You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
'Pay as you drive' system should replace motor tax, says TD
Eamonn Maloney said an extra fuel surcharge would allow the government to axe the current vehicle tax altogether.
8.28pm, 13 Oct 2011
THE VEHICLE TAX system should be scrapped and replaced with a ‘pay as you drive’ system where motorists are taxed solely on fuel usage, one TD has said.
Labour’s Eamonn Maloney said the current system is costly, encourages evasion, and is unfair because drivers pay the same tax regardless of how much they use their car. He added that a lump-sum payment is more difficult for many car owners to deal with in the current economic situation.
Under his proposal, a further surcharge would be added to the price of petrol and diesel; this would then be the only tax paid by all drivers. The Dublin South West TD said:
All local authorities are experiencing major shortages in their budgets and a not insignificant amount is due to shortages in the motor tax accounts. The present antiquated collection system gives rise to considerable evasion, is very costly to administer amd utilises valuable and scarce Garda resources.
More importantly it is essentially an unfair system in that car owners pay the same amount of tax for the same car classification regardless of the mileage or road usage.
Maloney added that his proposal would be “a fairer system for all vehicle owners”.
Conor Faughnan, a spokesman for AA Ireland, said there was “some merit” to the idea. “Currently, there is relatively high tax on the purchase and ownership of a car in Ireland relative to its usage,” he said.
But he said the scheme would not be simple to implement, adding that it “would negatively affect people in rural Ireland who are more car dependent.”
What do you think? Should drivers be taxed solely on how much fuel they use?
Poll Results:
Yes (1451)
No (547)
Don't know (95)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Here’s a revolutionary idea… Why not use the 70% tax they already collect on fuel more efficiently and scrap road tax. 70% of that extortionate price we pay for fuel is government tax already.
Put it up any more and it won’t be worth going to work. And all those shopping centres that can only be accessed by car may as well shut up shop.
Good idea maybe if you have public transport option but what about people living in rural Ireland who have to use their cars more frequently to get to work/ shops etc….??? Maybe this could be implemented if they gave some kind of rebate or discount to people living in rural Ireland !!??
You choose to live in rural Ireland, I’m sick of these arguements, it like the people around the aviva buying a house next to a stadium and then complaining that there’s a stadium next door!!
That comment about people choosing to live in rural is the dumbest comment I have heard all week. So, what are you suggesting? All the farmers should just migrate in to Dublin.
@Gav: that is the most ridiculous statement I have heard in a long time.
I don’t think this tax would effect people who live and work in rural Ireland that much mopre the people living in Cities – would probably hurt the commuter belt people a lot more.
600 euro a year in tax for a car that if registered in 2008 would be 156. So here’s what i think, I’m being punished because i do not have the money to buy a 2008 car. So the more wealthy people pay a huge amount less tax. Thats some system. Also this twat of a TD is not in the real world, commuter towns sprung up everywhere where people could not afford to buy in the city. So once again we will be punished for buying a house(overpriced) in a commuter area and have to travel to work each day in miles of traffic. Those of us lucky enough to have a job that is. Its coming soon, another rebellion is going to start, there’s only so much blood you can draw from a stone.
14y
Oct 13th 2011, 10:46 PM
I was just going to mention about the 2008 cars. They’re the ones that will be screwed more by this than the people with the high tax cars. The system is so screwed really.
The motor lobby is far too strong. They need to be sorted out. In today’s context they are equivalent to the tobacco industry of twenty Years ago and should be treated as such instead of getting endless support and incentives. Selling cars to each other is no better than selling houses to each other.
Gavin your right, taxi drivers don’t pay road tax but for that matter neither does anyone else. If you have a car, truck etc you do however pay MOTOR tax.
It’s a *terrible* idea. It would send the cost of food through the roof because of the extra costs of delivery. Also it would marginalise rural communities. Completely stupid.
The idea that you are peddling is that somehow people in the country side have it easier/better. In the countryside these is invariably less choice, fewer services and it is also often more expensive however there are other benefits to country living that compensate to some degree.
Those who seek to perpetuate the idea that there is a great disparity between urban and rural living are plain naive. Each have their benefits and drawbacks. Trying to put a divide between the urban and rural dwellers is a backward, 1970s neanderthal way of thinking.
Those thieving swines would over charge us even more on fuel and do nothing to the roads. In theory it’s a great idea but the greedy feckers would ruin it in practise. Boo!
And I wonder how many years it would be in place before some bright spark in government decided to reintroduce motor tax on every vehicle, and conveniently forget to reduce the fuel tax…
Ridiculous idea! What if you drive for a living, you pay more in the long run! The cost of fuel is high enough as it is! Wouldnt mind but a lot of the roads are in bits and the cost is high enough for for drivers to keep their cars on the road! Also at least if you pay your tax in one lump sum it’s done and dusted, where it would be difficult to keep track on the real cost we would be paying!
I like your thinking CJ.
"The ideal tyranny is that which is ignorantly self-administered by its victims. The most perfect slaves are, therefore, those which blissfully and unawaredly enslave themselves.
Dresden James
Gavins comment is moronic. People are born in rural areas, make their livelihood there just as in urban areas. Do you think everybody on the island should migrate to city areas? I live 20 miles from Dublin city. There are 3 buses per day. Then a 3 mile drive. The train is ten miles and packed like something from Slumdog Millionaire. It’s a great idea for countries with a well resources infrastructure, not for Paddy how backwards land. I have friends in Holland where this system is in place and works well. Asking the politicians in this country to organise a proper transport system is like asking a group of chimps to make a watch.
That green party have a lot to answer for,the price of home heating oil and petrol/diesel is ridiculous,makin out Ireland was responsible for the ozone layer,now there talkin bout a mini ice age comin for a few years so you think this current government would drop the tax intake!!not a chance,once again screw the motorist for more money..insurance,tax,running costs,nct,tolls on roads,where will it end
Yeah the green party, they’re the ones to blame… In general, you drive more, you pollute more, you cost more – so you should pay more. Wherever you live. Whatever you do. Maybe a hike in cost may lead to some imaginative solutions. I think the greens had a few actually….
They allowed developers to push house prices up and push people into the driving longer distances to work and their solution is to tax them to drive back. Genius !
Petrol prices will go up higher than any savings on "road tax", and business will be put under further pressure for logistical costs. If exports are our saviours, moving products must be cheaper for business’s i.e. Revenue generators.
Donncha what you on about,people can’t even afford to buy home heating oil this year cos they have no money no jobs,we are a nation of under 4 million people and were been punished for emissions,the rest of the super power countries don’t seem to show half as much care as us,the people outside the cities will be punished worse,so donncha wise up before you speak
Obviously only talking about petrol as that was what the post was about. It’s a bit short sighted and lazy to blame the greens for our over reliance on a fossil fuel and the ever increasing costs. Taxing by use is the fairest way. People can’t be subsidized for living in rural areas, or far from where they work. And I don’t think you can blame the greens for the policies that lead to this situation either. So wise up…
We already have a system where the people who drive more pay more. They spend more on diesel and petrol which is hugely taxed.
What was the point in encouraging people to buy more Eco friendly cars to save on motor tax? Buy this nice new car and save on motor tax, oh now you’ve bought it, let’s scrap motor tax and charge via fuel.
Ah well, it’ll give the politicians an excuse to increase their expenses per km. Happy days.
this should apply to motor insurance. pay according to the amount of time spent on the road. If there was no individual insurance, people would be insured to drive any car.
You can tell he represents an urban constituency that isn’t clode to the border…
A better option again would be no tax on cars or fuel, but pricing on all roads. That way you can deal with the urban/rural problem by different prices. Although that becomes a civil liberties nightmare.
If the limit of your ambition is N roads, R roads and city centres, number plate recognition is enough.
A more advanced system would use some kind of GPS logger. That might actually work out cheaper.
Now, there are disadvantages
– It effectively gives the government a tracking device in every car
– What if the device stops working?
– How do you charge foreign drivers?
– How does a driver know the charge band for the road they are on?
So it needs to be considered in that context, but it does probably provide fairer pricing than just a fuel duty.
Now, Chris, you are mentioning something I was thinking of as well. Foreign drivers. With this supposed system the question rises if they have to pay road tax in Ireland too? Or would foreign registered cars get a cheaper deal? In that case, all of us, up to the next signwriter ;-)
only if you live close enough to the border to make it viable. also abolishing motor tax would mean that there would be no proper check on n.c.t’s being up to date, as you can’t tax your car without a current n.c.t. .
I thought this was a good idea but it could be just another thing that makes working unaffordable for people on low wages – for a hour each way commute to work E50 a week petrol is a big hit for someone on the minimum wage if they have to drive themselves to work, add a higher motor tax and working is even less affordable, for a retired person or an unemployed person it would be a good thing but seems just another way of taxing the hard up active younger generations who are already struggling with mortgages, rents, childcare, you name it.
What a gimp! Most people have the choice on what size engine they drive around in so if times are hard you can drive a 1 litre car pay less road tax and less on fuel to fill it, so if they decide to tax petrol instead you pay the same tax as someone who drives a Car with a 4 litre engine !!!!!! I say again WHAT A GIMP !
the guy with the 4 ltr engine would pay more as he uses more fuel due to his larger engine, so those who use the roads the most would pay the most,unless of course they all switch to 1 ltr cars.
Don’t know if it was said above, buy why not use the exorbitant tax to specifically improve public transport. You can tax the shite out of private transport and then reduce public transport operations as they have now. Our kids looking back are going to look at these policies and say WTF were they thinking?
This is the most ridiculous thing ever. I travel the length and breadth of the country to visit potential and existing clients. Last year I paid 500 euro in tolls and 1300 in motor tax. (yes I drive a big car). They want to put more tax on me trying to keep my business afloat? I’ll shut up shop and emigrate before they get another red cent our of me. Bastards.
@Shane,think this idea through before you pack your bags :-). How many liters of fuel do you use in a year? Would 10c a liter extra balance out the 1300 you would save in tax? Aside from the fact that government needs to ease the burden on small business on all fronts maybe the introduction of this measure would actually be of benefit all round? Just imagine that if every car on the roads was paying its share of the overheads.
just because a cars 10 yrs old it doesnt make it a banger, my car is over 10 yrs old but is serviced regularly and well maintained and passed its n.c.t. with flying colours, if you look after a car and dont go around razzing the arse out of it or bashing into stationary objects, then there is no reason why it can’t last 20 yrs or more.
the newer efficient engines would be a better option if you had the money to change but does anyone know how much the suggested hike would be?
its a fair point about the nct and I don’t think scrapping road tax would free up any garda as they would still need to chase nct evaders. if such an absurd policy came to pass could you imagine how much bus fares would cost or how much your taxi home would be?
We have over 30 motor tax offices in this country collecting motor tax. The cost to the tax payer in wages, maintenance and administration is enormous. Also the cost on the State prosecuting people for no road tax is a drain on resources. The present system is totally in-efficient and encourages avoidance by some. The pay as you go system had merit IMO. Business people and commuters should be allowed a rebate/income allowance against the tax. It could work.
People like me with classic cars and currently paying a flat rate of 48 euro a year won’t like this idea too much. Bad enough putting petrol into the thing as it is, being a 3 litre engine.
I’d agree with it because I pay more car tax than many of my colleagues yet I drive a fifth of what they do.
I also know quite many people who avoid paying car tax altogether; they’d find it a lot harder to avoid if it was added o the petrol.
i voted dont know.. because, I know of a guy who has no problem putting 70-80¢ a litre of laundered diesel into his company car, claims back the mileage from the company, so straight way he will be AVOIDING tax on the vehicle and AVOIDING tax on the fuel, more and more people will be willing to risk kangaroo juice if this is the case. I’m a regular car/van/train user and notice that the roads are in poor state if the government got the companies who dig up the roads ntl/gas/eircom etc to repair them back to original then it would save a lot of tax payers money.
@jrbmc I suggested this to John Gormless many years ago when he came to my door looking for a vote. If I have a 3.5 litre car and drive 3000km a year and pay â
Eamon !!! That’s the greatest load of Bull shite I’ve ever heard !!!!! What about the people the use Petrol and diesel for different uses than transport !!!
Current Irish annual car tax system is Daft!
1000 Euro pa is my car tax demand for my 1993 motor!
392,000 car owners ( mainly pre-2008 ) refuse to pay this unfair penal tax.
That is 23% or nearly 1 in 4.
Looks like people have given up voting in the polling booths and are voting with their wallets!
France has no annual car tax since 2001.
It would be ideal to collect motor tax on fuel and tolls, like France.
BUT, making up the “sudden” loss of annual car tax on fuel would mean:-
everything in the shops would increase in price due to the additional transport costs.
Tourist industry would not like it.
Rural communities would not be happy.
Can I suggest getting the NCT to record the annual mileage.
A. Use it to calculate the annual car tax (CO2 part) based on: annual mileage x your car’s CO rate per mile.
Provide an exemption or discount factor for commercial vehicles.
B. Plus a fixed annual car tax rate based on the value of the car like the US system.
Use VRT method to calculate this fixed part each year.
(Give exemption for low value cars (less than $6,000 in the US).
This would meet the progressive tax requirement. (those who can afford to, pay more)
This would:-
1. Prevent 6 Billion p.a. cost of new cars “drained” out of our economy due to the daft tax bias to buy new cars.
(A private vested interest operating here – never!!!!!)
2. Provide a lot of Irish jobs in 6 Billion p.a spent instead on Irish goods, services and investments.
(import substitution at its best)
Any “Irish car tax petition” that I can sign?
Happy 1993 car driver, confident of another 10 years of reliable motoring!
- “Vorsprung durch Technik” : Not so happy with the Daft Irish Car Tax System. (apologies for the long post)
It would make the cost of mowing my lawn prohibitively expensive.
Seriously, though. There MAY be some merit in it, it depends on the actual level that the fuel levy is set at. It also makes it easy to ramp up costs as the government can raise the fuel duty very quickly, in contrast to the road tax occurring once a year.
Suppose a pump levy of 20c/ltr, and annual mileage 20,000 (I think that’s sort of average) then that’s €400 a year to pay. Think of it that way, and how does it grab you???
Ireland's Rhasidat Adeleke to miss upcoming World Athletics Championships
The 42
3 mins ago
diplomatic flurry
Trump tells Zelenskyy and European leaders that Putin 'accepts' security guarantees for Ukraine
Updated
52 mins ago
online hack
M&S offers discount to Irish shoppers as online orders remain unavailable after April cyberattack
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 222 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 155 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 202 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 162 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 126 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 114 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 53 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 129 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 98 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 70 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 122 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say