You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A simple logic question that most Harvard students get wrong

Will you get it right?

HARVARD STUDENTS GET near-perfect SAT scores (US college admission tests). These are smart, smart kids. So they shouldn’t have trouble with a simple logic question, right?

Try the following puzzle:

A bat and ball cost $1.10.

The bat costs one dollar more than the ball.

How much does the ball cost?

Scroll down for the answer …

via theseanster93 via www.flickr.com Creative Commons
You probably answered 10¢. That’s what most Harvard students answered. But the real answer is 5¢.

Behavioral economist Daniel Kahneman explains why most people get this wrong:

A number came to your mind. The number, of course, is 10: 10¢. The distinctive mark of this easy puzzle is that it evokes an answer that is intuitive, appealing, and wrong. Do the math, and you will see. If the ball costs 10 ¢, then the total cost will be $1.20 (10¢ for the ball and $1.10 for the bat), not $1.10. The correct answer is 5¢. It is safe to assume that the intuitive answer also came to the mind of those who ended up with the correct number—they somehow managed to resist the intuition.

Many thousands of university students have answered the bat-and-ball puzzle, and the results are shocking. More than half of Harvard, MIT, and Princeton gave the intuitive – incorrect – answer. At less selective universities, the rate of demonstrable failure to check was in excess of 80 per cent. The bat-and-ball problem is our first encounter with an observation that will be a recurrent theme of this book: many people are overconfident, prone to place too much faith in their intuitions. They apparently find cognitive effort at least mildly unpleasant and avoid it as much as possible.

This excerpt comes from Kahneman’s 2011 book, Thinking, Fast And Slow, which posits that we have an intuitive mental system and a logical mental system, and we often use the wrong one at the wrong time.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 128 comments
128 Comments
    Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:04 PM

Thanks for making me feel dumb.

Mute Lorraine Keane
    Favourite Lorraine Keane
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:07 PM

Is it bad that I’m still confused???

Mute Graham Kiely
    Favourite Graham Kiely
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:11 PM

Lorraine, these cows are small and those ones are far away.

Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:37 PM

Forget Harvard….. I’m going to Yale..!!

Mute Damian O'keeffe
    Favourite Damian O'keeffe
    Dec 17th 2012, 6:10 AM

I wouldn’t get in to Yale.

That’s the crowd that make locks right?

Mute Stephen Gregg
    Favourite Stephen Gregg
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:08 PM

I think I just brain my damaged.

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:15 PM

I must be thick. Still doesn’t make sense to me. :O

Mute Lorraine Keane
    Favourite Lorraine Keane
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:17 PM

Thank you!

Mute c.walsh
    Favourite c.walsh
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:18 PM

Me either haha

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:36 PM

It’s not that hard lads.
    If I had 5 cent. And you had a quid more than me, you would have $1.05.
    Add them together and you get $1.10.

Mute c.walsh
    Favourite c.walsh
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:05 PM

Its not hard when ya know how :D it just means i’m as clever as all those students in harvard and princeton that got it wrong! Go me! :D

Mute Naomi Boland
    Favourite Naomi Boland
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:45 PM

Thanks god you explained that I thought I was really stupid but get it now.

Mute Graham Kiely
    Favourite Graham Kiely
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:32 PM

That’s mad Ted !!

Mute Tom McDermott
    Favourite Tom McDermott
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:37 PM

Is the answer still the same in euros?

Mute Sinead Fox
    Favourite Sinead Fox
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:09 PM

i got the 5c alrite but instant thought was 10c for a sec,

Mute Paul Martin
    Favourite Paul Martin
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:12 PM

Straight away I said 10c until I worked it out

Mute angryjoepublic
    Favourite angryjoepublic
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:15 PM

where would I pick up this bargin? assuming it can be got?

Mute shadow75
    Favourite shadow75
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:34 PM

I got 3 fiddy

Mute Siobhan Brennan
    Favourite Siobhan Brennan
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:19 PM

My 9 year old got it right!

Mute Aoife Howard
    Favourite Aoife Howard
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:56 PM

you nearly caused divorce in our car journey from Dublin to Cork anyway as I after some thought get it but my boyfriend is still swearing blind that its 10c for the ball!haha ….just cause he did honours maths and I didn’t….haha

Mute briewee
    Favourite briewee
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:24 PM

I think 12 pubs of christmas last nite have cause brain damage i’m still not getting it

Mute Kaja Farrell
    Favourite Kaja Farrell
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:43 PM

IM bad at maths but this one was easy. Deduct the difference between prices (1$) and divide the rest into two.

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:40 PM

Thumbs up. That’s exactly the easy and best way to work it out, Kaja.

Mute Barry Moynihan
    Favourite Barry Moynihan
    Dec 17th 2012, 3:25 AM

“Deduct the difference between prices (1$) and divide the rest into two”

No, it’s not INTO two – it’s BY two, or IN two, to get the price of the cheapest.

Oh my sainted aunt!

No wonder a pint costs 4.95 ….

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Dec 17th 2012, 9:10 AM

@Barry: It was a maths teaser, not a grammar question!

Mute David Dancey
    Favourite David Dancey
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:18 PM

How many of us got it right because we were told it was a tricky question and we took time to think about it?

Mute Darren Burke
    Favourite Darren Burke
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:50 AM

Me! Wouldn’t have got it right but for the headline making me think twice

Mute Sluazcanal
    Favourite Sluazcanal
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:07 PM

sugar frig and flip, excuse my language. I got it wrong.

Mute Nigel Nix
    Favourite Nigel Nix
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:22 PM

Twelvty!

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:00 PM

@thejournal Is there any chance you could post another brainteaser ASAP so’s we all can try get our dignity back.

Mute Michael McCarthy
    Favourite Michael McCarthy
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:39 AM

i got it wrong. think i might have to rethink the career in accountancy

Mute hjGfIgAq
    Favourite hjGfIgAq
    Dec 17th 2012, 9:19 AM

Paddy, I’ll do my best – but I might be fairer next time and not put it up on a Sunday after so many people appeared to have been out on the razz ;)

Mute Kevin Wynne
    Favourite Kevin Wynne
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:52 PM

x+(x+100)=110

Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:14 PM

I got it right because when your in the pub trade you need to know how to count.

Mute Paul Martin
    Favourite Paul Martin
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:17 PM

Like If a pint costs €4.50 and the government put 10c on the duty, the pint now costs €4.70……

Mute Toora loora lies
    Favourite Toora loora lies
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:20 PM

But you don’t need to know the difference between your and you’re.

Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:24 PM

@Paul Martin, You will go far with a brain like yours.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:27 PM

That still doesn’t explain why I can get a pint of Guinness cheaper in central London than I can in St. James’ Gate.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:30 PM

Jesus Richard we get your in the pub trade every bloody comment of yours mentions you have a pub

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:33 PM

r u in the pub trade first we heard of it

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:30 PM

Paul Martin that was a good one. Laughing away here at that.

Mute Aisling Doyle
    Favourite Aisling Doyle
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:07 PM

Frigging brilliant Paul Martin Ha ha that’s comment of the week .. I swear I pissed myself laughing your a comic

Mute Hayden Simpson
    Favourite Hayden Simpson
    Dec 17th 2012, 1:00 AM

but you don’t need to know the correct time to use “your” and “you’re”…. FAIL

Mute Derek Phoenix
    Favourite Derek Phoenix
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:55 PM

very clever ! reminds me when I first heard the think of a number trick ! think of a number , double it , add 8 , divide your ans by 2 , take away the number you first thought of and your answer is 4 !

Mute Kevin Finbarr McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin Finbarr McCarthy
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:26 PM

I can count to orange!

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:35 PM

Got it, yipee, now to
    annoy everyone tonight by asking them to solve it

Mute Emmett O Mahony
    Favourite Emmett O Mahony
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:35 PM

Still can’t work it out… $1 for bat, 10c for ball… Ball is 10c so a dollar more than that is $1.10…. What the flip am I not getting here?

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:42 PM

eh a dollar more than 10c is 1.10 but then add 10c and it’s 1.20 a dollar more than 5c is 1.05 + 5c for the ball = 1.10

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:59 PM

If the bat is $1 and the ball is 10c, then the bat is 90c more than the ball, not $1.
    Bat = $1.05 …. Ball = 5c. Then the difference is $1.

Mute Seamus McKenzie
    Favourite Seamus McKenzie
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:20 AM

Emmet the bat is one dollar ball is 10 cents. That’s a ninety cent difference. Do you get it now.

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Dec 17th 2012, 1:19 AM

So, Batman did it?

Mute Jack Stenson
    Favourite Jack Stenson
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:40 PM

If you hadn’t posted this the day after most of the country was on a Christmas pub crawl or a Christmas party I think there would be more positive comments here! At least that’s the excuse I’m going with for getting it wrong…

Mute Susanne Hayden
    Favourite Susanne Hayden
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:15 PM

I still think it is 10c – I like living in ignorance bliss

Mute THE GRINDER
    Favourite THE GRINDER
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:43 PM

Bat $1 , ball 10c = 90c difference. Bat $1.05 , ball 5c = $1 difference. That’s a clever question and there are millions of similar ones designed to catch people out, just like a con job, fool people, magic even, or a solemn promise not to reduce Child Benefit to get voted into power without ever intending to honour it cause its what you do at elections, like the 3 card trick.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:41 PM

Take a €1 coin. It’s weight is 23.25g.
    Fill 20 tonne trucks with €1 coins, each truck bearing 20 tonnes of coins.

How many 20 tonne trucks will be required to pay the bond holders 3.1 billion Euro in March 2013?

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:22 PM

Not only stupid but impractical…..

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:35 PM

Ah Jaysus. Steady on there will ya. Not every thread here has to be a political one.

Mute Ahmad H. Alliek
    Favourite Ahmad H. Alliek
    Dec 17th 2012, 8:06 AM

Mute kevin doherty
    Favourite kevin doherty
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:18 PM

Pen and paper job, old school algebra worked it out. Very pleased with myself

Mute Dukezeal
    Favourite Dukezeal
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:23 PM

”x + y = 1.10”

given that: x +1 = y

then replaying y gives: x+x+1 = 1.10

thus 2x=0.10

x=.05 => ball is 5 cent

Mute Tokidoll
    Favourite Tokidoll
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:33 PM

I had it, but now I’m confused again

Mute Kevin Bradshaw
    Favourite Kevin Bradshaw
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:59 PM

Im off to buy me a 5c Baseball. Shop around, you cant beat those prices.

Mute Tom Seymour
    Favourite Tom Seymour
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:45 PM

After taking about 5 minutes but I figured it out!! Harvard here I come.

Mute BlaaInExile
    Favourite BlaaInExile
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:31 PM

That was simple

Mute June Tobin Maher
    Favourite June Tobin Maher
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:12 PM

I have always TOTALLY sucked at maths but I got this right. Why? Because I didn’t see it as a maths question, I immediately saw it as logical question.

Mute lisa o riordan
    Favourite lisa o riordan
    Dec 17th 2012, 3:14 AM

Lol. And because it tells you it’s a logical question. :)

Mute Vinny Murphy
    Favourite Vinny Murphy
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:18 PM

Damm it…I got it wrong…my head is sore…..I’m off to my local to annoy the crap out of everyone with this one….and pay the princely sum of €4.30 a pint for the privilege.

Mute Sandra Murphy
    Favourite Sandra Murphy
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:07 PM

Cheaper to discuss over a game of rounders. Apparently

Mute Noel Timothy Noblett
    Favourite Noel Timothy Noblett
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:59 PM

Just fell out with partner because he was adamant that the ball should be 10c

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:58 PM

I got it right because it was in a book I had as a young kid – with a bottle and a cork.
    I got it wrong then!

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:40 PM

Thought it was 10c but realised if it was that easy they wouldn’t be asking the question so thought about it a bit more and got the answer right. Wohoo, very pleased with myself !

Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:33 PM

If the Publicans charged the right price for drink all ye mugs would be paying 6 euro a pint ye mugs.

Mute Paul Martin
    Favourite Paul Martin
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:45 PM

No, there would be no publicans

Mute Gamma
    Favourite Gamma
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:09 PM

so what exactly is the price of a keg of Heineken Richard? considering that the publican will sell it for 413 euro at 4.70 a pint I’d like to know the mark up

Mute Gamma
    Favourite Gamma
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:26 PM

never mind Richard I looked it up. Heineken is ?255 a keg so it works out at ?2.90 per pint. price at my local is ?4.70 so that’s ?1.80 per pint profit for the publican. please explain how ?6 is the “proper” price of a pint?

It’s no mystery why off licences are cleaning up and pubs are shutting down. Especially if smug know nothings are pulling the pints.

Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:30 PM

gamma, to be fair, you ignored overheads.

Mute Gamma
    Favourite Gamma
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:38 PM

you’re right there Shanners but you’re looking at a 40% mark up. that’s almost twice the markup on an off licence. do some homework and look at the cash profit on spirits and minerals in pubs. they’re even higher. overheads are well covered.

Mute Sluazcanal
    Favourite Sluazcanal
    Dec 16th 2012, 6:57 PM

People still pay it so you can’t blame the publicans either. Now i must get back to the maths.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:13 PM

If there is such huge profits in the trade then why are so many closing. Its a tough, tough industry to be in. Overheads are huge. Not only the cost but the range of different overheads is massive.

Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Dec 16th 2012, 7:50 PM

Its like this there will allways be customers in the pub and most are mugs.I don’t drink myself and I own 2 houses in Ireland plus a flat in Spain.My family are proud of me.

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:15 PM

To be fair they probably started out with low expectations.

Mute Mike Brennan
    Favourite Mike Brennan
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:40 PM

Way to draw the customers the Richard. That news will get them flooding in no doubt.

Mute Darren Doyle McCormack
    Favourite Darren Doyle McCormack
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:43 PM

You are such a sad individual Richard.

Mute lisa o riordan
    Favourite lisa o riordan
    Dec 17th 2012, 3:12 AM

What do the lads down the pub think about that?

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Dec 17th 2012, 11:12 AM

and sure didn’t he get five As in the Junior Cert as well.

Mute Garrett O' Brien
    Favourite Garrett O' Brien
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:24 PM

I don’t believe that. I am really bad at maths and I got that easy peasy in seconds. Seriously, if that’s causing you problems you should be ashamed of yourself.

Mute Briain O'Dochartaigh
    Favourite Briain O'Dochartaigh
    Dec 16th 2012, 5:59 PM

I got it but almost fell for it at the start. Pen and paper works it out simple enough

Mute Robert Bussell
    Favourite Robert Bussell
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:45 PM

OK ..here is one for you….A loaf and a half for £1:50 how many would I buy for £8:00 ??

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:36 PM

8?

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:55 PM

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:47 PM

For the love of god, dont leave us hanging!!!

Mute Zarafinna
    Favourite Zarafinna
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:07 AM

1 loaf = £1

Mute Robert Bussell
    Favourite Robert Bussell
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:13 AM

Top of the class..

Mute Robert Bussell
    Favourite Robert Bussell
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:17 AM

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Dec 17th 2012, 9:12 AM

None – shops in this country only accept Euro

Mute Cormac Bracken
    Favourite Cormac Bracken
    Dec 17th 2012, 11:44 AM

I’d still buy 1. Sure the rest would only go stale.

Mute Steve Lowe
    Favourite Steve Lowe
    Jan 4th 2013, 8:07 AM

7 With change back!

Mute Darragh Nolan
    Favourite Darragh Nolan
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:19 PM

As an Irish Harvard student, I can tell you that most Harvard students will get this right. Interestingly, it was a question on a psych study I recently completed in one of our labs.

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:57 PM

Harvard – the place of dreams :D

Mute Deirdre Maher
    Favourite Deirdre Maher
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:52 PM

Ha I got it right quite simple really ..

Mute June Tobin Maher
    Favourite June Tobin Maher
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:20 PM

My Daughter’s name is Deirdre Maher :) Just saying :)

Mute michael o'toole
    Favourite michael o'toole
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:20 PM

i got it right
    made my day

thanks to the much maligned Bráithre Cristaí.
    Harvard – here i come.

Mute David Field
    Favourite David Field
    Dec 16th 2012, 9:28 PM

i got 54 cent,it has to be,5 cent me bollox,

Mute Brendan Cunningham
    Favourite Brendan Cunningham
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:00 PM

In your face Harvard!

Mute Rachel Doux
    Favourite Rachel Doux
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:36 PM

If I earn 42k€ in a year and the the tax & health insurance people take half
    Then the publican & the taxes take the other half of what I spend; how many pints can I buy myself within the year?

Mute Valerie Judge
    Favourite Valerie Judge
    Dec 16th 2012, 8:48 PM

Ha! Got it right! That’s a real project matches q.

Mute Marcus Keane
    Favourite Marcus Keane
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:11 PM

$1.05 is a dollar more than 5c…

Mute Michael McCarthy
    Favourite Michael McCarthy
    Dec 17th 2012, 12:40 AM

i got it wrong. think it might be time to rething the career in accountacny

Mute Bob Boyle
    Favourite Bob Boyle
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:01 PM

I would have said .10 cent but that was the obvious answer…so after a little thought I actually got it right :-)

Mute Ed da Red
    Favourite Ed da Red
    Dec 16th 2012, 10:55 PM
    Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Dec 17th 2012, 9:48 AM

Hurrah ….I managed to avoid the intuitive answer ! I suggest that all our TDs, bankers and financial experts be given this question ! Dare I suggest what % would get it wrong ?

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 17th 2012, 6:26 AM

The hotel room is $25 and three guys want to share. They each pay their share with a $10 bill. The manager, who couldn’t figure how to divide the $5 among the three, keeps two dollars of the change and gives each man $1. So each man paid $9. 9×3 is $27, plus the $2 the manager kept is $29. Where did the other dollar go?

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Dec 17th 2012, 9:17 AM

Each man got a dollar BACK, and the manager got $2 dollars back. Therefore the end should read as “So each man paid $9. 9×3 = $27, MINUS the $2 the manager kept is $25

Mute Declan Fitzsimons
    Favourite Declan Fitzsimons
    Dec 17th 2012, 10:10 AM

A father and his son are in a car crash.

The father is killed instantly but the son survives with serious injuries.

The ambulance rushes him to hospital and he is taken straight to the theatre.

The surgeon arrives but, realising who it is says ‘ I cannot operate on him, he is my son’.

How can this be?

Mute James Vaughan
    Favourite James Vaughan
    Dec 17th 2012, 11:19 AM

Darren the surgeon is the CHILDS MOTHER

Mute Colm Williamson
    Favourite Colm Williamson
    Dec 17th 2012, 10:57 AM

I still don’t get it. The bat and ball cost 1.10 in total. How the hell did it jump to 1.20? This is a conspiracy God damn it!!

Mute Jimmy Cinders
    Favourite Jimmy Cinders
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:52 PM

That was easy, The bat is $1.05 and the ball is 5 cents , maybe I should go to Harvard.

Mute Richard Walsh
    Favourite Richard Walsh
    Dec 17th 2012, 10:49 AM

thicko here got it right , lol

Mute Darragh Flynn
    Favourite Darragh Flynn
    Dec 18th 2012, 12:48 AM

I got it right but would never consider myself very logically minded! Where do I send my Harvard application?!

Mute Caroline Phelan
    Favourite Caroline Phelan
    Dec 17th 2012, 2:39 PM

For those of you that are unable to figure it out, here’s another perspective. The answer is in the wording of the question..”the bat cost’s $1.00 MORE than the ball.” Therefore, if the ball costs .5c + $1.00(more) = $1.05. But remember to add your .5c for the ball to $1.05 which = $1.10

Mute Justin Chan Hsian Loon
    Favourite Justin Chan Hsian Loon
    Dec 17th 2012, 6:12 PM

2x + 1 = 1.10 came to mind automatically though Im not sure why but it gave me the right answer

Mute Rezwan Ullah
    Favourite Rezwan Ullah
    Dec 17th 2012, 10:19 AM

I believe Joseph Gladwell’s “Blink” goes against the author’s claim.

Mute Ahmad H. Alliek
    Dec 17th 2012, 7:51 AM

that was very easy, its basic math, does Kahneman’s book include more of these?

Mute Claire Tracey
    Favourite Claire Tracey
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:30 PM

Glad I thought 1.05…..

Mute Radu Valentin
    Favourite Radu Valentin
    Dec 17th 2012, 5:20 AM

A nice follow up question (after they tell you the answer for the first one) would be:

A bat and ball cost $11.0
    The bat costs one dollar more than the ball
    How much does the ball cost?

Mute Oli Gleeson
    Favourite Oli Gleeson
    Dec 16th 2012, 11:13 PM

Does the tree make a sound when it falls in the forest ? This is the same question. Put out a simple question. Then give the wrong answer. And then sit back and watch a lot of clever people make fools of themselves !

Mute Pat O'Connell
    Favourite Pat O'Connell
    Dec 17th 2012, 9:32 AM

Way hey, Harvard here I come!

Mute Ahmad H. Alliek
    Dec 17th 2012, 7:53 AM

this is basic math, does Kahneman’s book has more of these?