You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The new network will be rolled out as Bus Éireann buses are moving to electric and hybrid models. Alamy Stock Photo

Limerick to receive a full redesign of its bus network, starting in 2025

Once implemented, 41% of Limerick residents will be within 400m of a bus route.

A FULL REDESIGN of Limerick’s bus network was revealed today by the National Transport Authority (NTA).

The NTA’s redesign is expected to result in an approximately 70% increase in the amount of bus services in Limerick city and its suburbs – including 24-hour routes to University Hospital Limerick, the city centre and University of Limerick.

The bus services has also been extended to new areas such as Ennis Road, Dock Road, University of Limerick north campus and Ardnacrusha – with more routes and frequent services 

Overall, once the new network is implemented, 41% of Limerick residents will be within 400m of a bus route.

The new routes will be introduced from a phased approach, starting in 2025, where some slight tweaks and modifications could be made to the original plans in order to better suit the reality of the route.

Screenshot 2023-12-13 142120 A map of the new routes. NTA NTA

You can read the full report, with all the maps, here.

Some of these changes have already been discussed and planned after a public consultation process revealed concerns about the impact of the new routes serving University of Limerick on the Milford Care Centre.

The NTA said today that it is looking at new routes, which will avoid directly impacting the grounds of Milford Care Centre, which include the possible development of a new link access.

Anne Graham, CEO of the NTA said the group are confident that the introduction of the new network will encourage more people to take public transport.

Stephen Kent, Chief Executive Officer of Bus Éireann, who worked with the NTA on the redesign, said the new routes and timetables will come as the bus company is upgrading its fleet to fully electric and hybrids.

He noted the electrification of the depot at Roxboro and the benefits its brings to the environment and commuters.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Connachtabu
    Favourite Connachtabu
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:38 PM

Time for the Haughtys to settle for the €50 million they gained due to political favour and politely feck off

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Sep 17th 2015, 11:25 PM

Or words to that effect

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:44 PM

Why have the Criminal assets bureau not investigated the source of this families wealth?
    Or is the law only for the plebs?

Mute Breandán Ó Conchubhair
    Favourite Breandán Ó Conchubhair
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:45 PM

Nail on the head there Niall. Anyone ever have a look at the house they used to own in Kinsealy?

Mute Will Hourihan
    Favourite Will Hourihan
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:41 PM

“I don’t think with my history and heritage that I would leave the party fold”. History and Heritage….. Son of crook whose empire is built on the backs of the people of Ireland. Jesus H Christ! More, typical Irish cronyism. At least we all definitely know that Martin can’t be trusted either.

Mute patrick gilmartin
    Favourite patrick gilmartin
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:38 PM

A man who stands for nothing standing for a party that stands for less .

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:06 PM

Don’t be silly sure it’s his ” history and heritage”. FF still awarding fiefdoms, even over and above the democratic will of their own grass roots.
    NO CHANGE THEN!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:51 PM

People love to bash the cronyism kings but what does it say about the Irish people when they keep getting elected? Michael Lowry has been topping polls for 30 years and will likely do so again. The public simply don’t care about their background or attitude so long as they get their potholes fixed.

John
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:16 PM

In Fairness to Lowry you can judge the caliber of the average Tipperary voters by the quality of the politicians that they regularly return to the Dail.
    If it wasn’t for Hurling Tipperary and it’s people would have NOTHING in common with the rest of Ireland.

Sep 17th 2015, 10:13 PM

Last thing the country needs is another bloody Haughey

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Sep 18th 2015, 5:05 PM

How about another Lemass then?

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:35 PM

Oh god please no.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:37 PM

I’d say he was Shittin himself,being grilled by the Journal.

Mute Paul MacNulty
    Favourite Paul MacNulty
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:49 PM

The last thing that Ireland needs is the return of a Haughey to the DAIL or even government.

Mute Michael O'connor
    Favourite Michael O'connor
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:51 PM

hopefully the people in dublin bay north will kill it for him at the election.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:42 PM

More like can’t stop suckling at the taxpayers’ teat.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:02 PM

I live in his constituency. He hasn’t a prayer. Incredibly he’s actually made people feel sorry for Deirdre Heaney.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:17 PM

So Alan you have the opportunity to vote for M Mc D or Denise Mitchell there you go problem solved

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:34 PM

Funny!

Had to look them up. Fair to say no preferences here for them. A lot of Lefties declared already for this constituency. Will take votes from each other. One of them might make it in.

I’ll be giving preferences to Finian McGrath, Richard Bruton and Averil Power. Might stretch myself to one for Tommy Broughan. I suspect at least three of them will get in with possibly Heaney, who will get a big (and entirely undeserved) sympathy vote. Last seat between one of the lefties. Or if they get the vote out in Howth and Sutton Terence Flanagan might have a shot.

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Sep 17th 2015, 11:35 PM

Deirdre Heney benefited from being put on the ticket by HQ herself in the past, a slightly less old boy

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Sep 18th 2015, 11:46 AM

Actually Bruton could face upset and be ousted for a younger fg candidate. McGrath is well liked and will return, the rest is anyones game. I disagree about Heney though, she sounds like an entitled brat, throwing her toys out of the pram

Mute Dan Higgins
    Favourite Dan Higgins

Professional politician with the adde extra of it being a family legacy! That’ll be a winner for the ordinary joe and Jane on the streets dealing with their stupidity and aversion to actual reality!

Easy to make tough decisions when you won’t have to live with them I suppose!

Anyway, best of luck in the election! I’ll be voting independent due to a complete and utter lack of trust in the lying, single minded, sh¡tebagedness, w@nkery of professional career and family politicians!

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:01 PM

Pension not big enough for the lifestyle..???

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Sep 18th 2015, 5:03 PM

Pension from what? He’s just a councillor.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:00 PM

I believe if worms had faces it would be Sean Haughey’s face they’d have, I don’t know why but it just seems right?

Sep 17th 2015, 10:03 PM

““I’m a divil ” Nope that would be your dad but please run and I hope you loose your deposit.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

“Who will rid me of this troublesome p………!”

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:22 PM

This guy has some legacy to overcome—-son of the most corrupt politician since the State was founded—wonder has he read the Moriarty Reports.
    He has never apologised for the actions of his father—-
    We should demand that he do so and that he repay his share of the taxpayers money that Charlie stole from us—when he does so we could consider his position

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Sep 17th 2015, 11:35 PM

I see your Charlie and Raise you a Bertie

Mute Augustus hoop
    Favourite Augustus hoop
    Sep 18th 2015, 7:59 AM

I’ll add in a de valera……

Ían
    Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Sep 18th 2015, 8:37 AM

While I think that he has some neck running, why should a son apologise for his father’s actions?

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 17th 2015, 9:54 PM

This really goes to show how far FF have come.

Mute Robert Treston
    Favourite Robert Treston
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:01 PM

ahhhhhh F##k off

Mute Alan Henderson
    Favourite Alan Henderson
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:02 PM

lads do the Aldi challenge.. ff/fg/lab are all the same party. vote independent. and tell your friends and their friends and so on. bish bash bosh end of cronyism.

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Sep 18th 2015, 10:45 AM

Alan .
    This sounds great but where do we get a government from when the independents themselves cant agree on anything only ANTI .

Mute Stiofain Murray
    Favourite Stiofain Murray
    Sep 17th 2015, 11:47 PM

Wow – Sean Haughey really is a repellant human being and that fact that he is running shows that FF remains the exact same as it always was.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:42 PM

I remember Charlie bring that pup Sean around Coolock tell all the FFers to vote for my son. Whilst Micheal MacDonacha & Denise Mitchell were out campaigning for the great Larry O Toole – if you want a worker for the area vote Micheal & Denise

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 17th 2015, 10:20 PM

go away the honest people of this country do not want you or people like you.

Mute Paul Reidy
    Favourite Paul Reidy
    Sep 17th 2015, 11:28 PM

That tash has got to go

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Sep 18th 2015, 3:56 AM

Michael Martin’s credibility took another knock from allowing Sean Haughey to contest the coming general election. Ultimately this is just a sideshow. Directing anger against a candidate or party fails to address the fact that our political system is the problem and the public are the only ones who can change this, but do we have the will to do that? Re-shuffling parties at the next general election is not going to achieve that.

Mute Pat Campbell
    Favourite Pat Campbell
    Sep 18th 2015, 12:55 AM

Okay Sean Haughey has not much to offer the Irish electorate, and is possibly only an average councillor. However lets be reminded that his heritage goes beyond his father. He is the grandson of one of Ireland’s greatest politicians, Sean Lemass.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Sep 18th 2015, 7:19 AM

Scion of the greatest leader ever to run this country. A man of sartorial elegance and fine taste in wine, women and horses.
    A genuine blue blood of Irish politics.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 18th 2015, 9:07 AM

Bad mistake by Fianna Fail.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Sep 18th 2015, 3:29 PM

There is the last tiny price of any possible credibility FF and Michael Martin had flying out the window. This guy will never win a seat, and nationally will turn more people off voting FF. Will cost them a couple more seats because of MM additionally damaged credibility on this disastrous decision