You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Muslims say they're too busy watching Netflix and making carrot cake to join ISIS

Priorities.

MUSLIMS HAVE BEEN trolling the so-called Islamic State online by explaining why they can’t join the terrorist group.

They were responding to ISIS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi calling for all Muslims to “join the fight” in an audio message. He reportedly stated: “The war on the Islamic State is a war on Islam and Muslims.”

Arab Spring activist Iyad El-Baghdadi tweeted some lines from the message:

Many Muslims took to Twitter to explain why they can’t join, with the excuses ranging from a Netflix binge to making carrot cake:

Nicely done.

Read: Iraqi forces just scored a major victory against Islamic State

Read: Rare evacuation of Syrian towns as deadly blasts kill dozens

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:21 PM

Funnyiest sight of the day was celebrity candidate Graine Seoige on news— she actually looked shocked at getting trounced

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:54 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: nah the funniest is how you spelt funnyiest

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:00 PM

@J B: Did you put your name on the ballot paper – don’t think so
    I say

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:36 PM

@Tim Brennan: shut up tim

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:04 PM

@james rowan: didn’t know there was a grammar police I’ve never had to ring them but when trolls with multiple accounts come on here trying to be smart arses they should at least spell properly

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:47 PM

@barry williams:
    Capitalisation and punctuation are important too. You must have missed that day in school.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:30 PM

Thank you very much Meath East for Helen McEntee.hope yee are happy with this.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:42 PM

@Jb Walshe: Ye sometimes have to wonder. Worst minister for justice in living memory.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:06 PM

@Jb Walshe: can’t believe people were gullible enough to vote her back in no wonder the country’s the way it is now

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 3rd 2024, 4:08 AM

@Jb Walshe: I’m seriously pee’d off too… Democracy?! I had THREE votes/ ballot cards- Dublin South Central, Dublin Central and DL/ Rathdown. Obviously I didn’t break the law and only voted once but I’m sick and tired of contacting the Dept to take my name off two of the electoral registers. I’m sure I’m not the only one. It’s farcical. To say I’m disappointed with the candidates who were voted in to the constituency in which I did vote would be an understatement.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:43 PM

If Hutch goes into coalition with FF/FG he can be just perfect Justice Minister.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:18 AM

@Sergej Simonov: ha ha ha thank you I actually just peed my pants!!:)

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:41 PM

Delighted to have Noel Dempsey’s daughter representing and working for you

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:43 AM

Just read the article again hadn’t noticed Lowry I’m laughing but not in a ha ha tummy laugh way… WTF is wrong with us as an electorate?! Whatever about the Healy Reas but Lowry like seriously?? Stockholm syndrome or what man

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:44 AM

@Dave G Doe: get any sleep last night Frank,thought you’d be out like a light after them fine beers in Brushes. Sleep deprivation can create psychosis which could lead to multiple personality disorder Tim.

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:12 AM

@Dave G Doe: see what I mean,sleep deprivation can create problems for you,”you are not taking this result well”… that’s just random,makes no sense Frank XD

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:07 PM

Monk in great news!! He can lock up the old bill now who harassed him for years.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:10 PM

@Basildon Joe: Imagine being kept in custody for year on a murder charge with no evidence. Garda with MTK reg plates.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Stephen: he is laughing now…a great movie of his life one day I hope.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:16 PM

@Basildon Joe: It must be sickening for those that actually worked for and in the constituency.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:17 PM

@Stephen: still….pales into insignificance compared to what those animals in America did to president Trump with their witch hunts and assassin’s bullets

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:18 PM

@honey badger: when the Democrats were crying on news in US on Nov 6th…. some character held up a big sign that said…..” DEMOCRACY BABY”!!!

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:25 PM

@Basildon Joe: I know three people who live out in Glasnevin. Two of them are Fianna Fáil voters and one of them is a Labour voter. All three of them gave Gerry Hutch their number 1 vote yesterday. He is an excellent protest vote as he is the exact opposite of the excessive elitism that has a stranglehold on the major parties. All three of them are middle-aged and middle-class average citizens but they were just fed up with the lack of common sense coming out of the Dáil. I’d rather an honest crook in the Dáil than the dishonest ones that we have now. At least gangs have honour codes. No such thing exists in the Dáil. Although he’s not in my constituency, I wish him the best of luck if he gets the seat. He’ll certainly shake things up, that’s for sure.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:27 PM

@honey badger: this is it, and sickening I’d say for youth workers in the north inner city. And commenters here painting him as some kind of Robin Hood character

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:32 PM

@Frank O’Hara: agreed Frank, the ultimate protest. Gerry definitely will do more for the people than the shameless politicians ever did though. Good luck to him I say.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:32 PM

@Kevin Kerr: hi stalker…… simple question……. Yes or no……did Gerrard get totally vindicated in four courts & walk out the front door with his head held high to rapturous applause? YES OR NO??

Mute Brian Lyons
    Favourite Brian Lyons
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:42 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: NO… he walked out of the CCJ not the Four Courts

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:46 PM

@Brian Lyons: haha, whatever you say Mr pedantic,lol

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:47 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: Gerry Hutch made a €1.2M settlement with CAB, being tax owed on income that he could not account for. This is a fact. The fact that he walked free in a murder trial is neither here not there – he is a gangland criminal, widely known to be responsible for armed robbery, drug importation and money laundering, not to mention tit for tat murders in Dublin. Veronica Guerin was not wrong when she reported on his activities.

Mute Andrew Speers
    Favourite Andrew Speers
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:49 PM

@Basildon Joe: he’s running for the Dail not the guards you clown

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:54 PM

First rule of law…..” Innocent until proven guilty”……we enjoy a legal system in this country — NOT some stalkers kangaroo court

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:55 PM

@Andrew Speers: they work for him now, he is their boss.

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:03 PM

@Andrew Speers:

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: yes we do have a legal system, one that I respect – if the state can not produce the evidence, then it is only right that he is not convicted. But that doesn’t get away from what everyone knows about Hutch, and the fact that people knowingly voted for him is depressing. The fact that his probable election makes you happy says a lot about you, and not a lot of good. But hey, that’s democracy, isn’t that right?

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:07 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: Courts of law do not return verdicts of innocent.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:26 PM

@Basildon Joe: old bill? You’re watching too much eastenders

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:04 PM

@Frank O’Hara: you’re insane

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:40 PM

@Frank O’Hara: “At least gangs have honour codes”
    You been watching to much Netflix wee man ,every one of them will turn grass if they get caught.
    Spend their time trying to scam everyone they know in order to get what they want,pushing drugs and ruining peoples life

Mute Tonya Hanly
    Favourite Tonya Hanly
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:45 PM

@Basildon Joe: he didn’t laugh for long

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:51 AM

Must feel like winning the Lotto

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:24 PM

It’s hard to believe that as a country we have voted in the same shower that have mishandled every fragment of governance within this state.
    It just proves the point that we are probably more divided than most nations,that we only care about the issues that effect us,f..k thy neighbour and all that.As a proud Irishman I’m ashamed.

Mute Bernard Connolly
    Favourite Bernard Connolly
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:35 PM

Dun Laoghaire deserves everything that they can get voting in that horrible person getting in 1st you shower of W…..

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:52 PM

@Bernard Connolly: just look at the areas in the constituency, killiney, dalkey, blackrock,foxrock etc areas unlikely to vote for left leaning politicians, though we get a token left-wing politician

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:00 PM

the RTE graphics coverage is brutal

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:21 PM

@Tim Brennan: Lol, you reckon they kept the “graphics” department after being slaughtered by the Irish people? hardly

Mute Ray Martin
    Favourite Ray Martin
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:16 PM

With all candidates being Irish what am I missing that SF seem to think they own the Tricloour

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:39 PM

@Ray Martin: It’s nauseating to watch they hijack everything it’s my flag too, and I’ll never vote SF.

Mute Tonya Hanly
    Favourite Tonya Hanly
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:45 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: have you seen what’s been done to our flag at anti immigration protests. Disgraceful.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Favourite Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:48 PM

Monk is winning

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:50 PM

@Meatball Martin: Eh no he’s not Mary Lou actually won the constituency. Monk will scrape in 4th.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:52 AM

@Meatball Martin: Party at the CAB HQ

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:17 PM

Best result was Brian Stanley getting elected and depriving SF of another seat despite the best efforts Mary Loo and her kangaroo court. You made your bed now lie in it Mary Loo ( unless your colleagues finally realize that you’re a liability and kick you out).

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:28 PM

Turn was poor because the dole heads were in the pubs on Friday spending their hard earned welfare

Mute Aidan Maher
    Favourite Aidan Maher
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:24 PM

The people have spoken and have decided they want FF/FG to run the country for the next five years. The election is over.

Mute Always Question
    Favourite Always Question
    Dec 3rd 2024, 12:52 PM

It disturbs me to see such glee on the faces of those who are facing what should be the most serious jobs in Ireland. Is it the power or the money they are celebrating?

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:36 PM

Can’t beat the gravy train it’s the gift that keeps on giving with no accountability ever.

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:08 PM

FI and ff are fluffy duster in government and the old generation voted for them. Sadly housing, health, police crisis will not change. Their attitude is to dismiss the electorate like Simon Harris dismissed the carer.

Mute Andy Mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy Mc Laughlin
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:54 PM

Off topic but kinda related… how has it taken 5.3 million to keep that boat tied up for a year.. wtf

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Dec 3rd 2024, 12:08 PM

@Andy Mc Laughlin: grease is expensive these days