You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Heather Humphreys, TD for Cavan/Monaghan Alamy Stock Photo

Heather Humphreys describes death of Monaghan teenager in car crash as 'devastating'

The crash took place at about 1.30am this morning.

MINISTER FOR SOCIAL protection Heather Humphreys, who is a Cavan/Monaghan TD, has expressed her sadness after a teenage boy died in a fatal car crash in Monaghan in the early hours of this morning.

The single vehicle crash occurred at Carrickaderry, Clontibret, Co Monaghan at about 1.30am this morning.

The male driver of the car (17) was pronounced dead at the scene. His body has been removed from the scene to the mortuary at Monaghan General Hospital where a post-mortem is due to take place.

“Today, we woke up to the tragic news of the loss of a much-loved young boy in Clontibret,” the minister said. “Heartache and sadness have touched yet another Monaghan family.”

“For a young life, with such a bright future, to be cut short in this way is truly devastating. I am so saddened and offer my deepest condolences to his family, friends and community,” she said. 

“There are no words that can truly capture how they are feeling at this time.”

The scene of the crash on the old N2 road in Carrickaderry is currently closed pending a technical examination by Garda Forensic Collision Investigators. Local diversions are in place.

Gardaí in Monaghan have appealed to anyone who may have witnessed the collision to contact them.

Any road users who were travelling in the Clontibret area this morning between 1am and 1.45am, and who may have camera footage (including dash-cam), is asked to make this available to gardaí.

Anyone with any information is asked to contact Monaghan Garda Station on 047 77200, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:24 AM

Yes, it’s stunning in parts.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:36 AM

Yes. We live on a beautiful island. Some stunning coastline and scenery. It really is the ‘emerald’ Isle. The fly in the ointment though is that our country is governed by a cabinet of absolute incompetents. Let that be on record.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:39 AM

@Jimmy Wallace: I just did!

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:47 AM

@Andrew Kenny: This article providing great cover for a whinge. I wish we had a great government. Like the one we had in the year ____ .

Mute Jon Doesn't
    Favourite Jon Doesn't
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:53 AM

@Andrew Kenny: finding it difficult to assert your political feelings elsewhere?

Mute Patrick Cadogan
    Favourite Patrick Cadogan
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:15 PM

@Jack Hayes: 1918?

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:21 PM

@Patrick Cadogan: Post-war radicalisation and a Plural voting system. Either way, yeah one might have to go back (or ahead) that far, which compounds my point, I reckon.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:36 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: Andrew makes a valid point. There’s lots could be done to make this the Machu Picchu of Ireland. A bit of effort such as litter bins and toilet facilities, serviced camper van sites at beauty spots wouldn’t go amiss, but we can’t even do that.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Apr 11th 2024, 3:28 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: I think it is. The incompetence of the government, seeps down to Co. Councils and their incompetence in some counties is just awful, especially on the area of litter control and illegal dumping

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:15 PM

@Jack Hayes: like we had in 1169 ?

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:51 AM

I drove along many stretches of it before it became the wild Atlantic way and always appreciated it. While the rebrand has good points such as attracting people to it’s many beautiful sites it also has detrimental effects such as the ruination of the cliffs of Moher.
    I fear that Sliabh Liag is heading in the same direction.

Mute eamonn farrell
    Favourite eamonn farrell
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:47 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: i blame local councils for that !

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:27 AM

Fantastic scenery during the summer

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:25 PM

@Darragh Mcnamara: it needs a roof.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:50 PM

@Darragh Mcnamara: Fantastic scenery in the winter, too!

Mute Jimmy The Mink
    Favourite Jimmy The Mink
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:32 PM

I remember really looking forward to the impressively titled “Great Ocean Road” in Australia then realising after doing it that we have the best coastline in the world. We’re very lucky.

Mute Be Lucky
    Favourite Be Lucky
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:59 AM

yes it was fantastic when did it back in 2015, it was sad to see all the boarded up and closed down pubs they where such a fabric of our society.

Mute Lilly Lalogue
    Favourite Lilly Lalogue
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:46 PM

The Conor Pass and Gap of Dunloe are spectacular to drive and not for the faint hearted!

Mute eamonn farrell
    Favourite eamonn farrell
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:50 PM

@Lilly Lalogue: sky road fantastic !! take a drive up the coast of Clare,nowhere better on the planet.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:50 AM

Bucket List: cycle it!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:09 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: ‘Things to do just before you die.’

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:12 PM

Absolutely beautiful scenery. Well worth the drive.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:22 PM

@M G: Of all the things that didn’t happen, this didn’t happen the most. You live in a country with 18,000+ murders in 2023. You’re worried about “so much going on with migrants” in Ireland. Ffs. As Roy Keane would say: ” do me a favour”

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:18 PM

@honey badger: or, as Someone once roared on YT: ‘ ah heeyor, leave ‘er out ! !

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:10 PM

Why is Turbidy news? WTAF cares?

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Mick Hanna: They probably earn from advertising revenue based on clicks on plenty of people clicking on to article to make comments.

Mute M G
    Favourite M G
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:59 PM

Was going to travel over from the states to do it with my family as we have seen so much online and it looks wonderful but my family having second thoughts because so much going on in Ireland with migrants we do not know if its a good idea at the moment hopefully in the future we can do this adventure as a family.

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:22 PM

@M G: what a spanner.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:17 PM

@M G: christ, what a plonker of a comment. Do you think people from outside the US should cancel US trips due to ‘all the guns’ ye have ?

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:31 PM

@M G: Yeah, you’re completely right – stay well away from us.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:22 PM

Pretty good to cycle, pity about the litter plastic bottles and cans along most of it

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:11 PM

Did Loop Head to Bellmullet. Spectacular in places especially Connemara.

Mute mcleixlip
    Favourite mcleixlip
    Apr 11th 2024, 3:46 PM

Best way to do it is by motorbike. Plenty of spots to go ‘wild camping’ too. Obviously, Kerry is beautiful, but the roads are busy. Louisburgh to Delphi and around Killary Fjord is spectacular (on a clear day, Doolough will leave you speechless). In Donegal, Gweedore, Falcarragh and Dunfanaghy are Ireland’s Best kept secrets .

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:15 PM

@mcleixlip: Throw in Sliver Strand beside ‘the lost valley’, and Glassilaun Beach opposite at the end of Killary Fjord too!

Mute Magnificent Mongoose
    Favourite Magnificent Mongoose
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:25 PM

Go and get fleeced at the Cliffs of Mother.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Apr 11th 2024, 11:59 AM

The route has always been there. Just a made up name, a load of crap in alot of places your 50kms from the coast. You don’t even see the Atlantic or the wildness in a lot of places, just towns, city’s, concrete and tar, fields with farm animals in them.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:05 PM

@brendan C5: 50km from coast? You’re wrong there.

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:22 PM

@brendan C5: that’s a load of lies anyway

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:27 PM

@brendan C5: So you didn’t actually do it so.

Mute Joe O'Hara
    Favourite Joe O'Hara
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:31 PM

@brendan C5: Poor you. Did you get lost?

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:21 PM

@brendan C5: Who shat in your cornflakes this morning Brendan ya divil?

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:52 PM

@brendan C5: You sure you were not doing the wild midlands way? Tullamore and Edenderry are a bit of an eyrsore in fairness.

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:58 PM

@brendan C5: what’s wrong with fields and farm animals?

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Apr 11th 2024, 7:45 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: Indeed – does he want a return of foot & mouth when they were all indoors?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:25 PM

It’s a great trip , and well worth doing. Personally, it’s a motorbike heaven. Bicycles too slow, dangerous. Cars take up too much space, traffic.
    The one big criticism I’d have is the marked reluctance and in many cases the refusal of places along the route to allow campers. Given the lack of accomodation on the route, this is a major negative.

Mute Damian Collins
    Favourite Damian Collins
    Apr 11th 2024, 3:04 PM

Yes I drove from Cork to Westport along the coast in June 1998 long before the new name. It’s a stunning coastline

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:23 PM

I would like to cycle this route. Any recommendations fellow readers?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:25 PM

@Sean Money: Get a bike. Best of luck.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Apr 11th 2024, 12:57 PM

@Sean Money: With the sea to your left just keep pedalling!

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:15 PM

@Sean Money: Quite a few people and groups do the Malin Head to Mizen Head on bicycles. Will take a few days but well worth it according to some friends who did it a few years ago.

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:23 PM

@Sean Money: put an engine in the bike,forget your silliness of cycling. ;)

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:38 PM

@George Vladisavljevic: thanks for the recommendation, it seems a good challenge. I will fuel the journey with plenty of beer and stew from the local hospitality!

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:39 PM

@honey badger: ah sure I have one already, Raleigh racer

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:39 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: a wise cracker indeed you are

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Apr 11th 2024, 1:40 PM

@HisMastersAlibi: bikes are for cycling none of this electric nonsense

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:26 PM

@Sean Money: Get a bicycle and a pair of bicycle clips to stop your trousers getting caught in the chain. Buy a bell, and make sure you have a reflector showing on rear mudguard . Now, off you go!.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:21 PM

@Sean Money: I did a bit of it on bicycle, once. Back in 1980 iirc. Went from Galway – Corker Hill (out past Kinvara) – Galway. On a Raleigh Grifter. I nearly died. The grips on it nearly killed me.

Mute declan sweeney
    Favourite declan sweeney
    Apr 11th 2024, 9:14 PM

@Sean Money:

In North Mayo, the fish and chips in the Village in Killala, allso Bessies pub in Killcummin

Mute Paul Red
    Favourite Paul Red
    Apr 11th 2024, 6:29 PM

Used to drive that whole route as a tour coach driver guide. Slea head, the cliffs of mohair and the ring of KERRY are fabulous. As good as anywhere in the world

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:50 PM

Every year for the donegal International rally. Absolutely beautiful and my kids love it.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Apr 11th 2024, 2:09 PM

Mick Hanna asks the question as to who cares about Ryan Tubridy without realising that he clearly does himself by asking the question rather than ignoring the article altogether. Well done Mick. Your need to whinge and moan on an article that has nothing to do with Tubridy has confused you.

Mute NoelDublin
    Favourite NoelDublin
    Apr 11th 2024, 4:44 PM

How about a don’t drive option!

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Apr 14th 2024, 8:53 PM

Cant afford it cheaper get flight spain

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Apr 11th 2024, 8:03 PM

Driven?? What about touring the West of Ireland using public transport? Also, is the whole West of Ireland now nothing but a theme park?

Mute p gert
    Favourite p gert
    Apr 13th 2024, 12:03 PM

Cant find it on a map.