You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

VIDEO: Nazi-sympathiser who planned to blow up mosques plays Pro Evo in an SS hat

…while drinking a brimful of white wine.

GM Police / YouTube

THE ABOVE VIDEO shows Ian Charles Forman who was today sentenced to 10 years in a prison for planning to blow up a number of mosques in the Merseyside area.

Forman was convicted under the UK’s Terrorism Act 2006 after police found chemicals, a crude homemade improvised explosive device (IED) and research on a number of mosques in his home.

Greater Manchester Police provided the video following Forman’s conviction which was uncovered as part of their investigations.

The video, which was filmed by Forman himself, show him playing a football computer game, believed to be an edition of Pro Evolution Soccer, whilst wearing a replica SS hat and drinking wine.

Forman first came to the attention of the authotities in April 2013 while he worked as a receptionist.

Colleagues found that he had been researching chemicals and explosive substances online during work hours. When confonted about it he claimed his research was for his hobby of making homemade fireworks.

But colleagues contacted police and a search of his house on Shavington Avenue in Birkenhead was conducted.

There they found found chemicals including potassium nitrate, sulphur and charcoal, a crude IED and a replica Nazi uniform.

Police say that in interviews Forman admitted having extreme right wing views in his youth but claimed he ‘no longer thought like that’.

Computers seized from his home showed a history of research into a number of Merseyside mosques, video clips showing Forman experimenting with explosives and an anti-Islam video he made.

“Thankfully, we will never know how far Forman was prepared to go in acting out his racist fantasies,” said Matt Findell, of the North West Counter-Terrorism Unit.

“Had he carried them out, his attacks could have caused considerable damage to both property and people at several Mosques.”

Read: Thieves dig 50ft tunnel into Tesco to steal cash from an ATM…and get away with it >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute Jon Gripper McKee
    Favourite Jon Gripper McKee
    May 1st 2014, 7:34 PM

In fairness, Germany were always a strong team in Pro Evo so I can understand the hat.

Mute Matelkat
    Favourite Matelkat
    May 1st 2014, 7:34 PM

I wonder did he have a girlfriend?!

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    May 1st 2014, 7:43 PM
    Mute Rob Mahony
    Favourite Rob Mahony
    May 1st 2014, 9:06 PM

why have one when you can have them all…

http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/nazi-girl

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    May 1st 2014, 10:05 PM

Why Mosques, I thought the Nazi’s didn’t like Jews?

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    May 2nd 2014, 3:07 AM

Too many honkys in da mix. What an invidious race of indifferent consumers and lip serving crackers!

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    May 1st 2014, 7:31 PM

If this was filmed after 2008, it is no wonder he turned to extremism……..only a mad man would play Pro Evo at this stage.

Mute Donal Costello
    Favourite Donal Costello
    May 1st 2014, 7:27 PM

Cue people claiming Pro Evo causes you to kill people….

Mute Jimbo
    Favourite Jimbo
    May 1st 2014, 7:30 PM

What’s pro evo?

Mute Gary McCabe
    Favourite Gary McCabe

Well it kinda does. Me and my mates kill each other whenever we play against each other

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    May 1st 2014, 7:39 PM

@gary throw in a few cans of lager & one or two of your most competitive mates & the house will be bloodbath come pub time lol.

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy

If he had played FIFA hed have turned out normal

Mute Nigel Sinnott
    Favourite Nigel Sinnott
    May 1st 2014, 11:10 PM

Pro evolution soccer, it’s a soccer game

Mute Gary McCabe
    Favourite Gary McCabe
    May 1st 2014, 11:22 PM

@Graham Ah stop, we did that twice before and hell was on earth, and it was in my front room. We all agreed to never play after the first time, but you get hooked. There’s already planning for a World Cup session, not in my house though, my mam hasn’t forgiven me lol

Mute Simon King
    Favourite Simon King
    May 1st 2014, 11:40 PM

It’s a soccer game on Xbox and play station

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant

So many questions. Such as: if you were thinking of blowing up mosques, wouldn’t it be a good idea not to film yourself with an SS hat on? And: if the mosques were in Merseyside and his house was in Merseyside, why exactly were Greater Manchester Police releasing the video? And: when did Islam become a race?

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    May 1st 2014, 7:41 PM

And why wasn’t he playing fifa? Much better game.

Mute Gav K
    Favourite Gav K
    May 1st 2014, 7:30 PM

Some seriously deluded people out there who need to get with the modern world… I mean who plays Pro Evo in this day and age!!

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone
    May 1st 2014, 7:35 PM

The press release by the GMP seems a bit bizarre, if he recorded a statement if intent yeah sure, but playin pro evo and lighting a banger, wtf??

Mute Carlos Garcia
    Favourite Carlos Garcia
    May 2nd 2014, 8:18 AM

Agreed, if they’d wanted to show a video to justify search and seizure they should have shown something more visceral.

Mute Gav K
    Favourite Gav K
    May 1st 2014, 7:43 PM

My mate plays This Is Football wearing a KKK gown so this crac is more common than ya think

Mute Horgay H
    Favourite Horgay H
    May 1st 2014, 7:25 PM

What’s the whole Nazi sympathiser angle all about? What has that got anything to do with his intended crime to cause mayhem and kill innocent human beings?

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy
    May 1st 2014, 7:42 PM

He always picked the Germans apparently

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 8:00 PM

Nazi sympathisers are homicidal, evil and prone to look for opportunities to kill those who they consider to belong to inferior races. It is because he is a Nazi sympathiser that he planned to kill.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 8:57 PM

The only good Nazi is a Nazi in a box 6ft under.

Mute John Bransfield
    Favourite John Bransfield
    May 1st 2014, 7:48 PM

Considering Hitler had a lot of sympathy for Islam, I find it a bit hypocritical for Nazi’s to be targeting Mosques.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    May 1st 2014, 8:04 PM

Hitler regarded Arabs as some of the lowest of the low but, for his own purposes, granted Honorary Aryan status to the Grand Mufti of Jerusalem who collaborated with the Nazis in his attempts to impose a “final solution” on the Jews who lived in the British Mandate.

Mute Kev O Dowd
    Favourite Kev O Dowd
    May 1st 2014, 8:14 PM

Spot on Richard. Hilter also had a pact with USSR while his goons tortured and murdered German communists. He was a man to make a pact to benefit himself in the short term.

Mute Leonards
    Favourite Leonards
    May 1st 2014, 8:24 PM

True Richard, but then again he also used the Italians and French the Brittish And even the Irish, the truth is most country’s stood still, history repeats itself and always will.

Mute John Bransfield
    May 1st 2014, 8:27 PM

You don’y have to like Arab’s to like Islam. Hitler thought it was a tragedy that Charlemagne had managed to stop Muslims taking over Europe in the A.D 700′s because he thought the Arabs would die off in Europe’s cold climate and the Islamized “superior Aryan Germanic” people would create a Muslim Empire and destroy Christianity which was, unlike Islam, against his survival of the fittest ideas and too close to Judaism. It’s all on Wikipedia if you want to look it up.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    May 2nd 2014, 10:01 AM

Link please, John Bransfield. Thanks.

Mute John Bransfield
    May 2nd 2014, 4:41 PM

Just look up religious views of Adolf Hitler on Wikipedia.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    May 2nd 2014, 5:40 PM

Thank you John. Will read up on that tonight!

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    May 1st 2014, 9:00 PM

I have a feeling that hitler would have sent most of today’s neo nazis to concentration camps.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 9:03 PM

Nazis and neo Nazis are similar. They are evil, nasty and cowardly thugs and so are those who give them tacit support.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 11:23 PM

The concentration camps were in fact death camps and Hitler was a megalomaniac and psychopath as are those who seek to rehabilitate his memory.

Mute Neil Jackman
    Favourite Neil Jackman
    May 1st 2014, 8:36 PM

I bet he’s a right fecker for rage quitting.

Mute sydney shaw
    Favourite sydney shaw
    May 1st 2014, 7:56 PM

Nazi nerd, the only thing he’d blow is his load.

Mute The Mandarin
    Favourite The Mandarin
    May 1st 2014, 9:09 PM

Look I think most people agree that Fifa has the gloss, the bells and the whistles but Pro Evo is definitely for the football purist.

Mute Colm Mufc Connolly
    Favourite Colm Mufc Connolly
    May 2nd 2014, 12:44 AM

Nit since 09 pro evo has fallen so flat on its face it’s such a shame and im a big or evo mark but it just sucks now

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    May 1st 2014, 9:23 PM

Are sure ya can’t be hating the oul Muslims – sure they wouldn’t hurt a fly

Mute Brian Costigan
    Favourite Brian Costigan
    May 1st 2014, 7:53 PM

The main issue here is clear – why didn’t he just use a bigger wine glass?

Mute Nicole McCormack
    Favourite Nicole McCormack
    May 1st 2014, 8:31 PM

He should have went to Ukraine. He be very welcome by home US puppet regime in Kiev.

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith

Pro Evo broke my heart few times since 08 converted to the cult of Fifa

Mute Eámonn John Ó HAodha
    Favourite Eámonn John Ó HAodha
    May 1st 2014, 7:45 PM

Godwin’s Law

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    May 1st 2014, 9:49 PM

It hardly applies here.

Mute John Corcoran
    Favourite John Corcoran
    May 1st 2014, 8:19 PM

Apparently International Superstar Soccer Deluxe was a gateway drug for him…

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 7:54 PM

Fortunately his work colleagues informed the Police about his “research” .

I would say that the individual is not the brightest tool in the toolbox but he could have caused injury and death.

Mute ragnar daneskold
    Favourite ragnar daneskold
    May 1st 2014, 10:45 PM

Unless he was going to do a Sammy Copeland and buy in a few tons of fiireworks, or pop off to the local B&Q like any good soilder of Islam and stock up on fertilizer and a few gallons of hydrogen peroxide,he would have produced a few giant bangers the way he was going.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    May 1st 2014, 9:01 PM

That’s absolutely dreadful -I mean everyone knows Pro Evo is crap compared to FIFA! !
    He probably still uses Microsoft Explorer too!!
    What a Plonker!!

Mute John Bawn
    Favourite John Bawn
    May 1st 2014, 8:46 PM

If he was planning to destroy Churches, they would probably say ; ‘ a mis guided young man , but he has potential ‘ 3 years.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 1st 2014, 9:26 PM

I want to know where he bought the hat….

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 10:38 PM

Off your Dad

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 2nd 2014, 8:42 AM

Haha, okay Peter. You do understand I was only messing when I posted the original comment?!

Mute Conor O'Callaghan
    Favourite Conor O'Callaghan
    May 1st 2014, 7:44 PM

Kudos on the hashtag, Ronan.

Mute Niall Fish Bradley
    Favourite Niall Fish Bradley
    May 1st 2014, 11:31 PM

A bit harsh , especially since he had done nothing wrong

Mute Shane Ellis
    Favourite Shane Ellis
    May 1st 2014, 11:18 PM

0:43 Through on goal. Pressed circle instead of square.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 9:00 PM

He is a sick evil sod and will be unsafe in prison.

Mute ragnar daneskold
    Favourite ragnar daneskold
    May 1st 2014, 10:49 PM

Guess the Aryan Brotherhood will have a new member and he’ll learn there with them how to be a exellent killer when he comes out.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 1st 2014, 10:59 PM

It is more likely that a radicalised Muslim will kill him. His days are numbered. Eventually he will be killed unless kept in solitary confinement.

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    May 1st 2014, 8:53 PM

What a mupp!

Mute Bay Wanderers FC
    Favourite Bay Wanderers FC
    May 2nd 2014, 10:32 PM

Ah pro evo,the purists choice!plays like real ball,people too caught up in the big license to notice the shitty gameplay of fifa!

Mute Stephen Browner
    Favourite Stephen Browner
    May 2nd 2014, 6:27 PM

At least he’s not playing Fifa

Mute Barry Creed
    Favourite Barry Creed
    May 2nd 2014, 1:25 AM

Who has been to the Coventry conference? I don’t agree with that in the workplace!!