You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Bacik: 'I have received threats from the far-right'

Ivana Bacik says the Labour Party is ready for the next general election.

LABOUR LEADER IVANA BACIK has said she and other party members have received threats and intimidation from the far-right.

Speaking to reporters at the Labour parliamentary party think-in in Maynooth, Bacik said there are “worrying signs of far-right organising” in Ireland, and that her party is proud to “face down voices of hate and bigotry”.

She added: “The key thing is to ensure that far-right groups don’t get a foothold in our communities and the best way to fight them – and I’ve been doing it on the ground in my own area – is to speak with people to answer people’s concerns, to provide information, to bring people together.”

She was responding to a question on whether she believes fears over racism and xenophobia will be a factor in upcoming local and European elections.

“We’re trying to fight any sort of rise of racism and bigotry at any local and national level in any way we can, she said.

“But again, it is an issue at European level, and speaking with colleagues who are leaders of PES [Party of European Socialists] parties across Europe, they’re really worried about the gains the far-right have been making in other countries.

“We’ve seen it everywhere. We see it in Italy, we’ve seen it in Germany, and most recently we’re seeing it in Spain, we’re seeing it in Finland.

“The real worry is that there will be far-right representation, not only in the European Parliament at greater levels, but even among commissioners.

“That could really change the way in which European politics works, and we think it’s vitally important that we counter that through having a strong left social democratic and socialist voice at the European table for Ireland.”

Housing 

Speaking about housing issues, Bacik said she found it “extraordinary” that some government TDs do not understand how the eviction ban works. 

In her speech at the party think-in, Bacik commented on a recent interview the Green Party’s housing spokesperson Noel Francis Duffy gave to The Journal in which he said reinstating the eviction ban would be akin to “a communist state”.

“It seems not all government TDs even understand their own eviction ban; And that some even think that the protection of renters is tantamount to Stalinism. Extraordinary,” Bacik said today.

In the latest installment of The Journal’s Policy Matters series, it was put to Duffy that reinstating the eviction ban, and keeping people in the accommodation they already have, would help reduce the growing homeless figures. 

He responded: “Well then it turns into a communist state, that’s what you are talking about. So we purchase everybody’s property, is it?”

The Journal presented him with the recent example of the tenants in Swords who are being evicted from their apartments by a company owned by a real estate group with €6bn in assets. 

Some of these tenants have resisted eviction and it was put to Duffy that they would not be in this position if the eviction ban was still in place. 

“Yeah. I think people in this country, as far as I know, have been evicted for generations. I know that’s a bit of a cliche. So are you saying if people don’t pay their rent, and all that kind of stuff, they should stay?,” Duffy said. 

His argument centred around the rights of landlords to evict someone if they were not paying their rent or if the landlord wanted to move a family member into the property. The Journal put it to him that these exemptions were in place under the eviction ban. 

He responded: “Well at the moment, there are provisions in place where you [a tenant] can buy the house. If you want to buy it there are mortgages available.”

Community Action Tenants Union (CATU) Fingal, who are representing the tenants in Swords, has also released a statement, stating that multiple families with children facing eviction in Swords have paid their rent in full and have done nothing wrong. 

Pledge to build one million homes 

Bacik in her party speech stood behind the pledge she made in March that Labour would provide one million homes over the next decade, if in government.

The government “scoffed” at the proposal, she said, but the Labour leader didn’t think her idea was funny at all.

“It’s five years since the Dáil declared a housing emergency. The time is now for the Government to start acting like it recognises this emergency.

“When the Dáil resumes, we in Labour will be pushing for the passage of our Renters Rights Bill – For an end to no-fault evictions and better protections for tenants and families in homelessness. For stronger measures to tackle vacancy and dereliction,” she said.

Bacik said Labour have a clear financial plan to provide 50,000 new builds per year and 50,000 refurbishments.

Boundary review

Following the publication of the new boundary constituencies, something that impacted one of their own TDs, Bacik said the “playing pitch for the next General Election” is now clear.

She told reporters today that her party is still busily looking over the boundary review.

“I’ve certainly lost in some areas in my own constituency so it’s certainly affecting many of us, who are already TDs and those who may wish to run in the general election. Like all parties, we’re still reflecting on boundary report,” she said.

Labour is ready for the next general election, whenever it may be, she added. 

“Next month, we will find out what the uncomfortable coalition has in store for the country in Budget 2024. The bad old days are back, it seems.

“Cynically throwing money around in an attempt to buy votes, without making the systemic and structural investment necessary for real change,” she said.

The Dublin Bay South TD hit out against the Green Party Children’s Minister Roderic O’Gorman and his promises of a 25% reduction in childcare costs as part of the government’s commitment to halving fees. 

“Last month, he confirmed that parents now can’t expect that reduction. This is very disappointing; but there is still time for the Government to make a positive U-turn on childcare,” she said.

“I challenge An Taoiseach to cap childcare fees at €200 per month, as we in Labour have proposed – the first step on the path to a universal public system of early years education and care. In a modern republic, there should be cradle-to-grave care for everyone,” said Bacik.

In terms of whether her party would supports cuts to the USC, Bacik told reporters that she believes in a fair and equitable system taxation. She said Labour believes in taxes on assets rather than tax on work. “We’d like to see government taking up that challenge,” she said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute speedy
    Favourite speedy
    Jul 21st 2021, 7:20 AM

If the British side break the protocol to suit a few hardline unionists in the north then I hope the eu come down hard on them for breaking an international trade agreement and they are punished by extra tariffs.johnson,Cummings and frost will bring Britain back to the stone age

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:54 AM

@speedy: Yes agree and their US trade deal is then history.

Mute Mark H
    Favourite Mark H
    Jul 21st 2021, 10:34 AM

@speedy: if they eliminate checks etc the UK will just become a back door to the EU. No way EU could agree to it. If UK want frictionless trade with the EU, you need to be in the EU. Johnson and his crew are just playing for the UK press… The big bad EU…. Actually it’s the petulant arrogant UK… But facts don’t matter to them.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jul 21st 2021, 10:53 AM

@Mark H: They don’t even have to be in the EU, just be part of the customs union, which was on offer to them while negotiating. Remember the Norway style deal that was talked of… yeah.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Jul 21st 2021, 1:54 PM

@Mark H:

To use a Wembley analogy, they’re trying to get in for free!

Mute Niall O
    Favourite Niall O
    Jul 21st 2021, 3:17 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: Or agree to have a mechanism where the standards will be the same or equivalent. Not the “let’s pretend that our standards are equivalent, even though we might deviate from EU standards”

Mute Barry Lynch
    Favourite Barry Lynch
    Jul 21st 2021, 3:46 PM

@speedy: you forgot Lord Rees of the Moggs.

Mute James McErlain
    Favourite James McErlain
    Jul 21st 2021, 6:31 PM

@speedy: Cummings?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 22nd 2021, 11:22 AM

@Mark H: When have the facts ever mattered to any British Government.

Mute Mícheál
    Favourite Mícheál
    Jul 21st 2021, 8:08 AM

wow is this for real .. how can any country any foreign trade minister sign an agreement with Great Britain in the knowledge that they will sign it and then change it to suit themselves, seriously who do these people think they are

Mute frank_66
    Favourite frank_66
    Jul 21st 2021, 7:18 AM

The uk starting to dictate to EU but I think they are wasting their time as the protocol is what they signed up for and the DUP campaigned hard for brexit

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 21st 2021, 7:24 AM

An “honesty box” ? Yeah, that should work out well.

Mute Jayne
    Favourite Jayne
    Jul 21st 2021, 8:05 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: Ha, yeah I laughed out loud at that part. What could possibly go wrong?!

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:04 AM

After years of waiting for the UK to reveal its frictionless technological solution to eliminate customs checks for goods entering Northern Ireland, we are presented with the honesty box!

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery
    Jul 21st 2021, 8:08 AM

Breaking the protocol and putting the Good Friday agreement in danger will do them no favors on Capitol Hill .

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Jul 21st 2021, 7:48 AM

The tories should have been honest in the very beginning with the electorate

Mute Niall Lee
    Favourite Niall Lee
    Jul 21st 2021, 2:53 PM

@Hugh Mc Donnell: Tories honest…. That shouldn’t be in the one sentence

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Jul 21st 2021, 3:14 PM

@Niall Lee: it’s called an oxymoron

Mute Francis Devenney
    Favourite Francis Devenney
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:56 AM

They used to say “The sun never sets on the empire” I think that’s because even God wouldn’t trust them in the dark.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Jul 21st 2021, 3:15 PM

@Francis Devenney: or it’s because it never rose in the first place (still in the dark ages)

Mute Handsome McWonderful
    Favourite Handsome McWonderful
    Jul 21st 2021, 8:17 AM

The Brits are at it again.

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Jul 21st 2021, 12:21 PM

@Handsome McWonderful: Evidence in support:

https://arethebritsatitagain.org/

Mute Accidental Gentleman
    Favourite Accidental Gentleman
    Jul 21st 2021, 10:08 AM

If Brexit has taught us anything, it is that the UK can’t be trusted to tell the truth.

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Jul 21st 2021, 8:27 AM

So the only way to make the protocol work is to ignore it and the agreement they signed up to.

Mute Darren McEneaney
    Favourite Darren McEneaney
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:43 AM

You’d swear they didn’t help write the thing with the way they’re carrying on

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jul 21st 2021, 12:42 PM

Honestly I think it’s just time to take a hard line with Britain, they haven’t approached negotiations in good faith since the outset and seem to think every agreement and promise they’ve made in the past can be broken as they please.

Mute Gary G
    Favourite Gary G
    Jul 21st 2021, 10:15 AM

A tinpot country run by a despot would have more integrity and competence than this lot. Only option now for the EU is hard retaliatory punitive tariffs which will paint these delinquants as the victims for ignoring the deal they made an international law treaty. This statement will be the malicious falsehood that they ever intended to honour or implement the protocol. England / UK is sinking down the toilet under that joke Johnson.

Mute Brian Kelly
    Favourite Brian Kelly
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:10 AM

Really! An honesty box!? I wouldn’t trust the Brits as far as I could throw them!!! What a laugh…

Mute MrHammey12
    Favourite MrHammey12
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:56 AM

Oh hahaha let’s sign an honesty box with all the cocaine producing countries too!

Mute John Vectravi
    Favourite John Vectravi
    Jul 21st 2021, 3:19 PM

The NIP was a concession made to the UK by the EU. The UK made the argument that they would implement the checks when they formulated the agreement. All the EU has asked for is that the UK comply with their side of the agreement.
    Today it was stated in the UK parliament that UK suppliers are deciding not to export goods into NI because of the hassle of complying they can’t be bothered to do the necessary paperwork.
    NI are in a unique position that the protocol allows them to export goods into the EU and also into the UK without restrictions. Most UK companies would give their right arm to be able to do the same.
    So, where does the problem seem to be…… The DUP.

Mute The Mrs O’B
    Favourite The Mrs O’B
    Jul 21st 2021, 1:23 PM

They need to realise this is not like one of Boris’ revolving marriages – negotiated it, signed up for it – stuck with it -

Mute SheepleDog
    Favourite SheepleDog
    Jul 21st 2021, 11:48 AM

Global warming, pandemic, age of online misinformation, asymmetric warfare, ransomware, rise of far-right…..and the English; was it ever thus!

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Jul 21st 2021, 3:02 PM

UK should need to consult the dictionary to study the meaning of “honesty “ and then try and understand why other EU countries do not trust them in particular when Johnson is in charge.

Mute David Lynch
    Favourite David Lynch
    Jul 21st 2021, 12:29 PM

Wish someone would just tell them to feck off

Mute Adrian O'Donnell
    Favourite Adrian O'Donnell
    Jul 21st 2021, 4:04 PM

@David Lynch: we did, they only got three quarters of the message

Mute J Flood
    Favourite J Flood
    Jul 21st 2021, 2:05 PM

More of the same BS. How long did it take the UK to “negotiate” Brexit?

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Jul 21st 2021, 2:29 PM

Unbelievable arrogance!

Any nation thinking of doing a trade deal with the UK (under this current government) should think hard and tread cautiously – better still – save yourselves a massive headache – just don’t do it.

Jul 21st 2021, 4:22 PM

U.K attempting to move the goalposts while the match is being played

Mute Jim Doherty
    Favourite Jim Doherty
    Jul 21st 2021, 4:19 PM

An ‘Honesty Box’…operated by the Tories? Hahahaha

Mute Josh Joyce
    Favourite Josh Joyce
    Jul 21st 2021, 2:11 PM

Oven Ready

Mute Tom Halpin
    Favourite Tom Halpin
    Jul 21st 2021, 2:36 PM

Oven ready turkey

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Jul 21st 2021, 1:45 PM

I wonder where ‘On the right side’ is? Poor dear.

Mute Gary G
    Favourite Gary G
    Jul 21st 2021, 5:49 PM

@Bill Spill: I hope he has realised that there is no point posting anymore, bar the odd you know who, nobody agrees with him, just laugh at him.

Mute Maria Clery-Breen
    Favourite Maria Clery-Breen
    Jul 21st 2021, 2:12 PM

Who the fook do they think they are ……
    Four years hundreds of thousands of wasted money and time !!M

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    Jul 21st 2021, 7:41 PM

It’s time to collapse the agreement & go to WTO

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 21st 2021, 9:06 PM

@Joe Thorpe: how could anyone trust them in any agreement their goose is well and truly cooked

Mute Philip Mulville
    Favourite Philip Mulville
    Jul 21st 2021, 10:10 PM

What a shower of eejits.

Mute Pj Browne
    Favourite Pj Browne
    Jul 21st 2021, 7:13 PM

The brits made a nuts of the negotiations and now they want to change it

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Jul 21st 2021, 11:25 PM

borderless ireland because of the good Friday agreement. So stick a border in the northern part of the Irish Sea – drive a wedge between mainland uk and it’s sovereign country Northern Ireland to protect the good Friday agreement. Oh hold on that can’t be right can it? Guess it is …. Whilst everyone in Europe rejoices at getting one over on the uk the good Friday agreement will unravel. But not because of the uk. If I was frost I’d tell Northern Ireland we tried our best leave matters as they are and wait for the fun and games to start.

Mute Gary G
    Favourite Gary G
    Jul 22nd 2021, 8:27 AM

@Nigel Barlow: how about the Britain and HMG gives back the country they stole and pillaged back to its rightful owners.

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Jul 23rd 2021, 1:26 AM

@Gary G: quite welcome to It

Mute Gregory Casey
    Favourite Gregory Casey
    Sep 10th 2021, 9:12 AM

That’s Feck with a ‘eU’

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 22nd 2021, 11:31 AM

What amazing is they continue to go this route after the G8 and the G20 meetings. Where they were clearly told by the rest of the world. Don’t even try and do this.
    Irish hory indeed world history has so many examples of the British and “Honesty”.
    Yet the expect everybody to agree with this.
    An agreement they insisted upon and agreed to, now they have changed their mind because of their own red tape, which they insisted upon.
    I expected them to pull some dirty tricks but nothing as simple minded as this.
    The laughable part is they are saying they got great trade deals from other countries and so far every one of them is worse than the present EU deal.
    The have not move the goalposts, they are trying to change the game and the rules as they go along. The rest of the world is sharpening their knives as the realise how weak the Uk government are.