You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

O Connell Street in Dublin as Ex-Hurricane Ophelia batters Ireland. Sam Boal/Rollingnews.ie

Should employees go to work during a red weather alert? Leo agrees to issue guidelines

Brendan Howlin said employers were confused yesterday as to whether to close for the day or not.

THE TAOISEACH HAS committed to drafting guidelines to outline to businesses in the private sector what a code red alert means and how employers should deal with their employees in such a situation.

Following the issuing of a nationwide red alert ahead of Storm Ophelia, there was a further announcement that all schools, creches and universities were to close.

The National Emergency Co-ordination Group advised that people remain indoors and stay safe.

However, there was confusion as to whether all businesses should close, and if people should go to work or remain at home.

Labour leader Brendan Howlin today commended the government of their preparations and action for Storm Ophelia, however, he said lessons should be learned from the event.

Howlin told the Taoiseach that there should be a clear plan as to what should be done in the case of a red alert, stating that some employers were unclear about what to do and whether to close and tell their workers to stay at home.

Today, the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) said it would not tolerate employers deducting pay or insisting that employees take annual leave, as a result of having to stay away from work yesterday due to ex-Hurricane Ophelia.

David Hughes of the INMO said decision to declare a red weather warning was taken to save lives.

It is most regrettable that health employers are now seeking to penalise nurses and midwives who adhered to the warning or could not attend their workplace yesterday because of the effects of the storm.

Closed for the day 

“On Sunday night, we saw many companies unsure how to deal with their employees. Should we not have a clear understanding throughout the economy, as is the case in the education sector, of what should be done in the event of a red alert?” he asked.

Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney was questioned by Sean O’Rourke on RTÉ Radio One yesterday as to whether the government should have stepped in and announced a nationwide emergency, insisting that all businesses close.

Instead, the matter was left to individual employers to decide upon. It was put to the minister that people who had made their way to work in the morning then found themselves with no way to get home due to all public transport services announcing that they were to cease operations for the entire day.

Questions were also being asked as to whether employers had a duty to pay their employees if they chose not to go to work.

Private sector workers

Howlin called on the government to carry out a review of Storm Ophelia and how the government performed and to commit to issuing guidelines to the private sector as to what a red alert means for them and their employees.

This was the first time there was a red alert nationwide, the Taoiseach told the Dáil this afternoon.

“One decision was to close schools and that was made within a few hours of the national red alert issuing. A decision was made that we could not leave it up to individual school boards and so on to decide and that it had to be done on a national basis. It caused genuine confusion for some people in the private sector because it was unclear to people as to whether they were to go into work or not.

“The advice that we gave people was not to do any essential travel but going to work is essential for many people.

“We will have to develop a better understanding of what a red alert means beyond the public sector and what it means in the private sector,” he acknowledged.

“We need to know, when events like this might occur, what specifically is expected of employers and employees in the event of a red alert affecting their area of work. A commitment by the Taoiseach to provide such guidelines would be very welcome,” said Howlin.

The Taoiseach said he is happy to give that commitment, stating:

If guidelines do not exist already, which I do not think they do, it would be a very good idea to issue guidelines as to what alerts mean in many different circumstances, particularly for private sector employment.

Varadkar said they would work the new guidelines into the review of public services and government services during Storm Ophelia, which Cabinet this morning agreed to undertake. He said the issue of guidelines would be considered at the next meeting of the Office of Emergency Planning in November.

This morning’s Cabinet meeting also discussed the clean up operation for Storm Ophelia, with the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Eoghan Murphy, updating the Cabinet on the national emergency co-ordination group.

Ophelia aftermath: Schools will reopen tomorrow>

LIVE: ‘Lessons must be learned’ in aftermath of Storm Ophelia>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Matt
    Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:16 AM

Lovely piece to start a Sunday with. Wait for number two….it’s like going from owning a pet to running a Zoo!

Mute Antaine O Duile
    Favourite Antaine O Duile
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:17 AM

I took my 4yr old boy for his immunisations a couple of days ago. He had to get one in each arm. The doctor suggested that it might be better to do both jabs at the same time. I agreed and I cuddled him to me with his chin on my chest and he just looked straight into my eyes with complete trust. To be honest it took my breath away. With the doctor on one arm and the nurse on the other he took both jabs and didn’t cry out or flinch. I can’t explain why that moment touched me so much.

Mute Unfortunately
    Favourite Unfortunately
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:25 AM

I think you explained very well. Nice one and all best to both of you.

Mute Tracy Kirwan
    Favourite Tracy Kirwan
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:10 AM

Lovely piece from a father’s point of view. Thank god I’m not the only one suffering from extraordinary tiredness. I feel a bit better after reading this.

Mute Mickey finn
    Favourite Mickey finn
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:06 AM

Can never say life with kids is a boring life.

Mute Jack Kelly
    Favourite Jack Kelly
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:22 AM

I cringe at the thought of it. Not for me, thanks!

Mute brains for rocks
    Favourite brains for rocks
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:21 AM

Ha ha, I used to be in the same boat. My little man is 16 months now and its been fantastic, really hard work mind you but worth every second. I used to hear “ah sure, it’ll be different with your own” and its true, nothing can prepare you for it but when it happens you adapt so quickly and become a doting parent and a proud one at that

Mute Mickey finn
    Favourite Mickey finn
    Jan 18th 2015, 3:35 PM

Jack, I’ve done it all and wouldn’t change fatherhood for any booze, drug or women. Love the time with them more than standing in a bar talking shit to people

Mute Jack Kelly
    Favourite Jack Kelly
    Jan 18th 2015, 4:41 PM

Fair enough lads not for me that’s all.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:15 AM

What a great article lovely to read on a Sunday morning. I don’t think it gets harder the older they get just challenges change and you have to be one step ahead !!
    We have a 13 year old and a 7 month old both show love in very different ways lol

Mute Sean Farrell
    Favourite Sean Farrell
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:07 AM

I think Chris Martin summed up parenthood perfectly in “The Scientist”….Nobody said it was easy, no one ever said it would be this hard.

Mute Jaune Fujisawa
    Favourite Jaune Fujisawa
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:54 AM

I dont want to steel your happiness but. a lot of good dads like you for lots of reasons (jelousy, anger, revenge) go from seeing there little people every day to only a few hours a week or not at all and courts aprove of this. people speak of equality all the time and yet this abuse of children continues. There not young for long

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:43 AM

Red thumbs for a fact. The unfairness towards fathers in divorce cases is the real travesty in Irish gender equality.

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:44 AM

People just don’t care about this Jaune :(

Mute Jaune Fujisawa
    Favourite Jaune Fujisawa
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:54 AM

They should. Every experience we have from cradle to grave shapes the people we are. Equality is important to everyone.

Mute Carly Bailey
    Favourite Carly Bailey
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:20 AM

I thought it was only mummy’s that gave their child’s age in months. I get it up until they are 18 months or so. But 26 months? Wait a few seconds while I figure that out…you mean he is 2! Just say he’s 2!!! And the old ‘who is the most tired today’ debate. You mean argument right? Right?

Mute Nobby Donnelly
    Favourite Nobby Donnelly
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:24 AM

I’m 396 months in february. I’m a big boy

Mute Stephen Carrick
    Favourite Stephen Carrick
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:16 AM

Reading all the comments here and yous aren’t selling the second baby thing. I’ve an 8 month old boy and the wife is due in 3 months so thanks for making me feel like it’s gonna be toture :)

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:22 AM

At least you have advance warning!

Mute Ciara Patricia Edele
    Favourite Ciara Patricia Edele
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:54 AM

People love to be negative. Even when people are having their first baby, they love “warning” them about how they’ll never get any more sleep, etc.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Jan 18th 2015, 2:31 PM

Stephen , don’t panic …. Yet trying to manage 2 is actually a small bit easier , you as couple are more into parenting now with practice on number 1 so number 2 will be easier plus once they are both up an running will amuse themselves as along as they get along . Watch the older one for a bit as he might try and torture the young one as he misses out from being number 1 .

Mute Stephen Carrick
    Jan 18th 2015, 2:41 PM

Cheers

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Jan 18th 2015, 4:39 PM

An 11 month gap, jaysis you didn’t waste time! Personally speaking, having the second child with a 2 year old was pure hell on earth and I wish you all the best!

Mute Stephen Carrick
    Jan 18th 2015, 7:12 PM

Haha got caught straight away was definitely not planed but sure life goes on and cheers for the heads up lol

Mute Alison Byrne
    Favourite Alison Byrne
    Jan 24th 2015, 12:20 AM

It’ll all fall into place. Baby number 2 is easier than number 1.

Mute Unfortunately
    Favourite Unfortunately
    Jan 18th 2015, 10:09 AM

If you’re tired with one baby wait for second (especially if age gap is small) – I thought having one was like being on holidays compared with 2. And with 3 and more – ah stop :)

Mute Jack Kelly
    Favourite Jack Kelly
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:37 AM

No thanks, dogs are enough of a responsibility let alone kids.

Mute Betty Reid McDermott
    Favourite Betty Reid McDermott
    Jan 22nd 2015, 4:42 PM

You sound like a proper bore Jack.

Mute Ciara Patricia Edele
    Favourite Ciara Patricia Edele
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:59 AM

That’s lovely. :) Being a parent is amazing and it’s good to hear a dad feeling like he’s able to say it, and being so caring.

Mute Aoife McCarrick
    Favourite Aoife McCarrick
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:43 AM

Lovely article. We have a 4.5 year old and a 3.5 year old (less than 14 months between our dreamed of and wanted children) and every age they have been is the nicest so far. Every day with children they do so many things that make you smile. My husband and I love it, even if we have not slept properly in 5.5 years (my pregnancies were very high risk).

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:40 AM

Only advice I can give is plan nothing for yourself, just go with the flow of what they (kids) want. If you can accept that they get 100% attention the time that does come your way( which is very little) is your own. I think you will appreciate this time more because you are not expecting it…

Mute Gwen O'Caoimh
    Favourite Gwen O'Caoimh
    Jan 18th 2015, 9:40 AM

He’s 2 !!Great article though !

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Jan 18th 2015, 5:51 PM

Nice to see a loving dads PoV. As a momma to a little one born the same year as your son I can identify with everything you have to say.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 18th 2015, 11:54 AM

“I used to think that male friends who openly expressed their love for their young children were going soft”

Hmm, I see.

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Jan 18th 2015, 5:23 PM

What a beautiful, moving article … well done