You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sean Dunne. Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland

NAMA appoints receiver to some properties owned by Sean Dunne

A number of properties owned by the developer Sean Dunne have had a receiver appointed by NAMA.

THE NATIONAL ASSET Management Agency has appointed a receiver to some of the properties owned by the developer Sean Dunne.

NAMA has acquired some €350 million of Dunne’s loans from Irish banks. It is understood that Paul McCann of Grant Thornton will act as receiver, RTÉ reports.

The properties included in the receivership are Hume House in Ballsbridge - which was bought for €130 million in 2006 – and properties at the Docklands, Sandymount, Rathfarnham and Herbert Street. However, the former Jury’s Hotel in Ballsbridge is not included in the process.

Read more on RTÉ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

5 Comments
    Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:06 PM

This man is responsible for more terrorism than your average Al Qaeda general through the hate that he has spread through his entire public life! I have no interest in his opinion on anything!

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:32 PM

exactly ted,why give him a audience at all,i wouldnt want to hear his opinion on the weather

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 10th 2014, 6:42 PM

The DUP’s Ulster resistance imported loads of weapons, the RUC and British Military Intelligence imported weapons.

All went to Loyalists paramilitaries.

There was a lot more done than incitement to kill and discriminate by Unionist politicians.

Time we called a spade a spade.

Mute TheIrishBrain
    Favourite TheIrishBrain
    Jan 10th 2014, 8:35 PM
    Mute Martin Carroll
    Favourite Martin Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 11:37 PM

Well said Ted

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:41 PM

It will be interesting to see how posters like James Buchanan and Patrick Lyons, who have been rabid (and off-topic most of the time) in their defence of Paisley’s comments on another thread, react to a complete and utter denunciation of those comments by current Unionist leaders. They’ll probably just go off-topic again and indulge in their favourite hobby – whataboutery.

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:45 PM

Their the same person

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:47 PM

lyons had 5 pseudonyms on the last post.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:48 PM

Foxy, I didn’t know that. I just assumed posters on The Journal are not allowed sock-puppets (like most other sites). Thanks for that.

Mute Jay Hedge
    Favourite Jay Hedge
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:15 PM

They’re

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:25 PM

id advise people to ignore him/them,he’s a sad pathetic little man looking to troll,why on earth would you come on here day after day to say the same thing to people who dont think the same as you about such a sensitive topic,he clearly enjoys being controversial and needs it too,please just ignore him and he’ll go away,i told him the other day thats what i was going to do and he sent 3 messages trying to goad me into talking !! he’s a parasite,debate is fine and all that but it gets to a point where it is just trolling and looking for trouble

Mute Tom Hara
    Favourite Tom Hara
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:38 PM

You nasty git….

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:52 PM

Let’s just go round his house for a cup of tea and a chat

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:59 PM

@ Scaldychops

If you were on the previous thread you’d clearly see that I supported the Dublin and Monaghan families getting the truth about what happened their loved ones, I also referred to both republican and loyalist terrorists as scvm who caused a lot of hurt in this country. I did put these bombings into perspective though and compared it to what was happening up here on a more regular basis, an innocent victim is an innocent victim whether they died in Dublin/Monaghan in 1974 or the Shankill bombing in 1993, theres no hierarchy of victims.

People on here think its ok that people were murdered because it was done in the name of Irish freedom, imagine if I said the Dublin/Monaghan bombings were ok because it somehow strengthened the UK or some warped statement like that, i’d be hounded on here more than I am already. The perpetrators of Dublin ad Monaghan were murdering scvmbags who certainly didnt represent me in any way. Theres my stance on the matter, now red thumb away.

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:10 PM

@Patrick Lyons
    They’re their Patrick, you seem quite crotchety.

Mute stephen allen
    Favourite stephen allen
    Jan 10th 2014, 5:00 PM

your, you”re a dick

Mute Etienne de Montfort
    Favourite Etienne de Montfort
    Jan 10th 2014, 7:10 PM

“People on here think it’s ok that people were murdered because it was done in the name of Irish freedom”

Who??

Mute Caolán McKenna
    Favourite Caolán McKenna
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:28 PM

The Orange Order- Ireland’s answer to the Ku Klux Klan

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 10th 2014, 6:46 PM

Hill Billy comes from Billy’s boys on the hill.

They still had Orange Parades in America up to the last century. When the Americans had to ban them.

Same reason as all over the world. Drunk Orange men rioting and attacking and killing people.

You can take the Orange man from Fermanagh but he takes his hate and violence with him.

Mute Etienne de Montfort
    Favourite Etienne de Montfort
    Jan 10th 2014, 7:12 PM

This wasn’t the Orange Order though, it was the UVF. I know those two organisations overlap, but they aren’t the same so it’s a bit off-topic. Bash the UVF here, there’ll be a story about the Loyal Orders doing something stupid soon enough and you can get it off your chest then

Jan 10th 2014, 8:40 PM

One and the same Etienne. Orange marchers carry banners supporting various loyalist terror-groupings. They like to do so whilst passing spots in Belfast where said groups have gunned down innocent Catholics.

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:28 PM

The special branch aided and abetted the escape from justice of the british army members who bombed dublin and monaghan. The special branch took a gun off a british soldier in DUBLIN DOCKS on the night of the bombings and put him on a ferry.

Rather than hunt the terrorists the special branch launched a vicious campaign of hatred and intimidation against the families of those who were murdered and injured in the bombings.

No other police force in the world would have done these heinous things, only the special branch.

Mute Ben Leonard
    Favourite Ben Leonard
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:31 PM

really?

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:36 PM

It sounds a bit Alex Jones….I have a hard time believing members of the special branch committed treason…for who’s benefit? What’s their advantage in doing it?

I can see why the British would have an incentive to collude because they were trying to get us to pass internment at the time but our own cops? Why?

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:37 PM

i see that the civil and public servants are been rolled out.

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid

why did the branch stop the investigation weeks after the bombings?
    Why did they hand over evidence to the RUC?
    Why did they launch a campaign of hatred against the families?
    Why didn’t they arrest the soldier instead of putting him on a ferry?

Forget about your alex jones bullshit and think logically.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:46 PM

Well if I’m to be a shell for this conspiracy then I demand the Skull and Bones society, on their way to bomb the new world trade center with holograms and cruize missiles combined with controlled demolitions just like the last time, at least pay me some cash…I could really use some cash?

If you’re too busy rigging royal car crashes and putting secret poison into the contrails of jets I understand but…later maybe? I’m not shelling for you guys for free…I mean can I at least get in on one of the Bilderberg meetings? Maybe you could slip me a 500euro bill under the table or something?

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:49 PM

Huboy…never assume a conspiracy when simple incompetence is a more likely explanation.

I believe in facts, I often get slammed on here for trying to pull the discussion away from emotionally driven hysteria towards logic and reason. So you want me to believe the Garda special branch committed treason you have to tell me two things

1. What are the independently verifiable facts that lend credence to this?
    2. What would they have to gain by doing it? (whats the affirmative theory of the crime?)

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:50 PM

Where’s the conspiracy?

Everything i said is proven facts. What’s your bullshit about the twin towers and diana got to do with british terror in ireland?

You’re too blind to see, bet you can’t wait for sunday so you can buy the sunday independent.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:53 PM

Money?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:56 PM

Neither a civic or public servant, just somebody who thinks your theory is completet tosh

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:59 PM

I’m not too blind to see anything, I’m a scientist, and all scientific investigation starts with healthy skepticism. You are making a very serious assertion that the people who’s specific job it is to protect us from terrorism participated in covering up (or participated in?) a terrorist attack? and thus committed treason….it’s an audacious assertion so it’s naturally going to be met with skepticism.
    I’ve never read the Sunday Independent and it’s been ten years since I read an Irish newspaper except flicking thru the metro on my way to work.

Whats the source for the things you cite above? How did you find them out?

Mute T Beckett
    Favourite T Beckett
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:07 PM

Ryan, why was the investigation stopped then?

why did the Paddy Cooney meet with the British shortly after the attack?

Special Branch, did they EVER arrest any loyalist/British terrorists in 40 years?

The Govt committed treason, why not them?

why has this never been investigated properly despite everyone knowing the British were involved, including Judge Barron?

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:12 PM

Let’s look at it logically then, one item at a time

[why did the branch stop the investigation weeks after the bombings?]
    The investigation taking one time rather than another is not proof of collusion by the special branch, they may have collected all the evidence they had?

[Why did they hand over evidence to the RUC?]
    What evidence? Was it evidence that pointed to persons in the RUCs jurisdiction?

[Why did they launch a campaign of hatred against the families?]
    The special branch launched a campaign of hate or the state or the Brits? Who?

[Why didn’t they arrest the soldier instead of putting him on a ferry?]
    If the special branch was colluding and they let one of the bombers go then how did this ever come out? How did anyone ever find out they let him go?

The reason I asked you for an affirmative theory of the crime is because in debates with 911 truthers they always said to me ”ahh we don’t know…were just asking questions”, and that’s all they’d do, make vague suggestions thru spooky questions but they had no theory of the crime because there couldn’t be one that made sense. What did the special branch have to gain by committing treason? or the state?

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:36 PM

@ huboy de kid,i dont know if its true or not but i wouldnt dismiss it out of hand,people are idiots would ye really put it past the british to do such a thing ?? ye are probably the same people thinking the BBC show a few weeks back on state terrorism was “eye opening” yet when ye hear it again its all “alex jones” like !!!

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:21 PM

Well ok it is possible. But let’s see some evidence/hard facts … not just a bunch of unanswered questions.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:49 PM

@Gerard I would not put it past the British state to collude, or elements of securocrats inside the UK establishment to collude because there is a rational reason they could theoretically have for doing it: it gets us to experience terrorism and makes us more likely to support draconian laws and measures that would also enhance UK security from terrorism.

What I find hard to beleive is the idea that the Garda Special Branch decided to help agents of a foreign power help terrorists bomb their own country and murder the people they took an oath to protect…just cos? For what? What’s their motive for that?
    What do they or their political masters have to gain from bombs exploding in Ireland?

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 7:42 PM

ryan the absence of proof isnt proof ! if you’d take the time to read my comment i never said i belived they had or they hadnt but i am certainly keeping an open mind about it,i dont know how the special branch works or the relationships between governments at international level and my point is you certainly dont either,you say you are a scientist and start with a skeptical mind well it would seem that skepticism works only one way and i know you are gona say logically there was no clear reason and the questions you ask are valid,i agree but its not science we are dealing with its goverments,people and special agents your scientific logic does not come into play,people are irrational,illogical and some times unreadable,who’s to say they werent ordered to leave them go to avoid an international scandal ?? or maybe out of fear of what it would provoke if brought to the open ?? or maybe something was promised in return ?? trade,prisoners,something in return for the nationalist of the north,im not saying this was decided upon before hand maybe after they were caught,who knows !!! its shady and its not called a “dirty war” for nothing and its certainly not gona be obvious to you or me and one ting i do know loyalist gangs hadnt the capabilities or logistical know how to carry this out alone,they were more into getting drunk and picking up random catholics and then murdering them and i certainly would not put the special branch above anything because they had swore an oath,that is naive,they work for the government and the govenrment only !!

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 10th 2014, 8:11 PM

All historical fact and well documented in several investigations.

This was a strange country up to the 90′s. To call it a functioning democracy was a joke.

Mute Madeline Angela Hind
    Favourite Madeline Angela Hind
    Jan 15th 2014, 12:11 AM

if you have proof of that you should take it to the authorities, mr made up shinner name

Mute T Beckett
    Favourite T Beckett
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:13 PM

The ironic thing about what Paisley said was that the likes of Cosgrave, Fitzgerald, etc. never really did ever condemn the British apartheid state in the North or even murders committed on it’s behalf.
    -1969 pograms in Derry
    -Bloody Sunday

They even colluded with the British – letting British soldiers found with a bomb in the Republic go free (Fitzgerald).

Stopped investigation into Dublin and Monaghan Bombings. (Cosgrave).

They in fact acted like cowards. Even a Vichy Regime.

All they did was tacitly support was equal rights, shared future, etc.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 10th 2014, 6:48 PM

They helped cover up countless killings in the South because they didn’t want it coming out that most of it was done by British soldiers and RUC men.

This has been backed in countless investigations.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:33 PM

Political leaders are responsible for fomenting the narrative from which terrorism is spawned. Don’t listen to bullshit from Paisley or Adams or any of them. The terrorism suited them when it served their personal political aspirations and goals. Now in their latter years they want to be redeemed as peacemakers and statesmen. It’s all rubbish. These fools could have tempered the anger , instead they stoked it. They are the real terrorists.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:40 PM

Cromwell started it if you knew your history. They all used violence and murder and hatred to do this damage.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll

Actually he makes a good point…terrorism does not emerge in a vacuum it comes from political narratives that are spun to support it. How else do you think members of the CIRA-RIRA today justify what they do? There is a political narrative spun, they have their own twisted ass backwards version of history and at the end of that twisted story their army council is left as the ‘legitimate’ government of Ireland.

No one person started the troubles it came from a complex interplay of factors. Don’t call people names, this is not a schoolyard.

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:46 PM

aaah, my comment was removed. Lets try again.

Terrorism never suited irish nationalists. It suited the British, Adams stopped the war, the british started it.

Stop reading the sunday independent.

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:47 PM

Well then, if we were to use paisley’s own logic the Stormont gov. brought the IRA campaign upon itself through its denial of civil rights to 1/3 of its population.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:55 PM

Don’t read the indo so there’s that fact you got wrong. My comment not only applies to the Troubles, but every single war throughout history and throughout the world. Unfortunately war and violence.does suit political aims. Look at the change of US foreign policy. It used to be the communists that were the threat , then that narrative was useless after the fall of communism. So the new threat was Islam, something strange to fear.
    As long as Paisley had the threat of Taigs at the gate, and Adams had the threat of state violence, they could steer the narrative.
    It’s moderates that end wars not extremists. Yet they never get the credit for it. Where’s the SDLP now? Drowned out by the violent extremists claiming to be peacemakers.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:59 PM

And funnily enough they all became very quiet after 9/11. Justifying terrorism went out of fashion at that point.

Mute John Lodge
    Favourite John Lodge
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:00 PM

That man was evil personified, If you need a starting point for sectarian strife it’s as good as any. He was none to good in England either, his infamy is still moulds the British people’s attitude to authority. No love lost there and even less trust.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:27 PM

you can say physical violence isnt the answer but tell me whats “twisted” about their take on history ??

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 5:11 PM

If you are talking to me Gerard what I mean by twisted is the nonsense notion that if it’s not a 32 county dail it does not count and that the last remnants of the last all IRELAND Dail gave the power of the ‘legitimate’ state to the old ira army council and they passed it on to the PIRA etc etc etc

Thus all govts the irish people elect are illegitimate, they believe this stuff and it’s bonkers.

The people of this island voted for a compromise peace plan, they just can’t accept that, in all their talk about ‘republicanism’ they have lost sight of the ultimate power in a republic laying with the people, whos wishes they ignore.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 7:28 PM

ok ryan and please try and answer this for me,when men like dan breen and them fired the first shots of the tan war they were vilified by the whole commuinity,called criminals and cowards now they have goverment buildings and estates named after them.what is the difference ?? i want to know what you think so dont off on a mad one tell me in your eyes what is the difference ?? because from where i sit the only difference is ultimate vicotry,if thay had lost we likely wouldnt know their names or hold them in any regard,of course the vast majority of people want whats easiest and to be left to live their lives,work and feed their children thats natural but it doesnt make those prepared to sacrifice wrong for been willing to do so,i dont care about the dail or anything else i would never condemn any man for fighting for his country and no im not saying every method is ok,im not saying blow up innocents so before you even start try keep the hysterical cliches to a minimum

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:38 PM

I agree with what Peter Robinson and Martin McGuinnness said.

I do not necessarily agree with what Peter Robinson or Martin McGuinness may actually think.

Mute T Beckett
    Favourite T Beckett
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:16 PM

We should remember that the disgusting comments from Paisley are the exact same that former
    Taoiseach Liam Cosgrave told the families of the victims of that terrorist attack on the day they lost their loved ones.

http://www.dublinmonaghanbombings.org/

Mute 09celts
    Favourite 09celts
    Jan 10th 2014, 6:06 PM

The Southern media and politicians have treated Sinn Fein so badly
    That the DUP and other loyalists and feel they can treat them anyway
    they like . Paisley knows he can say whatever and the Unionists will
    Get away with it . It also gives the DUP and OUP a get out of jail free
    card . The Southern media. And Politicians in their desire for narrow
    Political gain are leaving the majority of Nationalist people without
    proper representation

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 10th 2014, 6:51 PM

The National Govt of the mid 70′s, Cosgrave’s FG and Lab. set the special branch on the survivors who wondered why the Guards were told stop the investigation after 6 weeks.

The UVF in Mid-Ulster will certainly send Liam Cosgrave a wreath when he shuffles off.

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:54 PM

Terrorists are responsible for their own actions. They cannot be excused or lay the blame on anybody else. Both ‘republicans’ and ‘loyalists’ were/are a disgrace and nothing but carbuncles on the face of humanity.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:58 PM

But the ira are a little bit worse eh Patrick

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:02 PM

They certainly murdered more people than any other gang.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:21 PM

Ryan i agree but why are you using the same profile pic (?) as mr lyons was earlier?

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:21 PM

I must admit it I am really Ruairi Colton.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:24 PM

You wish

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:41 PM

I play the good guy Ruairi plays the bad guy. I/we have a split personality. Sometimes the Ruairi part of me thinks that other people are really me/us. I have tried to seek medical help for Ruairi but he/I/we will not go.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:50 PM

I’m not sure what you mean Rairi in firefox I can’t see a profile pic just the generic photo background thing, the photos meant to be my facebook page main photo. I only use one name on here.

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:58 PM

Ryan, my alter ego Ruairi will not believe, correctly so, that we are not the same person. The three of us must try to get along as we share the same body. Of course, you knew this already as you are me/us.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 5:06 PM

I’m lost…

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Jan 10th 2014, 7:42 PM

Was gonna ask the same question ruairi

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 8:45 PM

What would you like to know Michelle. I would be only too happy to help you.

Mute John Lacey
    Favourite John Lacey
    Jan 10th 2014, 9:58 PM

I have to say Mr Lyons i lol at that.

No one can accuse you of not having a sense of humour.

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Jan 10th 2014, 10:05 PM

Have you more than one profile on the journal? What is the meaning of life? And the question I really want you to answer, how long is a piece of string?

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jan 10th 2014, 10:44 PM

Michelle the meaning of life is 42. This can be verified by The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. The length of a genuine piece of string is 42”. String theory and the meaning of life are interconnected. All pieces of string that are not 42″ in length are patent forgeries.

Mute isabela ramirez
    Favourite isabela ramirez
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:51 PM

Past time for this prehistoric bigot to crawl away and die,where his bones will never be found!

Mute byrondenis
    Favourite byrondenis
    Jan 10th 2014, 3:58 PM

Shinner persecution complex is alive and well

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jan 10th 2014, 6:14 PM

He’s just an all round horrible man.

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 10th 2014, 2:32 PM

Source: Don Mullan.

Mute TK Maxx To Castlebar
    Favourite TK Maxx To Castlebar
    Jan 10th 2014, 4:54 PM

Is it true Britain have info on the bombings they wont release, cuz if they do that seems very fishy. Not saying they did it but…..

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 10th 2014, 5:08 PM

I see this in 911 lore as well.

A gap in the picture does not = evidence of conspiracy.

Theres definitely something both govts don’t want revealed about these bombings but it’s more likley collusion between loyalists and elements inside the UK security apparatus than mad plots of special branch men somehow finding it ok to let a bomber go but deciding he can’t go with his gun..

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 7:49 PM

well ryan to apply your logic,why woudl the irish government want to hide state collusion between britain and loyalists ??

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 10th 2014, 9:54 PM

Obviously, low-ranking personnel in both the RUC and the UDR were involved in the Dublin and Monaghan bombings but there is no evidence that high-ranking personnel authorised it. As for convicted murderer John Weir’s allegation that the late Harry Breen was involved, he is not a reliable witness because he was angry that the RUC didn’t protect him from prosecution. Furthermore, the Barron inquiry did not have the power to compel the attendance of witnesses. Therefore, the Barron report is hardly worth the paper on which it is written.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 10th 2014, 10:56 PM

and is there one shred of proof that they didnt authorize it ?? i think with the hundreds of years of history against them i for one wont be giving them the benefit of the doubt,you work away though ciaran

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:38 PM

@Gerard Tuohy

“and is there one shred of proof that they didnt authorize it ??”

Have you ever heard of the right to be presumed innocent until proven guilty?

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:43 PM

have you ever heard of a history book ????

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:38 PM

Gerard, you cannot blame people for the crimes of their ancestors.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:35 PM

you said there was no evidence of it,this crime was in the 70′s when there is now plenty of evidence of the higher ups colluding at the time and my point is they have previous for this type of behaviour anyway,hundreds of years of previous !! even if it happend today id say the same,if you think the same people who ran the b-specials,ruc and loyalist paramilitaries wouldnt be capable of such things then thats your opinion and i dont think i need to say what i think that makes of you !!! so no i am not blaming people for their ancestors and even if i was id be right they are still here and still fuqing us over,now if i started given danes grief or norwegians then your argument would be valid

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:51 AM

@Gerard Tuohy

“you said there was no evidence of it,this crime was in the 70′s when there is now plenty of evidence of the higher ups colluding at the time and my point is they have previous for this type of behaviour anyway,hundreds of years of previous !!”

What I meant that the fact that previous British governments did bad things on the island of Ireland hundreds of years ago doesn’t necessarily mean that the British government that was in power in 1974 did bad things on this island. Harold Wilson, who was British prime minister at the time of the Dublin and Monaghan bombings, was a left-wing politician and he feared that British intelligence was spying on him. Therefore, you cannot accuse him of collusion with Loyalists.

Furthermore, James Flanagan, who was RUC Chief Constable from 1973 to 1976, was a Catholic. Therefore, you cannot accuse him of collusion with Loyalists either.

Where’s the evidence of the collusion of higher-up personnel?

Mute Josephine Boles
    Favourite Josephine Boles
    Jan 11th 2014, 7:37 AM

He’s some plonker

Mute Colm Kelly
    Favourite Colm Kelly
    Jan 11th 2014, 7:08 AM

Why doesn’t this old guy go away and die