You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Transport Minister Paschal Donohoe at today's launch. He won't be personally checking people's tyres, bar this one.

Don't check your tyres? Here's how to get it done for free

The RSA has warned that people are risking their safety.

EIGHT IN TEN motorists check the air pressure of their tyres every six months or more often, with three in ten doing so at least once a month.

However, one in ten people only do this once a year or less.

These figures are from a survey carried out by the Road Safety Authority (RSA).

The organisation questioned 1,000 motorists and found that eight out of ten (79%) drivers know how to check the air pressure of their tyres and seven in ten (72%) know how to check the tread depth.

One in ten people (22%) stated that they check tread depth at least once per month.

Male drivers who took part in the survey were much more likely to state they knew how to do each of these checks, compared to female drivers.

Younger motorists (aged under 24 and 25-34) were more likely than any other age group to have bought part-worn tyres in the past.

In support of Irish Road Safety Week, which begins today, Irish Tyre Industry Association (ITIA) members will be providing free tyre checks to motorists at participating garages.

Moyagh Murdock, Chief Executive of the RSA, said:

We are concerned with the level of part worn tyres being used on vehicles, some are on sale for as little as 10 euro. When you consider that tyres are your only contact with the road, you really have to ask yourself is this the value you place on your family’s life?

Chief Superintendent Mark Curran added:

“Tyres are the only part of your vehicle that separate you from the road so it is critical that they are in roadworthy condition at all times. We would encourage everyone to avail of the free tyre check next week and ensure they are up to standard, particularly as winter approaches.”

Read: Powerful road safety ad shows a split second is all it takes

Read: ‘Stop, sip, sleep’: New ad targets drivers who nod off at the wheel

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute Jamie Jj Tobin
    Favourite Jamie Jj Tobin
    Oct 1st 2015, 11:50 AM

i usually give a passing garda car the finger…. they follow me immediately stop me and give my car a full check lights tires even check me for asthma by blowing into their breath testing device….. the gards are sound.

Mute Al Fonso
    Favourite Al Fonso
    Oct 1st 2015, 12:40 PM

And if you discuss your recent encounters with their mothers you can also get a free rectal examination.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Oct 1st 2015, 12:16 PM

There’s an easy way to check your tyres.. There’s a little marker between the groves of the tyres. When that is level with the thread of your tyres it’s time to get new ones..

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Oct 1st 2015, 4:41 PM

NCT guys say 3mm, Rules of the Road say 1.6mm…. who do you listen to!?!

Mute KEV
    Favourite KEV
    Oct 1st 2015, 4:45 PM

It’s advised you change them
    At 3mm. Depending on the marker your looking at. Some are set at 4m and 2m for different European markets. The budget tyres tend to mark at 1.6. NCT also advise to change any tyres older than 6 years.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Oct 1st 2015, 11:55 AM

Also those who think they are doing right by replacing them only to stick cheep Chinese ditch finders on the car. Don’t scrimp on tyres folks, it’s not worth it.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 1st 2015, 11:58 AM

Part worn tyres are absolutely fine if you know what brand you want before you go in to get them fitted. Get a good brand, check them before fitting, and it’s fine. Go in blind, and they’ll give you any old shite that comes to hand.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Oct 1st 2015, 1:08 PM

Only problem is you don’t know the history of the tyre. I personally wouldn’t risk a part worn of any brand.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Oct 1st 2015, 1:26 PM

Why the hell is vat @23% applied to car tyres..they should be zero rated in the interest of safety..

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Oct 1st 2015, 1:38 PM

Same way they apply VAT and VRT to safety equipment in a car. In fact if you import a car that has optional extras fitted like traction control, lane departure warning, auto assist breaking, radar controlled cruise control, additional airbags you’ll be hit with a higher VRT bill as well as paying the higher rate of tax on those extras. Crazy, agreed that safety equipment should be vat free to encourage more people to get them fitted.

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Oct 1st 2015, 4:42 PM

Sure if you buy a second hand car you’re inheriting part worn tyres.

Mute KEV
    Favourite KEV
    Oct 1st 2015, 4:49 PM

Most partworns are imported from Europe where you have a 4mm legal limit in some countries and have to have a winter set of tyres. Your a fool thinking part worns are safe. It’s an economic misnomer that your saving money. As for “Chinese ditchfinders”. Look into grip and fuel economy ratings on all new tyres sold within Europe. It’ll surprise you. It shocked the premium manufacturers

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Oct 1st 2015, 6:40 PM

That’s nonsense. They were removed for a reason.

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Oct 1st 2015, 6:48 PM

The Chinese manufacturers lie on the tyre performance stickers required by law on all new tyres.

Mute KEV
    Favourite KEV
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:21 PM

I’ve been working in this industry for 26 years. They’re all tested to EU safety standards. Educate yourself

Mute KEV
    Favourite KEV
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:26 PM

1. The majority of second hand tyres are winter tyres. Reason I know is I inspected independent garages on behalf of the ministry of transport before moving back to Ireland

2. The reason I know for a fact all manufacturers tyres are checked for EU standards is the noise decibel warning on the label. In many countries in Europe that is part of their NCT/mot.

Any queries contact me directly.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 1st 2015, 11:41 AM

The cynic in me will say you’ll be told the change them…no matter how good or bad they may be.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 1st 2015, 11:56 AM

I don’t believe the survey one way or the other. No way imo, do people check tyre pressure properly. They may look at the tyre or give it a kick, but I can;t see them actually checking pressure. Most people I know don;t even check the oil that regularly, nor a mind say tyre pressure.

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    Oct 1st 2015, 1:29 PM

I check mine at lease once a month when I wash the car.

Mute Sum Yung Guy
    Favourite Sum Yung Guy
    Oct 1st 2015, 3:41 PM

I check mine when im in the shower.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 1st 2015, 11:41 AM

It absolutely amazes me to see people neglecting the tyres on their car. As the man says – it is the only part of the car in contact with the road.

Mute John Rowan
    Favourite John Rowan
    Oct 1st 2015, 12:05 PM

You haven’t seen my car Reg, the feckin exhaust is hanging off it!!

Mute Alice Caffrey
    Favourite Alice Caffrey
    Oct 1st 2015, 1:22 PM

Am I the only one sick to death looking at this idiots face? He’s the king of photo opportunities. The whole summer was full photos of his less than pleasing face

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Oct 1st 2015, 12:29 PM

Tyres are a fun way to gamble as well. If getting a taxi with 3 friends, allocate a tyre to each patron. I recommend front passenger = front left tyre, back left passenger = back left tyre, middle back = back right tyre and back right passenger = drivers tyre. Fiver a patron. Upon arrival at destination ask taxi man not to drive off. Examine each tyre. Whoevers nozzle is closest to the ground wins the loot. Be warned though, some taxi drivers get alarmed as they think they are about to get robbed or not paid. But once taxi man paid everyone has a good laugh.

Oct 1st 2015, 12:51 PM

We are tyred of this government lol.

Mute Mark Railton
    Favourite Mark Railton
    Oct 1st 2015, 6:00 PM

“One in ten people (22%)” Top quality math from The Journal there

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Oct 1st 2015, 12:28 PM

where can we find the list of participants

Mute Peter Fleming
    Favourite Peter Fleming
    Oct 1st 2015, 2:06 PM

There’s a link in the article ” participating garages”

http://www.itia.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=102&Itemid=63

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Oct 1st 2015, 6:34 PM

Do the Rsa think everyone driving a car is thick… Most people who risk driving on bad tyres usually cannot afford to replace them. . like everything else related to motoring nothing is cheap.and now yet again were being forced to get high visibility jackets and first aid kits. .While I agree first aid kits are important. you should not be forced to have it.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Oct 1st 2015, 7:31 PM

forced to get first aid and high visibility jackets? I’ve been under a rock. what the story there

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:34 AM

Has anyone ever gone to a place that sells tyres and asked them to check the tyres and try say no they’re all fine but that’ll be 5/10euro for the check. It’s always free 52 weeks a year. Raise awareness but to says its free this week only is false

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Oct 1st 2015, 1:46 PM

That is all nonsense, hot air coming out of a Quango, the RSA. Between them and that know all, Conor Faughnan we are being driven astray. Faughnan loves to hear himself talking, mostly Bullsh.t.A few years back he was reading out on AA Roadwatch, now he seems to be an expert on everything to do with road traffic. They all talk far too much, it is mostly hot air.