You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Paschal Donohoe Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Opposition continues pressure on embattled Donohue

The Public Expenditure Minister is to make a further statement on his expenses on Tuesday.

PRESSURE IS MOUNTING on Paschal Donohoe to outline the full details around his election expenses.

The Public Expenditure Minister is to make a further statement involving his 2016 general election campaign and other matters raised by the opposition next Tuesday.

Labour’s finance spokesperson Ged Nash said the minister had several opportunities over recent years to clarify the situation but that the first attempt at this was a “hastily arranged press conference last Sunday where limited information was providued to the media”.

“The minister now is trying to make the case, and I think he’s failing to do so convincingly at least, that this is a donation that was made to the Fine Gael Dublin Central constituency organisation,” Nash told RTÉ Radio One’s Morning Ireland programme.

“But in fact, in the context of an election, there really is no such thing and the only person who can incur expenditure on behalf of, or authorise expenditure, is the election agent on behalf of the candidate.”

Elsewhere, one of Donohoe’s own colleagues from the government parties has queried how he calculated the work carried out for his campaign.

Neasa Hourigan, who represents the same Dublin Central constituency as Donohoe, said the figures amounting to the duties provided “seem slightly low”. 

“It’s  six people and a van and that seems like a very good rate he got,” Hourigan said on RTÉ’s Late Debate last night.

“He’s not only my government colleague but he’s also my constituency colleague so I’m not trying to have a go at Paschal particularly.

“But it is actually a lot, it is a lot of support. and if you’re somebody who’s trying to get elected, we have to keep it a level field. ”

While answering parliamentary questions in the Dáil yesterday, Donohoe told the chamber that he would make a further statement on the matter at the earliest opportunity.

While the Dáil business committee had the view that it would have been preferable for the statement to have been made yesterday, Donohoe told the Dáil that he would be unable to make a statement until later.

He has since confirmed he will appear again for a further statement and questioning next Tuesday.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Prime Time last night, Sinn Féin finance spokesman Pearse Doherty questioned whether businessman Michael Stone paid for putting up Donohoe’s election posters in 2020.

Speaking on the same programme, Minister of State for European Affairs Peter Burke said the Fine Gael TD would come forward with all the details next week and called for a proportionate response.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:09 AM

I recently completed a refurbishment project in South Dublin consisting of the delivery of 14 upgraded homes for Rathdown/DL council. I’m back every now and then carrying out maintenance and noticed how 12 of these homes were given to Muslim/ African couples only two of which have children, anybody know why they got first preference on these homes ahead of other families with children living nearby in accomodation?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:10 AM

@Darren: For division purposes. Nothing else.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:23 AM

@Dave Doyle: I would agree if the council housed other families elsewhere but this was the only housing project carried out last year.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:30 AM

@Darren: The civil rights movement in Nth. Ireland started over the discrimination in housing allocation. Given the housing situation in the country, this allocation of homes as you described can only have a political purpose.

Mute Brian Mc Elwaine
    Favourite Brian Mc Elwaine
    Aug 24th 2019, 1:33 PM

Because these, especially the africans have a proven track record of boosting the economy, reducing crime, integrating very successfully and generally improving every society they’ve graced with their presence. Like
    Mulhuddart, Ongar, Tyrrelstown, Balbriggan, and Clonee. Welcome to Soror.

Mute ken gray
    Favourite ken gray
    Aug 24th 2019, 2:20 PM

@Darren: happening all over the country !

Mute Adrian Aungier
    Favourite Adrian Aungier
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:48 PM

@Darren: your right. Only white people are homeless. PC gone mad

Mute Raymond Westlake
    Favourite Raymond Westlake
    Aug 25th 2019, 11:12 AM

@Brian Mc Elwaine: waiting for your comment to be deleted -the Journal doesn’t subscribe to a balanced narrative. The Fleadh in Drogheda last week literally kicked off with a Garda being kicked in the head by our ‘culturally diversifying’ friends when a rave, posing as a bogus birthday party, was refused. These people are the so called ‘engineers and scientists’ with which Varadakar wants to flood the country.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 6:48 AM

The homeless industry, a gravy train for the well connected and misery that those who have to use such shoddy unsuitable accommodation and are expected to be grateful for.
    If animals were kept in these conditions there would be an outcry.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:03 AM

@Dave Doyle: animals kept inside with a roof and four walls? That would be utter luxury for most of our farm animals??

Mute Clint Sofie
    Favourite Clint Sofie
    Aug 24th 2019, 3:38 PM

@Alan: Ahh, but sure the auld meat is grand though.

Mute Dr. Udaya Khandavilli
    Favourite Dr. Udaya Khandavilli
    Aug 24th 2019, 6:52 AM

No father wants to to see suffering of his daughter. My heart broken after reading this article. We must do something to end this.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:35 AM

@Almight Joe: This is this toxic libertarianism from America that’s infecting Ireland really annoys me, the belief that tax redistribution to the poor via socal welfare is none other than theft. How many Jordan Peterson or Stefan Molyneux videos did you watch on YouTube before you came to your position?

The argument for welfare is that we need a safety net, without which the vulnerable of society fail and drag others others down too. You just have to see the extremes of your phylosophy in the decaying cities in the US; San Francisco for example, where the influx of high paid IT workers and not enough houses resulted in spiralling rent prices that put thousand of poorer people out of their homes, who now live in ever growing homeless cities without a proper social welfare safety net. It’s got so bad they’re worried about disease epidemics normally seen in the 3rd world. Yes, I know things won’t get as bad here, it’s only an example of what you seem to prefer, a country that does not cares for all of its citizen.

All men are created equal.

* except the ones who are homeless.

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2019/03/typhus-tuberculosis-medieval-diseases-spreading-homeless/584380/

Similar happened here to our housing market, a pause in house building during the recession and a growing population due to natural increased and net immigration, a move away from building council homes and towards an ill consieved HAP scheme that artificially inflated rents, and a government who foolishly thinks the free market (foreign vulture funds etc.) will fix the housing crisis.

But no, you just blame homeless (including 1700 children) who you think did it to themselves.

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:59 AM

@David Jordan: This is the result of massive economic migration. They heard Ireland gives you free money and housing.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:09 AM

@Alan: The poor choices rest exclusively with the neoliberal FG minority government. Who see no problem with Billions and Millions in cost overruns on building projects, can give Billions in corporate welfare for a broadband system as long as the right man is involved, can spend 25 million on consultants to compile reports on it. Yet can remove a pittance in allowance for the disabled, throw homeless families into any sort of a s***hole room, lie about the actual numbers of homeless, and put out the lie that it’s all the fault of the homeless for being homeless.
    No social housing being built, no affordable housing, the most expensive rents in Europe all to benefit foreign private investors. Any all the FG fanboys agree with this sort of governance of the country.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Aug 24th 2019, 12:09 PM

@wacker macker: “This is the result of massive economic migration. They heard Ireland gives you free money and housing.”

Actually jobs…

The employment rate for non-nationals is overall slightly higher than Irish nationals.

“Many non-Irish nationals are as likely to be employed and as educated as Irish people”

https://www.thejournal.ie/immigrants-employment-education-ireland-esri-4325207-Nov2018/

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Aug 24th 2019, 1:40 PM

@David Jordan: based on all non nationals yes of course

Drill down into certain countries / ethics and give me the stats ?

Of course an australian/ Indian / Brazilian executive is here to work

Break it down by country I’ll bet you now certain counties are 70% unemployed

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:18 PM

@Dave Doyle: you think were not spending billions on welfare? The biggest expense of the country every year yet it’s the wealthy who are to blame? This country is getting to to the point that even moderately comfortable people will be expected to give their money away to the poor!

Mute acallkelly
    Favourite acallkelly
    Aug 24th 2019, 1:59 PM

A recent report bt crosscare group tell us that 34%of people on the waiting list for soial housing list are not born in Ireland , of the 23% were eastern european the remaining 11% were non European.
    This is crazy to allow people to keep coming to Ireland for ‘jobs’ and putting massive pressure on not only housing but schools, hospitals and other essential services.
    I was in a Dublin hospital three times in the past two months for outpatient care, more than a third of those waiting were obviously foreign born, accents and visually. We need a big discussion in Ireland on the increasing numbers, this is not even talking about those arriving here illegally , not invited etc.
    We are told that its all about jobs, and labour shortage, and yet the numbers on the unemployment list are not getting shorter.

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Aug 24th 2019, 2:27 PM

A copy of this shoukd be sent to every African country , to show them how goid they have it.

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Aug 24th 2019, 11:00 PM

I would like to see the system where some people get benefits like free houses and allowances for life addressed, be they Irish or other wise. The woman who brought her 8 kids to the garda station and then got a free house in Meath should be made to train and work her way to paying for that house or buying one for herself and not being a burden on the state. Otherwise her kids and their kids will repeat the process and it will cost the state, at a guess, millions in taxpayers money. Now how many people contributing tax over their lifetime are needed to fund that benefit cycle for 30 citizens? It is not equitable and therefore should not be a normal practice. Same for other benefits, they are a safety net to catch you when you are down but you must work your way back to being a responsible citizen again.

Currently, working your way back to independence, after state benefits, is a pipe dream because it’s like what happened in the US when the “American Dream” became unattainable, that you will never get there, the sums don’t add up and you cant see a point where you will win, and in the case of the US it signified an end to a period of great growth and prosperity for workers. I refer to the price of a house of course, or indeed rented accommodation. The price is too high, you cant get a sufficient mortgage, your salary won’t cover the cost of rent. Why do an honest days work for an honest days pay if it doesn’t allow you to actually have a life worth living?

Imagine a young married couple, 2 kids, one works full time and the other minds the children, manages the home and supports the salaried parent, not such an unusual setup not to long ago. The salaried parent makes E20,000 a year in a low skilled but ultimately crucial service that everyone else in society benefits from. That salary is used to feed and dress the family etc. They decide to buy a home and apply for a mortgage, bank says we can give you 3.5 time your salary, around 70k and they would need to have a deposit of 10% to make up the difference. So a 3 bed semi in Dublin needed for 80-90k. How many of those is there?, none. They decide to rent, a 3 bed semi in Dublin, at E1300 a month (hard to find that cheap) will cost E15,6000 a year, leaving E4400 to live off for a year for 4 people, 2 of which are expected to be the next generation of workers assuming they can afford to keep them in school.

Therein lies the problem, the housing crisis is 10 years old, successive FG governments and ministers have done nothing to fix this and everything to make it worse. Again this is not equitable behavior and makes no common sense in an economy, a business, or for a family. It will end up costing more to the taxpayers over the longer term. It does make sense for the perpetrators of this crime, the TD’s. And the landlords, hoteliers bankers and vulture funds. The TD’s are laughing all the way to the bank, their time is short, there are no consequences for their treachery and when their political career has fizzled out the bankers and vultures who owe them a favour for the good years (2010 to present) will give them jobs and board seats and we will provide them with a pension that’s so good they could buy a house every 2/3 years with it.

You might have reasons to vote FG again, I can’t imagine any, but if you do, for the love of your fellow citizens, insist they address the issues facing our society in return for your valued vote. We must declare, all of us, to be sick and tired off being treated like a doormat, of being left on a trolley in a corridor for 24 hours, of being left on a waiting list for years, of ever increasing taxes, of ever worsening traffic, of homeless people sleeping in doorways at -5 in January, of houses prices that have no relation to our salaries, of being ripped off by insurance companies on car, house and health year in and year out, of increasing levels of crime, of worsening levels of corruption and cronyism and the fraudulent redistribution of taxpayers wealth via broadband and hospital projects. Enough already. If they continue to oppress the society then don’t be surprised or upset when the society eventually decides to fight back, historically they always do, and in doing so inadvertently laying waste to whatever small parts of good that still remain in this great nation of ours.

Mute Shane Cusack
    Favourite Shane Cusack
    Aug 25th 2019, 7:52 AM

@Eddie O’Neill: 3 bed semi for €1,300. Not a hope! 1 bed apartments are easily getting that!

Mute Almight Joe
    Favourite Almight Joe
    Aug 24th 2019, 4:13 PM

So many left wing Journal (aka Socialist Times) writers …..

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:46 AM

Terrible bad condition mound & cockroaches

Mute Mark Doyle
    Favourite Mark Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 11:38 PM

Adrian, shut up you ignorant, rasist, knuckle-dragging loser!

Mute Mark Doyle
    Favourite Mark Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 11:39 PM

Adrianl, shut up you ignorant, rasist, knuckle-dragging loser!