You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Temple Lane in Dublin 2, where a man sustained serious injuries following an assault yesterday morning. Google Maps

Man remanded in custody over Temple Bar attack

A man with an address in Quebec City, Canada is charged with yesterday morning’s serious attack on Temple Lane.

A MAN with an address in Canada has been remanded in custody after being charged in connection with an assault on another man, who was left in a critical condition, in Dublin’s Temple Bar in the early hours of yesterday morning.

Simon Mercier, with an address in Quebec City, was remanded in custody after an appearance at Dublin District Court this afternoon where he was charged with assault causing harm.

Mercier is one of two men who were arrested after a 26-year-old man was attacked in Temple Lane South in Temple Bar at around 12.45am yesterday morning. He will return to court on Wednesday.

The injured man was taken to St James’s Hospital and later transferred to Beaumont Hospital where he remains in a critical condition.

The other arrested man, also in his 20s, remains in Garda custody.

Gardaí are appealing for any witnesses who were in the area between midnight and 1am yesterday to contact them at Pearse Street at (01) 666 9000, the Garda confidential line 1800 666 111 or any Garda station.

Additional reporting by Gavan Reilly

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

39 Comments
    Mute Darren McCormack
    Favourite Darren McCormack
    Aug 15th 2011, 9:54 AM

Dublin scangers at their best. These guys should be hung, drawn and quartered. They are exactly what ruins Ireland. Scumbags.

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Aug 15th 2011, 4:44 PM

How do ya know the attacker’s are from Dublin Darren

Mute Alpine Lar
    Favourite Alpine Lar
    Aug 15th 2011, 6:40 PM

Typical Dublin scanger. Quebec city is ruined with them. Well done, you made a well researched point.

Mute Donnacha Bushe
    Favourite Donnacha Bushe
    Aug 15th 2011, 6:54 PM

It’s amazing that 73 people didn’t bother to read the article and went straight to the comments.
    The attacker was from Quebec. Most people from Quebec have never heard of a scanger.

Mute Niall Connolly
    Favourite Niall Connolly
    Aug 15th 2011, 10:19 AM

Even during the day the square is full of alcos and junkies. If you venture down some of the alleys you’ll be treated to a junkie shooting up!! 99% of these guys are well known to the guards. They should be moved on to try to keep the area safe for both tourists and locals!

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Aug 15th 2011, 2:14 PM

Moved on where? I’m sure wherever they’re moved on to people will want them moved elsewhere again

Mute Frank McMahon
    Favourite Frank McMahon
    Aug 15th 2011, 4:48 PM

they should be moved away from the epicenter of Dublin city. that there is a clinic right smack bang in Temple Bar is….. pretty amazing. typical. all those kinds of words. there should be no junkie clinics in any central/touristy spots. its just good manners.

Mute Big John
    Favourite Big John
    Aug 15th 2011, 8:12 PM

Ya that’s a great approach to our capitals drug problem, good manners. Where do you suggest we move the problem? Any vacant sites down your way?

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Aug 15th 2011, 10:37 PM

I work in Temple Bar, never seen anyone shoot up. Anyone it’s a moot point the alleged attacker is from Canada and most likely not a client of the chemist that hands out methadone in Temple Bar.

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Aug 15th 2011, 10:41 PM

I’m in Temple Bar all the time and have never seen an addict shooting up. What nonsense.

Mute Damian Scott
    Favourite Damian Scott
    Aug 16th 2011, 11:54 AM

In fairness, I have seen junkies shooting up in Temple Bar. I lived in Temple Bar for 4 years and it was pretty much a daily sight. They would constantly try and kick in the apartment building door and sit on the stairs of the apartment building while cooking up etc. A bigger door sorted that problem, but they just did it in the alley way outside the building then…. they also shared the spoils of their latest handbag robbery out there as well….. It’s not so evident around the square area of temple bar. More down towards Parliament St and the Dublin Corpo Building. My Dad gave me a lift back from the airport one day, parked the car on Fishamble St. 10 mins later we came back to the car, window put in and stuff stolen from the car. Junkie stealing for his fix. Dope dropped some of his stuff in the car that identified him…. It is most definitely a problem in Temple Bar. Look hard enough and you will see it. Trust me on that one..

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Aug 15th 2011, 1:39 PM

You can pretty much spot a scumbag from a mile off, or you can hear them talking shite a mile off.

Whatever comes first.

Mute BoyStork
    Favourite BoyStork
    Aug 15th 2011, 3:11 PM

You can also smell them, and spiderman can feel them with his spider sense

Mute BoyStork
    Favourite BoyStork
    Aug 15th 2011, 3:03 PM

I dunno, give the gardai the resources they need, like tasers and they’d be moved on. Because let’s be clear we’ve already extrapolated that because a man was badly injured in Temple Bar it was a) by scumbags, b) junkies c) alcos, so why not give the gardai the power they need to clean our streets of these low-lifes?

Oh it was just announced the news the arrested men are French Canadian.

Drat.

Move along nothing to see here

Mute BoyStork
    Favourite BoyStork
    Aug 15th 2011, 2:29 PM

Hang them, shoot them, flog them! Bring back the gas chambers. Castrate them

Mute Big John
    Favourite Big John
    Aug 15th 2011, 8:13 PM

Freak!

Mute Patrick Moon
    Favourite Patrick Moon
    Aug 15th 2011, 9:52 AM

Big surprise! Temple Bar has become a world class den of sin, that is alcohol consumption and lascivious behaviour. It is no surprise that violence follows. Temple Bar feels dirty. It is where dirty people from around the world go when they visit Dublin. Herpes runs rampant there and our little island suffers.

Mute John Woods
    Favourite John Woods
    Aug 15th 2011, 2:15 PM

You’re a bit weird Patrick

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Aug 15th 2011, 4:36 PM

Tell me Patrick, how did you manage to post from Victorian times?

Mute Conor Horan
    Favourite Conor Horan
    Aug 15th 2011, 5:51 PM

That was the mist entertaining post I’ve read in ages!!! Thank you Mr Moon that made me chuckle! Made my day!

Mute Big John
    Favourite Big John
    Aug 15th 2011, 8:10 PM

Classic, you’ve got the bible virus! Lol

Mute Tom Kavanagh
    Favourite Tom Kavanagh
    Aug 15th 2011, 9:20 PM

well played, sir!

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Aug 15th 2011, 3:41 PM

Puke and outdoor porn on a nightly basis…obviously the TBCT(Temple Bar Cultural Trust) see this as acceptable, admirable behaviour as they lodge objections with DCC to stop McDonalds from opening there?!?! What is that about?

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Aug 15th 2011, 4:10 PM

outdoor porn? i need to spend more time in temple bar :)

Mute Shirley Cummings
    Favourite Shirley Cummings
    Aug 15th 2011, 4:36 PM

What’s outdoor porn?…

Mute BcuTCM0P
    Favourite BcuTCM0P
    Aug 15th 2011, 5:02 PM

Remember the two lads on paddys day last year? One of them was using the other as a naked human banjo, it’s a bit like that.

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Aug 15th 2011, 5:56 PM

Ahh Shirley, now you’re teasing us
    :()

Mute Shirley Cummings
    Favourite Shirley Cummings
    Aug 15th 2011, 10:41 PM

Oh so its just people having sex in the street?!….from the sounds of it,’outside porn’, thought it was some kind of organised event!….Ahhhh so I get it now :-)

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Aug 15th 2011, 10:50 PM

Jaysus Shirley, you almost sound disappointed !!!
    :o)

Mute Stuart Patterson
    Favourite Stuart Patterson
    Aug 15th 2011, 5:07 PM

Temple bar has some great places to eat, as far as drinking there goes, then forget it. It does feel dirty and skanky, it’s a poor place to show the tourists, there are plenty of nice pubs and bars in the city without having to go to temple bar. Even talking about it makes me want to take a shower!!

Mute Ann Kennedy
    Favourite Ann Kennedy
    Aug 15th 2011, 7:11 PM

Lordie, some reading in these here comments for sure.
    i go to Temple Bar, see some people who i wouldn’t appreciate in my life but love the athmosphere, the markets , the gallery there and the book stalls, no one has ever hassled me, i have done a lot of photography there, with the aid of sticks or walkers or on my mobility scooter, no one tried to rob me, rape me or do anything other than see me as an equal curiosity and with a nice smile to boot. Live and let live, Up temple Bar! all cities have hubs like this, if you don’t like it, don’t go there – no one’s forcing you know, its a tiny place in the scheme of things!

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Aug 15th 2011, 8:23 PM

Soo.. Do you know where the outdoor porn is? Just asking for a friend!

Mute Niall Skip Murphy
    Favourite Niall Skip Murphy
    Aug 15th 2011, 4:46 PM

Oh, it was foreigners. Let the calls for them to be hung/shot/castrated begin!

Nobody?

Why does political correctness exclude the people let down by our own society?

Mute Stuart Patterson
    Favourite Stuart Patterson
    Aug 15th 2011, 5:15 PM

Explain, how is someone who stabs another person let down by society?????
    Let down by family and a poor choice of friends?? Or just a scum bag who feeds off society and intimidates people weaker than himself ???
    Let him rot in solitary confinement!!!

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Aug 15th 2011, 6:09 PM

Jesus Niall, its because of political correctness that nothing is done with the merry bands of thieves, gypsies, smackheads and louts that roam the streets intimidating innocent citizens.

There is a wonderful island off Cork that could happily house all the drugheads and what better a place for them to cold turkey out of the habit

The (foreign) gypsies would be held and then repatriated to their home country as soon as possible.

The thugs would be chain-ganged and used for community ‘grunt’ projects.

All benefit payments would be dependent on cooperation.

Sounds a little harsh ???
    Yep, the politically correct brigade and the care-bear brigade would be up in arms over it.
    "Sure we don’t need to go to that extreme, isn’t the current system working grand" they will say.

………NOT !

Mute Donnacha Bushe
    Favourite Donnacha Bushe
    Aug 15th 2011, 7:25 PM

Barry R
    I understand the emotion behind what you say, and I felt a little bit of it myself after I managed to get away from a clueless junkie who made a pathetic attempt at mugging me.

On crime policy, it’s important to ignore these knee-jerk emotions and see what works. Norway seems to get surprising results from relatively luxurious prisons.

“The reoffending average across Europe is about 70-75 per cent. In Denmark, Sweden and Finland, the average is 30 per cent. In Norway it is 20 per cent.”

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1384308/Norways-controversial-cushy-prison-experiment–catch-UK.html#ixzz1V7dbmI2E

Of course there are other societal factors involved in re-offence rates than the nature of the prisons. I’m not suggesting that Ireland should exactly follow Norway’s example – we’re in dire financial straits at the moment and resources need to go to the most deserving. Still, deeming people to be irredeemable scumbags and creating chain gangs is likely to increase, rather than decrease crime. Treat ‘em like scum and they’ll act like scum when they get out.

And in case anyone mentions it, I know that recently in Norway there was a freak shooting event, which was the exception rather than the rule. Oslo is still way safer than Dublin.

Mute Barry R.
    Favourite Barry R.
    Aug 15th 2011, 10:03 PM

And Norway has very little immigration, is a homogeneous society,and does not have a history of petty crime in the way ourselves and the Brits do.

I would be interested to know what the recidivism rates are in the middle east ??

Mute Donnacha Bushe
    Favourite Donnacha Bushe
    Aug 16th 2011, 9:00 AM

Reoffence rates in the middle east are similar to those of Franco’s Spain and Hitler’s Germany. The only democracy I know of with chain gangs is the US where crime is among the highest in the developed world.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 15th 2011, 2:55 PM

it is impossible to move people on away