You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Missing prisoner Stephen Henry PSNI

'He is dangerous': PSNI on hunt for murderer who failed to return to Magilligan Prison

Stephen Henry was given a day-release pass to visit family yesterday.

POLICE IN NORTHERN Ireland are on the hunt for a prisoner who has failed to return to Magilligan Prison.

Stephen Henry (41) did not return to the prison yesterday, under the condition of a day-release pass he had been given to visit family.

The PSNI said that Henry, who was jailed for murder in 2004, is dangerous and may be in either the Craigavon or Belfast area.

Henry is described as being 5’10″ in height, of medium build with short brown hair. He has tattoos on both upper arms and scars on his forehead and left ear.

He was last seen in the Craigavon area at around 3.45pm yesterday.

“He has a history of violence and I would urge the public not to approach him but to contact the police immediately,” Detective Sergeant McColgan said.

“I would ask Mr Henry to hand himself into the authorities without any further delay.”

Anyone who knows of his current whereabouts or who has any information to contact police on 999.

Read: Pieta House founder Joan Freeman leaving charity for new mental health project in New York

More: Two women who claim they were lost at sea for five months didn’t activate their rescue beacon

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

7 Comments
    Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:25 PM

Had to laugh at this

This is why when an individual like Eamon Gilmore says a UK exit from the European Union would be bad for the two countries’ relations, the British public listens.

Do you actually think the British public listen even know who Eamonn Gilmore is

WHen you read statements like this, you have to question the whole article

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:53 PM

Can ye imagine gilmore going on to negotiations. Ha ha ha

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:57 PM

Really terrific piece. Unfortunately you said something good about Eamon Gilmore while daring to question something said by Comrade Adams and therefore, you’ll be hounded by the usual lot that seem to find their voices only in the Journal comments section.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:12 PM

Adam, are you not just happy that finally somebody had something to say about your party leader, Eamonn Gilmore? Even if we had to go all the way to england and get a column from a right wing conservative candidate from it to happen??

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:15 PM

edit: “something good to say”

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Jan 4th 2014, 11:24 PM

I’m sure the UK have watched closely and been hugely impressed by how Labour’s way and not Frankfurts’s way was imposed by Eamonn Gilmore !! Just like ourselves !!

Mute Saoirse go Deo
    Favourite Saoirse go Deo
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:31 PM

“Conservative Party Candidate in British local elections” Journal.ie is really scraping the barrel.

Furthermore the idea that the Brits giving “us” a loan (A LOAN!) was to “help” us is ridiculous. It was to look after it’s own interests (fair enough), if Ireland were to go bankrupt Britain would have been fecked, such was the exposure their banks had to ours.

Yes the relationship between the two countries is better but it is wrong to be slapping ourselves on the back or engaging in colonial cringe. There are many outstanding issues and agreements which the British government have reneged on, such as Weston Park and the commitment to hold an inquiry into the murder of Part Finucaine. There are many unanswered questions over collusion, from the Dublin/Monaghan bombings, Finucaine’s murder as well as the MRF – we have only seen under the edge of the carpet and Britain continues to cover up its misdeeds in Ireland.

If there is to be a proper friendship based on mutual respect and equality Britain must release all the information it has (such as the files on the Dublin/Monaghan bombings) about military activity and collusion in the north AND prosecute its soldiers and military and political leaders (were applicable) for their crimes.

Mute Saoirse go Deo
    Favourite Saoirse go Deo
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:32 PM

Pat Finucane* forgive the spelling

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:36 PM

Britain is exposed if the eurozone economy goes down. But Ireland was the only Eurozone country that she lent to

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 5th 2014, 12:50 AM

Most of them collusion claims are nothing more than republican propaganda, a way of justifying their own murderous campaign which claimed more lives than loyalists and security forces combined. If you think Britain should come out and tell lies or prosecute their own people just to appease republicans then you are delusional.

Collusion is a word that the Irish need to be very careful when using these days.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 5th 2014, 2:40 AM

Stomach churning article article .

Mute Peter Branigan
    Favourite Peter Branigan
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:39 PM

Adams doesn’t claim that the process of changing the relationship between Ireland and Britain hasn’t started yet, as you suggest. He clearly sees the Belfast Agreement as an important step in the process. He suggests however, that the process isn’t over, and that a reunited Ireland might be a future progressive step in the two countries ever-improving relationship.

Mute Shane McDaniel
    Favourite Shane McDaniel
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:40 PM

While good relations are welcome and expected I think you have missed Gerry Adams point. He is trying to put the issue of partition on the agenda while the mainstream parties here are happy to ignore it. All the other positives that are a consequence of normal relations are happening off course.
    There is also a lot of naivety in the points made, the bilateral loan issued to Ireland was more in Britain’s financial interest given the amount of bank debt exposure to British banks. Britain stands to make 0.5b pounds in profit from the loan. The nice language used in offering the loan may be genuine but how else would it be sold to a British public themselves going through austerity.
    I sometimes think that these good relations are more a consequence of our government agreeing to let sleeping dogs lie over some of Britains most underhanded activities during the troubles ( Dublin/Monahghan bombings). Also you get the impression that we make more of a fuss of the historic occasions that the they do given that Queen Elizabeth’s visit got very minor coverage in Britain.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:16 PM

Good article and correct in my opinion. My great Grandfather came from Galway as did my Great Grandmother, I’ve lived in Dublin for nearly 14 years now ( longest ever in the same place).
    I feel at home and welcomed here, of course I get slagged but give as good back. I have seen the growing bond between both nations. One big difference when I moved over I would occasionally be asked in England if there was any prejudice against other Brits and myself, I haven’t been asked that question for I don’t how long.
    Dream is when that minority of eejits on both sides are finally able to exist never mind live with each other, and to respect their different opinions.
    My God even the Scots and the English get along with each other ( sort of, LOL) can’t those few in NI do so?

Mute TheRepublican32
    Favourite TheRepublican32
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:42 PM

Not until the Brits give Ireland back to the Irish

Mute Buckwheat MacMillan
    Favourite Buckwheat MacMillan
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:56 PM

‘Arcmchair’ republican – have you not heard of the Good Friday agreement?

Mute gerard kennelly
    Favourite gerard kennelly
    Jan 4th 2014, 11:15 PM

the irish voted for the people who sold us out

now they want to cry about the brits … again

Mute Mike Hunt
    Favourite Mike Hunt
    Jan 5th 2014, 2:18 AM

You can have it!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:47 PM

@ ryan: With all due respect, you are running as a candidate for the very party which interned Irish people without charge (an Illegal act) and sent plain clothed army units to murder innocent Irish civilians. Also, Judging by your age from your photo, I would hazard a guess that all of this happened before you were born. So, thanks for the article, but a quick read, coupled with the authors background, shows it to be lacking in any credibility altogether.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:57 PM

Great Article. Addresses all the key issues in a logical fashion.

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:38 PM

We all speak English, we all watch coronation street, we all follow the premiership

Time to go back into the United Kingdom

Mute Buckwheat MacMillan
    Favourite Buckwheat MacMillan
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:57 PM

They’re solid enough reasons, let’s do it!

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:37 PM

Maybe time to have a mature and rational debate about the inter relationships within the island of Ireland and Britain?

If we could start now with a view to having a referendum by 2016 we could use it as a good foundation to move forward from.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Jan 4th 2014, 11:11 PM

Jar lath
    Wanting a Referendum by 2016 is similar to the want or need to see if the sign that warns you of Wet Paint is really truthful! Just resist the urge and it will go away. This is not the time for such a taunting of Loyalists and I would suggest it isn’t time for Republicans to be asked to grow up. You won’t like the outcome and I’m more afraid of this and than the former!

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 5th 2014, 12:49 AM

Are we not a democracy? What exactly do we fear of asking people to define our relationships within this island of Ireland and our neighbours.
    Let’s ask the hard questions and be mature enough to accept the answers we receive.

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 5th 2014, 12:53 AM

Im for a border poll in 2016. I think it would finally put this hindrance to bed once and for all.

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:40 PM

I would also like to have a referendum on us rejoining the UK and or the Commonwealth.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:50 PM

The first would be rejected on both sides of the border, the second has some merit.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:52 PM

Why waste money?

Mute Sharon Ní Choileáin
    Favourite Sharon Ní Choileáin
    Jan 4th 2014, 10:33 PM

Patrick go over to England and live there and adopt British citizenship. .you are not an Irishman nor ever will be after making a comment like that..actually change your name..you don’t deserve it!!!

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:01 AM

Actually a united Ireland within the United Kingdom…I don’t see what the issue is. The Scottish referendum will be returned “No”. The whole UK will hopefully have a referendum on EU membership soon enough which by all indicators would see the UK leave the socialist European institution. With all the cultural, historic, family ties between Ireland and Britain, the close cooperation and mutual dependency, closer economic and political ties are inevitable. Contrary to popular opinion normally expressed here, it is possible to be simultaneously Irish and British with no loss of patriotic pride: the English, Welsh and Scots have done so OK. However I doubt it would get up, here or in Britain.
    Commonwealth membership is something Ireland should seriously consider. Since 1949 the modern Commonwealth has allowed countries that are not dominions and established the member states as “free and equal”. Of the 53 member states 32 are republics (such as India and Pakistan). It consists of almost 1/3 of the world’s population. Had De Valera remained in office in the late 1940s he would not have taken Ireland out of the Commonwealth as the Costello Government had done.

Mute Sharon Ní Choileáin
    Favourite Sharon Ní Choileáin
    Jan 4th 2014, 10:28 PM

Absolute rubbish….all media hype and not living in real world…omg the 1916 leaders are turning in their graves as we speak…no to the commonwealth…no to joining Britain in anyway..business is business is business. .the British do not give one feck about Ireland..wake up idiots!!!!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:30 PM

“Arguably this is the untold story of Kenny’s and Cameron’s leaderships, one that must be applauded.” OK I get the fact that Ryan has to make his boss look good but the GFA wasn’t brought about by either of them and they sure as hell didn’t persuade the PIRA to decommission so they basically have rode on the achievements of others.

While there is a much better relationship between the two countries I think that Ryan doesn’t realize that the North is still a powder keg waiting to happen. The MI5 terror alert is at severe and the only reason that it isn’t higher is that the various Republican factions haven’t got their act together. Another bunch of lunatics have set up “Camp Twaddell” so that the can enforce their “right” to hurl insults at the neighbours. It will only take a small chain of events to kick the whole thing off again and this time it could actually be worse. With no political party representing Republican paramilitaries there will be less of a worry about tactics to keep MLA’s in seats. It will be a pure military campaign without the restraint of political insight fought against British security forces baked up by their Loyalist /Unionist paramilitaries.

When you get 3 of 5 political parties agreeing to move on with the Hass proposals and 2 parties effectively walking away (they’d march if they could) you can see that sooner or later no matter what politicians say or do won’t make a difference.

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 5th 2014, 12:57 AM

Watch Brian you’re gonna get us all worried.

Mute Ryan Kelly
    Favourite Ryan Kelly
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:58 PM

I would really like a referendum by 2016.

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 5th 2014, 12:55 AM

So would I. I’d accept one to coincide with Scotlands later this year.

Mute Mike Hunt
    Favourite Mike Hunt
    Jan 5th 2014, 2:23 AM

Besides the accents there is no difference between the Irish or the English.

You all support the EPL, you all dress the same as the English, you all watch the same things on TV and all have council flat dwellers walking around in track suits, on the the dole with 10 kids, just like England.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jan 5th 2014, 9:19 AM

Mike, Im guessing you have never been to Ireland. GAA is more popular here than soccer. We dont have council flats but true there are some tracksuit wearers in Dublin only. I dont think there are many families with 10 kids. There are similarities between the two countries but there are big differences also.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Jan 6th 2014, 5:02 AM

The main difference is in attitude Conor. To an observer from outside “these Islands” the differences are mainly cosmetic. Much of Irish culture is concocted to emphasise what it is not (ie we’re different). It smacks of cultural cringe.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:41 PM

Curiously the Irish Government can sort of issue UK currency.

The Bank Of Ireland (in the North) is one of 14 banks which can issue sterling and the Irish government has a 15% stake.

Of course they’d never do so in practice, you’d hope.

Mute Kieran McCarthy
    Favourite Kieran McCarthy
    Jan 5th 2014, 12:22 PM

Ryan ignored the big elephant in the room – that his boss and our one -Enda were asleep on the job last week when Mr Haass and others failed to get a deal in Belfast.

Adams didnt ignore the progress that has been made in recent years – he in fact was making his case on the back of it and said it was time to address partition now as part of that progress. lets face it, no other leader is looking at the bigger picture as he is.

Cameron and Kenny are in fact late comers to this process and not only should not be given medals for this progress for other peoples hard work, but should be reprimanded for sitting back and taking their eyes off the ball like they did last week at stormont.

Ryan came across there like a stand-up comedian when he told us the people of the UK tend to stand up and take note of Eamon Gilmore when he tells them leaving the EU would be bad for them. (joke of the century)

and Ryan, like a true Tory must think we Irish are all fools if he thinks we are swallowing the line that the UK came to our rescue with a wee bailout when we needed it. A neighbourly gesture -maybe, – but more an act of protecting ones own financial interests in Irish banks – not to mention the large profit to made from the loan itself. But Ryan isnt alone in taking us all for fools around the bail-out/banking fiasco, sure hasn’t Enda and FF before him tried and largely succeeded in that too!

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Jan 5th 2014, 5:22 AM

In general this is a good article which is representative of mainstream political opinion both in Ireland and the UK. By mainstream political opinion, I mean the people who support and who constitute the major political parties in Dail Eireann and the House of Commons with the exception of Sinn Fein and possibly the DUP. Anglo-Irish relations have improved greatly since the Good Friday Agreement and are now probably better than at any time in history. However, I tend to agree with those who say that very few people in the UK know or care who Eamon Gilmore is or indeed who the major Irish political leaders are with the exception of Enda Kenny and Gerry Adams. They are well known but for different reasons.

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Jan 4th 2014, 8:00 PM

Wrongs were committed on both sides by various parties etc… Nothing to be gained, except giving a small orgasm to the armchair historians, for the truth is lies and lies are the truth….

Mute Lou Dunne
    Favourite Lou Dunne
    Jan 4th 2014, 9:33 PM

@Ryan you are the one that is wrong Ireland is not and has not been reliant on the UK for exports but rather interdependent for a long time now, research shows that in 2011 just 17% of Irelands exports went to the UK. I think that before you write an article arguing that someone is wrong maybe it might be a good idea to also do your homework first.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jan 5th 2014, 5:55 AM

Adams has been sidelined and is trying to be noticed.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Jan 4th 2014, 7:36 PM

Wonder why comment not published.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Jan 6th 2014, 4:27 PM

Exports = US 17.9%, UK 17.3%, Belgium 15.6%, Germany 8.4%, Switzerland 5.8%, France 5% (2012)
    Imports = UK 39.8%, US 13.2%, Germany 7.6%, Netherlands 5.7% (2012)

Mute Margaret Martin
    Favourite Margaret Martin
    Jan 5th 2014, 10:46 PM

Should have a nice fire down,and make themselves comfortable!,!,!??