You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Some of the drawings by Samuel Little of his murder victims. FBI
FBI
Explainer: How was the 'most prolific serial killer' in US history not convicted for over 40 years?
Little has been serving a life sentence for the murder of three women since 2014.
11.50am, 8 Oct 2019
A MAN WHO confessed to the murders of 93 women in the US has been labelled the most prolific serial killer in the country’s history, but how did he get away with it for so long?
Samuel Little claims to have murdered 93 people, mostly women, between 1970 and 2005.
In 2014, the 79-year-old was jailed for life for the murder of three women with no possibility of parole. He has been in jail in Texas ever since.
Why did it take more than 40 years for him to be caught and prosecuted?
What did he do?
In November 2018, Little confessed to the murders of 90 people across the US, which has since increased to 93 people over a 35 year period.
Federal crime analysts believe all of his confessions are credible and officials have been able to verify 50 of the confessions so far. Little says he strangled all of his victims.
Many of his victims were originally deemed as having overdosed, died accidentally or died of undetermined causes. Some bodies have not yet been found.
What is his history?
Little moved around a lot during his life and had his first run-in with the law in 1956.
The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) said there are “clear signs of a dark, violent streak” among his charges for shoplifting, fraud, drugs, solicitation and breaking and entering.
Little had been charged with killing women in Mississippi and Florida in the 1980s, but escaped indictment in Mississippi and conviction in Florida.
He had previously served sentences for assaulting a woman in Missouri and assaulting and falsely imprisoning a woman in San Diego.
Some of Little's drawings of the women he killed. FBI
FBI
How did he not get caught sooner?
Little confessed to 90 murders in 2018 after already spending four years in prison for the murder of three women.
The main reasons to explain the 44-year-gap between his first murder and his first murder prosecution are the fact that his victims were mainly marginalised black women, his killing methods were often undetectable and he travelled around the country a lot, never staying too long in one place.
Little more often than not chose to kill marginalised and vulnerable black women, many of whom were involved in prostitution or were drug addicts. Some of his victims were male and some were white.
His method of killing didn’t always leave obvious signs of homicide. He was a former competitive boxer, and as a result he was able to stun or knock out his victims with a powerful punch before strangling them, a method he used frequently.
As this doesn’t leave any stab marks or bullet wounds, many of these deaths were attributed to other causes.
DNA profiling wasn’t used as part of law enforcement in the 1970s and early 1980s. DNA analysis developed over time, but the FBI say that because many victims were prostitutes, this complicated the ability of police to gather telling physical evidence.
“For many years, Samuel Little believed he would not be caught because he thought no one was accounting for his victims,” FBI crime analyst Christie Palazzolo said on the FBI website.
“Even though he is already in prison, the FBI believes it is important to seek justice for each victim – to close every case possible.”
The bodies of some of his alleged victims have not yet been found. Some victims have not yet been identified and a few of his confessions have not been corroborated by law enforcement yet.
How was he caught?
Little was arrested at a homeless shelter in Kentucky in 2012 before he was extradited to California facing drug charges.
Once there, DNA evidence linked him to three cold cases which eventually lead to his murder conviction. All three women had been beaten and strangled and their bodies had been left in an alley, a skip and a garage.
When a background check was run on Little, the FBI found an “alarming” pattern and many links to other murders around the country.
The man asserted his innocence throughout the murder trial, even as many women testified about narrowly surviving similarly violent encounters over the years.
The FBI said Little is now in poor health and will likely remain in the prison in Texas until his death. The organisation posted an extensive piece on their website on 6 October seeking assistance connecting victims to Little’s confessions.
The FBI also said Little’s recollection of dates and the exact clothing worn by victims is not always accurate, but potential links should not be dismissed by these factors. He has drawn pictures of many victims which may help with their identification.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
A knee jerk reaction like this is madness, we need to protest. Show the government we want enforcement of the laws we already have rather than more nanny state laws to catch out people on their way to work. If I’m in a stolen car all I need do is drive the wrong way down a duel carriageway and the Guards can’t follow for fear of loosing their job
@Stephen Allen: I read many years ago that Ireland is one of the most legislated countries in europe, apparently you dont know what law you’ve broken until your charged. Its the easy option to put laws in place and prosecute rather than enforce laws that are in place
McEntee, one of the most incompetent ministers in a generation. Not to mention how important the Justice portfolio is yet here she is. Completely out of her depth. She’s not alone though. Varadkar, Harris, Madigan etc. Woefully incompetent. No wonder our little island is banjaxed.
@Andrew Kenny: I have to agree worst in history….i would assume its also going to cost an absolute fortune to change all the speed limit signs around the country or am i wrong ?do they leave it to each county council to change the signs in their district?
@Andrew Kenny: wait for the sf bashers to come out. They cant be much worse than these guys whose parties have a long pedigree in mismanagement of the nation. Lets pretend its a night out and see if we can get screwed by someone other than the usual same old same.
@Sean Walsh: oh that’s actually a horrific taught because its actually true….that could be the future of Ireland…. only thing is she would probably do the same as she has done as a minister and only do it part-time between maternity leave and holidays stuff like that….so we might get a capable deputy running the show for at least 2 years of her tenure if she was in charge of the country….
Something strange about this person McEntee.
She has the aura of someone who has been compromised. Comes across as an automaton, no soul, just a monotonous programmed response to every question as if she does not fully comprehend her ministerial brief and is preoccupied with trying to remember the script her advisors have given her
She’s an inept malleable appointee ideal in modern political circles.
I would imagine that if an advisor playing a practical joke told her that anarchy was to be the new establishment approach to social order she’d stand before the cameras and repeat the same.
She hasn’t a clue what’s going on.
A blanket lowering speed limits is a knee jerk reaction. If people are going to break the current limits, they will break the new ones. Enforcement is the real issue. Once that is sorted, then review the speed limits and adjust as needed, both up and down. Until then they are wasting time!
I’m curious to know, if accidents causing death are up or down? A single bus crash causing 70 deaths is a completely different situation to 70 single vehicle deaths. Are there more accidents, or just more passengers in the vehicles, in those accidents?
“These are the facts that are emerging”… they’re not exactly emerging. They’ve been known since cars needed to be tested, but a great soundbite nonetheless! No mention of why as usual.
@Thesaltyurchin: the nebulus facts that only the relevant minister gets to see. We just have to go on blind faith that our government are doing whats right and we’ve seen how thats worked out for us. No imagination in the top echelons of our state just dumbing down reactionary tactics, sound bytes and brute force tactics that treat the citizens like children instead of treating us like we have a brain
“Legislation takes time and unfortunately, it comes down to making sure that you make the right decision. I know he’s talking about reducing speed limits in certain areas. That’s borne by facts,” she said.”
What are these facts exactly?
No question, some driver see the speed limit not as such, but a target. That’s down to driving behaviour.
How do they get the numbers and come to the conclusion that recent peak in fatal accidents is down to speed?
If a car is hitting a wall at 80km/h, passengers died, is speed automatically the cause,
because nobody can explain what happened in the car, that might have cause this accident?
@Wolfgang Bonow:
You are assuming this is about road safety ? It’s all about the $$$, nothing more. The placement of the cameras shows that. In the UK they put cameras on dangerous roads and inform drivers, here we put them on the safest roads and hide them behind bushes. Ching Ching.
@Regular John:
I’ve just had a vision of a 15 year old in a black hoody tailgating me on a battery powered scooter… Frustrated by my slow speed he’s flashing a hand held torch into my rear view mirror (to compensate for not having headlights), before overtaking me and giving me the finger as he overtakes at 35 km/h ! It’s on the way folks !
Ffg messaging systems out of kilter.. ff action taken by Christmas. Fg indefinite time frame… No wonder we get feck all done correctly or on time in Ireland. They have ruled the roost for a century and they still can’t coordinate their messages. Government by sound byte.
This is the sort of window dressing governance I deplore, trying to take easy wins just to give the illusion that you’re doing something. It’s all too common in our low rent politicians, I guess you get the idiots you idiotically vote for!
Not a peep from SF lately, they know the governors are doing more damage to themselves than SF could anyway.
If folks won’t stick to the current limits, what makes anyone think lower limits will be effective? Nonsense!
@Chutes: A reformed Chutes, pleasure to witness and behold. You see, common sense always prevails, it just needs to be dragged out of folk with sheer force. Welcome to the party pal.
Lowering speed limits won’t stop speeders. If they can travel 100km+ on a road then they will do so regardless of the speed limit in place. All this will do is punish the vast majority of sensible drivers. Encourage people to buy dashcams, set up a database for reporting bad driving and increase punishments for offenders.
What ever happened to the announcement by RSA last January that all school road’s were to have 30 km speed limits imposed starting the 1st off June last ???.
any idea how fast you were….ooh howiya minister, thanks for sorting out that with the bins btw. a ticket? nah yer grand there. right you are…say hello to the mrs for me.
Speed is not the issue. 40mph on open roads is dangerous. It will cause more overtaking and that will cause more accidents. Single car accidents are caused by lack of concentration and not paying enough attention to the road. Lowering speed limit won’t help that. What needed is educate people of the dangers of not paying enough attention to the road
Danny Healy Rea says drunk driving is ok his brother says fast driving at 80k ph is ok on country roads is fine as long as the hedges are cut don’t know who to believe
@Fran Riley: In 1974, the drink driving limit went from 24 pints to 12 pints, and people took to the streets protesting. It looks like the Kerry men are still living in that decade, but they know their audience. Yes, that was pints, not points. The law was changed at europes insistance..
Can’t or won’t bring legislation,quickly,because it has to go through ,both the Dail and Shanad,yet they were able to nationalise the banks,a couple of years ago,overnight,pull the other one Minister,every time I see her on TV,it’s like looking at something created by AI
This woman said on morning Ireland that legislation takes time and can’t be done overnight. They didn’t take long to pass legislation to make sure she was entitled to her ministerial pension Entitlement accruing while she was out on maternity leave on full pay and keeping her as minister without portfolio. Of course if it doesn’t benefit a minister or TD it’s going to take time
2y
Sep 8th 2023, 4:41 PM
It’s more Gardai we need not lower speed limits and also a more up to date Driving test as the level of drivers out there is just shocking these days… a new speed limit will fix nothing they’re some bunch of clowns in that Government
Legality vs Reality: Could Western leaders face consequences for complicity in genocide?
David MacRedmond
5 hrs ago
US Immigration
Former IRA member self-deports from US over fears of detention under Trump administration
6 hrs ago
ires reit
Ireland's biggest landlord sells 16 apartments for €6.6m and welcomes new rental regulations
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say