You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A demonstrator holds a banner outside the Ecuadorean Embassy in London. AP/Press Association Images

Julian Assange should be compensated by Britain and Sweden says the UN

The panel published its report into Assange’s three year stay at the Ecuadorian embassy this morning.

A UN PANEL has found that Wikileaks founder Julian Assange has been “arbitrarily detained” at the Ecuadorian embassy in London.

The panel published its report into Assange’s three year stay at the embassy this morning.

The WikiLeaks founder, who is wanted for extradition on a rape accusation in Sweden and has lived in the embassy since June 2012, said he would walk out and face authorities if the panel had found against him.

“WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange has been arbitrarily detained by Sweden and the United Kingdom since his arrest in London on 7 December 2010,” the United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention report says.

It adds that Assange should be given the right to claim compensation from both Sweden and Britain, which has said it will arrest him if he leaves the embassy.

The five independent rights experts who make up the panel insisted Assange’s detention “should be brought to an end, that his physical integrity and freedom of movement be respected, and that he should be entitled to an enforceable right to compensation.”

Assange founded Wikileaks in 2006, and its activities including the release of 500,000 secret military files on the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq and 250,000 diplomatic cables have infuriated the United States.

The main source of the leaks, US Army soldier Chelsea Manning, was sentenced to 35 years in prison for breaches of the Espionage Act.

The British government, however, says it “contests and rejects” the findings.

With AFP reporting

Read: UN panel has ruled that Julian Assange’s detention is illegal, says Sweden

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:40 AM

Whether you are on board with Assange or not, the words of the UN are meaningless. We shouldn’t even be recognizing them as a legitimate organisation.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:53 AM

I’d tend to agree with you. Findings such as this erode the legitimacy of the UN. Who the hell appoints these eejits!
    It’s like you have to be as left-wing as Mary Robinson to make the cut… Well, that’s a very unrepresentative and undemocratic organisation in that case.

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:54 AM

I’m pro assange, but the UN is an wholly dictatorial organisation

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:53 AM

the UN is a global socialist authority they should not even exist

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Feb 5th 2016, 11:36 AM

What a farce of an organisation.
    A demonic globalist cabal with a few threadbare bought out lackey celebs and politicians out front.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Child_sexual_abuse_by_UN_peacekeepers

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:46 AM

That’s ridiculous! He sought refuge in the embassy rather than face arrest and face up to the accusations against him. He’s a coward!
    There is a warrant for his arrest and the British police are obliged to arrest him. There’s absolutely no good reason why he deserves compensation from him, on the contrary he should repay the British taxpayer for all the expense he’s racking up in police manpower hanging around the embassy to arrest him.
    The accusations against him are of rape or sexual assault in Sweden. He might well be an advocate for press freedom or anti-war sentiment but if he’s a sex offender he should be tried for that. It’s an injustice to his alleged victims if he is not brought before a court to answer these allegations.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:50 AM

Yes because I’m sure he would have gotten a fair trial…

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:56 AM

You’re questioning the impartiality of the courts? Are you SinnFein/IRA perhaps?

Yes he’ll get a fair trial.

If he’s accused of rape he must stand trial for rape. Whether he’s perceived as a hero for any other reason is immaterial.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:58 AM

Assange has made it perfectly clear multiple times that he’s willing to return to Sweden to face trial if he receives a guarantee that he won’t be deported to the US. The Swedish government refuses to provide such guarantee.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:00 AM

Nor should they. He’s in no position to bargain, and they shouldn’t enter into any badgering with him. He’s accused of rape, he’ll be tried for rape.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:01 AM

*bargaining*

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:06 AM

No one is bargaining or do you consider wanting a fair trial without risk of illegal arrest or deportation ‘bargaining’? Remember, although accused, he hasn’t been convicted of anything yet

Mute Gerry Grimes
    Favourite Gerry Grimes
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:07 AM

WTF kind of twisted logic brings 1970′s NI politics into the UN Britain Sweden and Julian Assange?
    Are you aware that Assange always said he would face trail in Sweden? Keep up ffs

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:10 AM

So a Swedish citizen residing in the EU has no right to demand that he should not be extradited to the US over actions he took while residing in Sweden? That’s odd logic of yours Brian.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:19 AM

@Brian, Think he is many things nut not a coward and very doubtful of any of the accusations against him in sweden. When the UK and US government are after your blood, I’m sure you could be up for a series of charges. I don’t say that lightly as they are serious allegations but it makes no sense at all with regards to how events were unfolding and he was fleeing from the authorities. Note..UN weapons inspector holding the UK government back from war in Iraq hanged himself despite no indication of being depressed. MI5 agent found dead in London apartment was tarnished by press as being involved in deviant sex activities, they have retracted this allegation now. Bottom line, I wouldn’t fully trust the government! !

Mute Eugene O'Gorman
    Favourite Eugene O'Gorman
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:26 AM

Bit hard to convict someone when they can’t be brought to court.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:31 AM

Assange has offered to meet with the Swedes in the embassy but they refused. He offered to be interviewed over video link but they refused, He offered to return to Sweden on condition that he would not end up in the US, they refused. He offered to give a statement in the UK, they refused. The Swedish Appeal Court found that the prosecutor had breached her duty in not accepting Assange’s statement in the UK.

He left Sweden because his work visa and residency were not renewed by the Swedish authorities. They told him to get out of the country 5 week AFTER the initial allegations were dropped by the DPP. the allegations only were reinstated after a politician had a word with the 2 alleged victims and the DPP. The 2 alleged victims wanted Assange to be tested for STI’s and made no rape allegations until after they had contact Claes Borgstrom, a man who believes that ALL men share a collective responsibility for sexual violence against women. He was subsequently fired by the alleged victims because in their view he seemed more interested in the media spotlight than in them.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:34 AM

Brian do ye blueshirts always want to see people locked up and why do ye discredit anyone or anything that defends civil liberties. If Jesus Christ came down and defended people from the injust authorities ye would nearly crucify him.. oh hold on . Yere obsession with the rule of law the two tier law system is robotic its like yere programmed to endorse authority even when its unjust. Ye must get off on seen people exposing the authorities malpractice been locked up. Bradley Manning and Barrett Brown are locked up i bet you have wet dreams over them. Calm down little lady there’s plenty injustice in the world to keep you happy.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:13 AM

@B-Egan – are you suggesting Pontius Pilate was a ‘blueshirt’?
    Anyway – civil liberties are one thing, including those of the alleged victims in Sweden.

I think Sweden should not have the right to extradite him for one reason and then once they have possession of him they may be able to further extradite him outside the union for another reason.

Mute Frank Lupton
    Favourite Frank Lupton
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:23 AM

Whistle blowers of the world unite, people like Asange should be applauded for their bravery in exposing state wrong doing,the British government are a disgrace and hypocritical ie support for Saudi Arabia etc the United Nations is our only way forward but will never be that without the support of ordinary citizens and I imagine that rape Allegation is trumped up, they are out for revenge no matter what it takes they will try to get him

Mute Sandra Englander Walsh
    Favourite Sandra Englander Walsh
    Feb 5th 2016, 12:52 PM

This man risked life and limb to inform us of the dirty dealings going on behind the scenes. I don’t understand why more people aren’t standing up and showing their support and appreciation to him. Most of us have been conned since the get go…

Mute HelloGoogleTracking!
    Favourite HelloGoogleTracking!
    Feb 5th 2016, 5:04 PM

There is an arrest warrant before even formal charges have been levelled against him, they claim to only want to interview him.

Assuming they are being honest and genuine, why then have they refused to carry out this interview in the embassy. He has valid concerns for his safety.

Also the UN are correct to point of the disproportionate level of targeting of Assange, and also with the criticisms of the swedish investigation.

It is plain to see the real motivation behind it, otherwise they would not be so unreasonable, and allow greater consideration of his rights and valid concerns.

Feb 5th 2016, 6:03 PM

Brian go back to what caused it and what was said at the time and it didn’t make sense, it is an excuse to get him into Sweden so that he can be renditioned to the U.S. as in the U.S. his leaks have made him classed as a terrorist…

Feb 5th 2016, 6:07 PM

So at the start he was suppose to rape a woman but he was not in the country at the time of the rape, then another accused him of rape and that was thrown out and then another accused him of rape after she wanted sex with him but then called it rape after he penetrated her a second time but at the time she did nothing as in any resistance in action or word or in behaviour but wanted sex.
    The whole thing stinks of political involvement?

Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:56 AM

Apparently Roman Polanski is being arbitrarily detained in an area the size of the world minus the USA.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:11 AM

There is a world of difference between the two cases. There are serious questions about the accusations and why they came about. The other is a clear case of rape with a guilty verdict. In saying that there was a lot of misconduct in that case too

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney
    Feb 5th 2016, 12:48 PM

He should get compensation as he owes lots of back rent to the Ecuadorians and he won’t get his deposit back if he doesn’t clear his debt

Mute Helen Farrell
    Favourite Helen Farrell
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:45 AM

Bizarre!

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:49 AM

Totally. Regardless of the wikileaks debate, the facts are that rightly or wrongly an International Arrest Warrant exists for him. It’s hard to see how someone who chooses a self-imposed ‘detention’ solely in order to avoid arrest can then become eligible for compensation.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:52 AM

The logical extension is that anyone living in self-imposed exile from an allegedly hostile government is now eligible for compensation from that state.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:12 AM

Well this is a turn for the books, what are they smoking in the UN? There is a outstanding warrant for his arrest and he decides to hold out in an embassy, his choice let him face up to his allegations!

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:50 AM

Yeah I am surprised the UN are saying this as they are all bought and owned

Feb 5th 2016, 4:59 PM

@Avina,

Have you read the report before reaching your conclusions, I have and they are very clear.

They question the Swedish investigation, that does not even have any formal charges against Assange, they also question the arrest warrant at a preliminary stage of investigation.

And the inexplicable refusal by Sweden to carry out the interview they want without insisting on arrest and extradition, as a result, it is disproportionate and a violation of natural justice, human rights and amounts to “depravation of liberty”

They question the police presence and amount spent, to enforce this detention, in full knowledge of the objections, and without regard to the valid concerns.

Does this enlighten you a little, there is clear logic and reason and balance objective analysis included in the report.

They raise important questions……none of which bother you?

Feb 5th 2016, 5:59 PM
    Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 5th 2016, 11:20 PM

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/feb/05/un-julian-assange-wikileaks

Even Billy Bragg, long time stalwart of the left, recognises that the UN got it wrong…

Feb 5th 2016, 11:32 PM

@avina,

I will go with the objective legal opinion of the UN whose record in all cases the have reviewed is beyond reproach.

Before taking the casual opinion of a subjective defender who has vested interest being defending the actions of his own state.

Once again I will ask a question that you will no doubt ignore, have you read the report you are forming conclusions on?

Also do you not respect the UN human rights charter, or EU human rights convention which were the benchmarks the judgement used to reached its conclusions.

His article is clearly biased and without serious consideration or analysis of the issues raised by the UN……but as usual human rights are not your strong suit.

Feb 5th 2016, 11:38 PM

P.s. Is that the same pro Iraq war, illegal no UN Security Council resolution – Billy Bragg?

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Feb 6th 2016, 12:09 AM

“I will go with the objective legal opinion of the UN whose record in all cases the have reviewed is beyond reproach.”

Muahahahahaha

This would be the same UN plagued by allegations of bias, widespread corruption, and (ironically, considering the story) sexual abuse by its peacekeeping troops. The same UN which has an abysmal record in the Balkans, Rwanda, Sri Lanka…

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 6th 2016, 12:24 AM

HGT – you obviously know sweet f all about Billy Bragg.
    And based on your comments about the UN, presumably then you’d also agree with their assessment that 80% of Syrian refugees are fleeing Assad rather than IS?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 6th 2016, 12:26 AM

And your repeated claims that anyone with a different opinion to yours is ‘biased’ is getting a bit trite at this stage.

Feb 6th 2016, 12:48 AM

@harry & Avina,

I was clearly referring to the UN humans rights committee WGAD of legal experts and their ruling on arbitrary detention, and their record, which is perfect. Not the UN as a whole, stop being deliberately obtuse, and misinterpreting disingenuously.

@Avina, i notice once again you refuse to answer direct questions, while you have record of demanding same from others. Is hypocrisy a concept you comprehend, because that is a perfect example.

Obviously Bragg is not objective, case in point Iraq war, where essentially america invented a pretext for war, and britain like the lap dog followed orders and also lied and invented protect, of which Bragg was a supporter….hardly a bastion of independent thought and supporter of rule of international law.

Finally calling out biased casual opinion by a singer songwriter……as being pathetic in comparison to legal experts in international human rights law, is just obvious, and your use of him as your only defence is pathetic.

Feb 6th 2016, 12:51 AM

@Harry,

Your argument against credibility is the actions of some members of an organisation that is disgusting i.e. child abuse.

If that is your basis for judgement, you don’t need to dig much to find plenty in the UK, by members of parliament, security services, the army, and institutions…….another pathetic argument….

Feb 6th 2016, 12:59 AM

Imagine finding corruption, or bias, by british institutions, how about illegal invasion of iraq…..murder of hundreds of thousand of people.

Murder and state collusion in paramilitaries and shoot to kill policies in the north, internment without trial. Mass murder in countries throughout the world in defence of their empire for hundreds of years……framing and jailing Irish citizens for crimes they did not commit for political expediency…….

But hey, your points don’t have to be consistent or relevant or make sense……so long as you jump on a bandwagon and take stupid consensus opinions you think others would agree with.

Name one country or institution without any corruption or abuse in their history, your argument is one of nihilism, but you wouldn’t even understand such a word

At least Avina has a brain, I don’t always agree, but I would afford her at least some respect.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:21 AM

“I will go with the objective legal opinion of the UK whose record in all cases the have reviewed is beyond reproach.”

Had this been in my post HGT, I might understand why you’d bring the UK’s various boo-boos into the equation.

Except of course it wasn’t. It was you trumpeting that the UN’s record was beyond reproach. WHOOPS.

Your argument against mine was essentially the demolition of a straw man – and seeing as you kindly made assumptions about my lexical knowledge, I’ll do the same in turn and assume you’re too poorly educated to understand what a straw man is, or indeed any other rhetorical fallacy.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:08 AM

Oh I get it HGT:
    UN says what you want = UN good, beyond questioning.
    UN says what you don’t want = UN bad, dismissed out of hand.
    That clears that one up then, no bias there….
    Re. Billy Bragg – you think he supported the Iraq war??? Show me the proof. The reality is he was a vigorous opponent, and even left the labour party over it!
    Also you seem to think he wrote or was linked to the Guardian article in some way – actually he just referred to it and said “many people in this world are in arbitrary detention – Assange is not one of them”.
    Finally I must have missed your question amongst the rest of your nonsense, but yes, I have read the report.

Feb 6th 2016, 3:25 PM

@Avina.

I respect the UN WGAD, as does almost the entire world, with the exceptions of the countries found in breach. There record and verdicts in all cases of arbitrary detention have been beyond reproach, have a look yourself, although I suspect you would disagree with their finding on Morsi in Egypt, but there findings were based on facts. And i agree with that one too.

RE: Billy Bragg, yes I can admit a mistake. I assumed from your comment that you meant he was the author, I now see that was a mistake. So hands up……I made a mistake there.
    However During the 2005 general election campaign in the Bethnal Green and Bow constituency, Bragg supported Oona King, the Labour Party’s pro-Iraq war candidate. Which is a fact.

I base my comment on this particular committee, and their record, and independence, and previous judgements.

There are a lot of elements in the UN corrupted and manipulated, as seen in the run up to the Iraq war, where countries are manipulated by threats and promises of aid, or the use of US institutions like the world bank or IMF to influence and force countries to vote this way or that. It is well known and recorded fact. These can be criticised and are, by not me or the victim countries of the votes, but all independent free investigations media and opinion around the world.

Feb 6th 2016, 3:33 PM

Harry,

Once again I will point of the obvious to you, you seen to be blind or dumb.

I am referring to the UN WGAD…..not the UN as the entire institution. Can you see the difference, it is a simple concept, concentrate and you might do it. (try not to poo when you do)

I challenged you idiotic writing off of the entire UN by staring it against a similar approach to any institution or country. If you take the approach you took, you could deny credibility to anything at will.

Because of that obvious flaw, I pointed out your point was stupid, idiot, and worthy of contempt, which I happily offered you.

I don’t expect you to be able to accept any new ideas into your shrunken brain, or stretch your understanding beyond such logical and rational disfunction.

I understand a straw man, so well in fact that I satired yours i.e. UN corruption child abuse by individual peacekeepers etc etc….as if it had any relevance whatsoever to the UN WGAD.

I new word for you, hypocrisy (accusing me of straw man when I challenged your with a satire of it)….pathetic

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 7th 2016, 3:37 AM

Dear oh dear oh dear HGT. If you lived here in Blighty your level of backpedalling could have got you automatic Lib Dem membership.

Let’s just go over your original quote again (#Take 3)

“I will go with the objective legal opinion of the UN whose record in all cases the have reviewed is beyond reproach.”

There’s nothing about the WGAD in your original post. You merely tried slipping that in afterwards. And even if you did, it still changes nothing – the WGAD still isn’t flawless.

You’re half-right about satire, mind – your posts sound like a Dave Spart column.

Feb 7th 2016, 8:17 PM

@Harry,

Let me explain context to you, that quote is in the context of an article about the result of the UN WGAD committee, and i was commenting on that. It is implicit that that is the subject matter since it is in context. In the english language you do not need to keep repeating in every sentence the exact definition, as the listener is suppose to have the brain power to be aware of said context.

You posting quotes without reference to obvious context, is disingenuous, and the stuff of the daily mail. Which is your level.

If you cannot accept my word that I was commenting on the WGAD then you are just an id&*t. Because I was….. IT WAS WHAT THE ENTIRE ARTICLE IS ABOUT YOU ID&*T.

I said their record is impeccable which it is (look it up !!!), unless you want to actually post something relevant, like a decision you disagree with !!!! Not some irrelevant non sense about child molesting solders in peacekeeping duty !!!!!!!

I pointed out how ret%rded it was to use crimes by some low level of a massive organisation, to deduce that any and all output from that organisation is without credibility.

I used a simple explain for your simple brain of applying that logic to the UK…….to ridicule and satire the you…..but you are too dumb to even understand that.

So why don’t you stop talking now…..if you are the best that “Blighty” can offer, thank god I’m not there.

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Feb 5th 2016, 8:43 AM

Ugh, the last thing this man needs is any more attention.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:35 AM

A bit like yourself so.

Mute Gerry Dunne
    Favourite Gerry Dunne
    Feb 5th 2016, 2:43 PM

This is what happens when you pi$$ of the USA by highlighting their actions in their wars. Julian is probably lucky to be still alive but had better watch his back if he gets out .No doubt US “spooks” will put him in the sights if he ever walks outside that embassy.

Feb 5th 2016, 6:18 PM

Maybe a nice cup of polonium tea for you sir.

We the bastions of freedom, and defenders o democracy want you to rot in jail for exposing the truth.

That cannot be allowed to happen, don’t you know who your masters are? What right do you have to fight against government abuses / corruption and lies.

You must be made an example of, to terrify anyone else from every exposing us again.

Mute Derek Rusk
    Favourite Derek Rusk
    Feb 5th 2016, 10:38 AM

He went into the Ecuadorean embassy to dodge an international arrest warrant. Effectively he went on the run by hiding in the embassy. U.K. Authorities have no alternative but to arrest him if possible.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Feb 5th 2016, 12:00 PM

So legal and human rights specialists got it wrong after reviewing all the details. You on the other hand know what has happened and what should happen? I’ll go with them over your opinion every time.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 6th 2016, 12:28 AM

“So legal and human rights specialists got it wrong after reviewing all the details.”

The UN have got it wrong a number of times. Like that time they declared Sebrenica a ‘safe zone’.

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:59 AM

I thought there was free lasagne.

Mute Caroline Barrett
    Favourite Caroline Barrett
    Feb 5th 2016, 2:07 PM

Me too!!

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Feb 5th 2016, 9:47 AM

Did anyone else read “FREE MASSAGE” on that thumbnail?

Feb 5th 2016, 6:00 PM

Free Nassage???

Feb 5th 2016, 5:58 PM

Britain and Sweden are lap dogs of the U.S.
    IT IS NOT ABOUT RAPE AT ALL BUT RENDITION, When you know what was suppose to have happen and why it is the third woman who shouted rape after engaging herself in sex with the other case which was thrown out because he never met the other woman at all, then there is something wrong.
    He invited the Swedish police to interview him in the Embassy but they refused, he is not accused of anything but is wanted for questioning but the way it is being reported is not for the truth but viewing figures and politics…

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 6th 2016, 12:35 AM

Honest question: how many of those who were slagging off Litvenenko after he got poisoned (saying he ‘got what he had coming’ or ‘was asking for it’) are gnashing their teeth at the prospect of Julian Assange possibly being extradicted and imprisoned for his Wikileaks activities?

Just asking.