You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Bishop Monahan leading last year's blessing of the roads in 2024 Catholic Communications Office
Road Safety
Irish bishop decries road safety 'failures' ahead of 'blessing of the roads' ceremony
Bishop Fintan Monahan described the number of deaths as a “failure in both public policy and in our own personal driving behaviour”.
10.33am, 11 Jan 2025
AN IRISH BISHOP is pleading with road users to “take responsibility” and for families to have conversations with each other about road safety ahead of a ‘blessing of the roads’ ceremony tomorrow.
Bishop Fintan Monahan has described the number of deaths on Irish roads this year as a “national tragedy” and a “failure in both public policy and in our own personal driving behaviour”.
The issue garnered significant public attention last year as the government, Road Safety Authority and gardaí faced pressure to take measures to tackle the high numbers.
In a statement this morning, Bishop Monahan said there is an “urgent need for a collective effort to reduce these preventable deaths”.
“It is crucial that families take responsibility for road deaths by discussing road safety at home. Every loss of life on our roads is a tragedy that impacts not just the individuals, families and local communities directly, but our entire society,” he said.
“Once a leader in road safety standards, Ireland now has one of the fastest-growing road death rates in Europe,” he added.
“So many of these tragic fatalities are preventable, and an improvement requires constant care, attention, and vigilance from all road users: motorists, motorcyclists, cyclists, or pedestrians, as well as effective partnership with the relevant civic authorities.”
The bishop is due to pray for the protection of road users at a ‘blessing of the roads’ ceremony tomorrow after Mass at the Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul in Ennis, Co Clare.
He said that “the road safety record, both in the Republic and in the North, is of deep concern to me”.
“The pain felt by loved ones of those lost on roads is particularly acute as this loss of human life is entirely preventable.”
At the end of the year, RSA chief executive Sam Waide said a reduction in the number of fatalities from 181 in 2023 to 174 in 2024 was an “very modest but important step in reversing the high number of road deaths we’ve seen over the past two years”.
Minister of State with special responsibility for Road Safety James Lawless said his “department is focused on making our roads safer for everyone who uses them”, while Assistant Garda Commissioner Paula Hilman said gardaí have been “working around the clock every day of this year to help keep road users safe”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Can someone ask the Bishop why last years road blessing ceremony appears to have been a complete failure? Let’s discuss ways to improve road safety etc. without the voodoo nonsense. I’ll be outside my gate with a witch doctors rattle and some incense sticks later doing much the same thing, with similar results.
@honey badger: What harm badger? I don’t think there’s any need to be so condescending. He’s not forcing you to attend. And anything that can focus even one person’s mind is surely a good thing, no? Now go in peace my son and remember, no more impure thoughts. 2 Hail Mary’s and 3 Our Father’s should do the job. Yours ecumenically, Father Tony Curran CC.
@Anthony Curran: This is novel. The other day, you said that me calling you Fr. Tony implied you were a paedophile, and you said you reported the comment. Now it’s what harm and all the lolz. You’re an odd fellow.
@Anthony Curran: Are you still content to overlook paedophiles in your political party, which was why i called you Fr Tony in the first instance, Fr Tony?
@honey badger: I don’t overlook any paedophiles honey. You’re the one who implies I do. Child abuse is a heinous crime, wouldn’t you agree? But you seem to like making it party political, honey. Now that wouldn’t be anything to do with your dislike of Sinn Féin, would it honey? Ps if only you cared as much about the 17,000 little children who’ve been slaughtered by your Israeli friends. Then I and many others might take you seriously.
@Anthony Curran: Laughable, maybe you could talk to the Paedophiles in your Party about their impure thoughts. You are the classic SF flip flopper, Brits out, everyone else from around the world in, hate the Catholic church one post & defending them the next post, defending the Gardai one post & against the Free State in the next post. Maybe make up your mind who you are & what you are & you might get some respect.
@Anthony Curran: Of course. That’s why your refusal to condemn the party covering up and excusing child abuse/ protection issues struck me as being very similar to that which our own Catholic church has done for years. (Hence, calling you Fr Tony) It’s only party political, because it was your party doing the covering up and in this instance moving their senator into another jurisdiction with a sob story and their dishonesty around their press officer who was thankfully jailed.
Hamas, as the government of Gaza, started the war. Hamas, as the government of Gaza can stop the war they’ve brought on their people by surrendering and releasing the hostages. It could happen today. You and other “pro palestinians” should be screaming for it. Surprised ye don’t tbh.
@honey badger: I recall a former councillor that was arrested for not only having indecent images of children on his hard-drive but also engaging in human traffickng, those in glass houses, not to mention the church being allowed to get away with sexual, physical and emotional abuse because politicians ignored it. One member of Sinn Féin engaged in paedophilia, the Senator did not engage in grooming or sexual messages so you’d want to take a long look at your parties involvement in paedophilia before calling anyone else a paedophile.
@honey badger: You’re an apologist for genocide. More children blown to pieces today by your friends in Israel. Another school bombed. Hamas may be c.u.n.t.s but they’re in the halfpenny place compared to the genocidal Netanyahu regime.
@Peter Igloo: I’ve known 2 priests who were incredible individuals. Thoughtful, kind, erudite, and very interesting to talk with. Their institution is a disgrace, though.
@Peter Igloo: Many people in Ireland dislike Catholicism and the Catholic Church for reasons that really shouldn’t need explaining. This is not the same thing as hating Catholics as individuals. Or as a wise man once put it, Don’t hate the playas – hate the game!
@Peter Igloo: I see you’re making phoney comments on the LA fires also, with a new fake ID (‘REAL Kevyy Kerr’!!!!) and your ‘Chutes [toxic word]‘ one. But I’m the one who’s deranged?
@Brendan O’Brien: it was sick…… unbelievably vile what you posted on that article about the devastation and loss of life in LA, you really reached a new floor
@Tired Jim: second opportunity given to deny running multiple trolling accounts and you didn’t take it. Noted. Are you going to deny it? Third time of asking.
@Peter Igloo: What’s wrong with people giving out about the church? Don’t forget that the church used to take babies from their mothers and in some cases starved them to death and others children were buggered by priests and Christian brothers and what did the church do …. sent these evil men all over the world to continue what they were doing. Absolutely disgusting and shameful.
@Franno: a couple of Doe accounts, tired Joe, Chutes, Buster Lawless, Trump 24, off the You can recognise him by his vocabulary and phraseology, both of which are very limited and repeditave. He doesn’t have the smarts to vary these. He also hijjacks the IDs of other users. He’s just an annoying pest.
@Franno: Peter Igloo / Meatball martin / David /Liam Boyne / Mrs o Brien / Fester and anal / Mister Cock / Paul Mooney / Alan Power / Tired jim / Paul m doe / fintan pox / peter mann / john doe / john m doe / john p doe / dave d doe / ulysses / exhausted jim / tired jim / hot jim / john jon / lefty tears / lefty cries and dozens more troll accounts . Read any of their posts and you will see the quality of his comments, he has never added anything constructive or of any merit to any conversation on this platform. He has been banned on many occasions
The government, especially Eamon ryan are to blame for a good lot of these by refusing to upgrade bad roads especially in the northwest of the country. The country a wash with money and all they do is waste it on bike sheds, security huts and the black hole that is the children’s hospital. Also never see Garda on the roads, just the private company operating speed vans.
@Tony: Tony, I’m regularly up in Donegal and without wanting to label a county, it has by far the worst drivers in the country, hands down. Speeding, sitting on your back bumper like a maniac, overtaking on bends, overtaking of 3, 4, 5, 6 cars in one go, I’ve even been undertaken on the hard shoulder. It’s true what you say about the condition of some roads in Donegal and the lack of investment, but people need to drive safely. And Donegal seems to have a massive issue where road safety is concerned.
@Anthony Curran: it’s unfortunate to say but I agree fully with you. I’m often in Donegal with work (HGV driver), a couple of times a week at all different times of the day, the driver (not all) behaviour of people from all ages and sexes is absolutely appalling. The manouvers some drivers pull is unbelievable, happens all over the country but Donegal is especially bad. Drivers playing chicken with a 46 tonne truck while trying to overtake multiple cars at a time is not going to end well, drivers also overtaking said truck with not enough space and then having to jam on their brakes to not hit the car in front of them while thinking an artic truck can just slow and stop in a few metres like their car. Hate going up there.
The traffic on our roads has increased dramatically in the last ten odd years. Also people are commuting longer distances, people are working 5 / 6 days a week and doing 200 odd km a day that alone would make you tired never mind a full days work , family time and the worry of the cost of living.
Also we have many new comers whom have different driving habits and skills.
@Be Lucky: Exactly. Common sense would deduce that more people on the roads for longer ,with varying driving skills ( don’t forget learners waiting months for a test), would relate to the number of accidents.
And don’t forget, every single driver’s behaviour impacts those around him/her. Sometimes, the worst offenders for accidents are those who witness the destruction in their rear -view mirrors.
Years ago, there was a TV ad campaign: ‘Wear something white at night’. Even that made a difference. With hi-viz available nowadays, we really need a new campaign as it’s nigh-on impossible to see pedestrians and e-bike riders (dressed in black more often than not). It’s such a simple precaution and would surely save lives
@Patricia Cautley: lmao, we need ANOTHER campaign?? That is 100% what we don’t need. We need our elected officials to build a country that serves the people. Pathetic, lazy Irish, ‘no we cant’ attitude needs to be wiped out.
@Kieran Menon: It’s not always speeding though. There’s plenty of accidents caused by not paying attention to the road, whether that be texting, changing a radio station, tiredness etc.
Compare an accident caused by inattention at 80kmph to an accident caused by inattention at 120kmph, for example. Speed is a factor in literally every accident! The higher the speed, the greater the carnage. It’s that simple.
Speed, in itself, doesn’t cause any accidents, something else had to go wrong.
Unless you know the circumstances for all the accidents that happen then everything is guess work. old people are nearly the highest percentage of (subjective) grouping in terms of age, do you really think it’s because of speeding? I can only speak from experience, where I live West Wicklow, most of the daily roads cannot facilitate 2 cars passing, let alone the HGVs that need to pass daily, the agri industry, deliveries, horses, cyclists, runners, walkers, people walking prams… it’s pathetic how we’ve igroned our infrastructure for so many decade, damming of lazy Irish ‘small nation’ cant do it mantra.
@David Murray: I once asked a barman in a well known Kerry pub if my car would be ok in the carpark overnight. His reply was “how many have you had?”. When I said 4 he laughed and said why wouldn’t you just drive back to your hotel. And this wasn’t 20 years ago either. It was very recently. But I suppose when you have your local TDs saying yerra tis grand, what do you expect!!
@David Murray: While its abhorrent is drink-driving the main cause of road deaths? I seriously doubt it. We can bless the roads all we like, ultimately us Irish have proven over and over that we are unable to deal with our problems.
Look at the stats.
Donegal always top of the tree for decades, worst roads in Ireland.
Dublin ,the biggest population by so naturally more fatalities.
Then the usual suspects, motorbikes,young drivers,pedestrians late at night.
It has been the same stats every year, surely it can’t be hard to target these and get numbers down.
Don’t get’me wrong, love them or hate them or anything in between, the message to drive safely is a good one. However, I couldn’t help asking myself if the second part of the headline should have read, “as priest admits blessings do SFA”.
@David Stapleton: the message is right, the execution is self righteous and morbid in classic rcc fashion. A creepy pageant on the roads and ineffective too
The Catholic clerics correctly refer to failures of policy and irresponsible driver behaviour. But then they engage in a primaeval, superstitous ritual, which is inefficacious and utterly futile. As Ted ( himself a priest of sorts !) said when Dougal was stuck on a milk float with a bomb on it : will somebody come up with a practical solution instead of pointlessly saying more masses! He stumbled upon it himself – the humble brick!!
War causes more war. What was the bloodiest war in history?
World War II was the deadliest conflict in human history marked by 50 to 85 million fatalities, most of whom were civilians.
@Tim Brennan: and yet they rarely kill anyone. Careless motorists are the problem not a cyclist breaking a red light, probably in an effort not to get mown down by motorists who don’t give a toss. Drivers speeding, texting and flying through red lights without any consequences are to blame for almost all accidents. Cop on
@Jonny Hellzapoppin: Cop on says the guy saying that cyclists breaking red lights aren’t a problem. The rules of the road are there for everyone, not for some to nitpick. And while we’re on the topic of cycling, if you cycle a bike in darkness with no lights, no helmet and no reflector jacket, you’re a selfish so-and-so. Have some respect for drivers who obey the rules of the road and may have to live with the consequences of your selfishness.
@Anthony Curran: a spate of hit and runs lately, cameras being put on traffic lights as there is a spate of drivers ignoring them, leading to fatalities. Yes cyclists like all road users have responsibility but the people causing the fatalities are overwhelmingly drivers and driver neglugence
Could he not just do a general blessing that would cover all the roads in Ireland? He’d probably have to stand in the dead centre of Ireland so that he didn’t unintentionally turn a big slice of the Atlantic into holy water, which would destroy the profitability of Knock.
Let’s have it formally renamed as ‘yebra’ cross dressing blessing .. since they are cross dressers, blessing for their cross & we all need a laugh in January
It’s not roads that cause driving deaths, it’s drivers. You can’t sprinkle salted water on every driver in Ireland, north or south. Nor can you ‘bless’ every road in Ireland, north or south. This bishop is no more effective in reducing road death numbers than King Canute would be in commanding a tsunami to dissipate before reaching land. Regrettably, there will always be deaths on our roads. All we can do is try to get more drivers to drive more carefully, so as to reduce the overall numbers of deaths as far as we can.
The latest child to starve to death in Gaza weighed less than when she was born
1 hr ago
march to the Dáil
Crowds march against racism following assault of Indian national in Tallaght
46 mins ago
As it happened
Australia v British & Irish Lions, second Test
Updated
7 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 214 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 149 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 195 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 158 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 177 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 111 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 116 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 65 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 36 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 122 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 94 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 67 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 116 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 103 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say