We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
branch closures

Permanent TSB names the 16 branches to close

Dublin and Cork to lose four branches each and three to go in Tipperary.

PERMANENT TSB HAS identified the 16 branches set for closure.

Dublin and Cork are to lose four branches and Tipperary three, with further closures in Wexford, Kildare, Donegal, Mayo and Waterford.

In the capital, branches in Lucan, Blanchardstown, Sutton and Henry Street. The bank’s outlets in Northside Shopping Centre and Tyrrelstown will become self service locations, which means there will be no staff but customers will be able to make lodgements.

Cork’s Lapp Quay, Youghal, Mayfield and Cobh branches are also set to close.

The closure of the branches is part of a cost-cutting programme that will result in 250 staff being laid off. 530 people have already lost jobs at the bank over the past 2 years.

UNITE trade union, which represents the vast majority of the more than 2,000 staff has said that they will seek to lessen the number of permanent positions lost.

Branches to close:

Lucan, Blanchardstown, Sutton and Henry Street in Dublin

Lapps Quay, Youghal, Cobh and Mayfield in Cork

Thurles, Tipperary Town and Roscrea in Tipperary

Enniscorthy, Co Wexford

Athy, Co Kildare

Donegal Town

Arundel Square in Waterford

Westport, Co Mayo

Permanent TSB to lose 250 jobs as 16 branches shut>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.