You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

North Road in the Phoenix Park. Google Street View

24-year-old released without charge after arrest over toddler hit and run

Two year old Venessa Siatka was fatally injured in the incident on Monday evening.

A 24-YEAR-old man who had been detained in relation to a hit and run in the Phoenix Park on Monday that killed a two-year-old girl has been released without charge.

Two year old Venessa Siatka was struck by the car on the North Road in the Phoenix Park. She was rushed to Temple Street Children’s Hospital but was pronounced dead in the early hours of yesterday morning.

A 24-year-old was arrested shortly after the incident and was held until the early hours of this morning. Gardaí confirmed this morning that the man was released without charge.

They said a file will be prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Yesterday, investigators said they are interested in hearing from anyone who saw a green Toyota Corolla with an 02 D registration being driven “erratically” in the area, in particular near the park’s Visitors’ Centre.

Anyone who witnessed the incident can contact Cabra Garda Station on 01 666 7400, The Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

Related: Car ‘driving erratically’ before 2-year-old killed in Phoenix Park hit and run>

Read: Toddler in serious condition after hit and run in Phoenix Park>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Deirdre McDonnell
    Favourite Deirdre McDonnell
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:34 AM

A file is being prepared? That means a trial is probably pending. He isn’t a danger to the general public that’s why he is being released.
    Why do people assume this means he gets away with it?!

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:41 AM

It’s because of the headline Deirdre, it doesnt mention the preparation of a file by the dpp until the fourth paragraph in. I think the headline may be deliberately written that way to get people to think he will not be charged and so read the article but I could be wrong.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:50 AM

By and large the ordinary man on the street doesn’t know much about how the legal system works unless they have studied it and even then it’s still bloody complicated. It is up to the senior Garda in station to decide if the charge and circumstances are serious enough to charge and hold a prisoner to be brought before the first available sitting of a court. There are guidelines for this and the Gardai involved are all very well qualified in the area.

If we held every prisoner until the DPP made up their minds then our holding cells would be over flowing and the system would break down,

Mute Louise Foy
    Favourite Louise Foy
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:11 AM

Thanks for following the explainer Brian, I couldn’t understand why the guy had been released.

Mute Louise Foy
    Favourite Louise Foy
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:12 AM

Sorry don’t know where “following” came from.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:15 AM

Louise I have sat in court at times and wondered why some people have been released! A basic understanding of the law should be taught at school if it isn’t already.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Apr 8th 2015, 10:40 AM

Deirdre- Read back your comment and tell the parents of the child he killed that he is not a danger!!

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Apr 8th 2015, 1:20 PM

How do you know he’s a danger? Have you the facts of the case? The only fact you do know is the tragic death of the girl. the facts will determine whether it was an accident, who was at fault, and whether the guy is a danger.

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Apr 8th 2015, 1:27 PM

It was an accident. It was however avoidable and caused by the reckless nature of the driving. He also left the scene. If he’s not a danger, he’s at least at risk of absconding, he’s proved that himself.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Apr 8th 2015, 4:27 PM

Jordan- If driving erratically whilst being drunk in the park outside the visitor centre and the Zoo ISNT a danger, then tell me what is??

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Apr 8th 2015, 6:57 PM

When did his erratic driving turn from a second hand newspaper report into a fact?

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Apr 8th 2015, 7:00 PM

And he was drunk? Is that a fact? Did you read his charge sheet and were privy to his discussion with the gards?
    Did the gards charge him with drink driving?
    Deal in facts. Not heresay. Maybe he was drunk. Maybe he was driving erratically. But youve got the fella hung before that becomes fact. Youre the danger here.

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Apr 9th 2015, 2:17 AM

He was driving erratically, that’s a fact that I know.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Apr 8th 2015, 7:58 AM

This is hard to fathom, he was involved in an accident that caused death, left the scene…handed himself in and doesn’t even get charged with leaving the scene?

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:18 AM

Well they say a file is being prepared for the DPP so I’d imagine a charge is coming.

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:35 AM

Why is he not remanded? He’s fled the scene once already. Doesn’t exactly inspire great faith in him doing the right thing.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:42 AM

They can only hold him for a certain period without charging him and they need the ddp to issue instructions to do that.

Welcome to Irish systems……

Mute cornflaker
    Favourite cornflaker
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:03 AM

Maybe they had the wrong guy. Might have fit the description but could be that it wasn’t him. Remains to be seen I suppose.

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:49 AM

The driver did hand himself in after the accident and if he has no significant criminal record he’d get bail anyway even if Gardai charged him and applied to remand him in custody. There is a very high likelihood that he will get a prison sentence for dangerous driving causing death. One of the few offences in this country where, if convicted, you are going to jail. Tragic for that family of the child but also for that young man, he could well be a decent skin who made a major mistake.

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Apr 8th 2015, 1:29 PM

He isn’t.

Mute Irene Kinnear Daniel
    Favourite Irene Kinnear Daniel
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:45 AM

You know it probably WAS an accident, but he did himself no favours in driving away.

Mute danny fitz
    Favourite danny fitz
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:56 AM

I doubt there is any ‘probably’ about it. I doubt he was driving around targeting children. Tragic for everyone involved in my opinion

Mute Shannon Cassidy
    Favourite Shannon Cassidy
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:38 AM

I still don’t understand how the child got onto the road in the first place. Where were the parents. God bless the poor child and her family but also god bless the poor person who hit the child. Total accident I think.

Mute Suzanne Ní Dhúil
    Favourite Suzanne Ní Dhúil
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:44 AM

I don’t think that is a fair comment. A toddler can dart off in the blink of an eye. That poor child’s parents are devastated and to try lay blame at their feet is wrong. I would think that they are suffering enough without questioning whether they were watching their little girl.

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:30 AM

Shannon it only takes a split second for an accident like that to occur. Toddlers trip and fall very easily and can take a step too far, that’s all it takes for tragedies to happen. You don’t know the circumstances so passing such judgement against parents that are grieving is wrong.

Mute gsmith
    Favourite gsmith
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:13 AM

Maybe it was an accident? Up to dpp to decide if it will go to court and on what charge. This is a tragedy but hard to know if it was criminal in the facts I have read. Maybe I am missing something.

Mute mayo chicken
    Favourite mayo chicken
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:30 AM

Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:07 AM

Odd?!

Mute Wayne Kelly
    Favourite Wayne Kelly
    Apr 8th 2015, 11:01 AM

He hands himself in
    Next with legal representative he gives account of what actually happened
    Gardai try to question or extract actual evidence from the accused, gardai have a file and ask the dpp for direction and severity of charges to be applied
    Also gardai looking for an actual witness
    I can say this chap is going to have the book lobbed at him
    Very sad for the family of the little girl.

Mute B A C
    Favourite B A C
    Apr 8th 2015, 8:35 AM

Typical irish law he ll get a slap on the wrist

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Apr 8th 2015, 12:28 PM

This all revolves around causation. The child cannot be held responsible. Mention is made of the car being driven “erratically”. Who witnessed the erratic driving prior to the accident? If the child collided with the side of the car the driver may not have been aware that he had been in an accident, thus might not have been aware that he was “leaving the scene”. Of course if he was under the influence of alcohol or drugs well that’s another factor. The DPP will decide whether or not to charge and what the charge may be. All we can do is wait and sympathise with the parents of the child.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 8th 2015, 12:01 PM

A lot of emotionally driven posts here and naturally so.. However, we must have the full facts of this incident before we rush to judgement. God love that poor child and family, may he RIP.

Mute Ruairsmcsturs
    Favourite Ruairsmcsturs
    Apr 8th 2015, 1:16 PM

He may not have realised that he collided with the child whatsoever. God bless that wee angel, her family and the lad that hit her. Such a sad tragic story.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:25 AM

I’m confused. The article said he was released “without charge” though some of the comments here say he handed himself over to the Gardai voluntarily. Now they’re saying “a file is being prepared for the DPP”. Handing himself in is surely an admission of guilt so how can he be released “without charge”? Surely, as somebody suggested earlier, he should have been charged and then, because he has no previous criminal convictions, released on bail?

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:33 AM

That’s the way it works , the gardai send the file to the DPP and then they’ll decide the charge . nothing weird or strange going on . the guy has made it worse for himself by leaving the scene .

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Apr 8th 2015, 10:12 AM

Gardi are only allowed to decide certain charges themselves, usually for more minor offences. Anything serious must have a file prepared that will be sent to the DPP who then decides what charges, if any, are to be used.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Apr 8th 2015, 10:21 AM

“Handing himself in is a sign of guilt” that’s brilliant. We can now do away with our costly courts system, you’ve just saved the country millions, nice one.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:01 PM

I said “admission of guilt” Matt not a “sign of guilt”. I’m not very familiar with how the system works hence my reason for asking. There is no need to be such a sarcastic fu(king smart ass. Other people have replied explaining how the “system” works, which I appreciated, without feeling the need to be such a sarcastic dick head like you did.

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Apr 8th 2015, 1:02 PM

Files to the DPP have become the norm as Gardaí were getting reprimanded by GSOC when cases failed. So now they refer all cases to the DPP for a decision.

Mute Diana Walshe
    Favourite Diana Walshe
    Apr 8th 2015, 9:51 PM

Rip sweet little baba x

Mute Unfortunately
    Favourite Unfortunately
    Apr 8th 2015, 10:33 AM

In Ireland the biggest threat to all kind of criminals that is likely ever going to happen is that file is being prepared to dpp. All the crooks must tremble at the sheer sound of this word I’d say.

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Apr 8th 2015, 10:35 PM

Is have waited outside for him and get my own justice

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 8th 2015, 2:42 PM

Dat’s grand. I must be watching too much TV. In most civilised jurisdictions fleeing the scene of an accident is an offence in itself – but this must not be the case in this Great Little Island to do Business In.