You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamonn Farrell via RollingNews.ie

Gardaí investigating three petrol bomb attacks overnight in Drogheda

The attacks come after two houses were attacked with petrol bombs in Drogheda the previous night.

GARDAÍ ARE INVESTIGATING three petrol bomb incidents in Drogheda overnight. 

The first incident happened at around 12.15am at St Laurence’s Park. 

A suspected device was discovered at a house, where the front window and front living room were damaged. No one was in the house at the time of the incident. 

The second incident happened at Scarlett Crescent shortly after 1am. A suspected device was thrown through a window of a home. No one sustained injuries in the attack.

The final incident happened at Loughboy, Mell at 4am. Fire Brigade attended the scene and no one was injured. 

It is understood that petrol bombs were involved in all these incidents. 

Last night’s attacks come after two houses were attacked with petrol bombs in Drogheda the previous night.

Those attacks came less than 48 hours after a gunman opened fire and sprayed bullets at a house hitting a man three times. 

Investigations are ongoing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:34 AM

Draghi is no friend of Ireland. Don’t believe a word out of his gob.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:28 AM

On whay grounds is he not our friend? He understands far more than JC Trichet and has prioritised unemployment, particularly youth unemployment as the greatest issue in the Euro zone. It’s almost as if you only read thejournal.ie

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:31 AM

“Draghi is no friend of Ireland” is the wrong way to characterise the Euro zone mess, and merely repeats the mainstream narrative intended to disguise what is really going on.

It is not about ‘National’ interests, rather Draghi is a friend of the banks and other Capital owning elites that have also bought political, senior public service, economics and media institutions that are supposed to act in the interests of democracy & the majority of ordinary citizens. The do not.

Draghi is no friend of ordinary citizens everywhere, not just Ireland, and the design of the Euro system itself mirrors the same Capital elites’ interests at the expense of labour everywhere.

There are plenty of non-mainstream macro economics academics who stated precisely what would happen in the Euro system, as designed. Notably the Post Keynesian schools and MMT in particular. They have been proved right, but are still ignored by the mainstream because the elites are still looking after their own interests, not those of the ‘real’ productive economy of the majority (90%+) of ordinary citizens.

Damien himself falls into the trap of the elites fairy tale narrative of banking and money purely designed to favour their narrow interests.

Banks do not need either deposits or ‘reserves’ in order to lend to customers. They create the money out of thin air. Loans create deposits, not the other way round, as recently publicly admitted by the Bank of England and repeated in a recent speech by Lord Adair Turner, career central banker and former head of the UK Financial Services Authority. Just, in fact as Post Keynesians (and MMT) have always stated, and the mainstream economists have denied and still do.

But central bankers like Draghi know perfectly well how it works and why banks choose to lend, or not. QE is both a charade for the elites’ interests and a gift to banks. Arguably any effect in the real economy is if anything negative, as the extra liquidity is used in their rigged Casino or to bid up asset and commodity prices.

So, what citizens need to realise is that the Euro zone is designed to work for elites at the expense & impoverishment – wage & income deflation – of ordinary citizens, through the inevitable and built-in mechanism of mass unemployment.

There is no sign whatever of Ireland’s or anyone else’s mainstream economists, far less politicians, showing any interest in the serious reform needed for the Euro mess to actually work for citizens.

Just as commercial banks create money from thin air as debt, central banks can and should create debt free money (in very modest amounts) for certain fiscal stimulus purposes as and when required, to maintain stability and (near) full employment & use of productive capacity in the real economy.

Modern ‘fiat’ money is +not+ a commodity, or ‘scarce’, in any significant sense, at the +macro+ economy level. It works totally differently to the ‘household’ money of currency +users+, not +issuers+.

The system of using Central Bank created money issuance thru’ the fiscal channel, and the counterbalancing removal of it thru’ taxation, acting as counter-cyclical stabilisation is not new. It was termed ‘Functional Finance’ decades ago by economist Abba Lerner. It is the use of money to serve the real economy of the majority, not the opposite way round that we have now.

Right now, with mass unemployment and deflation, the real economy needs more spending and money to do it. It is that simple. The banking system acts only ever +pro-cyclically+ as does the private sector – always.

The only entity that can act counter cyclically is the Public sector of Governments and their Central Banks. This is the primary macro economy stabilising function that Neo Liberal economics ideology has sought to remove because this ideology – fundamentally anti democratic – does not want Government to have any role at all in the interests of ordinary citizens. It has captured, at no small cost to billionaires and bankers, over decades, the entire mainstream of economics academe, politics and media.

The Euro system, and it’s ongoing mass unemployment and deflation are the logical conclusion of its designed continuously increasing transfer of wealth fro ordinary citizens to the top few percent.

But note, since Damien has introduced the completely different circumstances and stupid example of ‘Weimar’ money printing, where many +multiples+ of annual GDP were printed, the ‘Functional Finance’ system I’m talking about here will only require a mere FEW PERCENT of GDP in new stimulus money issuance. Even starting from the mess we have now, which would never get even half as bad were we always operating it.

The best use in my opinion of stabilising money issuance would be for a European wide (strictly voluntary, minimum wage, non-competing) Job Guarantee (JG). Offering a community/charity sector ‘transition’ job to any and all who want it, providing an income level ‘floor’ and an automatic counter-cyclical stabiliser to the real economy. Helping to maintain overall spending during private sector downturns, and ensuring JG workers move back into ‘normal’ jobs to earn higher than minimum income when the sector upturns.

Within the Euro zone, such a system can be made ‘fair’ on a nation per capita basis by using balancing money issuance payments to pay off Governments’ borrowing, as required.

In due course, a counter balancing central taxation mechanism will be needed to ensure money can be removed as required to avoid inflation that would result from spending beyond the productive capacity of the economy to supply goods and services, whilst maintaining (near) full employment.

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:48 AM

Surely the question isn’t “What are you going to give us in exchange for losing all say in how we are governed?” but rather “Why and under what authority are you systematically stripping hundreds of millions of Europeans of their right to choose who runs their political system?”

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:49 AM

The Irish obsession with property fuelled by previous plentiful cheap credit released by the euro has been our perdition.

Now we face deflation, massive public and private debt and the legacy of insolvent banks. These consequences flow from failed prudential supervision of the Irish banks and the failure to control the supply of credit in the public interest.

Externally, Kiberd is right. We are now inflicted with all of the disadvantages of the euro but no system of centralised support.

Our public debt level continues to increase and deflation makes it impossible to shift.

The euro has left our economy and our society as a basket case. Greedy banks and a restrictive ECB have done for our economy.

This is neither a country for old people nor for young people. It won’t stop the politicians celebrating 1916 and boasting how they lived up to the ideals of 1916.

Mute Tracey Nally
    Favourite Tracey Nally
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:00 AM

Fiscal policy was never in the public interest. Its been in the interest of the banks, bondholders, the Euro and government ministers. But never in the interests of the public at large.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:44 AM

Tracey (and Peter)

Exactly so, it was designed that way by a political ideology that has sought to deny what Governments can and should do in the majority citizens’ interests. See my comment above.

This is not democracy, rather Plutocracy, leading inevitably, if unchecked to a Neo Feudal system where the top few own everything (for rent) and the rest are virtual slaves, with no rights and own nothing.

IMO, as long as we allow purported representatives of the the majority (labour) public to become significant owners of Capital – enough to live off that Capital – then those representatives will continue to act in the interests of the top few percent and lie to us (and often themselves) that they actually act in the interests of the majority.

The Euro zone system is itself a +symptom+ of an ideology, a logical construction of very narrow financial interests.

It need not be structured this way.

Mute pstapo
    Favourite pstapo
    Apr 22nd 2014, 12:36 AM

Tracey I agree with you ,yet our people were petrified to vote against the German invention Fiscal Treaty,we must have another referendum on this Treaty ,after all this seems to be the three sellout parties mantra

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:27 AM

Is no one else sick of all this Europe crap?? Is there not one politician with the balls to tell them to feck off
    If this was going on 100 years ago there’d be an uprising and Enda an his gang would be hung for crimes against the state

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:46 AM

When you had a £ you got something for it.
    A € goes nowhere.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:01 AM

Sure does. £20 lasts, €50 vanishes in a shop.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:46 AM

I think part of this whole problem when we changed to the euro was that people were under the illusion they now somehow had more money £350 was €444 or similar it was like as if you had been given a raise but prices rose to match
    Petrol pre euro was around 69 pence a litre thats around 88c per litre and we are now 1.49-1.54 a litre thats almost double the price its ridiculous !
    Complaints that we are now low in available houses again will see more being built in big towns and cities to accomodate yet we have a high number of europeans living here if they were to up sticks and leave what sort of a mess would we be in

Mute Thors Big Hammer
    Favourite Thors Big Hammer
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:22 AM

Germany and France are our rulers and that is going or is our downfall. Germany cares about Germany not Europe and will do anything to protect itself.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:56 AM

Germany cares about German elites’ interests, just like our bunch here.

Since the introduction of the Euro, Germany has systematically reduced its own wages and working conditions. They are doing better relative to us, but far worse compared to 15 to 20 years. (See ‘Hartz Reforms’ etc)

But when it comes to the elites (Capital owners) everywhere, their wealth and income has continued upward, even thru’ the financial crisis and ongoing recession.

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:54 AM

They took what was valuable then, and still is, our waters and fisheries, they have been taking our gas from Kinsale for the last 30 years, they are going to take our gas from Corrib, they want our wind, oil, forrests, etc, we won’t build nuclear for some reason, they eat our food, drink our drink, how can they afford all this, easy, convince us that we owe them something, get it for nothing. Too fecking stupid, 800 years looking at the English employ their divide and conquer tactics and what have we learned ? The next generation of politicians can’t come quick enough

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:08 AM

The next generation has learnt at the feet of the present politicians, nothing will change.

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:53 AM

Bring back the gold standard

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:40 AM

Why? It’s almost as if you never read anything of the problems associated with the gold standard.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:49 AM

What we have now in the Euro system, as designed, has all the worst characteristics of a Gold Standard system.

It was only ever a system where a few elites controlled the money supply well away from any democratic interests or oversight.

It has also never avoided numerous economic and financial crashes throughout history.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:11 AM

Common Market good. EUSSR/4th Reich bad.simple.
    PS Barroso is a Maoist, just what free societies need. Words cannot describe Van Rumpuy.

Mute Brian Honan
    Favourite Brian Honan
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:59 AM

Very informative Damien excellent but again like the lemming people and race we are unless we were being prodded by an English stick we do Nade. Wtf do we do here?
    It’s so frustrating I knew this was the third coming of the Reich!

Mute Alan O'Shea
    Favourite Alan O'Shea
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:49 AM

The Euro experiment has failed, and with QE will eventually come it’s death, and that will be painful. The ECB is charged with steering the macro economics of Europe, our miniscule and fragile economy will barely factor in their considerations. In much the same way the super low ECB driven interest rates intended to boost struggling ecomonies of mainland Europe drove our property boom into orbit. At that time our economy needed higher rates to cool the market, but….well…. we all no what the but is …..

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:39 AM

This is a very good article & pleasantly surprising coming from the journal ……

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Apr 20th 2014, 3:15 PM

F**k the EU, the ECB, Draghi, Barosso, Van Rumpey and f**k all you quislings and EU loyalists.

Mute Rex Gardener
    Favourite Rex Gardener
    Apr 22nd 2014, 2:43 PM

Without the EU Ireland would be poor.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:34 AM

QE being introduced in Europe will mark the death of people’s faith in fiat currencies.

Mute Gary Lynch
    Favourite Gary Lynch
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:01 AM

Tabloid economics at its finest… While the eurozone may have gone through a rough start, to suggest wed be better off on our own with the punt is pretty ridic. The benefits of eurozone integration is a functioning currency area with a unified monetary and fiscal policy aims and agreater degree of labour market flexibility, meaning better growth and higher employment, I think thats a fair pay off? (Also the reports of 50 percent youth unemployment figures are generally inflated, there would be mass riots if half of all people in their 20s were unemployed…)

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:12 AM

Rough start is a bit of an understatement.
    We don’t control our own currency and the Nordic countries, Iceland, along with the UK are benefiting right now.
    We are isolated from Central Europe. The European project doesn’t suit us.
    There is nothing unified about the euro currency. It suits Germany and France and that’s it.
    Economies are and workforces are different, therefore a single currency is a mismatch.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:21 AM

Sure the punt is grand, our economy is totally big enough for an independent currency. /s

The UK pound would be an option if they would be fair though.

Mute Gary Lynch
    Favourite Gary Lynch
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:21 AM

What about all the infrastructure built with eu funds? I assume that has had no influence on the growth of our economy? And strangely enough, we still would have had a recession if we were outside the eurozone. Letting the banks fail was never an option in the Irish case (our banking sector represents a far larger proportion of our ecwonomy compared to iceland) so we would be in a similar debt hole either way, except it would be us on our own trying to stimulate our economy… I’m not that pro euro but I think everyone is suffering from a case of the grass is greener on this one!

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:04 AM

We paid back all the handouts from the EUSSR by 2012

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:33 AM

EU refused Irish entry to Europe 2 times, then on 3rd occasion requested we sign over 80% of our fishery waters to them. Our most valuable resource, as concession, they agreed to pay non viable farms grants every yr to keep us quiet, build our roads etc Fact, Ireland has the most resourced fish waters in World, that could sustain our economy !!! Fact German Irish Times highlighted this asked why we allow the EU to rape our waters, crush our fisheries with quotas. Congo of EU, wake up !!! Now they come for our Forests Etc .., Yes EU good for us !!!

Mute johnr
    Favourite johnr
    Apr 20th 2014, 3:54 PM

ECB ‘troika’ are the Paymasters, we pay taxes to them, Kenny is a minion who collects for ECB, if he goes to them with he’s cap in hand saying he can’t collect anymore tax he’s told, ‘ charge for water or air and tax homes’. I’m already planning for the window and chimney tax.
    It’s no accident we are where we are, ECB intentionally fueled a bubble so it would pop (I mean soft landing) now they have the PIIGS where they want us, by the short and curleys.
    Well they did what the Nazi couldn’t do and without firing a shot.
    I wonder why the Brits didn’t even consider the euro. We as Irish have a lot to learn.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:41 AM

Saddened by sheer levels of ignorance of both economics and history here.

Mute Yellow Buzzinfly
    Favourite Yellow Buzzinfly
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:30 AM

Who needs the f**king EU ? Our Country/State or State of Germany (whatever you call it) was going well from the last few months that made Noonan not happy who is now ready to sharpen his knives for more cuts and keep us dancing in the Austerity. A damn puppet !
    Again who needs the bleeding EU ? We can’t speak there language where they can speak ours !

Mute New Property
    Favourite New Property
    Apr 20th 2014, 2:32 PM

Europe has done some good of our lovely island but what we gain we lost so much.

We had all it all we might of not all been wealthy.

we had plenty of farms that produce lovely fresh food that now is sold as a luxury product.

We had lovely little pubs. Life was easy going. Our cites were quint and homely.

Now we have the money but just have to give it back Europe,

We have great rds now but just places to waste your life siting in traffic to so called far away comuter towns,

While we live and work in badly built suburbs and towns,

No nice pubs to av sit down a chat a laugh just places to make u stand like sheep and kock back pints…

Now we on par with the rest of Europe with our crime no realy peacefully and safe villages were door could beleft un locked,

I suppose it all good cause we now have the same standards as Europe.

Mute Patrick Blood
    Favourite Patrick Blood
    Apr 21st 2014, 7:13 AM

Don’t forget, nice contoured – Banana’s!

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Apr 20th 2014, 9:54 AM

Interesting analysis Damien, however, your suggested solution, contained in the final paragraph, would require that final step which will never happen – central EU control and setting of member states tax rates and public spending levels

Mute Ah Here
    Favourite Ah Here
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:53 AM

Until the final paragraph, the article deals only with the economics of the euro-zone. This is only one aspect of the European Union. If there is to be a ‘United States of Europe’, then we must also consider the wider political and societal aspects. Has the EU been a successful economic project? Perhaps not. Has it been a successful political and social project? Many would argue it has.

So unless he agrees with Thatcher that there is no such thing as society, perhaps the author needs to take a more holistic look at the EU and its true benefits for Ireland and the wider European community.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Apr 20th 2014, 12:43 PM

The German worker would require a very large weekly payslip (possibly A 3 size) if European Commission / Aka Germany was to ever fully implement economics of Federalism for the benefit of peripheral countries in EU.

See 2nd para of last Section of Damien’s article.

Noonan should ask Angela if this is the cause of delay on the subject. Maybe increased stationery cost has not been factored into her 2014 budget?

Mute Cam Whaley
    Favourite Cam Whaley
    Oct 23rd 2014, 10:49 PM

Do you need a private or business loans? at 3% for different purposes If so, contact us now on our email: smithterryloanfirmworldwide@gmail.com )
    type of Our loan services we gives out,
    Personal loan
    Refinance loan
    Investor loan
    Auto Loan
    Debt consolidation
    Business Loan

Borrowers Application form to be fill and return
    Names of applicants:____________________
    Loan Amount requested:__________________
    Duration of Loan: _________________
    Purpose of loan: _______________________
    Address of applicant: _________________
    City: ___________________________
    State: __________________________
    Telephone Number:___________________________________
    Contact number +27620171252: E-mail:smithterryloanfirmworldwide@gmail.com

Mute Ben
    Favourite Ben
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:11 AM

Greetings..
    Please contact us for your secure and unsecured Loan at an Interest rate of 3%
    ………………………………….

Is the difficulty of the economy affecting you this year, is your bank refuses to give you a loan

for this year? If your answer is yes, then you need a loan. I’m Mr Ben Wong, the owner of a

lending company We offer safe and secure loans at an interest rate of 3%.

* Are you financially squeezed?
    * Do you seek funds to pay off credits and debts?
    * Do you seek finance to set up your own business?
    * Are you in need of private or business loans for various purposes?
    * Do you seek loans to carry out large projects?

If you have any of the above problems, we can be of assistance to you but I want you to understand

that we give out loans at the interest rate of 3%.

* Borrow anything up to $100,000,000 USD.
    * Choose between 1 to 30 years to repay.
    * Choose between Monthly and Annual repayments Plan.
    * Flexible Loan Terms.
    Please if you are interested check back with us through this email

address: ponyeefastloan.ch@cash4u.com << <<

We promise a 100% guarantee that you will receive your loan at the end of this loan

transaction.There is no security check, no credit check

Regards
    Pon Yee
    PON YEE LOAN COMPANY

Mute pstapo
    Favourite pstapo
    Apr 22nd 2014, 12:45 AM

While it took a while,the Irish people have woken up ,to the monster that is the EU ,no more rape and pillage of our country,we must take our country back ,by hook or by crook,start with these sellout politicians ,,past and present

Mute Ben
    Favourite Ben
    Oct 11th 2014, 8:10 AM

Good Day,

We are an outfit loan, allowing local and International
    financial solutions. We give loans with lower Interest rate at 3% for
    personal loans and business, Xmas Loan,…..Loan to pay your everyday tax Bills

We can help you to solve, even in the bad credit problem. Our method is
    fast and no collateral.

Our process
    After applying, we’ll start and then pull your repayment plan Process. Our
    state and will be sent to you, and then your loan Approved and transferred
    to you.

Lending criteria
    - The minimum amount of personal loan of € 5,000 and a Maximum of € 150,000
    - Amount of loan of € 950,000 to more commercial
    (Business organization) You can contact us email via: ponyeefastloan.ch@cash4u.com << <<< ponyeecashloan@gmail.com

Thank you for your visit, we look forward to doing business with you.

Regards,
    Pon Yee
    Loan Solution Officer
    Pon Yee Cash/fast Financial service