# home - Friday 8 March, 2013
# Opinion
# Opinion
Today marks International Womens’ Day, but how far have we really come when it comes to equal rights? Sandra McAvoy says there are plenty of issues that still need to be addressed.
# home - Thursday 7 March, 2013
# Opinion
# Opinion
Traditional gender roles serve as prescriptive claims about how girls and women should act. There are greater choices for both men and women now, so we need to reconcile our competing demands, writes Margaret O’Keefe.
# home - Tuesday 26 February, 2013
# Domestic Bliss
“Did you turn off the immersion?”
# home - Thursday 7 February, 2013
# Home Security
Survey finds four out of ten Irish householders are “significantly concerned” that they might be robbed – and one in four men sleep with a hurley beneath the bed.
# home - Monday 4 February, 2013
# Dilemma
From The Daily Edge
# Dilemma
It’s Monday, so let TheJournal.ie distract you from the ‘serious’ news with one of life’s REAL dilemmas. (*not really)
# home - Monday 21 January, 2013
# Algeria
# Algeria
In a statement, McFaul said he wanted time to reflect on what had happened to him and his colleagues in Algeria.
# Hostage
# Hostage
Stephen McFaul arrived back home to Northern Ireland yesterday evening, latest reports say.
# home - Sunday 13 January, 2013
# Read Me
# Read Me
James Joyce? U2? Guinness? No – Halloween is the only thing that earns Ireland any kudos, writes Hannah Quinn.
# home - Monday 7 January, 2013
# Burglary
# Burglary
It is believed the woman had money stolen from her that she had been saving up to buy new windows for her home with.
# home - Friday 4 January, 2013
# Pro12
From The42
# Pro12
The back-row will captain the Pro12 leaders against Scarlets this evening.
# home - Thursday 3 January, 2013
# Pensioners
From The42
# Pensioners
The Spaniard also revealed that the Demba Ba transfer has yet to be officially confirmed.
# home - Tuesday 1 January, 2013
# Read Me
# Read Me
Following in the footsteps of Maeve Binchy, Irish female authors are capturing what really matters to people today, writes novelist Michelle Jackson.
# Stutters
From The42
# Stutters
With home games coming up against Welsh and Italian opposition, Eoin Griffin is hoping to climb the tab
# home - Sunday 23 December, 2012
# Read Me
# Read Me
Larry Donnelly spent his life celebrating Christmas in the US. After marrying in Ireland, he’s encountered a different set of traditions.
# Super Sunday
From The42
# Super Sunday
The Blues take on Aston Villa at Stamford Bridge and currently lie in seventh.
# home - Wednesday 19 December, 2012
# Home Banker
From The42
# Home Banker
Leinster and Munster have enjoyed a swathe of away day successes in Belfast and Galway respectively.
# home - Sunday 9 December, 2012
# Heineken Cup
From The42
# Heineken Cup
‘We let it slip’ admitted Jamie Heaslip as the Heineken Cup champions were edged out by Clermont.
# home - Saturday 8 December, 2012
# Red Or Dead
From The42
# Red Or Dead
Rob Penney’s men welcomed a Sarries team to Thomond Park that were previously unbeaten in Pool 1.
# home - Monday 15 October, 2012
# Campaign
# Campaign
The campaign was launched following a rise in the number of children attending A&E at the Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children with hair straightener burns.
# Dilemma
From The Daily Edge
# Dilemma
It’s Monday, so let TheJournal.ie distract you from the ‘serious’ news with one of life’s REAL dilemmas.
# home - Sunday 7 October, 2012
# Top Tips
# Top Tips
Clear the clutter, stay in touch – and take off those pyjamas.
# home - Sunday 30 September, 2012
# Sligo
# Sligo
67-year-old Eugene Gillespie was found in his home in Sligo after what Gardaí believe was an aggravated burglary.
# home - Monday 17 September, 2012
# Volta
# Volta
You can even choose a film for a friend over Facebook as a present – now isn’t that nice?
# home - Tuesday 11 September, 2012
# Bolstered
From The42
# Bolstered
Rob Penney welcomes back Ronan O’Gara, Keith Earls and Conor Murray ahead of his side’s RaboDirect Pro12 encounter on Friday.
# home - Sunday 2 September, 2012
# You Tell Us
What kind of tech developments would make it easier to run your home? Add your thoughts to this open thread.
# home - Tuesday 14 August, 2012
# Squee
From The Daily Edge
# Squee
Oh, what’s that? You’re chopping onions? Grand.
# home - Sunday 12 August, 2012
# Holidays
From The Daily Edge
# Holidays
Summer isn’t over just yet. Here are some novel bargain holiday ideas if you are strapped for cash.
# home - Wednesday 1 August, 2012
# Homeowners
Deputy Aodhán Ó Riordáin has called for a review of the tax for people who have had to rent out their house due to a change of circumstances.
# home - Wednesday 11 July, 2012
# Jeanette Lowe
Acclaimed photographer Jeanette Lowe’s exhibition of scenes from Dublin’s Pearse House flats is being showcased in a flat in block where her grandparents reared their family.
# home - Monday 11 June, 2012
# Dilemma
From The Daily Edge
# Dilemma
It’s Monday, so let TheJournal.ie distract you from the ‘serious’ news with one of life’s REAL dilemmas. (*no really)
# home - Friday 8 June, 2012
# Carers
# Carers
This week 77,000 full-time carers are due to receive an annual respite grant of €1,700, but it’s unlikely to be used for holidays.
# home - Saturday 31 March, 2012
# Household Charge
The environment minister says the charge is a “legacy left behind” and wouldn’t be pursued if an alternative had been found.
# Household Charge
The Local Government Management Agency now estimates that just under 640,000 properties have registered or paid the controversial €100 tax.
# home - Saturday 14 January, 2012
# Quids In
# Quids In
Property owner in Westmeath turns tables by asking people to pay €50 apiece to sumbit bid – the lowest unique bid wins.
# home - Friday 16 December, 2011
# Effin
From The Daily Edge
# Effin
Local points out that villages near banned Effin are called Nicker and Meanus and are allowed on the site (although nearby Bottomstown is blocked).
# home - Sunday 11 December, 2011
# Mayo
# Mayo
Gardaí are investigating the circumstances of the blaze in which a 62-year-old woman died.
# home - Wednesday 7 December, 2011
# Stimulus
# Stimulus
The move comes one day after Finance Minister Michael Noonan announced a range of measures in the Budget encouraging people to buy homes.
# home - Monday 14 November, 2011
# Nice Gaff
From The Daily Edge
# Nice Gaff
The four-bedroomed house overlooking Dalkey Sound includes tidal swimming pool, sauna and steam rooms, private jetty and private cinema – of course.
# home - Friday 11 November, 2011
# Gaza
# Gaza
The remaining activists had been detained by Israeli authorities after attempting to break the blockade of Gaza.
# home - Monday 3 October, 2011
# House Prices
Daft.ie and MyHome .ie have released their latest figured for house prices in the third quarter of the year…