You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'It just seems unnecessary' - travellers faced with massive queues at Dublin passport control

In recent days and weeks Passport Control at Dublin Airport has come under intense pressure due to the sheer volume of passengers travelling through it.

PASSENGERS HAVE BEEN complaining about the perceived unnecessarily lengthy waiting times for passport control at Dublin Airport.

Earlier today, a number of passengers complained via social media that the queues being seen were unacceptably long.

Passport control at Dublin Airport has only recently been taken over from the gardaí by the Department of Justice body the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service (INIS).

Dublin woman Dee O’Connor was travelling from Italy to Dublin this morning following a family holiday. A day that started poorly with a flight delayed by two hours in sweltering conditions didn’t get much better upon arrival at Dublin terminal one.

“We took one look at Passport Control and said ‘this isn’t our day’,” she said.

We were in one queue and it took about 40 minutes. My brother was in the next queue and it was another 15. They were asking all sorts of questions of the guy in front, even rang to see where he was staying.

“To me it just seems unnecessary,” she added.

While Dee’s wait was less than an hour, others have complained in recent days and weeks of even longer waits to get through passport control.

DAA (Dublin Airport Authority), the airport’s controlling body, told TheJournal.ie that passport control is the “sole responsibility of INIS”.

“We work closely with INIS to provide daily passenger volumes and we provide customer service agents to help manage the queuing areas in both terminals and help passengers get through the egates,” a spokesperson said.

“90% of passengers are cleared through immigration in a matter of minutes according to the DAA,” a spokesperson for the Department of Justice said.

From time to time particularly when flights do not arrive on schedule there can be delays but immigration officers work as efficiently as possible in carrying out their sensitive and important work to ensure passengers are not inconvenienced.

Currently the airport is experiencing the height of its summer season, with about 80,000-100,000 passengers arriving and departing the airport on a daily basis.

There are three separate Passport Control entry points at Dublin airport – two in the older Terminal One, and a separate processing area in the larger, newer Terminal Two.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

101 Comments
    Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:16 PM

I was delayed for a long time at passport control a couple of years ago. The excuse was ‘Well, its not our fault, a lot of planes have landed at the same time’ how did this seem to take them by surprise? Flights are planned months in advance, planes don’t just suddenly show up out of nowhere. Less than half the booths were operating.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:31 PM

@Dermot Lane: you ok hun?

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:55 PM

@Dermot Lane:
    Now you know what its like to be delayed unnecessarily for long periods when tryng to get somewhere … like driving behind cyclists who insist cycle 2 or 3 abreast … damn those passengers, the airport management are entitled to do what they like, isn’t that right Dermot?

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Jimmy O'Brien
    Favourite Jimmy O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:12 PM

@Dermot Lane: Sometimes flights are late. So you could experience “a lot of planes have landed at the same time” anywhere.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:15 PM

@Skybloo: Queues at Dublin Airport, clearly the fault of the cyclists yet again! FFS!

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:24 PM

@Dermot Lane: I think Mr. Skybloo has a little hard spot for you Dermot, be careful! ;)

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:29 PM

@Dotty Dunleary: correct, Dotty … i do , and for you … love you

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:35 PM

@Dotty Dunleary: and @ Dermot Slow Lane :
    In fact, i just thought .. we could cuddle 3 abreast … it might hold things up but we can chat between times … bless

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:59 PM

@Skybloo: Go home, you’re drunk…

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:16 AM

@Dotty Dunleary:
    nope … very sober … home with family empatizing with passengers but laughing at the irony of you and your mate whinging about being held up in queues wanting to get home while you stick the two fingers up at drivers who need to get somewhere because you feel ‘entitled’ to cycle with total lack of consideration for anyone around you … and are the most defensive non-sensical people at doing so. Your lame comments above prove so … ‘blaming cyclists for problems at the airport’ lol … do you read what you type before you hit the submit button lol

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:31 AM

@Skybloo: it was 2 abreast until you were told that was legal, now it’s or 3 abreast.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:32 AM

@Dotty Dunleary: raging semi

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:33 AM

@Dotty Dunleary: judging by his punctuation, I think it’s a permanent thing for skybloo

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:59 AM

@Barra O Brien: lol judging by your assumptions you can’t even achieve a semi … alas I don’t have the anatomy, you numpties … jaysis! these cyclists and their victim mentalities … defensive much

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 3rd 2018, 2:06 AM

@Barra O Brien: in fact, Barra – you Dotty semi-dipstick and Dermot Slow Lane can do the 3 abreast cuddle … be naughty; since 2 abreast is legal (I never said anything about legalities nor do I care) be wild and break the rules!
    FYI – standing for an hour at passport control is also legal – but you’re still whinging about it lol

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 3rd 2018, 7:40 AM

@Skybloo: You really are a sad little man, go seek hypno therapy to rid your tiny brain of your obsession with cyclists!

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:33 AM

@Dermot Lane:

How is security from terrorists and social migrants unnecessary. It’s 40mins… get over it

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 3rd 2018, 9:02 AM

@Dotty Dunleary:
    You got it all wrong arrogant little cyclist … including my sex … I am woman. If your arrogance on here is a reflection of your time on the road whether bike or car or any other vehicle, reflect or take your own advice re therapy … before you hurt someone.
    By the way – I have come across cyclists who are excellent road users – it is the cyclists with the attitude of your cuddle buddies with proud semis that are the problem to all other users on the road and pedestrians … so lighten up – even on the passport control guys and girls (ie stop being so hypocritical) … love your fellow humans ( you’re questionable) and enjoy the sunshine … kisses

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Jul 3rd 2018, 9:03 AM

@Seamus McSpud: yep … but give them a chance … one virtue at a time … patience is next on the list

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 3rd 2018, 9:59 AM

@Dublinguy2013: first world problems, I know.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 3rd 2018, 10:00 AM

@Dotty Dunleary: it’s the body hugging lycra. Makes me irresistible.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 3rd 2018, 10:05 AM

@Skybloo: you’re the one with the entitled attitude with your belief that motorists rights supersede those of all other road users.They don’t. Learn to share the road, you won’t get as stressed out over such trivialities as getting delayed for a few moments on your journey. Congrats by the way on turning an article about the airport into another of your anti cycling rants. That must take a special kind of stupid.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 3rd 2018, 10:12 AM

@Dermot Lane: plus I generally don’t cycle in large groups, usually one or two others and we go single file on narrowr roads out of consideration for other road users, even though it is statistically more dangerous for us to do so. And most drivers give us loads of space and respect us as fellow road users. I wouldn’t say you’re one of them.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 3rd 2018, 10:34 AM

@Skybloo: You ignorance and self entitlement is astonishing, the fact that your female, or male, or trans doesn’t change how much your attitude to other road users stinks.
    I bet you’re a terrible driver, make dozens of mistakes and casually break the rules of the road.
    Whereas I am an excellent accident free driver of motor and pedal vehicles, if you want to discuss further just leave your real name and number up here and I will be glad to set your disgusting opinions straight with some real world facts and realities!

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:25 PM

Why am I required to provide a passport or driver’s license when flying into Dublin from another Irish airport. Surely internal flights should transit via a separate exit thus eliminating a portion of people going through passport control

Mute Dan Morgan
    Favourite Dan Morgan
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:29 PM

@Paul Dolan: simply because you arrive in the same terminal as non domestic passengers.

There wouldn’t be enough traffic from Irish airports (there’s only flights from Kerry and Donegal, I think) to justify an entirely separate area to process passengers.

Besides, you’re likely talking about 1pc of passengers so it’s not going to have any meaningful impact on queues

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:33 PM

@Dan Morgan: you pulled the 1pc figure out from your bag of made up statistics there methinks

Mute Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Favourite Donncha Ó Coileáin
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:42 PM

@Sean: I reckon he’s being very generous with 1%. It would be less, surely. With 80,000-100,000 passengers per day, 1% would mean that there were 800-1,000 passengers on domestic flights to/from Kerry and Donegal.

Given that each airport has two flights to Dublin each day on a 72-seater plane for Kerry and 48-seater for Donegal, I’d be quite sure that we can say a domestic area in the airport would have absolutely no impact on queues.

Mute Nicholas Kelly
    Favourite Nicholas Kelly
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:48 PM

@Sean: Lower than 1pc (nearing about 0.3%), tiny amount of domestic passengers in Ireland

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:50 PM

@Donncha Ó Coileáin: You are missing my point. Why was I asked to produce a passport in Dublin when my flight originated from an internal airport. I had a struggle to get them to accept my driver’s license

Mute Michael Lumley
    Favourite Michael Lumley
    Jul 3rd 2018, 2:03 AM

@Dan Morgan: quite a bit of traffic from UK flights. Don’t need a passport to enter there. CTA, and all that.

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:35 AM

@Paul Dolan:

So you want a special area for Cork. Haha

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:08 PM

Social media, giving every gob shite a potential platform. “Seems unnecessary”…..but yet this person probably doesn’t want illegal immigrants accessing the country either

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam

@Stephen: typical straw man nonsense. Make up what you think this person has to say yourself and then she’s a gobs***¥.

I’m sure you’d be only thrilled to stand in line at passport control for an hour.

Mute mary finn
    Favourite mary finn
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:35 PM

@Stephen Adam: I’ve stood for longer in other countries….

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:58 PM

Of course no one wants to queue. But passport control is a necessary part of running a country that you allow people in and out off. Sometimes it gets busy, but rather than make a silly comment like it seems unnecessary, I appreciate there is a job being done. Like Mary said, I have also stood longer than an hour in other countries. I’ve gone through 2 passport controls in another country, but I’m not informed enough to call it unnecessary.
    How does this person know that each individual was a legitimate person entering the country. Someone name, behaviour, documents may flag up any sort of information, which…..passport control….believe it or not….may need to investigate. 99% of the time I’m through Dublin passport control in less than 3 minutes, but sometimes one must queue if busy

Mute James Maloney
    Favourite James Maloney
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:19 PM

@mary finn: because you stood longer in other countries… does that make it right??

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:23 PM

I’ve not made anything up, I’ve used a quote from the article, did you read it?

Mute James Maloney
    Favourite James Maloney
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:27 PM

@Stephen: Queues & times should never reach this level. Airlines pass on passenger details, DAA pass on arrival numbers… required staffing levels should be known as the number of non-EU nationals arriving are known in advance. If there is an issue with a person, take them to a side room & someone else takes control booth… its not rocket science!

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:32 PM

@ James, I think it’s quite clear that mary is not saying it is right that we spend an hour queuing. But just to make it clear, I reckon She is just making a point that she has experienced such delays before, in other countries, and that it can happen. Not just in ours.
    Now, I am not mary, and I do not speak on her behalf, but before anymore straw men comments are thrown around I better just make that clear.
    Social media as I said earlier…..
    I commented on this just to see how long till I saw some typical social media responses as I’m bored, got what I was looking for straight away

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:41 PM

@ James. Yes, all these things should work, but illegal visitors off all sorts will try to avoid detection, and when they are detected, it is going to cause a little delay. Some social media posters also stated they were delayed departing, so obviously their flight was late arriving. This means staffing levels were not utilised fully when they should have been and then understaffed when the flight eventually arrived. That is one flight, there could have been more.
    What I’m trying to get across is that things out of control of DAA, passport check etc. happen, and that’s when these delays appear.
    Remember our little friend working in airport ground staff last year jailed for sneaking colleagues in….there is people from all angles trying to beat the system, controls are necessary

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Jul 3rd 2018, 6:31 AM

@mary finn: Try Bangkok in high season (Dec/ March ) … LOL … but really it does come down to luck, I have had the breeze thru to my great surprise or the “oh no “ when you turn the corner and find yourself on the end of a queue that snakes on forever. Dublin is usually a pleasure .

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:35 AM

@Stephen Adam:

Thrilled no. Necessary, yes.

It seemed to be the case that our Gardai weren’t doing their job. Imagine that!

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:07 PM

I suppose 55 minutes could still be considered “a matter of minutes”

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:32 PM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: so could 17 years

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed

It’s summer holiday season, it’s the same the world over, except perhaps in the southern hemisphere. It’s not like you can phone an employment agency and get some temporary staff in.

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:44 PM

@wattsed: not sure about that. We flew to London last week for a short break – walked straight through Heathrow airport – no passport check at all. Flew home last Thursday and it took us 40 mins to get through passport control. Can’t understand at all why passports are not checked in London but they are in Dublin!

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:52 PM

@offtheball: because flights arriving into the UK from Ireland are processed in the CTA (Common Travel Area), UK airports are set up for this, because of the shambles that is Dublin Airport and atrocious planning by the DAA we don’t have a separate CTA area, so all flights/destinations/passports need to be checked

Mute Michael Lumley
    Favourite Michael Lumley
    Jul 3rd 2018, 2:02 AM

@offtheball: you fly to Gatwick. Off the plane and into the bus. Dropped off at the door, up the stairs and into arrival lounge. No passport control. Try it, why can’t Ireland do the same?

Mute Claire Greaney
    Favourite Claire Greaney
    Jul 3rd 2018, 11:03 AM

@wattsed: This doesn’t only happen in summer, I flew into Dublin from the UK in February and had a 45 minute wait at Passport Control. Only half the desks were in operation. Farcical.

Mute Nomis Andrews
    Favourite Nomis Andrews
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:13 PM

The immigration service at Dublin Airport seem to be a law unto themselves. They seem to target young backpackers from countries outside the EU who don’t require a visa to visit Ireland and many of my friends from overseas have been given the third degree even when they are staying with me and only planning a short visit to Ireland. It seems as though Ireland has decided to harass travelers entering the Republic in order to avoid a hard border with the North after Brexit?

Mute @Kevinro1980
    Favourite @Kevinro1980
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:21 PM

@Nomis Andrews: that’s pure drivel your talking there

Mute Dan Morgan
    Favourite Dan Morgan
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:26 PM

@Nomis Andrews: if they’re from outside the EU then they don’t have an automatic right of entry regardless of visa status so need to be processed. They’re in a different queue to you anyway so shouldn’t affect you.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013

@Nomis Andrews: well that’s a true story lol

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:53 PM

@Dublinguy2013: it’s true that it’s a story :)

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:52 PM

If the border control need to check stuff the I couldnt care less. They are there to do their job. Get over yourselves.

Mute 6ljJQRRU
    Favourite 6ljJQRRU
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:40 PM

Again another story of how Dublin has been given too much priority in regional development. Every time anyone wants to go on a sun holiday it’s up to Dublin and fly out. Another symptom of building everything in Dublin. I fly to heathrow to avoid Dublin.

Mute Jimmy O'Brien
    Favourite Jimmy O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:56 PM

@6ljJQRRU: Amsterdam is my favourite airport for international connections.
    While Heathrow has slightly improved, for me it’s still a big mess of 5 terminals. I’d pay a bit more to connect via Amsterdam rather than Heathrow.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Jul 3rd 2018, 6:37 AM

@Jimmy O’Brien: Again as I said earlier, it can be down to luck. Sometimes Schipol self service passport control can be a pain and too much of a queue at the manned booths. my experience anyway. I have breezed thru Bangkok in minutes or had to wait 90 minutes .. depending on the arrival time of day or time of year .

Mute Alan Murphy
    Favourite Alan Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:17 AM

only reason its been noticed now is because the people on passport control are actually doing their jobs properly not like the oul guards who just waved everybody through without checking. And just incase someone in the DAA actually reads these comments can i suggest some aircon and toilet facilites in passport control for when its like a cattle market.

Mute Colm Malone
    Favourite Colm Malone
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:31 AM

About 10 weeks ago I arrived in Dublin airport and was long delays similar, there was also total confusion as foreign travellers were arriving from the opposite side and total confusion over queuing system. I sent a message of complaint to DAA and I received the usual excuses. The Dublin airport baggage belts have to be slowest in the world also. Each time I arrive in Spanish airports my bags are out within two minutes but in Dublin it’s always between 20-30 minutes

Mute Nicholas Kelly
    Favourite Nicholas Kelly
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:59 PM

Passport control is a lot worse in other countries.
    Never found it ever really that busy and when it was got thru it fairly quickly plus Dublin customs are a lot more friendly than other places

Mute Geraldine Griffiths
    Favourite Geraldine Griffiths
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:19 PM

Came through passport control this evening at 9pm. Took only minutes to get through, very efficient.

Mute Earl of Daventry
    Favourite Earl of Daventry
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:45 PM

Funny seeing lads kick off about this in Dublin Airport. You wouldn’t be kicking off in the airport in Thailand or the Emirates now would you.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:38 PM

@Earl of Daventry: it would be eyes down in the queue then yes sir no sir three bags full at the desk

Mute Matt Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Matt Fitzpatrick
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:45 PM

Ohhhhh you mean travelers! I thought you meant travelers!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:26 PM

@Dermot Lane: DAA private sector adding more and more flights. Innis public sector, the government has not recruited in line with increased passenger numbers. Plus USA immigration putting pressure on Innis to scan every passport in order to keep pre clearance. It’s a joke but seems to be the main reason.

Mute Pat Conners
    Favourite Pat Conners
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:41 PM

I am Irish living in Holland with some family in London. .schipol airport can be a nightmare sometimes back and forth as can dublin especially with 2 kids stressfull and marriage killing stuff…..but gatwick airport is the most stress free i have experienced…security is family friendly as is passport control and you end up with happy kids and no divorce proceedings.

Mute Jakim Berndsen
    Favourite Jakim Berndsen

Immigration in Dublin has become a lot more suspicious of late. Heaven forbid I might have an Irish accent but not an Irish passport. Not had an issue anywhere else, but my return to Ireland has been met with a line of questioning every time over the past two or so years.

Mute Jimmy O'Brien
    Favourite Jimmy O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:28 PM

@Jakim Berndsen: An Irish accent is irrelevant if you are entering a foreign country. If you are an E.U. (or E.E.A.) citizen there you should be treated the same as an Irish citizen. If you are from another country you should have your entry visas and required papers and expect some basic questions from Irish Immigration. Why is this a problem ?

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan

Shannon

Mute Jimmy O'Brien
    Favourite Jimmy O'Brien

@Eoin O’Hagan: Cork has better connections with full service airlines via Amsterdam (Aer Lingus/KLM), Paris (Aer Lingus or Air France) or Zurich (Swiss International).
    A great little airport; you’re in and out in half an hour.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:57 PM

We just don’t do ques, systems, processes very well in this country

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:17 PM

I flew to the states on the fri 28th june had no issues were through immigration etc within 1 hr.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:33 PM

@bings: that’s amazing

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jul 2nd 2018, 10:41 PM

@bings: same… so easy to be respectful., When going through passport control or getting bags checked……it really is simple, no metal, clean passport. Going though boarders, present yourself and have your booking details presentable. As a nation we have to respect illegal travelers are entering our country so now unfortunately it needs to be stricter. It is a shame that it really does need to be so more strict.

Mute Tricia Lowry
    Favourite Tricia Lowry
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:24 AM

If they weren’t doing they’re job by questioning people there would be complaints

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:43 AM

We really do need another terminal to be built at Dublin Airport to relieve the pressure at the existing terminals, because the security queues have become just ridiculous.

As Dublin becomes a more internationally attractive city, Dublin Airport will only grow more and more in terms of importance. An urgent priority for the Government must be to complete the second runway, and a new terminal to accompany it, at Dublin Airport.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:47 AM

@J. Reid: A second airport would be better, space is the issue at the airport.

Mute Colm Murphy
    Favourite Colm Murphy
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:31 AM

Going through Dublin Passport Control is a complete joke and a disaster. Travelling from Toronto (I travel on a Canadian Passport but born and raised in Dublin) back in March we lined up for at least 45 minutes. Then we had to wait for our car Rental shuttle and then had to wait for 50 minutes to get our car. Who needs this grief. Irish Tourism needs to give their head a shake and fix this mess.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:30 AM

Replacing Gardaí will prove to be a disaster for the country

Mute Pete Brady
    Favourite Pete Brady
    Jul 3rd 2018, 6:31 AM

The E-passport channels are a joke. Ive travelled through Dublin a few times last month, they are slow, dont scan easily and 4 were broken on last trip through. If the DAA are really trying to make Dublin a hub they need get their house in order, which means pressuring gov. to sort this INIS issue out

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:16 PM

Very cheap flights with competition out of DUB
    Very expensive flights out of ORK

Mute Jimmy O'Brien
    Favourite Jimmy O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:45 PM

@eastsmer: But we can afford those prices because it’s cheaper to live in Cork.

Mute Pete Lee
    Favourite Pete Lee
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:47 AM

Ireland is a small country – move some flights to regional airports
    Shannon is 2hrs to M50 (approx)

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:46 PM

@Pete Lee: move some flights to Derry airport. Great airport – no flights.

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2018, 11:36 PM

Just travellers? What about equal rights?

Mute W Kevin Doyle
    Favourite W Kevin Doyle
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:27 AM

@David Byrne: how about finishing my driveway? Off on holidays with the money and the job half done?

Mute W Kevin Doyle
    Favourite W Kevin Doyle
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:28 AM

You won’t see this kind of thing at kNock.

Mute Francis Barden
    Favourite Francis Barden
    Jul 3rd 2018, 8:45 AM

Seems the same everywhere we arrived in Toronto airport early June and spent over 1 hour 45 mins getting through passport control,

Mute Shyster Inc Ireland
    Favourite Shyster Inc Ireland
    Jul 3rd 2018, 9:52 AM

Ireland is been targeted by people smugglers who see the country as a soft touch, an African illegal immigrant was able to fly from France to Dublin with another person’s passport then travel to northern Ireland and cross to Scotland and on to London, the give the passport back to the criminals, too PC and the smugglers know it!!

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:45 PM

‘It just seems unnecessary’ – travellers faced with massive queues at Dublin passport control.

Another example of discrimination against the travelling community.

Mute Kevin McPartlan
    Favourite Kevin McPartlan
    Jul 3rd 2018, 12:14 PM

One element of the problem is the new “self-service” gates. They take a great deal longer to verify passports than those I have used in other airports.

Also, they cannot be used by passengers travelling with only the Passport Card.

It seems lacking in foresight to roll out two initiatives (introduction of self-service passport clearance and passport cards) at pretty much the same time without ensuring compatability.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Jul 3rd 2018, 9:43 AM

Blame Ryanair, all those pesky cheap flights

Mute George
    Favourite George
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:59 PM

As an American traveling to Dublin for the first time, I will say I had no issues at all. I arrived around midnight and getting through was a breeze. Leaving for home, it took about an hour total to get through Irish security and US preclearance. The queues were long, but the staff seemed keen on keeping everyone moving along.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:35 PM

Welcome to Ireland (or welcome home, for those of us that are used to how badly we handle a decent proportion of our societal issues). Hopefully you’re not waiting to get on a bus for the 2 hour drag into ‘da city’.

Mute Dani
    Favourite Dani
    Jul 3rd 2018, 9:26 AM

Why do we need passport control on arrival? I don’t recall any other airport I have been in recently having passport control on arrival. You just walk right out in Heathrow. Its always an absolute joke in Dublin. Its so unnecessary.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 3rd 2018, 1:42 PM

@Dani: In terms of UK flights I think it’s simply pride, (in what is a whole other question).

Mute mmz
    Favourite mmz
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:03 AM

The question is why do people bother at all with holiday air travel? OK we are used to it, but considering the insane cattle herding conditions, whats wrong with ship and rail or car to the UK or france. Certainly northern UK is as quick and without the hassle.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:28 AM

We’ve had a lot of illegal immigrants over the last 20 years. Held in Mosney etc for processing at massive cost to the state. Is this a new measure to make Ireland less accessable? Its becoming EU wide as Schengen fails and Brexit looms…..