You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FROM WHERE YOU parked your car to the password for your Facebook account, there are a lot of things you have to remember each day.
So if you are having trouble keeping some of these details sharp, chances are you’re not alone.
But there is a group of people whose main goal is to make what you see and hear stick. These ‘memory athletes‘ travel the world to showcase their skills — and a group of them are set to compete in the Extreme Memory Tournament on 24-26 June in San Diego, California .
These memory champions have some great advice for the rest of us. Here are five simple strategies for remembering things you’ve learned.
1. Create a memory palace
The memory palace is based on the idea that our spatial memories are much stronger than our memories for specific words or objects. You can probably easily recall, for example, where in your home you store your Christmas decorations or your office supplies, says World Memory Champion Alex Mullen. And you can apply this innate ability to other harder-to-recall things, like a list of groceries.
Try it: Take your list (let’s say it includes apples, paper towels, bread and milk) and, as you walk through your home in your mind, create a scene of each grocery item in each space.
In the living room, for example, you might imagine a group of kids bobbing for apples, while in the dining area you picture each furniture item covered in rolls of paper towels. Next you approach your bedroom, where you picture a giant laying on your bed while snacking on loaves of bread. In the bathroom, you see the sink and bathtub overflowing with milk.
2. Think of a scene
We form visual memories much like how a camera records an image: What we see gets imprinted, kind of like a photograph, in a specific set of brain cells in our hippocampus, deep inside the brain. This process is called encoding.
The reason we misplace things like our keys, wallet, phone or car so often is because we store so many similar versions of those memories. Think of how many times you’ve parked your car or thrown your keys somewhere. Your brain has encoded thousands of those memories. Over time, they begin to blur.
To improve your memory, you have to be able to keep those recollections apart. Next time you set down your keys, try creating a precise scene in your head, suggests US Memory Champion Joshua Foer. Take note of the surface on which you’re resting it. Is it wood, steel or concrete? Red or blue? Is there a photograph or an object nearby that you can keep in mind?
3. Establish an emotional connection
Having a sense of connection with an object or a place can help us remember details about it.
In a recent review, Harvard and MIT scientists compared how well people could remember photographs against how well they could recall the colour of a few simple squares.
Overall, people were far better at remembering details about the photos than they were at recalling details about the squares. Researchers think this discrepancy has to do with people’s ability to link things in the photos with their own feelings or memories, and thereby keep the memory sharper.
4. Try a mnemonic
If you’re trying to remember words in a particular order, try making a word out of each of the item’s first letters. One infamous example is using the name Roy G Biv to remember the colors of the spectrum (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet).
“Mnemonics are not tools for learning per se, but for creating mental structures that make it easier to retrieve what you have learned,” Peter Brown, Henry Roediger and Mark McDaniel wrote in the book Make It Stick: The Science of Successful Learning.
5. Connect the new thing to older things
Someone told to recall a man who is a baker is more likely to hold on to that memory than someone told to remember a person with the last name Baker, Foer says in a TED talk.
Why?
“The name Baker doesn’t actually mean anything to you,” Foer says.
It is entirely untethered from all of the other memories floating around in your skull. But the common noun baker, we know bakers. Bakers wear funny white hats. Bakers have flour on their hands.
“The more you can explain about the way your new learning relates to prior knowledge,” the authors of Make It Stick write, ”the stronger your grasp of the new learning will be, and the more connections you create that will help you remember it later”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
What about the foreign nationals that have been here 10, 15 years, have worked paid taxes, own a house, have their familes here, should they just be told even though you contributed…you dont get anything?
Quick question for Pen Name: what about Irish nationals getting welfare in other states when they have moved there in the hopes of making a better life but falling on hard times?
@cecily, it’s for each country to set its own policy.
There is so much failed groupthink around in Ireland and here’s this issue with a presumed consensus, yet it has never been discussed. Immigration or racism is the extent of the choice.
What exactly do Roma gypsies do for instance (beg)? Are they inherently good for Ireland just because Irish people emigrate? How much does welfare for immigrants cost? Are they really net contributors? No one talks about questions like this. The thinking is very shallow. Mass immigration is a another celtic tiger legacy that deserves fuller debate.
Might have taken seriously until I saw who Mr Taft represents. Given everyone knows someone claiming for example single mothers allowance while living with a partner who is working, I think we all know it is well more than 26 million Mr Taft!
They why doesn’t everyone who knows someone claiming OPFP inform the Department of this. We are all complaining about people doing it, but not doing anything about it! The point is is that it is not 600million that the Government claims it to be.
Surely the first things to state clearly are that fraud is wrong and fraud must be stamped out. The message I get from this almost apologetic piece is that if the fraud isn’t 600million, well it’s not too bad then. Fraud diluted is still fraud.
Adam you didnt read it properly if thats what you take from the article. The article points out the media & political witchhunt to demonise social welfare recipients by branding them as frauds in order to justify welfare cuts is based on a lie. The lie that widespread fraud is costing the state hundreds of millions of euros every year. Its not. Its not anywhere near that figure but it suits business interests and the politicians to pretend otherwise to divert attention away from the real causes of our economic crisis
Heres another article showing where the real fraud in welfare is committed. By the Department itself in refusing genuine claimants their entitlements
“It suits a certain agenda which wants to soften up public opinion for social welfare cuts to claim that hundreds of millions are being lost to frauds and cheats. We have had television investigations, newspaper headlines, attention-seeking politicians all claiming massive fraud.”
Can’t argue with that. A few years ago, I used to work with an Ógra FF gombeenling who thought it was great craic to rip on “dole scroungers”, even as the banking fiasco was starting to amp up. Always had some “fact” or anecdote from the tabloids at the ready.
Interestingly, he wasn’t too shy about heading down the dole office himself when redundancy came his way.
600 million is just the tip of the Iceberg, I have seen couples living together with the mother claiming single parents, the father getting tax relief because he ‘doesn’t’ live with her yet when their youngest son turned 18 they got married the following week, this must me the only country in the world where land lords can claim a medical card and all the freebies that go with that. the list of fraud goes on and on.
Yeah you have a point, but when our elected representative’s lie and attempt to use the media to twist things that’s fraud on a whole new level, in other country’s they’d be made resign for that.
Fraud is fraud, a lie is a lie, theft is theft but when a Minister of State makes up a total line of bullshit in order to hoodwink an entire country , nah he should be called to account for that and loose well paid job.
Im sorry but that just doesent cut it with me, you hit the nail on the head with ELECTED REPRESENTATIVES therefore we have the choice. We need to lose the mentality that all polititians are liars and realise that the vast majority are there to fight for what they believe is right. Fraud is fraud no matter how you dress it up and at the end of the day, two wrongs don’t make a right!
The truth of it Karl is that you only suspect, because you do not know the situations of the people you accuse of fraud! You see them on welfare and automatically see them getting freebies and are jealous and begrudging.
I am on jobseekers as a family with 2 children we get 370 plus 20 fuel allwance we live in social housing and get NO rent allowance, I would love to know who is getting these so called big payments, I was overpaid by FIS even though I rang them 3 times it took them 9mths after the payments stopped to send me a letter and they take 5 euro out of my jobseekers to pay it back ( I have no problems with that I know I was overpaid) but I would be included in the stats of fraud even though I tried to get the payments stopped but they have no record of my calls. not everyone on socail welfare is out to con the system, but the more honest you are the more you are made to feel you have done wrong.
That sounds grand if your not paying any rent, about the same as the average industrial wage of €36k less tax, €31k. Assuming estimated rent value @€200 per week, total earning equivalent is €390 x 52 = €20,280 plus rent value at €200 x 52 = €10,400. Total take-home €30,680 vs. €31,200.
Eoin you ignore the fact that briewee is in fact paying rent. Also similar family on the wages you say would get family income supplement weekly also. Fuel allowance is not paid all year round (32 weeks) so that figure you gave is wrong also. Short term unemployed and people on illness benefit do not get fuel allowance either.
I am far from convinced by this article. I would regard myself as left-leaning, but for the life if me I can’t understand why the far-left align themselves with cheats and fraudsters. It does their cause no good and futher entrenches and polarises their right-wing opponents. More Brendan Ogle realism, although short lived, is urgently required from our union comrades.
I do think that a certain level of fraud is inevitable, and to be honest I think those people who think the dole is a living are only fooling themselves – it’s not much of a life that they’re signing themselves on for, there’s more to going out working than just getting paid. Of course it does happen, and I wish it didn’t.
But, at least welfare money stays in circulation, so benefits all of us in a roundabout way. Rent allowance, not so much, granted.
My real problem is where politicians of a certain stripe start going on as if welfare fraud is the greatest fiscal scourge afflicting this country. Ignoring the multi-billion Anglo et al elephant in the balance sheet.
Tbh, right at the moment I think dole fraud is the least of our worries.
Does seem like a very high budget alright … what percentage of the total department budget goes on payments, do you know? And what else is covered under Social Protection aside from the dole, children’s allowance and rent allowance?
Who on earth gets €40,000 per year in welfare?? How the hell do they manage that?? Maybe with a few dependent children..
Anyone I know on disability or jobseekers who is getting rent allowance is getting max €230 per week, that’s less than €12,000 per year..
Something there doesn’t add up..
As Niall asked, what percentage of that is welfare payments, and what percentage is other costs, and what makes up these other costs? Because if you could make €40,000 on the scratcher I agree, it would be worth your while, but it’s not.. It’s a meagre existence with money worries daily. Anyone living comfortably on welfare is probably getting income from somewhere else or running up huge debt.
Niall, rent allowance is applied for at the HSE with the Community Welfare Officer.. As are emergency payments and family income supplement, a few others too, I can’t remember the whole list.
The HSE cover medical cards and the Fair Deal Scheme too, all of these things could be considered forms of social protection – I wonder how many of them fall into this budget?
I would imagine some fall under the healthcare budget, but who knows where they draw the line, I had always assumed it was the dole you went to about rent allowance..
Really, you raise a valid point, what exactly does the social protection budget encompass?
Much of the social welfare budget goes on payments to people who are working, children’s allowance, sick pay, family income supports ers and it also includes the salaries of all social protection department staff.
People who are not counted as unemployed but receive benefit, carers, sick, disability, widows, guardian, childbenefit etc etc etc. Not all the money goes to the people counted as unemployed.
Shanti, FIS payments are paid now by welfare and form part of their budget. Also all payments dealt with by the Community Welfare Officers come from the welfare budget also. Wages and the cost of running the department is also included in their budget
Actually, it’s:
Social Welfare Budget = €20.8bn
Number of beneficiaries* = 2.2m
Average value per person = €9,566
* Beneficiaries include social welfare recipients and their dependants. If you prefer to just include the recipients:
Number of recipients = 1.43m
Average value per person = €14,579
Of course, these figures include Child Benefit, old age pensions, widows and orphans payments and pensions, as well as unemployment payments, one parent family payments, wages to staff, etc., etc., etc.
the social welfare budget also includes Child Benefit which every child in the country gets. So anyone who has a child, should be included in the number of people on welfare.
Seriously overheard on a Dublin street this evening. Lovely looking pregnant girl caressing her belly, says to her friend (it’s as simple as this, get pregnant they will give you a house rental and you don’t have to work ever again) . We are being so abused with our easy t o access welfare.
Rent allowance is the biggest fraud of all, couples with one partner working and claiming single mothers can get up to €930 a month. The well is running dry, BTW when I phoned social to report a definite case of fraud I was told it was against the data protection act to discuss the case.
The single parent issue may be dealy with by reducing the child’s age from 13 to 7 and just so you know the department has logged your call and it will be fully investigated and benefits will be cut off if necessary or if there is any doubt about entitlement.
Seeing as this girl is pregnant, give her 6 months and lets see if she has the same thing to say! RA is the worst system I agree with you there. But it’s not because “Single mothers” get 930 a month for it, the Landlords get the money. So we are giving landlords all over the country money from the welfare system to pay for their mortgages. That is what is wrong with RA. If the Government gave all the NAMA property to people on the housing list then we wouldn’t need the RA system.
Dave, you are so right, I feel so helpless, on one hand not wanting to make life any harder for the real decent unemployed but seeing the amount of fraud by others using and abusing the system I think maybe it’s time to cut all welfare and start all over again with real means testing.
Would someone in the trade union movement ever state unequivocally that no one on welfare should be ‘earning’ more than the basic industrial wage? Not much to ask. There simply aren’t jobs for unskilled and semi-skilled men with three, four and more children that can compete with the whole welfare package.
No they would not. There are jobs that exist, and people may be competing with their kids for employment. What example does it set for them to have no job rather than having one. Sure some people may only get paid half what they used to get, but its better to work than go bankrupt. I’d like to say that there would be benefits such as increased social activity from doing so, but at least you would be kept busy.
Use fingerprint sign on! If you want “payment” use your print will stop all fraud! If someone has a problem ‘PC’ groups don’t expect being paid by state money!! Simple idea to an easy problem this will save a massive amount! If ppl can’t accept that build a tent and claim away!!
The truth about welfare it is regenerating monies. You will find that welfare people don’t save, the cash is pumped right back into the system, a lot of it on high tax products.
Unlike the irish economist (professors of hindsight) that can’t see past the next budget cuts, the demands from the small business man and the screams for social housing will far outweigh the 600m bandied about.
Well we should all be getting welfare monies then as it would benefit local economies. Dear ministers for finance and social protection, if you give me loads of benefits, I solemnly promise to spend it in local businesses and not multinationals, imports or the Internet, thereby preserving the multiplier effect.
agree whole heartedly with that reada.all on welfare should be playing a vital role in society – if they physically can. in relation to your sexism remarks you’re the one being inflammatory-admittedly there was one sweeping statement about ‘women like this keeping legs closed’. but in the case being referred to there was no sign of any of the 6 different fathers.true they have a responsibility to their children-but men can walk away, women cannot. there is no sign of ‘lessons being learned’ by their mother either. and why should there be? taking into account all the benefits previously explained.read posts properly before jumping on your soap box.in no uncertain terms was i referring to single mothers countrywide
Regardless of whether the figure of €600 million is right or not the figure I am interested in is how much will it cost us to investigate the alleged fraud.
thats the way to go tearing one another up if you are unlucky to be on social welfare through job loss hold your head up you paid your bits & bobs through the years and what you paid will never be returned to you in your hour of need as long as its abused at the top. the lords of our manor spend more on bottled water then you get to feed your family.they will continue to cut for as long as you allow them.
In your opinion taggers. In reality there are very few. This country has to create a fairer society where those on social welfare play a part in society too. It is a challenge to those on the left as well as those on the right but a challenge worthy of an attempt.
Whining about unmarried mothers and not mentioning unmarried fathers is inflammatory and sexist.
'A good deal for everybody': US and EU reach 15% tariff deal after Trump-von der Leyen meeting
Updated
53 mins ago
Listeria
Various branded spinach and mixed leaves recalled due to detection of listeria
1 hr ago
Croagh Patrick
8 priests respond to Reek Sunday callout as some opt for earlier climb due to All-Ireland clash
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 214 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 149 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 195 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 158 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 177 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 111 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 116 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 65 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 122 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 94 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 67 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 116 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 103 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say