You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Man in his 30s in serious condition after falling from rocks while shore fishing

The man was transferred to Beaumont Hospital by the coast guard helicopter.

Updated 28 September 7.50 am

A MAN IS in a serious condition in hospital after falling off rocks while shore fishing at Balscadden on Howth Head in Dublin..

It’s understood that the man, aged in his 30s, lost his balance while fishing with a friend.

It’s believed that he fell 10 – 12 metres. It happened at around 4pm.

The Irish Coast Guard unit were called and had a medic on scene on arrival, the coast guard helicopter Rescue 116 then transferred the man to Beaumont Hospital.

A crew from Howth Coast Guard along with the assistance of local Gardai secured the landing site and assisted with the transfer of the casualty to a waiting ambulance.

While the Howth Coast Guard crew were assisting in the rescue they were also tasked to another rescue on Howth Head.

IMG_9023 Rescuers used a rope during the second rescue on Howth Head. Howth Coast Guard. Howth Coast Guard.

A tourist had become trapped half way up a 40 metre cliff at Whitewater brook near the Baily lighthouse.

A rope cliff rescue was lanched and a rescue climber made their way down to the tourist who was unable to move from the steep cliff face. He was secured and brought to safety by the team, no further medical care was required.

The man involved in the first incident believed to be in a serious condition in hospital.

- With reporting by Rónán Duffy

- First published 27 September

Read: Two children among six injured in crash involving car under garda surveillance>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:22 AM

Any other party losing 10% of its elected officials due to allegations of bullying etc would be considered in crisis.

Mute Rex Butts
    Favourite Rex Butts
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:26 AM

@Honeybadger197:no crisis just weeding out the weak and vunerable, leaving just the killers, oh sorry that was a poor choice of word.

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:40 AM

Usual predicable rubbish comments above

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:43 AM

@David Huston: Usual vacuous point above, that conveniently ignores the content of the article. Deflect, deny, distract….

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes

@Rex Butts: SF have a strict policy of weeding out all victims from their Cult/Party.

And now they need permission to voice any opinion they have. Jesus they are one step away from a full dictatorship in their ranks . The furthest thing thing from a progressive party

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:48 AM

@David Huston: usual predictable response from you.

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Favourite George Oscar Bluth
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:56 AM

@David Huston: To be fair losing 10% in a party this large is a crisis. These things do happen in other parties but much less infrequent. I don’t understand when people blindly follow a political party and fail to accept their obvious shortcomings. It’s nearly treated like its fake news, which it clearly is not. If this was happening in FF or FG it would be reported just as much.

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:08 AM

@David Huston: dessie ellis is convicted of terrorist activities. He’s a thug and has the party over a barrel. When the likes of Gerry O’neil in west wicklow are forced out to make way. The party has no real future in serious forward thinking political circles when this is the standard way of dealing with threats to other party members fron murderers and those threatening to hang the party out to dry to get a pay check

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:45 AM

@David Murphey: the truth hurts

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Feb 10th 2018, 11:24 AM

@Honeybadger197: All political parties went through the same thing. The more established parties encountered plenty of in house fighting during their inception and for many years after. In fact FF & FG only came about because of the difference of opinions in the original SF party. To say this type of political game playing is a SF phenomenon is utter codswallop!!!

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Favourite George Oscar Bluth
    Feb 10th 2018, 12:00 PM

@Paul Linehan: It claims to be the same party that was founded in 1905 by Arthur Griffith. That’s a long bedding in period unless it was only founded in 1970 and has no connection with the original party?

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Feb 10th 2018, 12:40 PM

@George Oscar Bluth: And parties like Fianna Fail and Fine Gael claim to be founded from true republican values… Who’s pulling who’s leg???

Mute Rex Butts
    Favourite Rex Butts
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:23 AM

Is anyone supposed to be surprised by this?

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:35 AM

@Rex Butts: ah sure it’s a Democratic Party that allows free speech lol lol lol

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:58 AM

@D’Murph: The Church of Sinnfeinology doesn’t allow free thought or communication. Anyone who attempts this will be deemed an SP and treated accordingly.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:51 AM

@D’Murph: Free speech and living on the average industrial wage

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:29 AM

Not as transparent as they tried to make themselfs out…

Mute Stephen Desmond
    Favourite Stephen Desmond
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:35 AM

@Paddy: More transparent than your faceless fake profile at least ;)

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:39 AM

@Stephen Desmond: typical deflection tactic used here . Wer jammin and many, mamy other faceless SF bots on the journal every day of the week . But you can ignore that fact ;) the cult has spoken ;)

Mute Stephen Desmond
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:50 AM

@Gordon Hughes: If people want to post their vitriolic opinions why do they have to hide behind a veil of fake profiles? That’s a cowardly act in itself. Surely having such courageous opinions should warrant a real name/real profile to go with it.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Gordon Hughes: The SF heads always want to know people names and addresses. Wonder why that is? Nothing but thugs.

Mute Ben Calton
    Favourite Ben Calton
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:36 AM

@Stephen Desmond: Hahaha! The irony of a shinner complaining about faceless cowardly acts.

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Feb 10th 2018, 5:53 PM

@Stephen Desmond: your 100% .. and the vast majority of SF contributions come faceless troll accounts that you speak of

Mute Stephen Desmond
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:20 AM

Aaaaaand another Sinn Féin headline from The Journal to get all the people clicking :)

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:31 AM

@Stephen Desmond: but they’re so news worthy, or should we just ignore the fact the party has major issues with bullying right across the country.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:37 AM

@Stephen Desmond: yes because we shouldn’t report significant things and should sweep them under the rug. Did you see the Fianna Fáil one yesterday they did. When it happens report it. It’s not the journals problem that Sinn Fein have a lot of them.

They’re always going to have a lot of these issues when theyre a party that breed armchair republicans, knakers, troublemakers, murderers, violence, bombings, terrorism, Celtic jerseys, awful economic policies and don’t recognise the law and cover up sex crimes and bullying whilst being hugely disorganised and have mess ups all the time.

I’m not saying Any other party are good they’re ALL terrible but to support Sinn Fein you’d want to be a new type of loser.

Our true freedom fighters would turn in their graves.

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:39 AM

@Paddy: How to deal with bullying .

Threaten sanctions if they dare voice an opinion without asking for permission first .

Ask for permission first !!! A cult has less rules ffs

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:40 AM

@Chris Finn: lol their MINISTER FOR POLICING cut off a clamp the other day like I can’t laugh hard enough at that. If that doesn’t tell all what does…….Oh wait your minister for policing went to jail for attempted bombing of innocent people.

What an absolute joke of a party. A vile organisation that also are an utter laughing stock who can’t get their sxxt to together

Mute Stephen Desmond

@Chris Finn: With anti-Republican hyperbole like that you’d definitely need to have a fake/faceless account to post here :)

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:48 AM

@Stephen Desmond: your mean 100% facts chris has just commented with ?

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:16 AM

@Stephen Desmond: you dont consider this worth reporting ? You might be right. Murders and drug dealing are far more news worthy activities of Ellis and his mates

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:26 AM

@Paddy: But you all hate the party, do you not? why all the interest?

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:39 AM

@Chris Finn: They are no more vile than FG/FF when they were part of the Irish Republican Army. Did their members not also go to jail for bombings murders etc. No difference between the old IRA and the IRA of 20 years ago. Both were fighting for their country, both had blood on their hands. The nonsense about the clamp is not even close to funny, you are easily triggered, most normal people who could get something to remove a clamp would.

Mute shits ville
    Favourite shits ville
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:59 AM

@Tom&Gerry: eh no, the ‘old ira’ never targeted civilians

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:20 AM

@Tom&Gerry: your comment suggests I think Fianna Fáil/ Fine Gael are ok. Did you not read my earlier comments saying they’re ALL bad but Sinn Fein just are an extra low.

Also are you saying ah sure we’d all do it as an argument for minister for policing taking off a clamp for illegal parking (who bet went to jail because of attempted mass murder). Lol let me get this straight this is hilarious. Can you please please repeat again your comment saying we all would do it lol!

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Stephen Desmond: you see the general public who voted for Sinn Fein are not allowed to comment on issues that affect them ,or the SinnFein party in other words we will accept your votes but not your comments

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:54 PM

@Chris Finn: I really can’t speak for anyone else, but i think you would be a right eejit to leave a clamp on your wheel if you had the means to remove it, i know i certainly would remove it, it would be stupid not to, don’t you think?

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:23 PM

@Tom&Gerry: If that’s your point you’re an utter joke

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:46 AM

All parties are bad but Sinn Fein are a different type of low

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:54 AM

@Chris Finn: Sorry, I think you mean FG, the party that only represents their own class, and detest the underprivileged. Now that is a different kind of low.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:22 AM

@Tom&Gerry: it’s bad by Fine Gael sure but I’d take it over a party that has a policing minister who was put in jail for attempted bombing of people lol. How is that so hard for you to grasp

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:10 AM

Stalin would be proud of SF tactics

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:42 AM

There really is a fear of the growth of SF..

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:59 AM

@Willy Malone: What growth Willy?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:00 AM

@Willy Malone: there really isn’t.

Mute joe oneill
    Favourite joe oneill
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:25 AM

@MK76: their is a strong possibility Miss O’Neill could be your next first minister…you will self combust with rage.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:51 AM

@Jane: Oh but there is, the desperation is pathetic, almost every single day.
    Why not some other political party to bash? The answer is very easy, no other political party are a threat to FG’s hold on power, so the media print negative stories almost every day on SF. and FG devotees who are also scared their party will lose power use this forum to spout their venomous hatred.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:16 AM

@Tom&Gerry: in 2007 Sinn Fein got 6.9% of the vote, in 2016 it got 13.8%.
    In the 10 years between FF brought us to the brink of collapse and FG brought in crushing austerity which was seen by many as grossly unfair. We’ve had health crisis after health crisis, the mess that is Irish Water, a homeless crisis, a housing crisis etc etc. In the midst of all that SF have increased their vote by 6.9%.

FF, the party that is generally accepted as having ruined the country increased their vote by 6.9% from 2011 to 2016. The same amount SF has grown in 10 years. Why are SF not hovering up votes? They put themselves up as the alternative to FF and FG but people aren’t buying it. I don’t see this fear that you talk about.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:38 AM

@Jane: lol super comment. Nail on head. Facts and stats. No progress even when opportunity was put on a plate for them. A weak party that will have the same numbers in 100 years time. Nothing to strive for

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:58 PM

@Jane: It’s here on the journal, almost every day. FF are no threat so no attacking them, everyone knows this to be the truth, why all that energy attacking a party that are no threat to your hold on power, if you really believe that.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:47 AM

Sinn Fein will forever stay as a third party. They will go nowhere. 30 years from now nothing will have changed. Mark my words. Excited about the party now.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:08 AM

@Chris Finn: Don’t fool yourself Chris, you are terrified that SF will take the power from your masters, you are so desperate your fingers are being worn out making negative remarks about them, why do that if they are not a threat? Glad to hear you are exited about the party so am i.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Tom&Gerry: literally nobody is terrified of that. The clowns couldn’t do it during the financial crisis, it’ll not happen now.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:32 AM

This dictat to gag victims or face punishment is a very poor signal from Mary Lou’s office.
    Scientology operates in a similar manner, crushing any efforts to release damaging internal information.

Silencing people is not how you win their support or make the party an attractive proposition to voters.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:12 AM

I’m shocked, shocked! that a revolutionary socialist party would attempt to shut down dissent in its ranks.

Mute Brendan McLaughlin
    Favourite Brendan McLaughlin
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:35 AM

I would be grateful for information on any political party on this island or our foreign neighbours in the UK who do not regularly employ 3 line whips and issue disciplinary penalties or dismissal for party members who refuse to adhere to party policy.
    Individuals join political parties whose policies best fit their own agendas.
    You really must correct me if I’m wrong.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:45 AM

@Brendan McLaughlin: I fail to think of any party in the world who’s minister for policing cut off a clamp and was put in jail for attempted bombing.

I fail to think of any party in the world that are as disorganised and have a constant list of mess ups and horrendous 1980s economic policy

I fail to think of any party in this country so connected to terrorism, violence, kangaroo courts, bombings, kneecappings, sex crimes covering up, armchair republican coward losers who wear bandanas.

The country and our men of history cringe for these absolute cowards and losers who follow this dirt party

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:46 AM

@Brendan McLaughlin: delusional

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Favourite Daniel O'Connor
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:59 AM

@Chris Finn: but…..leo…..spin department…..FF are FG

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Chris Finn: “Our men of history cringe for these absolute cowards” are you for real. Have you forgotten the Old IRA members, FG and FF, were they not responsible for murdering and bombings and god knows what else. The IRA of 20 years ago was no different than the old IRA. Both had blood on their hands, go and learn your history.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Feb 10th 2018, 10:26 AM

@Tom&Gerry: I know my history. While all parties are bad none of those parties have a minister for policing put in jail for attempted bombing of people lol. Like what constitutes as vile for you.

I think we’re all in agreement that that minister is an absolute loser of the highest order

Mute Cormac
    Favourite Cormac
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:36 AM

Darragh Brophy has yet another SF story on “bullying”. One could accuse Darragh of having an agenda or dare I say “bullying”.

Mute owen kirwan
    Favourite owen kirwan
    Feb 10th 2018, 8:51 AM

@Cormac: So is it the journal’s fault for the billing and harassment FECKERS

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:11 AM

@Cormac: Yes SF are the true victims here.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:34 AM

@Cormac: I know, it’s all so unfair.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:57 AM

@Ben McArthur: some of their ex members are any ways bullied out of the party with threats of punishment if they open their mouths

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:09 AM

To be fair, is it any different from any other major political parties.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Feb 10th 2018, 9:15 AM

@John Fergus: To be fair, what other major political party has seen 10% of its elected officials resign due to allegations bullying etc in recent months?

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Feb 10th 2018, 11:27 AM

It must be tough for the new young councillors going up against men who once planted bombs. Surely it’s ingrained in the old school Sinn feiners to do things “differently”. These gn run Sinn fein and can’t be disciplined.

Mute Jeremy Jimmy Carlo
    Favourite Jeremy Jimmy Carlo
    Feb 10th 2018, 6:34 PM

Ye all should see some of the stuff these Cultists have got up to in Kilkenny/Carlow in the last year or so.
    Issuing ‘Death Threats’ to people who left their Cult – And what did these ex-cult members do to deserve this ? Just spoke out on social media about their treatment inside the Cult.
    Cultists threatening to Burn-Out defenceless women.. And approaching small business owners looking for ‘Donations’ , with a menacing undertone of “If you don’t donate, then you will get no protection ” ??
    Just some of the Cultists activities in Kilkenny and Carlow ..

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Feb 10th 2018, 11:49 AM

Ah The Cult at it again.