds from regressive taxation policies. One of 2 things need to happen at this point; Increase progressive tax rates to continue to fund water at current levels, without the aid of regressive funds. Or 2, cut spending in other area’s, like health, education, transport etc.

Taken for their economic framework:

A progressive government will introduce discretionary revenue raising measures targeted
    at wealth and capital, in addition to increasing the social wage (employers’ social insurance). This
    will raise €4.1 billion over the four-year period 2017 – 2020.

Above is where they say that they will increase taxes.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:29 PM

considering Irish Water is staffed with over 20 cronies on 200,000 per year, cronies with a proven track record of failure like John Tierney, Tons of staff whose sole job is to ring up and beg, harass people for money,, and thts only 2 off the top of my head, we could also mention the hundreds and hundreds of millions currently being wasted installing water meters that wouldn`t be necessary, but i think you get the picture….
    You really haven`t got a hell of a lot to be defending NNNT
    you blithering idiot – even if the new national water board is set up, it would still be 10 times more cost effective than what is already there

Feb 18th 2016, 3:32 PM

Good man mother, resort to name calling when facts are lost on you. I am discussing, with Jamming, that r2freeload intend to do and have proven him with facts what it is they intend to do.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus

There is ALREADY a huge quango – so technically they aren`t creating one.

And this line of yours is worth more to Irish people than anything you could possibly imagine

The Government shall ensure in the public interest that this resource remains in public ownership and management.’
    It would end once and for all the looming spectre of huge prices and privatisation
    so no matter what way you want to try and twist it, we will be immeasurably better off than we currently are now
    I know that doesn`t suit your agenda, but to be honest, i couldn`t care less.

Feb 18th 2016, 4:29 PM

That is also a fact jamming.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/poll

Water charges are not an issue for the vast majority. There are over millions of voters in the land, a small percentage of them, a very small, turned out for your ” biggest citizen led movement in the history of the state”

Definition of QUANGO:

a semi-public administrative body outside the civil service but receiving financial support from the government, which makes senior appointments to it.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:15 PM

Wednesday my goodman .

Mute john fairclough
    Favourite john fairclough

Maths lessons from Labour! The party that thinks there are five members in 1D.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:00 PM

Ged Nash is as bad as Lorraine HIggins. He was awful on Vincent Last night, as was O’Dowd. I hope they both lose their seats.

Mute Seán Donnelly
    Favourite Seán Donnelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:55 PM

That wasn’t a good interview from Adams at all. Clearly couldn’t comprehend the question on marginal tax rates. Basic stuff.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:23 PM

Exactly. He’s hopeless on policy and it has always been his weak spot. Adams is not long a TD in this country. People forget that as he’s an ever present figure. He should have used that as an excuse to some degree and people would at least have understood and perhaps have given him more wiggle room. It would be, I think, fairly acceptable for him to say that.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer

argh, I think he gets it but can’t be heard to articulate that the top rate of income tax would rise to almost two thirds of every euro earned. That would be an exceptionally bad soundbite. It’s just more diversionary tactics from the policy to appear to be on the side of the common working man… problem is, neither himself, nor Mary Lou etc give a rats about the PAYE salary they earn… they have other sources of income and their salaries are pocket money relatively

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:55 PM

Go get em Gerry! censure is something colonists do to their subjects, not what nations go to their citizens.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:15 PM

Listen back to the interview. The IT and Indo are carrying it. O’ Rourke pinned him on a simple question on the tax rate over 100k and Gerry gave two different answers. What was O’ Rourke supposed to do? Let it pass?

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:16 PM

Gerry then told him he should have read the SF budget and 50 page document. O’ Rourke responded “I did, just last night actually”

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:03 PM

Impossible (and futile btw) for Adams to articulate anything without being allowed to give context. Hatchet job by O Rourke.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:14 PM

Ged Nash the minister who LIED and sullied the name of the Irish water protesters and still hasn’t apologised? http://www.thejournal.ie/alan-kelly-death-threats-aodhan-o-riordain-ged-nash-anne-fennell-labour-2551337-Jan2016/

Seán did not treat all leaders equally. Soft interview with Enda who admitted he didn’t know why his Finance ministers did not attend an important meeting in Europe last week. Did Seán badger him as to why they he didn’t know? Of course not. Neither did Seán mention homelessness, Irish water, his relationship with Denis O’Brien or the really major story which is being kept largely under wraps re Grace and what Michael Noonan knew and failed to act on.

This comes from a minister who is part of a gov that can’t do basic addition. ie:noonans fiscal space miscalculation.

Feb 18th 2016, 1:13 PM

They can’t even get to 20. They gets confused somewhere between 3 and 12.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:16 PM

You talking to yourself or did you mean to change to your other trolling account

Feb 18th 2016, 1:20 PM

No just adding to my comment. We’re not all trolls.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd

True enough, my apologies

Feb 18th 2016, 1:32 PM

As you brought up trolling, i’d say this gov is fairly good at trolling. I’ve heard stories where some texts sent into radio shows around the country, texts praising the gov and spinning stories, from someone like anonymous mick in tullamore, are actually from FG advisors and the FG media maniplation team using cheap mobile phones which they throw away, and the number can”t be traced. So there are probably as many trolls representing this currupt manipulative gov as those with other motives.

Mute Rashers Tierney

Good old Sean, toe the party line at all costs. Meanwhile, Superdick aka Indah is on his way to Brussels to do BIG THINGS for the Irish People – I feel all warm inside. :-(

Mute Darragh O'Connell
    Favourite Darragh O'Connell
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:06 PM

Gerry Adams isn’t a great politician that’s why he struggles in these sort of debates and interviews.

Blaming RTE about election coverage is to deflect away from the issues. When he was under the spotlight today, he struggled on the issues.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:17 PM

He appeals to the anti-establishment vote who like Adams don’t understand PRSI or contribute to the economy in any meaningful way. These policies around employment and employers are dangerously idiotic.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:27 PM

adams always the victim….

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle

GA didn’t inspire confidence today. He was terrible on Taxation. Bring on Pearce Doherty, he will greatly advance the Shinners.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:02 PM

I don’t know why the leader needs to be a Jack of all trades. Surely the finance spokesperson is best positioned to talk about finance.

Mute Seán Donnelly
    Favourite Seán Donnelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:10 PM

He should at least know what the marginal rate of tax means. That’s hardly requires an in – depth knowledge of the world of finance.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

The only thing marginal is his knowledge of finance.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

2 billion over spend in budget manifesto’s, 1/2 a billion gone forever never mind the seismic shift in our bailout deal which amounted to less than 0 if you factor in the private banking debt being made public by the eternal bean counter that is fg’s noonan. now lets talk finance…

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:19 PM

FF and FG have always regarded the Irish people as people who need to take there socks off to count to 20. What does Gerry expect, he and the SDs are a risk to a lot of old snouts removed from the trough. When you see the FF and FG halfwits encouragingly there family members to get involved in lapping up the gravy, this is when we know there taking the piss. Time for a change !!!.

Mute crookshank
    Favourite crookshank
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:04 PM

Adams did not answer the questions asked and could not understand basic economics or even Maths.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:28 PM

So SF complain about lack of coverage. They get coverage on a radio show with 300k+ listeners. Suddenly it’s unfair to ask Gerry pertinent questions, which he fluffs. Dear media, please only give soft interviews to SF – anything else is biased, probably partitionist, and undoubtedly government spin. SF might be better advised to send someone who knows what they’re talking about in future. Gerry got torched.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey

Terrible interview by Adams.

He came on to make a party political broadcast not to do an interview. His answers on finance, Irish Water, Health Insurance and Taxation were dreadful as he did not know the answers.

Sean O’Rourke took pity on him toward the end of the interview and closed off without going on to the more difficult topics like Slab and IRA.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:26 PM

Heard part of the interview. Adams still struglling with Sinn Fein’s tax figures and their plan to introduce a 60% plus marginal income tax rate for anyone earning over 100k. Reminds me of 1980s Ireland. Mad stuff Ted.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:37 PM

Great to see RTE giving SF a grilling For years SF get a easy time on RTE in comparison to the other parties Last time Mary Lou was on Claire Byrne got to speak for 10 minutes without interruption Never even asked about the nice rural gentleman as she calls him Slab

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:59 PM

doesn’t really matter Reg – Adams thinks people will not only pay it, but will travel home to pay it out of “patriotic duty” when even what he considers one of the most patriotic people in the land has just been convicted of not paying any tax at all.

Whatever the rate is wouldn’t matter – the self employed will leave the money in their company accounts for the 12.5% corp tax, and the PAYE workers will just lump 30 or 40% or more into their pension, plus 12.5% into company stock etc to ensure the effective tax bill actually either stays flat or possibly even drops a little. This is the part of SF economics that they keep missing… the unintended consequence they never factor in.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:05 PM

Their tax policies are just pure madness justanothertaxpayer. As you say we’re trying to attract people here and Sinn Fein are going to significantly add to the cost of any business that pays people well.

And there are those who will be unable to avoid these punitive tax rates and will simple not want to come to Ireland when they will be treated much more fairly by our neighbours. It will also chase people away like medical consultatnts that we cannot afford to lose.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:12 PM

stop you guy’s your scaring me! not, save the scare tactic’s for the old and the vunerable.
    disgusting change in direction but carry on, you know no better.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:15 PM

not to worry – they proposed cutting the consultants wages by 15 to 30% so that may exclude them from the 60% rate. At least it will assuming any of they stay in Ireland if that happens

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:17 PM

Feel free to point out the incorrect statements there Ciaran.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:30 PM

You’re right though justanothertaxpayer, as a small business owner if I am lucky enough to ever come close to earning 100k if Sinn Fein type tax policies come into effect then I will simply have the company pay the excess into my pension. They won’t be getting an additional cent from me.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:15 PM

FF and FG halfwits have struggled with tax figures for decades. Time for these snouts to be removed from the trough. Time to see if others can do better. Don’t let the FF and FG scaremongering fools treat us like sheep.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 18th 2016, 4:11 PM

That’s pretty meaningless – SF is proposing up to 62% income tax right? (along with a bunch of new taxes) Who’s doing the scaremongering?

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:29 PM

“Adams said that Sinn Féin would propose a referendum on either side of the border on Irish unity.”

Really Gerry? REALLY? The 8th Ammendment, public ownership of Irish Water, voting for the Diaspora, etc…the list is very long!

But you think we want to vote on Unity. Despite all the research and surveys suggesting that people are not in favour of uniting Ireland, this is one of your parties planned referendums…Who says SF can’t let go of the past?

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Feb 18th 2016, 11:09 PM

Peter, you and your type may not want to vote on Unity, but that doesn’t mean that others don’t.

Mute Robbie Kelly
    Favourite Robbie Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:37 PM

Poor Ged won’t be able to use his parties seats in the Dail to count to 20 by the end of next week!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:43 PM

All the twitter accounts in SF/IRA headquarters are working fulltime today to deflect attention from Gerry’s interview. Red thumbing will be top of the list for the multi-aliased accounts.

No doubt Jammin, Fiona and the other cult members will blame Sean O’Rourke for asking questions.

Can anyone conceived that this guy being be part of a future government. He does not understand what a policy is!

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly

Are you bringing your multiple accounts out today or are you staying with this one?

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:58 PM

Unlike you I have only one.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:29 PM

Really???? Mine is in my own name, linked to an actual, active facebook account. You’ve been found to be posting in the almost exact way as other troll accounts, Diarmuid being one of them, I suppose when Fine Gael candidates don’t bother to change the wording of their tweets how can YFG trolls be expected to change what they say under their (multiple) troll accounts

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 18th 2016, 6:32 PM

Alan – you can be sure I will not put my name and address on any IRA/SF commentary. I value my knees.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r

Ged Nash a disgrace to the town of Drogheda wouldn’t work off batteries

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey

Lots of IRA/SF deflection on here.

Good to note that the IRA/SF trolls do not deal with the interview – just the usual personal insult to those who do not bow to IRA/SF.

Their vote will suffer as a result of their lack of understanding of policies as outlined in Adams interview.

Adams sounds like Joan Burton when he did not like a question – “Sean, Sean , Sean, Sean, Sean, Sean , Sean, Sean”. Poor guy!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Oh dear, basic tax policy and something which is core to SF election.

Will he appear on the news today/tomorrow if asked by RTE……

Mute James McCartney
    Favourite James McCartney

I’d like to find two teachers each earning 70k a year. Maybe i could have believed two Garda Superintendents. Or a FG minister. But any of the teachers I know earn nothing close to that.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:49 PM

I know plenty earning well over it if you factor in tax free grinds.

Mute James McCartney
    Favourite James McCartney
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:05 PM

They’d want to be doing a fair few grinds to push the salaries that high. I remember paying €20-30 an hour back in the day for one on one grinds twice a week. Suppose it’s a senior teacher earning somewhere in the region of 50k a year and charging €30 an hour for a grind. They’d need to be doing about 3 grinds a day, every working day to push them over the 70k threshold.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:24 PM

I think you will find the newcomers to the profession of teaching are on much lower wage than teachers employed before fg/lab took over. that’s the ones that have made it through the temporary teacher threshold, still being paid less for the same work

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:01 PM

Great put down.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell

I almost felt sorry for Mr. Adams during the interview when he was clearly floundering on the basics of economics. What’s the bet but we’ll have three if not four leadership heaves not too long after this election?

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:35 PM

Those words might come back to haunt Ged Whateveryoucallhim when the Sinn Féin votes are counted the day after the election. Then Ged will be nowhere to be found. Back in political obscurity where he came from.

Mute Saint Eimhin
    Favourite Saint Eimhin
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:03 PM

You’d have to feel sorry for Gerry, he couldn’t subtract 100 from 260 sure never mind get to grips with the marginal rate of tax. It would be funny if it wasn’t so serious.

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:48 PM

Troll

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 18th 2016, 6:31 PM

Christopher – I assume that you are being ironic?

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly

“Fine Gael fiddled the books, Fianna Fáil cooked the books” and Gerry will bomb the books.

Feb 18th 2016, 5:49 PM

Amazing the wowards commenting who don’t even have a face pic.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 18th 2016, 6:29 PM

Christopher – most people don’t want IRA/SF to know their name and address. They value their kneecaps.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:11 PM

gerry was alover the kip in the interview.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:17 PM

I think it’s mandatory to be stupid if you want to Lead a political party

Mute Tadgh Healy
    Favourite Tadgh Healy
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:05 PM

Sean O’Rourke was a disgrace to think tax payers money fund him. Very easy on Enda and then turn attack dog on Adams. Would like someone to ask Kenny how many pensions he has. He has a teachers, TD’s, Minister and
    Taoiseach’s making it 4 absolute disgrace time to get rid of that system and give him 1 pension.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:49 PM

Only one party leader is pulling the Queen’s Shilling and it isn’t Kenny.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Feb 18th 2016, 1:10 PM

As I said yesterday I vote sf but would like to see sf the largest opposition for a election or too to learn how it all works and gets it self in bedded all over Ireland, let the twins ff and fg in together

Mute richiecallaghan
    Favourite richiecallaghan
    Feb 18th 2016, 2:44 PM

What an embarrassment he is, his response to health insurance was laughable. He’s as big a liability to Sinn Fein as that wooden plank kenny is to Fine Gael

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Feb 18th 2016, 4:16 PM

Gerry “Folks” Adams …… It’s the Economy stupid!! Your sums do not dad up.

Feb 18th 2016, 5:46 PM

you an expert yea

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:53 PM

I think we need four leadership heaves. Every party leader from the largest parties needs to be pushed out the door.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Feb 18th 2016, 3:47 PM

I’ve never considered voting Sinn Fein before but having listened to this interview I think it could be worthwhile for the laugh.

Feb 18th 2016, 5:45 PM

Simple Noonan is hated anbd the more he tries to slander other people he is just showing they are panicking.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Feb 18th 2016, 5:37 PM

I’m not a SF voter but Dublin 4 media have always been anti Republican.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    Feb 18th 2016, 10:27 PM

It’s a pain in the arse listening to Sean O’Rourke interrupting at every word Jerry Adams utters. RTE is obviously a biased station similar to Fox News in the US. O’Rourke is in the pay of the Fine Gael/Labour government. and is paid a huge salary for spouting a lot of hot air. These guys get hundreds of thousands and want to keep it that way. Likewise, today’s Independent, owned and operated by Water Meter billionaire Denis O’Brien, the guy who got his start by bribing Michael Lowry, was full of anti-Sinn Fein propaganda.
    So, O’Rourke’s buddy in the Civll Service got a reduction in his quarter of a million annual salary and O’Rourke doesn’t want a reduction in his millions either. It’s ok for every one else to be screwed by this right wing government, so long as the ‘golden circle’ is protected. I have changed my mind. I’m voting for Sinn Fein!

Mute Don Dealgan
    Favourite Don Dealgan
    Feb 23rd 2016, 6:31 PM

SF..tough for them dealing with democracy. When you cant shoot people for their contrarian views its very challenging.

Mute Patrick Lynch
    Favourite Patrick Lynch
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:05 PM

I was a bit mystified as to why Gerry Adams didn’t take the opportunity to debunk the the crazy set up that the government will give you a subsidy of €100.00 to pay €260.00 water tax . This subsidy is only in force for a year by the way!

Mute Mary Brennan
    Favourite Mary Brennan

Sean O’Rourke let us see his nasty side today .should be better than that .

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected