You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Happy Pear twins talk working on three hours sleep, no days off and those Jedward comparisons

The Greystones twins start their days at 5am and share nearly everything they do online.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

NO DAYS OFF and working on as little as three hours sleep a night. That’s what life can be like for twins from Greystones who – between a business, a lifestyle brand, an appearance on the Late Late Show and a likeness to Jedward – you will find hard to escape from in the coming months.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Stephen and David Flynn describe how “life and work are blurred, to get a full day off doesn’t really exist”.

The brothers have turned The Happy Pear in Greystones from a small vegetable market to a national brand and now they’re reaching out to the UK as their second book launches across the water.

It’s a far cry from how they describe their teenage years.

“We’d go out and spend €50 getting drunk but the next day we wouldn’t go out and buy ourselves a punnet of blueberries or a decent lunch.”

However, it hasn’t been an overnight success. The brothers have been chipping away for 12 years and have what they describe as a holistic approach to the business.

Stephen says of their second book: “It’s a philosophy book with recipes.”

“This book is called the World of The Happy Pear and it’s our life. I think it’s not just about healthy eating but our lifestyle.”

Energy balls 

The brothers are energetic and passionate about their work.

That enthusiasm was evident from the start as Stephen revealed how, “When we started the business Mam asked what colour we wanted the shop – we said the brightest colour they have.

“The choice was between an a luminous green or a bright orange and she said ‘you’re not having the green’.”

That energy and enthusiasm is what caused Ryan Tubridy to liken the pair to Jedward when they appeared on The Late Late Show last week.

When asked how they felt about the comparison, David said, “I can see why – we’re twins and we’re doing our thing and we both have lots of energy.

I think people are always going to parallel you with something they can relate to.

Discussing the criticism that comes with becoming well known, Stephen said:

Initially you can be a bit sensitive and a bit proud and I think the more you get up there, the more you realise people like to throw stones.

“I think if you’re comfortable in why you’re doing it, then you really don’t mind about people throwing rocks at you. It’s like ‘I’m doing my thing, if you like it great and if you don’t, that’s okay – that’s your choice too’.

“I’m not doing it to try and impress you, this is something that we really feel passionate about and we want to try to make the world a better place and add value.

“And then your skin gets very thick … I often don’t read them, I don’t feel a reason, I’ve expressed what I want to express.”

All consuming 

The brothers fit a lot into their days – which can mean skimping on sleep – and they’re constantly sharing what they’re doing on social media.

David says, “I probably get up at around 5am most days … if you’re doing things that you like to do it’s a lot easier”.

While Stephen added, “I could function on three, four, five” hours sleep.

Asked if they feel pressure to share every aspect of their life, including their children – who appear in the latest book – David said:

I don’t feel a pressure. For us, it comes natural because there’s so much we want to express and share. It’s really in our nature to want to share, if you’re quite private it might be hard.

“I think it builds more emotional connections and that’s what it’s about. In terms of social media and other things, it’s about where people can emotionally relate to you and I think the more you can show how authentic and genuine you are – that’s why snapchat and vlogging are great because you can actually show what you do in a day – it’s not just a filtered perfect veneer that Instagram has.”

Stephen added that people see how hard they’re working and how much they get done in a day.

“I think the more you share and the more real and transparent and authentic you are the more people can relate to it.”

The work is paying off: they now have two books on the shelves and their products are being stocked in more than 200 Supervalu stores across the country.

So what’s next for the Flynn twins?

When asked about expanding with another restaurant, they said, “We’d love to … I think we will at some stage but I wouldn’t like to say something and then not do it.”

Hinting at the possibility of looking to the UK, the brothers described how aiming the new book at a UK market is exciting, adding “maybe start with the book and see where we go”.

When asked if we could see a store popping up in London, they replied with wide smiles saying, “That would be great wouldn’t it, we’d love that” before considering, “Dublin is closer – we should go there first.”

Read: Meet the twins behind the happiest, healthiest restaurant in Ireland>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    May 28th 2016, 10:27 PM

It’s ironic really, the brand is all about healthy living and a balanced lifestyle and the owners are workaholics living on three hours sleep a day.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    May 28th 2016, 11:29 PM

That’s not good for you at all! I’m a vicious b!tch if I get less than 8 hours sleep.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    May 29th 2016, 11:49 AM

Bill Cullen used to get by on two hours sleep a month and look what it did for him !

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    May 29th 2016, 12:07 PM

Yes he lost a lot more than a nights sleep

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    May 29th 2016, 12:48 PM

Mick. Where is bill cullen these days anyway, he was all over the news a while back, doing the rounds on Ryan tubs show etc. Thought he’d the midas touch, Irelands Alan Sugar. Really if he can’t make it with his canny sense for business what hope have the rest of us.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    May 29th 2016, 1:47 PM

So he said….

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    May 28th 2016, 8:42 PM

Working for yourself demands 80 a 90 hour weeks and no holidays until it is well established. Congrats lads. Brilliant idea and well deserved rewards.

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    May 28th 2016, 8:52 PM

I love how positive they are – easy on the eye too – I’m off to have an apple!

Mute The Magnificent Hog
    Favourite The Magnificent Hog
    May 28th 2016, 9:06 PM

Love the idea and love how their hard work has paid off. I don’t like the type of fakes and bandwagoners that the restaurant seems to attract in huge numbers. It appears to me that it’s the latest hipster fad.

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    May 28th 2016, 9:27 PM

Drove down to have lunch in their cafe and found it to be very grubby and tbh we didn’t eat there as a result

May 28th 2016, 9:31 PM

I’ve a taste for a banana now !

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    May 28th 2016, 10:45 PM

I’m with you Apu. Their cleanliness leaves a LOT to be desired. I wouldn’t eat in their place if you paid me.

Mute HelloGoogleTracking!
    Favourite HelloGoogleTracking!
    May 28th 2016, 11:40 PM

For health advocates….it is obvious that not sleeping enough is unhealthy.

Also having a better work life balance is healthier and better for you and your families.

Perhaps I should make a patronising cheesy video, advocating baby steps to achieve longer sleep, and work less and spend some quality time with your family.

But hey…..why be consistent when you can charge 15 euros for uncooked chopped veg. And based on uneducated hipsters paying it just to get a sense of smugness and sense of superiority. While the grow messy beards and wear hemp clothes and glasses without prescription, for vacuous fashion, and to fit in with other mindless cultists

Too far ? :)

Mute Mick Mouse
    Favourite Mick Mouse
    May 28th 2016, 11:51 PM

Just tell us how you really feel!!!!

May 29th 2016, 12:25 AM

I think you’ve covered pretty much covered everything there .!

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    May 28th 2016, 9:53 PM

I used to deliver bits of veg out to the lads in Greystones. Tho it would be only items that hadn’t arrived in on the trucks on time as they would be in the Fruit Markets 1st thing every morning hand picking their stock. I can honestly say aswell that you would never meet a better pair of guys. True gentlemen. Fairplay lads . You deserve everything you both have accomplished . I wish you both well for your future ventures..

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    May 28th 2016, 9:55 PM

I’d love to catch them eating a big dirty snackbox and cheesy fries – drinking Dutch Gold down the beach in Greystones.

Mute donal
    Favourite donal
    May 28th 2016, 9:49 PM

Seriously – am I the first person to comment how annoying these guys were on the late late last week ?
    They were ridiculous.

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    May 28th 2016, 10:06 PM

Hipsters without the beards

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    May 28th 2016, 10:48 PM

They were embarrassing. I kept’ thinkng of Steve Martin’s “Craaaaaazy funny guys!”

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    May 28th 2016, 11:09 PM

I can’t fcuking stand them.

Mute Cal McLaughlin
    Favourite Cal McLaughlin
    May 28th 2016, 8:48 PM

Heard them on the radio with Matt Cooper during the week.
    Hate to admit this but I was inspired by their attitude and passion for healthy food.
    Gonna buy the book. Deffo.
    What is it about vegans they always look about 15 years younger than their actual age?

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    May 28th 2016, 9:50 PM

What age are they cause I’d put 35+ on them

Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck
    May 28th 2016, 9:51 PM

It’s just that they age you by fifteen years listening to their self righteous tripe.

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    May 28th 2016, 10:52 PM

Id say 40?

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    May 29th 2016, 12:52 AM

They are 35 years old. Personally, I think they look a few years older than that, about 38.

Mute Colin O' Brien
    Favourite Colin O' Brien
    May 29th 2016, 6:26 AM

They are 35/36. They used to get the same bus as me to school in the morning. And honestly, with all the crap they push about heathy this and healthy that, the look 10+ years older than me!

Mute Jeff Cahill
    Favourite Jeff Cahill
    May 28th 2016, 11:10 PM

Pair of annoying gimps with over rated food..Vegan me arse

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    May 28th 2016, 11:22 PM

Lovely guys…..they were even so nice as to hire workers via job bridge a few years back.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 29th 2016, 7:53 AM

Is that illegal?

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    May 28th 2016, 9:17 PM

Notions

Mute Sean Lynch
    Favourite Sean Lynch
    May 29th 2016, 12:16 AM

They know feck all about food, cooking and taste. Their shop produce is overpriced, no service whatsover and their food is bland. Rich kids done good, but hey they’re twins who look great!!

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    May 28th 2016, 9:18 PM

Vlogging ……
    Jesus

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    May 29th 2016, 10:00 AM

Vlog him!

Mute Conor Brady
    Favourite Conor Brady
    May 29th 2016, 8:11 AM

Fair play to the two of them. Great lads. They have a message and they work hard putting it out. Soon as vegetarian or vegan is involved ignorant d1ckheads feel entitled to roll them over. If only everyone stood up for and worked so hard on an idea that they cared passionately about. Easier to type bile in the journal.ie. They’re a total success and I wish them the very best of luck!

Mute Jackson Bollovks
    Favourite Jackson Bollovks
    May 29th 2016, 9:59 AM

Vegward

Mute Ross Ross
    Favourite Ross Ross
    May 28th 2016, 11:11 PM

Private school well to do greystones poshies never worked a hard day in their life
    Lol

Mute David O'Hara
    Favourite David O'Hara
    May 29th 2016, 12:04 AM

While not a fan I’m pretty sure they are working a hard day every day. I certainly respect the hard work needed to build a business from scratch

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    May 29th 2016, 7:55 AM

There are no private schools in Greystones.

Mute Magda 'Kowalski'
    Favourite Magda 'Kowalski'
    May 29th 2016, 1:27 AM

@ all the jelaous ignorant thicks: the pair were there doing their thing long before the term ‘hipster’ even got invented!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    May 29th 2016, 7:54 AM

What year was the term hipster invented?

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    May 28th 2016, 9:18 PM

Vlogging ……
    Jesus

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    May 29th 2016, 8:55 AM

Pear of dopes…

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    May 28th 2016, 8:47 PM

You can’t help be happy watching the guts going.. Reminds me of Disneyland … Without sugar!!!!

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    May 29th 2016, 9:38 AM

Their food products are way too expensive.

Mute Paul Jacob
    Favourite Paul Jacob
    May 29th 2016, 10:35 AM

Now employing over 150 people in north Wicklow & expanding! They work hard and sell a good story! Congrats guys & best of luck for the future!

Mute Paul Jacob
    Favourite Paul Jacob
    May 29th 2016, 10:38 AM

Now employing nearly 150 people in North Wicklow. Marketing is fantastic & they sell the story well. Congrats & well earned success guys !
    If we had more happy pears & less grumpy gooseberries on the journal it would be a better place

Mute Patrick Riordan
    Favourite Patrick Riordan
    May 29th 2016, 9:40 AM

If ever there was an advertisement for 15 pints a day and 40 Major, massive chippers 7 days a week while sitting on your hoooooooooop watching the box, that’s it right there folks.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    May 29th 2016, 9:20 AM

Well done to you both..I’m envious..

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    May 29th 2016, 3:08 PM

In it about a couple of years ago…couldn’t get any service and left after ten minutes

Mute Bobby Fox
    Favourite Bobby Fox
    May 30th 2016, 5:42 PM

I admire their healthy food message but if wearing vests outdoors ( in Ireland FFS ) is mandatory then count me out .

Mute Kate Katz
    Favourite Kate Katz
    Jun 16th 2016, 11:36 AM

Happy Pear is ‘happy’ to use unhappy volunteers to their profit making business. RTE did not mention in their interview the use of volunteers or the job bridge scheme.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 30th 2016, 12:10 PM

A likeness to Jedward is a good thing now??