Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Tuesday 30 May 2023 Dublin: 16°C
Flickr This year's top stop, Hazehatch & Celbridge.
# choo choo choose you
Ireland's 'Best Train Station' has been named
A public vote decided the winner for 2014.

IF YOU’VE FIZZED through the train stations of Ireland over the last 12 months you may have thought, ‘What truly is Ireland’d best train station?’

Well wonder no more because those of you commuting through St. Brigid’s country will have seen this year’s winner standing head and shoulders above its rivals.

At an Iarnród Éireann awards ceremony in Dublin today, Hazelhatch & Celbridge beat competition from 142 railway stations to be named as Ireland’s ‘Best Train Station’ for 2014.

The Kildare station won the award after 15,000 people voted by way of online poll or in-station ballot box.

The awards are handed out annually and were in the headlines a number of  years ago when an online campaign was started to push for the dilapidated Broombridge station to win the award. The station has since undergone refurbishment.

Hazelhatch & Celbridge also won the award for Best Commuter Station while Malahide was named as best Dart station.

Westport, Mullingar and Killarney also won provincial awards.

Minister for Transport was present at the ceremony to present the awards to the winning station managers.

Read: Parachutist aims for Croke Park – but lands on railway tracks >

Read: Irish Rail numbers are up for the first time in years and One Direction helped make it happen >

Your Voice
Readers Comments